Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 16 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

16 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

16 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

69%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 stars
4
1-16 of 16 total reviews
69%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

GREAT Product - GREAT Price
5/3/2008

Customer review by KYcutter

5.0 stars 5/3/2008 by KYcutter
by KYcutter

I checked several mowers and the Honda motor was a definite requirement. The mower is of very sturdy construction and excellent quality. It started the first time and has each time since. The cut is fantastic and the mulch feature works so well that I don't have a need for the side discharge chute or rear bagger. It is fairly lightweight and easy to handle. I have a heavy, thick lawn and it makes very short work of it and cuts evenly and the motor never even acts like it is under any additional strain. A great mower and value. Fantasitc for smaller to mid size yards.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KYcutter
Florence, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Pleasantly Surprised
7/26/2008

Customer review by Patience2049

5.0 stars 7/26/2008 by Patience2049
by Patience2049

I went to Wal-Mart looking for a basic mulching lawn mower with high wheels in the back. This one caught my eyes due to the Honda engine which was not described in the initial on-line ad. It costs about 20 dollars more than the cheaper but comparable one. For a Honda engine, I thought it's worth it. With the help of a very helpful associate of Wal-Mart, the mower was loaded on my car and homeward bound. Filled up the mower with oil and gas, I was excited to give it a try at home. Before I pulled the chord to start, I noticed a valve in the gas line. Figuring that the valve is meant to control the gas flow, I turned it to a different position thinking that it should be off while in shipping or storage. I moved the choke to the start position and pulled the cord. The engine started but sputtered and stopped. After a few tries, the same thing happened each time. I was really frustrated and thought that Honda engine was overrated and I probably had to return the mower. I decided to give it a last try before I pack the mower and return it. At that time, it finally occurred to me that the gas was not flowing to the engine. I checked the gas valve and noticed it was rested at the off-position, not very clearly marked. I turned the valve to the other position and pulled the cord. It started and stayed running smoothly. I have used it several times since and it hasn’t failed to start after the first pull. This would be the best mower that I ever had so far, if it could last several years.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Patience2049
FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Best For The Price
6/15/2008

Customer review by etnom

5.0 stars 6/15/2008 by etnom
by etnom

Absolutely, hands down, the best lawn mower for the money. Starts every time, first pull. Easy oil changes. Easy change over from mulch, bag, discharge. Wheel adjustments are perfect. Easy on gas. Love it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
etnom
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Excellent Mower
4/28/2009

Customer review by DCnWaxTx

5.0 stars 4/28/2009 by DCnWaxTx
by DCnWaxTx

Purchased this mower 2 years ago and it still starts on the 1st pull. I have 1.5 acres and use this mower to mow a large front yard (60' x 100'). This mower gives the lawn a well manicured look (I use a riding mower to mow the rest of the property). Well worth the money. I'm sold on Honda engines now.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DCnWaxTx
Waxahachie, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
yard man
3/22/2009

Customer review by mmcki20608

5.0 stars 3/22/2009 by mmcki20608
by mmcki20608

works great lots of power to mow heavy lawns.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mmcki20608
bakersfield
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
A real let-down
6/16/2008

Customer review by LoveSuperWalmart

1.0 stars 6/16/2008 by LoveSuperWalmart
by LoveSuperWalmart

I bought this mower because for the price - it appeared to be a real good deal. I figured with a Honda engine on it - I couldn't go wrong. It started up easily but only ran for 1.5 minutes then died. I did this several times and each time the result was the same. Taking it back tonight and have to look for another brand. I tried to hold the choke open halfway hoping it just needed to warm up a bit b4 shutting the choke off - that didn't change the results at all.

Was this review helpful? (1) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LoveSuperWalmart
NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Totally bad mower
5/4/2008

Customer review by DarWea

1.0 stars 5/4/2008 by DarWea
by DarWea

I have had this mower for 2 1/2 years and the mower has been repaired 2 times and needed a new blade after a year and a half. Now the motor has broke off the deck. For $208.00 it should have lasted longer.

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DarWea
Sedalia, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Excellent Product
6/11/2008

Customer review by HondaV65

5.0 stars 6/11/2008 by HondaV65
by HondaV65

Mower is way better than expectations especially with the Honda engine. Starts with one pull and cuts like a dream. Best value for the money with these kinds of options. Highly recommend this one!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HondaV65
Lake Delton, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Starts on first pull
7/5/2009

Customer review by ccstone320

5.0 stars 7/5/2009 by ccstone320
by ccstone320

I just used this mower today. They provide the oil, so you just need gas. Super easy to assemble- unfold the handle bars and tighten. Make sure the sparkplug wire is on the sparkplug. At first I tried to start it but it wouldn't start. After 5 tries I called the neighbor over. After several attempts to start it, we found that the air filter was SATURATED with oil and wouldn't allow proper airflow. Once that was removed, it started up on the 1st pull and ran great, no uneveness. We washed the filter with gas and it cleaned it enough. The auto choke provided more than enough time to start the mower. I would recommend this mower.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ccstone320
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Easy to set up and use
5/22/2008

