Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 46 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

46 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

5 stars
26
4 stars
15
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 stars
1
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 43 total reviews
Did the job welll....
7/30/2009

Customer review by Iloveditushouldtoo

5.0 stars by Iloveditushouldtoo

I used this water bottle in Haiti and not only did it clean my water I could have a lot of it. The cap over the straw also kept it clean. I could not have asked for a better water bottle, infact I am recommending it to anyone who is going on a mission trip or traveling to a place that has unclean water.

Was this review helpful? (65) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Iloveditushouldtoo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Simple, Self-Contained and Effective
11/21/2009

Customer review by xMarkMx

5.0 stars by xMarkMx

My son went on a 3-week volunteer trip to a poor, remote village in the mountains of Ecuador. Being limited on how much gear and clothing he could carry in one backpack, I bought this bottle filter from my local WalMart store as an alternative to a separate and heavier hiker-size pump filter I already own. As it turns out, the Sawyer filter bottle was rated to remove even smaller organisms than my $100+ pump filter. He used it everyday during the day instead of lugging bottled water, filling it from wells, a stream, even an irrigation canal, and experienced no illness. He said it worked well. Unfortunately, he left the bottle behind to make room for souvenirs. But I will definitely buy another one for backpacking or an emergency kit.

Was this review helpful? (44) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
xMarkMx
Northern NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great product
7/12/2010

Customer review by JMUDUKE

5.0 stars by JMUDUKE

We purchased two of these for a trip to Haiti. Other members of our group purchased another very popular brand. The Sawyer was easy to use and much more convenient than the squeeze bottles that others in our group used. The water tasted great!

Was this review helpful? (25) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
JMUDUKE
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Read the fine print!
8/10/2011

Customer review by Sweetykins464

3.0 stars by Sweetykins464

This filter doesn't kill viruses on it's own. You have to buy another filter to kill viruses even though the box cover on the front says that it does, it says on the back that it doesn't. If you read all the writing on the box, then you will see that the box is misleading and now I'm not sure if I am going to keep it.

Was this review helpful? (19) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Sweetykins464
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Walmart associate
adaptable
7/6/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars by An anonymous customer

Main thing I liked was the filter is removable, this lets you, (without cutting), remove the tip on your water bladder, then hook up the filter. Fill the bladder and squeeze, this lets you store reserve water for later.

Was this review helpful? (19) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
An anonymous customer
Backwoods WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
12/12/2011

Customer review by ATGiant

5.0 stars by ATGiant

Can't say much about the bottle because I don't use it but the filter works great with a gravity setup. Just attach it to the hose on a water bladder and let gravity do the work or squeeze a little to make it go faster. Way easier than a pump and just as quick. Very easy to backflush, which I recommend doing after every trip. It's very durable and I wouldn't hesitate to take this on my next 5 month adventure in the woods. To answer some of the questions about whether it will remove tastes or chemicals: no it will not. Only a charcoal filter can do this, not even the finer filtration of a purifier can.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ATGiant
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
Dont Like the Bottle
9/30/2009

Customer review by InjunearDerf

4.0 stars by InjunearDerf

I bought this product for the filter only. It is an OK filter for biological contamination. It doesn't work for chemical (hydrocarbons, pesticides) contamination. Not any better than boiling, but doesn't require heat. This is the least costly method to get just the filter and it comes with adapter pieces. Backwashing it with nasal bulb syringe will increase its useful life. I don't like the bottle shape or the function of the lid, but that's me. A standard nalgene lid will fit. I heard Sawyer recently changed the design of the filter unit. The one included is the older design.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
InjunearDerf
Eastern North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Grab it!
3/2/2012

Customer review by djsclient

4.0 stars by djsclient

Sawyer filters are very high quality. I was after the filter more than the bottle. After wasting 2 trips to 2 different walmarts looking for this thing I finally ordered it. Walmart's website stated 2 stores stocked it yet neither one did! As promised it took about 10 business days to get it. The box inside the packaging bag was crushed. They shipped it in a bag, but the product itself wasn't damaged. There was some confusion on my part as I thought this product was going to come with the backwashing syringe. It didn't. Probably my fault because I mixed up this low price model with a similar offering on another major online seller. The bottle is a hard plastic and doesn't squeeze water out. It doesnt state BPA free. The item is in my emergency preparedness stash but I plan on testing it out hiking this summer. This is the absolute cheapest way to get your hands on a very sought after Sawyer filter, that can be converted with the included connectors to create a large quantity water filtering set up during an extended emergency.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
djsclient
Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Decent water filter
12/30/2008

Customer review by Wanderer22

4.0 stars by Wanderer22

Although I haven't yet used this extensively, it seems to work fine and it doesn't take too much suction to pull the water out of the tube. The directions for hooking the filter up to a hydration pack require cutting the original pack's suction tube and splicing the filter into the tube, and there are some adaptors included with the bottle that are to be used for the splicing. Note that this filter works off suction so it really can't be used to filter lots of water at one stop (rather you filter as you drink).

