Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 223 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

223 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

223 reviews | 3 out of 5

49%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
66
4 stars
27
3 stars
31
2 stars
33
1 stars
66
1-20 of 220 total reviews
49%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 220 total reviews
1-20 of 220 reviews
failed in 5 months
7/11/2009

Customer review by IWantValue

1.0 stars 7/11/2009 by IWantValue
by IWantValue

I purchased 2 units last year with vouchers. I did not start using them until Feb 2009 when most of my stations went digital. Both of them failed after 5 1/2 months of use. The menus display and it scans, but it fails to find any stations. (I have 2 other digital tuners that find lots of channels.) Magnavox hotline said they won't do anything to replace them since I bought them over a year ago and the warranty expired.

Was this review helpful? (34) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IWantValue
San Diego CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Much better options are available
3/14/2008

Customer review by djmjr

2.0 stars 3/14/2008 by djmjr
by djmjr

This was the first of two converter boxes I bought, and I thought it was decent until I got my second one, a Zenith DTT-900. The Zenith blows the Magnavox away in terms of its interface and ease of use. The remote control on the Magnavox unit lacks many functions (forcing you to go into the menu for very basic operations) and is poorly designed (small buttons, a subpar arrow pad). It just seems like this product was hastily designed without concern for the consumer. Unfortunately, the exchange-only policy of the DTV converter box coupon program means that I'm stuck with the Magnavox unless Walmart decides to carry a different model. On the bright side, it does convert DTV signals to analog. It just doesn't make it a pleasurable experience. There are better boxes out there for a comparable price.

Was this review helpful? (37) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
djmjr
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Product
2/18/2008

Customer review by Radiooperator

5.0 stars 2/18/2008 by Radiooperator
by Radiooperator

I have applied for 2 government coupons, but since I need more than 2 boxes, and only 2 coupons are given per person, I purchased two of these boxes. So far I am very happy with them. They have really breathed some new life into my old TV's. My main television is an LCD HDTV and has its own digital tuner, but the bedroom TV's are the old analog type. I cannot believe how clean the picture is with these boxes attached. It's not HD but still a very very clean picture. I think HD is somewhat overrated anyway. I have one hooked into the TV and the other I hooked into a DVD/VCR recorder. This way I can record one show and watch another. The DVD/VCR combo I have was way too expensive to just replace with a newer unit so this box will extend the life of that as well as the TV. I live in the Detroit area and with an outside antenna and a pre-amp, I am getting 20 channels. This is a very basic unit and dont have a lot of bells and whistles, but for 49.95 I wasnt expecting a ton of extras. It's just a digital tuner and a good one at that. If you wish to still use the analog channels until they are shut down, this can be easily done with an antenna switch. My only complaint is that there are no control buttons on the box itself making it totally reliant on the remote. Speaking of remotes, I have successfully programmed my Logitech 550 software driven remote to control this unit along with the TV.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Radiooperator
Detroit
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Buggy...
2/18/2008

Customer review by Shop1010

3.0 stars 2/18/2008 by Shop1010
by Shop1010

It is a great product, excellent picture quality and sound its as if you are watching the digital channels from your local cable or satellite provider. However it tends to overheat to an extreme level, mostly because the maker has not made enough ventilation. Without enough ventilation the product cannot release exaustion for running it over extended periods of time, therefore distorts the picture after the first few hours of use. This is a great product for being one of the first converter boxes in the transition.

Was this review helpful? (19) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shop1010
St. Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Wish I Have Never Purchased This product
6/23/2009

Customer review by Shadriley

2.0 stars 6/23/2009 by Shadriley
by Shadriley

I purchased this converter box on Thursday June 18, 2009. Took it home set up was quick and the picture was awesome. Now Please read my time line for the next 3 days and then you will understand my title. Went to work on Friday came home around 6pm, watched TV until 10pm. Work most of Saturday on a part time job, came home around 5p.m. dressed and did not get back until midnight. So needless to say I had not had a lot of TV viewing time. Well On Sunday June 21, 2009 I attempted to cut my converter box on and had no success. It would never power up. I called customer help desk and we tried everything. They suggested I call their customer assistance desk to get an exchange. It took me two days to get them and I was told, yes they can come get the box but that it would take about 4 WEEKS to get me a new one. Best case 2 to 3 WEEKS. PLEASE DON'T BUY THIS UNIT!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shadriley
DUNCANVILLE, TEXAS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Useless junk box
8/20/2009

