Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 223 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

223 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

223 reviews | 3 out of 5

49%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
66
4 stars
27
3 stars
31
2 stars
33
1 stars
66
1-20 of 220 total reviews
49%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 220 total reviews
1-20 of 220 reviews
Duh, Couldn't see the Power Switch
2/23/2008

Customer review by ZigthenZag

4.0 stars 2/23/2008 by ZigthenZag
by ZigthenZag

I am not electronically challenged, but I just did a real Duh with this one. I got tired of waiting for a coupon and just bought one. After hooking it up (very simple) I could not get it to power up. No green light, or any lights. Tried everything, different outlets. Dang, I got a bad one. So, packed it back up,... returned it for another. Yep, the second one does the same thing. So, I start to pack it up also. I checked it all over,... HEY! theres a power switch on the side. Yep,... not much of a mention of it in the manual, but it does show it. I just blew it. Anyway, it seems to be a good unit. Just make sure ya don't keep a simple thing like a power switch from slowing ya down.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ZigthenZag
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Comparing Magnavox TB100MW9 To The Tivax STB T9
9/18/2008

Customer review by Bernielj77

3.0 stars 9/18/2008 by Bernielj77
by Bernielj77

The Magnavox was about $50.00 and the Tivax was about $60.00. I did have two of the government $40.00 coupons to reduce the costs of the boxes. The Magnavox has three viewing choices, Letterbox, Zoom and Full. Letterbox is like wide-screen showing a wider view, but "cutting off" the top and bottom of the screen. Zoom zooms in and makes everything look normal, covering the entire screen, but it may cut off a little of the "information" from the top, bottom and sides of the signal and Full shows everything but makes things look tall and skinny. The Tivax has 4 viewing choices: Normal, Zoom, Wide and Cinema. Normal shows things normally, but on the main DTV channel, which was the same as the analog channel was before, the viewing area is smaller all around the screen equally, but fills the screen on the extra digital channels. Zoom makes the main channel fill the screen, but makes the other extra channels look like part of the information is off of the screen or viewing area. Wide is like wide-screen, shows everything a little skinny and tall, and part of the picture information is lost off the top and bottom of the screen. Cinema zooms in on like the wide-screen format, so it fills the entire screen, but you don't have the top and bottom cut off, but you do lose some picture information. I like both boxes, but I do notice one noticeable difference between the two boxes, and that is in signal strength. I live around 40 miles from one major city where the TV stations are, and that's Wausau, WI, and around 70 miles from the other major city where a TV station is located, and that's Eau Claire, WI. I get the following signal strength results from the two boxes, using a 120-mile Vhf/100 Uhf antenna pointed at Wausau, Channels 7, 9 and 20, and a 90-mile Vhf/50-mile Uhf pointed at Eau Claire, Channel 13: Magnavox Channels 7-1,7-2,7-3 Minimum = 10 Maximum = 24 Magnavox Channels 9-1 and 9-2 Minimum = 45 Minimum = 55 Magnavox Channels 13-1 and 13-2 Minimum = 52 Maximum = 61 Magnavox Channels 20-1, 20-2, 20-3, 20-4 and 20-5 Minimum = 67 Maximum = 72 Tivax Channels 7-1, 7-2, 7-3 Minimum = 40 Maximum = 45 Tivax Channels 9-1 and 9-2 Minimum = 70 Maximum = 80 Tivax Channels 13-1 and 13-2 Minimum = 77 Maximum = 84 Tivax Channels 20-1, 20-2, 20-3, 20-4 and 20-5 Minimum = 90 Maximum = 100 These were taken on a windy day, but if there is no wind, or if it's at night, the maximum signal strengths seem to stay fairly steady at the Maximum signal strength or close to it. I don't know if the two signal strength meters or indicators are "calibrated" the same, or if they indicate the same signal strengths for the same numbers, or not, but if so, then the Tivax, connected to the same cable connection, switching between the two boxes, appears to receive the DTV signals stronger than the Magnavox. I use one Magnavox box on the TV in the living room, and one I have connected to my computer and the Tivax I have connected to the TV in my bedroom now. I like both boxes, but I prefer the Tivax, but it's a little higher priced than the Magnavox, and I like the Tivax mainly because of the signal strengths, but also because of a couple of other things. The Magnavox only has the TV antenna connections and the composite video and audio connections, and you need to use the remote control to operate it as there aren't any buttons on it. The Tivax has the TV antenna connections and the composite video and audio connections, you don't need the remote to operate the Tivax as it has a Standby/On button on it and a Channel Up and Down button. The Tivax also has a Service port and a jack to connect a Smart Antenna to and a switch to choose Channel 3 or 4 for the output. All things considered though, the Magnavox would be a good buy, and I do have two of them, and if you're in a good area for TV, and/or if you want to save a little money, the Magnavox would be the way to go.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bernielj77
Medford, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Amazing picture!
4/18/2008