Customer review by LoveBoating

5.0 stars 5/22/2008 by LoveBoating
by LoveBoating

My first concern was if I needed to buy oil before using. I looked in the box and they furnished the oil. Great News! Setup was easy. Adding oil and gasoline, then unfolding the handle and securing. It started right up. This mower has plenty of torque and power. My older 4 HP mower would die several times before finishing. This one cut the grass without hesitation. I especially like the 2 year warranty. I would highly recommend this mower.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LoveBoating
Colorado Springs, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
satisfied
10/2/2008

Customer review by frajen

5.0 stars 10/2/2008 by frajen
by frajen

This lawn mower is just what I was looking for. After assembling and supplying fuel and oil and a new air filter, the mower starts on the first pull every time. It works great! The original filter was oil-saturated and didn't allow air flow. Possibly a shipping incident may have caused that.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
frajen
Bowie, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
yardman 21 cut pushmower
5/19/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 5/19/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The ad on WalMart's webpage says the engine is a 160cc over-head valve engine, but it is actually the Honda 160cc over-head CAM engine. There is a big difference, about $150 difference. The Honda over-head VALVE engine is more expensive and has a cast iron cylinder sleeve. But this Honda engine, although less expensive than the over-head valve engine, does have plenty of power, runs well, and starts easily.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
10/6/2008

Customer review by HondoCat

4.0 stars 10/6/2008 by HondoCat
by HondoCat

I've only used this new mower once. I bought it because it had a Honda engine. Everything works well so far. No issues. Installation was simple and all parts were included.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HondoCat
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Dissapointed in mower.
7/8/2008

Customer review by ValueConcious

2.0 stars 7/8/2008 by ValueConcious
by ValueConcious

I bought this product because of the Honda overhead cam engine. It was out of stock in 3 Wal-Marts before I finally found it. It took a couple of tries to start the engine. When it started it ran for about 5 minutes and then started idling up and down and then stalled. After several tries it started again and ran for a few minutes and then idled up and down until it stalled. I called the manufacturer and they told me to check the spark plug wire. It was loose but after fixing it and restarting the mower I had the same problem. I called the manufacturer again and they said to take off the fuel line and see if anything was blocking it from when it was manufactured. I did not remove the fuel line - I felt I should not have to disassemble parts of a new lawn mower so I returned it. Another complaint was the automatic choke. You had to be quick in starting the mower before the choke reset. When it ran it was the smoothest running mower I've ever owned. I will probably go back to the conventional Briggs & Stratton powered mower.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ValueConcious
Laurel, Md.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
What a Bummer
3/16/2009

Customer review by 8Walnuts

1.0 stars 3/16/2009 by 8Walnuts
by 8Walnuts

We needed a new mower so instead of going out and driving all around town, we shopped online for it. That was a mistake! We read the reviews on the mower and there were only a couple of them that were not good, compared to alot of good reviews, so we decided to try it out. I got the mower quicker than expected, that was a good thing because our grass was really long. I opened it immediately put it together in minutes, and proceded to my backyard to mow my 8'by 8' patch of grass. The mower started right away, ran for about 2 minutes, then died. after several tries to restart it, with no success, I took off the fuel line and bled some gas out. I than tried to resart it, and again after several tries it started running only to rev up and down as it was running. It ran for about 5 min. this time so I got to mow some of my lawn. And so the cycle went on for about 45 min. to an hour, I finally got a patch of grass mowed with much frustration and disapointment. A couple of days later I brought the mower to my frontyard to try and mow, Ha!, now I should known that was not going to happen! After bleeding the gas line again, I did get it started after pulling and pulling and pulling(did I mention pulling?), and as the mower revved up and down again I got to mowing. I got 1 21in. circle cut (that is the size of the blade) the monster never started again. I have since returned it to Wal-Mart with no problems. I would not recomend this mower at all. I am very dissapointed with it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
8Walnuts
Modesto,CA.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Awful Product
5/23/2008

Customer review by HollyW00d81

1.0 stars 5/23/2008 by HollyW00d81
by HollyW00d81

I have had to return two of these mowers, both had the same problem. They start up fine, but when the choke moves to the off position, either the engine dies right away or it dies minutes later. No matter what I've done (changed gas, changed spark plug, let sit) nothing remedies the problem inherent in this awful product. I've had other people look at the mower to make sure it wasn't me, and they've all shook their heads. Skip this mower, and spend a little more on a better brand.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HollyW00d81
Would recommend to a friend? No