Customer review by 84Tbird

1.0 stars 8/20/2009 by 84Tbird
by 84Tbird

Purchased on 12/15/08, the only model then carried by the local Wal-Mart. Was annoyed by the lack of power switch on the unit and television controls on the remote, but it worked for a few months. After 90 days had passed, the remote stopped functioning. It was impossible to turn on the unit, and it was past the store's return deadline. Searched for the nearest Funai authorized service center, which was two hours away. The labor warranty had expired, and they said it would cost more to ship it and repair than it was worth. Finally got a universal remote that would control it, and it worked for a few more months after the DTV transition. Now, eight months after purchase, it has quit again. The power indicator flashes like it's coming on, but then quickly blinks and goes off. To make matters worse, my other box coupon expired last week. Looks like I'm going to have to shell out full price for a new one. I refuse to purchase any more products made by Magnavox or Funai.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
84Tbird
Benton, AR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
It is so easy.....
3/24/2008

Customer review by BorNaSuSa

5.0 stars 3/24/2008 by BorNaSuSa
by BorNaSuSa

This was so easy I didn't even read the manual. The hookup was simple - took the antenna from my TV and plugged it into the Ant In, used the provided cable and connected the Ant Out to my TV. Plugged in the converter box, put the batteries in the remote, turned on the TV, tuned it to Ch 3 and the setup menu popped on. I followed the on-screen instructions and I not only get my local stations (with different numbers - but I found them), but tons of stations my little old rabbit-eared TV never thought it'd see - even without cable service. The whole setup, from start to finish, took less than 5 minutes. With the $40 coupon provided by the government, the box only cost about $13 (you're charged tax on the full price before the coupon is deducted).

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BorNaSuSa
Pembroke Pines
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
good basic product
5/10/2008

Customer review by oneoffour

4.0 stars 5/10/2008 by oneoffour
by oneoffour

The Magnavox box is simple to set up and provides excellent reception and more channels than before. Good features: An automatic power down to standby mode after four hours; an accessible power switch on the side. (Good features if you are energy conscious -- even standby mode at 1 watt would equate to 8.7 KW of electricity for a year just in standby mode. You can easily switch off the unit when not in use.) Poor features: The remote -- it is an awkward shape with small buttons that are difficult to read and no volume control; the unit does not have a four-digit code that can be programmed into a universal remote (I checked with the company) so you have to use a separate remote for your TV volume and power on/off. Also - it appears that if you want to delete a channel, it takes out all of the sub-channels (e.g., 7.1, 7.2, 7.3) so you cannot delete all the lesser-used channels (like multiple weather channels), which means you have to scroll through them every time to get to major channels. Even with these concerns, the basic reception is better than I thought, which is the most critical feature. If the RCA unit with its universal remote has this kind of reception, that would be the way to go.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
oneoffour
WDC area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A total lemon -- twice
6/14/2009