Customer review by Audiophile777

5.0 stars 4/18/2008 by Audiophile777
by Audiophile777

I went out this afternoon and purchased this product. The setup was very simple, the hardest part was fitting my hand behind my TV shelf. The picture is amazing, and I get nineteen channels, including subchanels in crystal clear picture quality! Some of the strongest channels in my area arent even digital yet, but once they are, the channel amount will be great. I have only been watching this product for the afternoon, so I cannot describe the long term durability of the converter box. The on screen information is usefull, and displays rating of the program, wether it has closed captions, and a description of the program, and you can also look ahead on the channels and see the upcoming programs. The picture is as sharp as the satelite tv we have. I am using my box with just rabbit ears and everything is great. The box can tell you your signal strength as well. My tv is old, and has mono sound only, so being able to hook the box up to my stereo is a nice feature, and the sound is very sharp. The sub channels are very nice, and i am impressed to have two all-weather stations. All in all, i am very impressed with this product. In my included picture you can see the remote, it is basic function, and is easy to use

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Audiophile777
Northern Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Useless junk box
8/20/2009

Customer review by 84Tbird

1.0 stars 8/20/2009 by 84Tbird
by 84Tbird

Purchased on 12/15/08, the only model then carried by the local Wal-Mart. Was annoyed by the lack of power switch on the unit and television controls on the remote, but it worked for a few months. After 90 days had passed, the remote stopped functioning. It was impossible to turn on the unit, and it was past the store's return deadline. Searched for the nearest Funai authorized service center, which was two hours away. The labor warranty had expired, and they said it would cost more to ship it and repair than it was worth. Finally got a universal remote that would control it, and it worked for a few more months after the DTV transition. Now, eight months after purchase, it has quit again. The power indicator flashes like it's coming on, but then quickly blinks and goes off. To make matters worse, my other box coupon expired last week. Looks like I'm going to have to shell out full price for a new one. I refuse to purchase any more products made by Magnavox or Funai.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
84Tbird
Benton, AR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good reception, bad handling
3/26/2008

Customer review by hdfgih24

3.0 stars 3/26/2008 by hdfgih24
by hdfgih24

When I hooked this up for my parents, I was happy to see that it picked up every channel available in our area without having to even reposition their old rabbit ears. That's where the good review ends. The big issue with this is that none of the "display" options are set up to work for all types of broadcasts. This box has three options - full, zoom, and letterbox. No matter which one you set it to, either 4x3 or 16x9 broadcasts will have some type of problem with the aspect ratio, so you have to keep changing it depending on what channel you're watching. Customer support assured me over the phone that it's a problem with my TV...but since the TV doesn't have any sort of ratio options, I can't imagine that's the case. Also, you now need to buy a universal remote just to be able to change channels and control the volume with the same remote - having to use one for channels and one for volume just seems a little absurd for basic TV watching. Oh well...this is the future, I guess.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hdfgih24
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Usage:Every day
Much better options are available
3/14/2008

Customer review by djmjr

2.0 stars 3/14/2008 by djmjr
by djmjr

This was the first of two converter boxes I bought, and I thought it was decent until I got my second one, a Zenith DTT-900. The Zenith blows the Magnavox away in terms of its interface and ease of use. The remote control on the Magnavox unit lacks many functions (forcing you to go into the menu for very basic operations) and is poorly designed (small buttons, a subpar arrow pad). It just seems like this product was hastily designed without concern for the consumer. Unfortunately, the exchange-only policy of the DTV converter box coupon program means that I'm stuck with the Magnavox unless Walmart decides to carry a different model. On the bright side, it does convert DTV signals to analog. It just doesn't make it a pleasurable experience. There are better boxes out there for a comparable price.