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Wanderer22
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Great product
4/29/2008

Customer review by Waterdrinker401

4.0 stars by Waterdrinker401

I love this product. It saves on plastic bottles and it works well for me at work. Since I am a nurse it nice to be able to cover the straw after use.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Waterdrinker401
Ladera Ranch, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Practical solution to water purification
2/23/2010

Customer review by Beenbeamedup

4.0 stars by Beenbeamedup

Nice product but bottle a little "wider" than suspected. It still fit my backpack but is snug. The product did not ship with hose clamps like it stated in the manual but fortunately for me, I did not intend to use in a gravity drip. This may be an issue for those who purchase for this intent.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Beenbeamedup
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
best buy for scouting
6/10/2012

Customer review by baddawg6

5.0 stars by baddawg6

This Sawyer filter is tops for just about any adventure. As a scouting parent, this water filter means my scout will not have to worry about the water he drinks from any creek or pond or wherever. The Sawyer filter is able to be easily cleaned by backflushing. Unless the filter is a lower quality Sawyer SP140 model, this filter should be able to be used for a million gallons if properly taken care of. One thing to consider, bring a coffee filter or some fine filter to screen out as much sediment in the water thus keeping the filter from clogging up. If it does slow down or stop flowing, just use clean safe water to backflush and continue the adventure knowing the water is safe and nothing like stomach or intestinal problems will ruin a weekend or longer outing. The bonus is that you have a quality nalgene type bottle to boot, which is already sized to compensate for the filter so there is always a full liter available to consume. The bottle is easily filled and it won't take as long to fill by using a pump filter which is much more costly. This product will easily pay for itself during one summer camp and beyond.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
baddawg6
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Good Product - performs as advertised
7/10/2011

Customer review by grgparker

4.0 stars by grgparker

I used this on a recent hiking trip and filled it from the cool mountain spring I was passing by and it was some of the best water. Took a couple of sips to get the rubber and new taste out of it but I had no worries about the water I was drinking. Picked up some sediment from the spring and the filter also handled that with no problems.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
grgparker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Filter
3/4/2009

Customer review by MEPE

5.0 stars by MEPE

This seems to be a great filter. Very clever design and a nice bottle and top. As advertised, the filter offers almost no resistance to water flow when drinking!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MEPE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Filter
8/15/2011

Customer review by azorr

5.0 stars by azorr

I like the filter and bottle, it worked well as far as I can tell. I had hoped to transfer the lid and filter to a squeezable bottle, as the one that is included is hard plastic. However the threads were just different enough from bike and gatorade bottles that it wouldn't seal well. Instead I took the filter out and attached put it inline with my camelbak hose. This way I just fill up the camelbak and out comes clean water. Can also be used as a gravity feed to refill other containers.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
azorr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Comes as a 2-pack
8/10/2012

Customer review by RCXB

4.0 stars by RCXB

I thought getting one filter for ~$35 was a pretty good deal (a single "hiker" filter typically costs $70), but instead I got a box with two bottles and filters, which turns this deal into pure *awesome*... I'm sure I only ordered one, and I don't see it saying anywhere that this is a 2-pack, but that's what I got (Aug 2012). The plastic bottle isn't impressive... Being too hard to squeeze is bad, all-around. Drinking from the bottle takes some effort, and drinking from the straw has a nasty plastic taste for quite a while. It also doesn't have a prefilter on the tubing, so you should add one yourself (or use a coffee filter or handkerchief) or only use this with crystal-clear water. The box say it comes with metal hose clamps, but instead there is a pair of nylon zip ties. This isn't a purifier... it doesn't kill viruses, but there practically no purifiers on the market, anywhere, at any price. Just old-fashioned iodine or chlorine tablets, which need 4 hours, taste lousy, and no technology claims to remove 100% of contaminants. The technology really isn't there. Filters should work well, because viruses generally aren't just floating free in water, but are instead found inside larger objects, which ARE removed by a filter such as this, leaving you pretty safe. Besides, viral contamination of water is extremely rare in USA/Canada, where we don't have raw sewage dumped into our rivers and ponds. Still, YOU must decide how carefully you're going to treat water. No one is going to take responsibility if you get Hepatitis C. Even the most mundane things we do expose us to some risks of a life-threatening freak accident.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
RCXB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Be Prepared
4/23/2010

Customer review by frhompty

5.0 stars by frhompty

Having this filter on hand with the potential of purifying 500 gallons gives me peace of mind in the event of not having access to municipal water in an emergency.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
frhompty
central NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Great Product
6/2/2009

Customer review by Munkieball

5.0 stars by Munkieball

This water bottle is an extremely convenient filter, great for everyday use to save on bottled water by just filling it with tap water everywhere you go. It does an exceptional job of removing the strong chlorine taste in water from many taps. I'm on my second one. I've used it on multiple backcountry hiking trips, although the convenience and savings in using it as an everyday water bottle filling it with tap water is where Iv've found the most value.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Munkieball
Detroit, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great!
8/16/2011

Customer review by scaleindependent

5.0 stars by scaleindependent

Excellent filtration. Filters out more (at smaller microns) than other more expensive competitors. The included bottle is tough and long-lasting. The product is light and very affordable. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
scaleindependent
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
9/1/2011

Customer review by MrRobin

5.0 stars by MrRobin

Contacted Sawyer and they told me how to get 1 million gallons out of one filter and turn it into a bucket system... Have purchased 2 more. I would suggest any one to have one in there car or on their person all the time. ______,,;0;,,______

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MrRobin
DFW Area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 43 total reviews