Customer review by HildaB

1.0 stars 6/14/2009 by HildaB
by HildaB

As other people have noted, this product is poorly designed from a usability standpoint -- the remote doesn't control the volume or turn the TV on/off (you'd need to get a programmable, universal remote if you don't want two remotes controlling your TV), there are no manual buttons on the box itself (so you HAVE to use the remote), and the remote has very tiny buttons crowded close together. While these features are very annoying, I was willing to put up with them as long as the product actually worked -- which was not for very long. While it was working, I was pleased with the reception I got using only rabbit ears. Some of the other complaints that users have cited here could have been resolved if the users had read the manual: 1. For the people who claimed about the extremely low volume, the user's manual suggests a setting you can change to fix this, and the suggested fix solved the problem for me. 2. For the person who complained that he couldn't set his VCR to record programs because the unit automatically shuts off after 4 hours -- this is an energy saving setting that you can over-ride. Go into set-up and turn off the auto-power-down. As annoying as this product was to use, I was okay with it while it was actually working. I had bought two boxes. The first just stopped working after 3 months -- it would receive audio but not video. When I tried disconnecting it, re-installing it and rescanning for channels, I couldn't even turn it on because the unit was stuck in standby mode permanently. I got out the 2nd box and installed it. This one has a peculiar problem -- every time it comes out of standby mode, it gets no reception at all until I rescan the channels. Then it's find until the next standby, when I have to rescan again. If I completely turn the power switch off and back on again, I get the initial set-up screen, which isn't supposed to happen once the unit has been initialized. Then, I have to perform autoscan before I can receive channels. Right now I'm having to scan for channels 2 or 3 times a day, which is just ridiculous. I'm going to see if I can return these to Walmart and go with a different model. For $10 each, it's not worth the customer service nightmare I fear would result if I contacted Magnavox directly. I did dial the 800 number once, but the recording said I could expect to wait at least 15 minutes on hold. And in my experience lately, the customer service people you reach are overseas, not familiar w/ the product, and cannot perform advanced troubleshooting -- especially for what essentially seems to be a fatally flawed product. Honestly, I would recommend buying a slightly more expensive product and pitching in the extra $10 it costs. While there are several 4 and 5 star reviews here, I wonder how many of those people developed problems in the weeks or months AFTER they wrote their reviews and then didn't bother to update their experiences.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HildaB
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
My experience after 3 weeks of use.
4/27/2008

Customer review by MajesticWi

4.0 stars 4/27/2008 by MajesticWi
by MajesticWi

I currently live 50 miles from the local TV stations and use an outdoor antenna with rotor for reception. Due to my DVD player connection, I used the included RF cable to connect this unit to my TV. Pros: Overall picture quality was much improved and I was able to receive an additional 6 digital broadcast channels. Unit is compact, easy to install and the price with government coupon can't be beat. Signal stength meter is added plus for adjusting the antenna for the best reception. Cons: Picture quality degraded and dropped on some stations during rain and snow storms. I contacted Magnavox and found this was normal with a digital signal. By comparison an analog signal will continue to get snowy as the signal degrades. Realigning the antenna improved the signal during inclement weather, but it still a concern. The unit lacks any channel or setup buttons on unit itself and all functions are done via the remote control. Since remotes can wear out, I see this as a potential problem down the road unless the company furnishes a universal remote code. Also the unit doesn't support multi-channel programming for use with unattended VCR recording. Other: Prior to February 2009 I will probably switch to basic cable service. Having two TVs and two VCRs make the use of a convertor box cumbersome especially with the lack of unattended channel switching for the VCR recording. Not to mention the added cost of 4 convertors. The other thing is that the government coupon program lacks any procedure in the event you decide to return the unit. In other words, if you decide to explore other options like cable and return the unit, the card will not be credited or will the government be reimbursed as the merchant is allowed to keep the $40. Not wise spending on the government's part in my opinion. For most folks this unit will more than serve their needs. In my situation, I need a better option for digital reception.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MajesticWi
Northeast Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Description is misleading
2/6/2008

Customer review by bob01

3.0 stars 2/6/2008 by bob01
by bob01

Item Description is misleading or wrong. It does not have a Digital Audio Output (Coaxial). You cannot get 5.1 audio from this converter. It does have 2 RCA jacks for stereo audio out and 1 RCA jack for composite video out. It works OK otherwise.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bob01
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
No problems!
3/29/2009

Customer review by cansasman

5.0 stars 3/29/2009 by cansasman
by cansasman

This device is extremely easy to set up. Performs flawlessly. Using multiple remotes doesn't bother me. Use the A/V connections instead of the coax. For a lousy 10 bucks people sure do complain a lot. Digital TV is awesome! Oh don't let anyone tell you that you need a "digital" antenna. No such thing!! Any antenna inside or out that receives analog will receive digital. The digital will just be more enjoyable to watch.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cansasman
NE KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
It does the job
3/19/2008

Customer review by ACTOR

4.0 stars 3/19/2008 by ACTOR
by ACTOR

Just bought and hooked up the unit today (Tuesday, March 18, 2008). Between reviewing my TV's manual, the manual for a new set-top antenna, and the manual for this unit, it took some time to get everything working. Using the unit's remote makes switching from channel to channel slow. I still need my TV's remote to adjust the volume. The unit's remote is pretty cheap and I wonder how long it will last. The buttons are extremely small and difficult to activate. The quality of image is impressive and I am getting 7 clear channels (Many stations transmit two different signals ie: channel 13.1 and 13.2. Each has different programing.). Using this unit makes some of my TV's feature useless--most notably, picture in picture.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ACTOR
Rockford, Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good reception, bad handling
3/26/2008