Was this review helpful? (37) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
djmjr
Would recommend to a friend? No
Wish I Have Never Purchased This product
6/23/2009

Customer review by Shadriley

2.0 stars 6/23/2009 by Shadriley
by Shadriley

I purchased this converter box on Thursday June 18, 2009. Took it home set up was quick and the picture was awesome. Now Please read my time line for the next 3 days and then you will understand my title. Went to work on Friday came home around 6pm, watched TV until 10pm. Work most of Saturday on a part time job, came home around 5p.m. dressed and did not get back until midnight. So needless to say I had not had a lot of TV viewing time. Well On Sunday June 21, 2009 I attempted to cut my converter box on and had no success. It would never power up. I called customer help desk and we tried everything. They suggested I call their customer assistance desk to get an exchange. It took me two days to get them and I was told, yes they can come get the box but that it would take about 4 WEEKS to get me a new one. Best case 2 to 3 WEEKS. PLEASE DON'T BUY THIS UNIT!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shadriley
DUNCANVILLE, TEXAS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
failed in 5 months
7/11/2009

Customer review by IWantValue

1.0 stars 7/11/2009 by IWantValue
by IWantValue

I purchased 2 units last year with vouchers. I did not start using them until Feb 2009 when most of my stations went digital. Both of them failed after 5 1/2 months of use. The menus display and it scans, but it fails to find any stations. (I have 2 other digital tuners that find lots of channels.) Magnavox hotline said they won't do anything to replace them since I bought them over a year ago and the warranty expired.

Was this review helpful? (35) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IWantValue
San Diego CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
good basic product
5/10/2008

Customer review by oneoffour

4.0 stars 5/10/2008 by oneoffour
by oneoffour

The Magnavox box is simple to set up and provides excellent reception and more channels than before. Good features: An automatic power down to standby mode after four hours; an accessible power switch on the side. (Good features if you are energy conscious -- even standby mode at 1 watt would equate to 8.7 KW of electricity for a year just in standby mode. You can easily switch off the unit when not in use.) Poor features: The remote -- it is an awkward shape with small buttons that are difficult to read and no volume control; the unit does not have a four-digit code that can be programmed into a universal remote (I checked with the company) so you have to use a separate remote for your TV volume and power on/off. Also - it appears that if you want to delete a channel, it takes out all of the sub-channels (e.g., 7.1, 7.2, 7.3) so you cannot delete all the lesser-used channels (like multiple weather channels), which means you have to scroll through them every time to get to major channels. Even with these concerns, the basic reception is better than I thought, which is the most critical feature. If the RCA unit with its universal remote has this kind of reception, that would be the way to go.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
oneoffour
WDC area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
It is so easy.....
3/24/2008

Customer review by BorNaSuSa

5.0 stars 3/24/2008 by BorNaSuSa
by BorNaSuSa

This was so easy I didn't even read the manual. The hookup was simple - took the antenna from my TV and plugged it into the Ant In, used the provided cable and connected the Ant Out to my TV. Plugged in the converter box, put the batteries in the remote, turned on the TV, tuned it to Ch 3 and the setup menu popped on. I followed the on-screen instructions and I not only get my local stations (with different numbers - but I found them), but tons of stations my little old rabbit-eared TV never thought it'd see - even without cable service. The whole setup, from start to finish, took less than 5 minutes. With the $40 coupon provided by the government, the box only cost about $13 (you're charged tax on the full price before the coupon is deducted).

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BorNaSuSa
Pembroke Pines
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Product
2/18/2008

Customer review by Radiooperator

5.0 stars 2/18/2008 by Radiooperator
by Radiooperator

I have applied for 2 government coupons, but since I need more than 2 boxes, and only 2 coupons are given per person, I purchased two of these boxes. So far I am very happy with them. They have really breathed some new life into my old TV's. My main television is an LCD HDTV and has its own digital tuner, but the bedroom TV's are the old analog type. I cannot believe how clean the picture is with these boxes attached. It's not HD but still a very very clean picture. I think HD is somewhat overrated anyway. I have one hooked into the TV and the other I hooked into a DVD/VCR recorder. This way I can record one show and watch another. The DVD/VCR combo I have was way too expensive to just replace with a newer unit so this box will extend the life of that as well as the TV. I live in the Detroit area and with an outside antenna and a pre-amp, I am getting 20 channels. This is a very basic unit and dont have a lot of bells and whistles, but for 49.95 I wasnt expecting a ton of extras. It's just a digital tuner and a good one at that. If you wish to still use the analog channels until they are shut down, this can be easily done with an antenna switch. My only complaint is that there are no control buttons on the box itself making it totally reliant on the remote. Speaking of remotes, I have successfully programmed my Logitech 550 software driven remote to control this unit along with the TV.

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Radiooperator
Detroit
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
It does exactly what it is supposed to do.
3/15/2008

Customer review by SteveFl

4.0 stars 3/15/2008 by SteveFl
by SteveFl

This coupon-discounted converter gets the job done in simple economical fashion. It is simple to install and the menu setup is typical of such devices. (The manual omitted the key fact that you must tune your TV to channel 3 to begin. But after some fumbling around you should find it.) Once everything was in place I was amazed at the clarity of the reception. Even the weak stations came in as clearly as the stronger ones. And there were subchannels I never knew about. The included remote is your channel changer and it controls a few other progam options as well, but you still must use your original TV remote for volume and mute functions. No big deal. Also, the converter will not pass the original analog signal. This means that your older VCR, if you still have one, will not work unless you reconnect to your earlier setup. No doubt there are fancier and more expensive converters out there that deal with the above problems. But this econobox handles the basic purpose in simple workmanlike fashion.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SteveFl
Monroe NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Totally Awesome
3/14/2008

Customer review by RicksterInGulfport

5.0 stars 3/14/2008 by RicksterInGulfport
by RicksterInGulfport

I live in a very low lying area, I could pick up nearly nothing at all on a set of highly placed rabbit ears on the long had CRT TVs. Was hesitant about buying this box. Hooked it up Last Sunday evening and have been literally flabbergasted by how clean and how many channels I now get. Have an outside aerial in the works, as one of the stations I can't get is PBS. Am using the exact same pair of VHF/UHF rabbit ears to receive this incredible signal. I only wish it was football season. As far as a first generation box goes, I am blown away. I even watched Wheel of Fortune the other night, just because the picture was SO clean!! If you don't have cable, or want to get rid of it, this box will bring you local channels and sub channels, crystal clear and no cable bill. I never thought it would look this good on regular CRT TVs. If you have cable, and are going to keep it, you don't need this box - it is only for OVER THE AIR broadcasts.... Can't wait for March Madness, Baby!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RicksterInGulfport
Gulfport, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Does the job
4/5/2008

Customer review by Crooze038

4.0 stars 4/5/2008 by Crooze038
by Crooze038

First let me say that I purchased this with the $40 coupon and the transaction was an easy one. No problems turning in the coupon and this was the first one that the CSR had taken. Setup was a snap. Besides the usual placement of more wires (sigh) the actual setup was a no-brainer. This unit is real basic, no fancy bells or whistles... It gets the job done well though :) ** Do yourself a favor and purchase any power antenna for optimal signal strength. I use a basic powered antenna and I went from 3 fuzzy channels to about 15 to 20 or so crystal clear channels. Not bad for a sub $10 purchase after using the coupon. ** Great for the Greenville SC area. You will pick up channels from NC and GA if you have a strong enough antenna. You may want to try something like the "Philips MANT940" for around $39... I currently use a cheapo amplified rabit ears device that I paid around $6 for hehe. Should be much better with a stronger antenna. Overall - GREAT product for basic use.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Crooze038
Fountain Inn SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Buggy...
2/18/2008

Customer review by Shop1010

3.0 stars 2/18/2008 by Shop1010
by Shop1010

It is a great product, excellent picture quality and sound its as if you are watching the digital channels from your local cable or satellite provider. However it tends to overheat to an extreme level, mostly because the maker has not made enough ventilation. Without enough ventilation the product cannot release exaustion for running it over extended periods of time, therefore distorts the picture after the first few hours of use. This is a great product for being one of the first converter boxes in the transition.

Was this review helpful? (20) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shop1010
St. Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Inferior to the Zenith
3/30/2008

Customer review by IlliniOrange

3.0 stars 3/30/2008 by IlliniOrange
by IlliniOrange

This box receives all of the digital channels in our area just fine, but it is lacking in a couple of respects: 1) the remote has no "zoom" button, which means that you have to go through 3 levels of menus to change from "widescreen" to "zoom". This is an important feature for people with an old 4:3 TV (pretty much every tv you would buy this product for). If you are watching a HD signal, zoom will make the picture fill the whole screen. 2) Changing the channels is a little slow. I bought a Zenith DTT900 after returning this one, and I am much more satisfied with it. It has a zoom button, the channels change quicker, and it even has a program guide which allows you to view what is on the other channels without actually changing the channel. It also comes with both a coax cable and an RCA cable (the magnavox only comes with a coax cable). I would recommend the Zenith over the Magnavox.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IlliniOrange
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Good product; only does digital
3/15/2008

Customer review by Oldfogy

5.0 stars 3/15/2008 by Oldfogy
by Oldfogy

The price was great, but I was charged the local tax on the full price and not the price after use of the coupon. I was the first customer at my local Wal-Mart to use the coupons, so the supervisor had to determine the procedure in her book. No problem; and it was easy. I set up the box, but found that I was only receiving digital channels and didn't receive the local ABC, CBS and NBC channels (which are the ones that we mainly watch). After messing with the box for quite a while, I called customer service. They answered right away, but the technician was unfamiliar with the box. I then requested support on-line and received an answer that basically says that the box doesn't pass through the signals from the local analog-only channels. There was nothing in the instruction manual to indicate that. So I packed up the box and put it in storage until the local channels switch to digital.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Oldfogy
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
piece of junk
5/2/2008

