Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 41 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

41 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

41 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
18
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
6
1-20 of 35 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews
tiller
6/19/2008

Customer review by xterra

5.0 stars 6/19/2008 by xterra
by xterra

This little machine has done nothing but impress me with it's ability to get the job done. I usually do my gardening with a small farm tractor but this year I made a mistake in the row spaceing and could not get in between the rows after the crop got high, I got this little machine and it just keeps on going. I really like the performance.

Was this review helpful? (34) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
xterra
Graceville, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
small but powerful
3/19/2009

Customer review by rickandgabi

4.0 stars 3/19/2009 by rickandgabi
by rickandgabi

It was a bit smaller than what we expected and if we had a bigger yard or more area to cultivate, this wouldn't work. Since we only needed smaller areas turned, however, this works very well. It bucked a bit when we hit harder areas and had a hard time cutting through the ever-present coleche deposits but with a bit of patience, it did the job we needed it to do. If you're planning on turning large areas or turning more than a foot or so deep, this isn't the tiller for you. Other than that, it's a good value.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rickandgabi
West Tx.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great for the backyard gardener
5/3/2009

Customer review by hollydaze

5.0 stars 5/3/2009 by hollydaze
by hollydaze

The cultivator was very helpful when I wanted to till up an area in the backyard for my vegetable garden. It did the job and worked even in clay soils. Not for doing a large job like laying sod, but worked perfect for my 30x15 garden!

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hollydaze
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
preparing the soil for a vegetable garden
3/11/2011

Customer review by NEGRITOPR

5.0 stars 3/11/2011 by NEGRITOPR
by NEGRITOPR

i have a 20'x20' vegetable garden in my yard now for two years.i have always cultivated thesoil by hand,lots of work and time.i decided to look into these portable tipe gas powered cultivators/tillers.this particular model was 2/3 cheaper than all the others it's size and i was very impressed with it's performance.i pulled up roots,rocks and trash that i had never even noticed before,and in one day's work,i am very excited at what the outcome of my planting this season will be.i recommend this product to everyone.thank you!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NEGRITOPR
PLANTATION,FL.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Light weight and does the job
6/6/2009

Customer review by Unicorn101

5.0 stars 6/6/2009 by Unicorn101
by Unicorn101

This little machine is light weight but boy does it do the job. Even my 9 year old son had no problem tilling up the soil with it. Better then I thought it would be. Glad I bought it.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Unicorn101
Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
good little tiller
7/11/2009

Customer review by WorkTilWeDrop

4.0 stars 7/11/2009 by WorkTilWeDrop
by WorkTilWeDrop

We have used this machine to till small sections of the yard, prepping for sod replacements. It's great for what we need-tilling up small areas.

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WorkTilWeDrop
North Little Rock, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Excellent Product for the price
5/30/2010

Customer review by NannaSunshine

5.0 stars 5/30/2010 by NannaSunshine
by NannaSunshine

Bought this today, came home & tried it out & fell in love with it. It's perfect for cultivating after the plants are in the ground & need worked. Gas mix is easy. Machine is easy to handle. I used a Mantis a few weeks ago to see how it worked & this machine is very comparable without the high price!! I absolutely think it was worth the money. The only thing that would be better if the price were lower!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NannaSunshine
St James, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
great product
4/21/2011

Customer review by wally146

5.0 stars 4/21/2011 by wally146
by wally146

Purchased tiller last year and it worked great. Just went out this spring to start work on garden. The tiller started right up and did the job great. Read reviews last year stating starting was a problem, I haven't had any problems at all. Tiller works good on untilled dirt but you need to work it, this year working on last years garden plot the tilling was a breeze. I wouldn't waste the extra $200 to get the popular brand. I am sold on Yardman products. They are inexpensive and for me have worked great.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wally146
Moroni, Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Yard Machines 10 31cc Gas Cultivator (Mini Tiller)
3/25/2012

Customer review by MuzzleHead

4.0 stars 3/25/2012 by MuzzleHead
by MuzzleHead

In the past I have used a large (man beater) roto tiller. Now that years are catching up with me I decided to try something a little smaller and less punishing to whatever muscles I have left. I have a vegetable garden (about 45' x 25') and I used this cultivator to break the ground and mix horse manure into the soil of an established garden. I don't know if it is powerfull enough to break ground for the first time. It took me a couple of hours to do this space, almost the same amount of time as with the big tiller I have used in the past. This cultivator proved to be easy to use and powerful enough to do the job with no strain to the engine. I found it easier to pull the machine towards me when working the soil. It mixes the soil nice and fine if you make a few passes, I do this in opposite directions. The main reason I bought a cultivator this small is in hopes it will make weeding easier. I plan to plant my rows about two feet apart and use this machine between the rows for weed control. If I could change one thing about this machine it would be the way to start it. The way it is set up you have to use your left hand/arm to pull the rope to start the engine. It might be easier for left handed people. Some reviews say they could not get it running but I followed the starting instructions and it started right up for me. Make sure to pump the priming blub at least ten times. I am very pleased with this machine so far. I gave it four stars instead of five because of the ackward position you have to put yourself in to start the engine.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MuzzleHead
Painter, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Very powerful machine for the size
4/28/2011