Customer review by hdfgih24

3.0 stars 3/26/2008 by hdfgih24
by hdfgih24

When I hooked this up for my parents, I was happy to see that it picked up every channel available in our area without having to even reposition their old rabbit ears. That's where the good review ends. The big issue with this is that none of the "display" options are set up to work for all types of broadcasts. This box has three options - full, zoom, and letterbox. No matter which one you set it to, either 4x3 or 16x9 broadcasts will have some type of problem with the aspect ratio, so you have to keep changing it depending on what channel you're watching. Customer support assured me over the phone that it's a problem with my TV...but since the TV doesn't have any sort of ratio options, I can't imagine that's the case. Also, you now need to buy a universal remote just to be able to change channels and control the volume with the same remote - having to use one for channels and one for volume just seems a little absurd for basic TV watching. Oh well...this is the future, I guess.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hdfgih24
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Usage:Every day
WORTH EVERY PENNY
5/21/2008

Customer review by NCYOUNGBLOOD40

5.0 stars 5/21/2008 by NCYOUNGBLOOD40
by NCYOUNGBLOOD40

AUTOMATICLY PICKED UP THREE TIMES THE CHANNELS OVER RABBIT EARS IN A MOBILE HOME CANT WAIT TILL I GET ANOTHER WILL BE GETTING RID OF SATELLITE

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NCYOUNGBLOOD40
ELON NC 27244
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
One good and one bad
3/2/2009

Customer review by hambonedodge

5.0 stars 3/2/2009 by hambonedodge
by hambonedodge

The first one I had did not work very well, only got one ch. I bought another one and I get all the channles, I even use it on my new digital tv and get more channles when I use it!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hambonedodge
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great unit
3/20/2008

Customer review by John37

5.0 stars 3/20/2008 by John37
by John37

We've had basic cable for years because the analog signal we received with our outdoor antenna didn't get all the network channels clearly. We hooked up this new box (very simple) and all network channels and about 4 others come in crystal clear. Cable was cancelled yesterday... Free TV! We love this unit and have been very satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
John37
Ada, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
worth the price payed and having
2/8/2008

Customer review by ElectronicsTech

4.0 stars 2/8/2008 by ElectronicsTech
by ElectronicsTech

great addition for older tv's even if you have cable or satillte, if your cable or satillte provider go down due to weather or power outage and you still have power you can recieve local broadcast, also cable or satillte provider do not offer all streams availible from local over the air stations in some areas you may be able to access 10+ streams with this box. you must have some type of antennea either indoor or oudoor to access local broadcast. set up is very easy, only draw backs are lack of s-video output if you perfer to use that, limited program guide, also you must use either rf coaxil or composite rca jacks for audio out( if both were availible you could hook one up to tv other to older vcr or dvd recorder at the same time). could also be better if remote could control tv mute volume and power on and off.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ElectronicsTech
Fort Worth, Teaxs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Duh, Couldn't see the Power Switch
2/23/2008

Customer review by ZigthenZag

4.0 stars 2/23/2008 by ZigthenZag
by ZigthenZag

I am not electronically challenged, but I just did a real Duh with this one. I got tired of waiting for a coupon and just bought one. After hooking it up (very simple) I could not get it to power up. No green light, or any lights. Tried everything, different outlets. Dang, I got a bad one. So, packed it back up,... returned it for another. Yep, the second one does the same thing. So, I start to pack it up also. I checked it all over,... HEY! theres a power switch on the side. Yep,... not much of a mention of it in the manual, but it does show it. I just blew it. Anyway, it seems to be a good unit. Just make sure ya don't keep a simple thing like a power switch from slowing ya down.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ZigthenZag
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Weak...
3/24/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 3/24/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The signal reception on this is very weak, I took it back in exchange for the RCA and that worked perfectly. No qualms about it. This one is meant for those with outdoor antennas and stronger signal sources.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Bowling Green OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 220 total reviews
1-20 of 220 reviews