Customer review by 1bigbear

1.0 stars 5/2/2008 by 1bigbear
by 1bigbear

got 2 of these things. waisted my time and money. setup was very hard(and i work in the electronics industry for 35 years). turn unit on, then use setup wizard. then go to setup, autoscan, go back to setup log in all the stations manually.then try to watch tv. if the wind blows, you loose sound or picture. very choppy sound and picture. the strongest local stations did not register(no signal) with my antenna i get 22 stations. with converter i get 10 stations. some of the ones i don't get are strong digital stations. the supplied cable is about 18inches too short. remote control buttons are too small,and you have to use your finger nail to use. you also have to have your tv's remote to use the volume control,mute and on-off.(thats all i need is another remote control to loose). YOU CAN'T JUST TURN IT OFF TO NOT USE IT. YOU HAVE TO TOTALLY UNHOOK IT AND GO BACK TO YOUR REGULAR TV SETUP . JUNK- JUNK- JUNK. i hope walmart will take these back.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1bigbear
SOUTHERN INDIANA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Simple to use and excellent product
3/30/2009

Customer review by TechEagle

5.0 stars 3/30/2009 by TechEagle
by TechEagle

This is one of the easiest I have configured without even looking at the manual. Just plug your antenna in and connect this unit to the TV and on channel 3(on my tv) you are in business. All you need to do is press setup and run Auto-scan. that's it. All the channels i.e. about 20 are crystal clear. it is raining today in detroit, but I still got all the channels with no freezing with my philips HD antenna and Magnovox DTV converter. ofcourse I should give part of the credit to the philips antenna too. I went to walmart to buy RCA box first, but they had only magnovox in stock. I just waned to try it out. I don't regret it even a bit. everything works flawlessly. make sure you get a powered HDTV antenna along with this unit. you are going to save a lot of money with he over-the-air digital channels, which are much clear than analog. In digital world, you either get the channel or don't. there is no question of fuzzy picture like in analog

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TechEagle
Detroit, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A total lemon -- twice
6/14/2009

Customer review by HildaB

1.0 stars 6/14/2009 by HildaB
by HildaB

As other people have noted, this product is poorly designed from a usability standpoint -- the remote doesn't control the volume or turn the TV on/off (you'd need to get a programmable, universal remote if you don't want two remotes controlling your TV), there are no manual buttons on the box itself (so you HAVE to use the remote), and the remote has very tiny buttons crowded close together. While these features are very annoying, I was willing to put up with them as long as the product actually worked -- which was not for very long. While it was working, I was pleased with the reception I got using only rabbit ears. Some of the other complaints that users have cited here could have been resolved if the users had read the manual: 1. For the people who claimed about the extremely low volume, the user's manual suggests a setting you can change to fix this, and the suggested fix solved the problem for me. 2. For the person who complained that he couldn't set his VCR to record programs because the unit automatically shuts off after 4 hours -- this is an energy saving setting that you can over-ride. Go into set-up and turn off the auto-power-down. As annoying as this product was to use, I was okay with it while it was actually working. I had bought two boxes. The first just stopped working after 3 months -- it would receive audio but not video. When I tried disconnecting it, re-installing it and rescanning for channels, I couldn't even turn it on because the unit was stuck in standby mode permanently. I got out the 2nd box and installed it. This one has a peculiar problem -- every time it comes out of standby mode, it gets no reception at all until I rescan the channels. Then it's find until the next standby, when I have to rescan again. If I completely turn the power switch off and back on again, I get the initial set-up screen, which isn't supposed to happen once the unit has been initialized. Then, I have to perform autoscan before I can receive channels. Right now I'm having to scan for channels 2 or 3 times a day, which is just ridiculous. I'm going to see if I can return these to Walmart and go with a different model. For $10 each, it's not worth the customer service nightmare I fear would result if I contacted Magnavox directly. I did dial the 800 number once, but the recording said I could expect to wait at least 15 minutes on hold. And in my experience lately, the customer service people you reach are overseas, not familiar w/ the product, and cannot perform advanced troubleshooting -- especially for what essentially seems to be a fatally flawed product. Honestly, I would recommend buying a slightly more expensive product and pitching in the extra $10 it costs. While there are several 4 and 5 star reviews here, I wonder how many of those people developed problems in the weeks or months AFTER they wrote their reviews and then didn't bother to update their experiences.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HildaB
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 220 total reviews
1-20 of 220 reviews