Customer review by Thegreatwallofchina

5.0 stars 4/28/2011 by Thegreatwallofchina
by Thegreatwallofchina

This product is great. This will take care of all my yard and garden needs this little tiller digs in and is easy to start and maintain.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Thegreatwallofchina
Perry
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Very Good
3/26/2009

Customer review by Lionheart9851

5.0 stars 3/26/2009 by Lionheart9851
by Lionheart9851

Well worth the money. Works well, even on new ground. And my wife hasn't broken it yet.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lionheart9851
Urbana, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very handy machine
6/3/2011

Customer review by baruchmom

4.0 stars 6/3/2011 by baruchmom
by baruchmom

The cultivator was lightweight, easy to use and required no assembly. We bought it to till up the grass between our garden rows, and it performed very well. We're very satisfied with the machine.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
baruchmom
Ratliff City, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Not a helpful product
8/22/2008

Customer review by smajhoney

2.0 stars 8/22/2008 by smajhoney
by smajhoney

Very hard to start. Clumsy. Does not go deep enough in dirt. Very disappointed. Returned product to store.

Was this review helpful? (8) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
smajhoney
Springfield, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
DO NOT BUY!!!!!!
5/21/2009

Customer review by newville

1.0 stars 5/21/2009 by newville
by newville

THIS MACHINE IS HORRIBLE AFTER MUCH STRUGGLING I GOT IT TO RUN FOR ABOUT 10 MIN. WHEN I CAME BACK TO USE IT AGAIN LATER IT WOULDN'T EVEN START. TAKING IT BACK TO THE STORE!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
newville
NEWVILLE, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
6/22/2011

Customer review by oldngrey

3.0 stars 6/22/2011 by oldngrey
by oldngrey

works great, after you get it " broke in" when i first started to use it it would stay running except on 2 on the choke and was hard to start, I was gonna take it back but the longer I used it the better it got. hope you're on good terms with your neighbors because it is loud.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
oldngrey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Don't buy this, too hard to start!
8/2/2011

Customer review by fighter

1.0 stars 8/2/2011 by fighter
by fighter

Extremely hard to start. A standard problem. Rope broke after pulling it for 15 minutes. Chock or not does not help. Fuel pressure bulb does not pressurize the fuel lines, leaving air in the line. When started it has to idle without throttle for a few minutes before it will rev up. Don't waste your money on this one. I usually don't write bad reviews ... this is an exception. Now I need to got put a band-aide on the blister from pulling the dang rope.

Was this review helpful? (4) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fighter
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Whimpy & ain't worth the cost
7/4/2012

Customer review by ColoradoHermit

1.0 stars 7/4/2012 by ColoradoHermit
by ColoradoHermit

Got one of these a few years back & turned out to be one of the most expensive useless tools I've ever bought. First it will actually only till soil that is already loose. And not just loose, it has to be real loose. And even then its so light it tends to just bounce up & down if there's any kind of resistance at all on the blades. Then even if the soil is already loose enough for it to till the gearbox for the drive gets very hot very quick. For what it does it would be a better deal to get one of the line trimmers that has the half shaft so you can change tool heads and get the tiller attachment for it. They do the same job, and more by having different attachments, and is easier to manage. Trying to use this to till a small flower bed or small garden plot is actually more work than just doing it the old fashioned way with normal hand tools. You have to prep the soil by loosening it any way before you can really use this on it. It would be better in the long run to just add a few more bucks and get a normal size tiller that can do the job right or stick to hand tools.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ColoradoHermit
Canon City, Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Top 250 contributor
Very handy machine
6/22/2009

Customer review by NDGardener

5.0 stars 6/22/2009 by NDGardener
by NDGardener

This tiller is very handy in the garden. It's small enough to get between the rows to make easy work of weeding. It has plenty of power to till even hard ground.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NDGardener
Bismarck, ND
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
perfect cultivator for small areas
12/22/2011

Customer review by Kundalini

5.0 stars 12/22/2011 by Kundalini
by Kundalini

The Yard Machine 121 31cc tiller is not made to till unbroken soil, like the larger tillers. Howerver, it does an exceptional job when used in a flower bed or small vegetable patch where the soil has already been broken up. It will go about 4 to 6" deep. It is lightweight, portable and great for weeding between rows. So far it starts within 2 or 3 pulls. There is plenty of power and it does it's job well. The tines are easily cleaned by removing a hitch pin on either side of the drive. The tines slide off the shaft for cleaning debris and vines that twist around the shaft. I have only used the tiller for about 3 hours(3 times), but so far I am very pleased. It uses a gas/oil mix 40:1. A non ethanol gasoline is best, good luck finding one.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kundalini
Northeast Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great little tiller
8/23/2011

Customer review by killians

5.0 stars 8/23/2011 by killians
by killians

This is the second one of these I've owned. The first one was used every week to cultivate a 1000 sq.ft. garden and lasted 10 years. I love this little tiller. It is easy to use and can be picked up easily. I've also used this to till up flowerbeds - does a great job. You can manuever in tight areas and not chew up other plants. Just like the old one, this is a 2 cycle engine - meaning you add the oil premix to the gallon of gas. The good thing about this newer model is it takes a 40:1 mix, which is more of a standard. The older one was 32:1.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
killians
Elkton, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews