Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 36 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

36 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

36 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
29
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-20 of 23 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 23 total reviews
1-20 of 23 reviews
The Last Lecture
1/28/2009

Customer review by busyreader

5.0 stars 1/28/2009 by busyreader
by busyreader

"The Last Lecture" is a book filled with living-life-to-the-fullest advice from a college professor. While to some this might sound as interesting as reading a doctoral dissertation, you'd be surprised. The author, Randy Pausch, a professor of computer science at Carnegie Mellon who was diagnosed with terminal cancer, writes so well that you'd probably let him teach you about computers too. Some things he talks about include: remember to laugh, seizing every moment, overcoming obstacles, appreciate the gifts you recieve, and enabling the dreams of others. Although the author died this year, his wisdom will no doubt be around awhile in this very enlightening book. Other books in this genre I liked include "Finding Happiness in a Frustrating World".

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
busyreader
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not Enough Substance
5/20/2011

Customer review by Jas99

4.0 stars 5/20/2011 by Jas99
by Jas99

This was given to me as a gift by a fellow teacher not long after it first came out and I put it away. As I've been in a bit of a funk lately, I went out and bought several inspirational books to try and lift myself out of this. And I finally got this one down. Pausch's story is remarkable, and I enjoyed his candor, honesty and most of all, his spirit and courage. It was worthwhile, but out of everything I've been reading lately, I loved Buddha in the Classroom; Zen Wisdom to Inspire Teachers, the best, as it seemed to speak directly to my own feelings and teaching burnout--it inspired me to be more patient and it truly helped me see things differently.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jas99
San Francisco
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Randy's resume
6/18/2008

Customer review by Teatimes

3.0 stars 6/18/2008 by Teatimes
by Teatimes

A book about Randy and all his accomplishments and success. I would love for his wife to write about her experiences through life with Randy and the challenges she has faced of late. One still has to view the lecture online (1 hour)...not printed word for word in this book but referenced throughout. His lesson segments will be a great guide for his children when they get older. I wish him peace within, most of all. May God bless Randy and family!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Teatimes
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12/30/2008

Customer review by Auras

1.0 stars 12/30/2008 by Auras
by Auras

The price of the book was the best that I could find in the market, I have to say that. (I bought my book online) But when it comes to the physical aspect of the book, specially the scoring of the pages, is like it was cut with a kitchen knife. In my personal experience with book publishing, the book that I bought had to be taken back to the printers to re-do the work before putting it out on the market for sale.

Was this review helpful? (0) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Auras
Would recommend to a friend? No
Inspirational Read
9/19/2008

Customer review by Loveroflife1

5.0 stars 9/19/2008 by Loveroflife1
by Loveroflife1

The timing of this book couldn't be more exact. We just learned that the father of my two girls is going to die in less than 3 months due to pancriatic cancer. I am going to buy a copy of this book for each of the girls and, hopefully, they will be inspired as much as I am. May God Bless everyone who is going through tough times in their lives with losing loved ones.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Loveroflife1
San Pedro, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
True inspiration!
1/7/2009

Customer review by TiggerRyan

5.0 stars 1/7/2009 by TiggerRyan
by TiggerRyan

If you think you have it bad, read this book and see how one man's outlook on life can change how he views the world around him. For teens, adults, seniors, this book may give you a new perspective on what life is all about. A quick read, but have tissues nearby. Would be an amazing world if we all followed this professor's outlook.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TiggerRyan
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
The Last Lecture
5/14/2008

Customer review by DrZapp

5.0 stars 5/14/2008 by DrZapp
by DrZapp

The author, Randy Pausch, has written a truly inspiring story. I searched several stores and websites to get this book. Wal-Mart was the first to have it available. My only complaint was the quality of the paper it was printed on. Was it supposed to be the kind with raggedy edges? I hope it lasts through several readings.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DrZapp
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Amazing
5/8/2008

Customer review by truelife

5.0 stars 5/8/2008 by truelife
by truelife

this man defines character. He is complete, insightful, generous, knowing, sincere, selfless and a professor of life. If there were ever a person who was qualified to speak and teach us about a life worth living......read about Randy. I will think about him everyday for the rest of my life.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
truelife
New York - Chicago
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
LOVED THIS BOOK
5/13/2008

Customer review by Princesssey

5.0 stars 5/13/2008 by Princesssey
by Princesssey

This book will really make you think about your own life! It was a joy to read. Once you start it you will not be able to put it down. The final few chapters will tug at your heart! This book is written from the heart and will be forever remembered by myself!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Princesssey
Argyle, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Smart, easy read
5/5/2008

Customer review by kdr65

5.0 stars 5/5/2008 by kdr65
by kdr65

This insight into life (yes, life, not dying) is an easy, fluid read. Mr. Pausch writes with humor and insight that will have you at once tickled, and reviewing your own life. I will purchase this book as gifts, and will keep on my bookshelf.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kdr65
Wichita Falls, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Insightful & introspective
8/15/2008

Customer review by MacUserCS

5.0 stars 8/15/2008 by MacUserCS
by MacUserCS

While the book is a quick read, it really provide a way to reflect and help understand what you can do to be more positive in every aspect of your life and appreciate what you have and what you can become. A good book to refer back to.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MacUserCS
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
A keepsake
1/2/2009

Customer review by KitKatPaddyWhack

4.0 stars 1/2/2009 by KitKatPaddyWhack
by KitKatPaddyWhack

You cannot read this book and be the same person when done. It's well written and deserves more than one reading to remind us of how precious life & our loved ones are. If you have kids, pass it on to them.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KitKatPaddyWhack
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Good book
10/7/2008

Customer review by Rockygr1

5.0 stars 10/7/2008 by Rockygr1
by Rockygr1

This is a good book. It is a quick read. I sat down one afternoon and it only took me a few hours to read the entire book. But I really enjoyed reading it.I plan on having all my children read it too.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rockygr1
Gower, Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Gotta have it!!
11/19/2014

Customer review by solutionsbeginwithme

4.0 stars 11/19/2014 by solutionsbeginwithme
by solutionsbeginwithme

My son requested this book for Christmas after we watched a video of parts of the book. Got it!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
solutionsbeginwithme
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Inspiring
5/27/2009

Customer review by SmilinPiscies

5.0 stars 5/27/2009 by SmilinPiscies
by SmilinPiscies

I bought this book for my husband who had caught several interviews with Randy Pausch on TV and was very inspired. He loved the book.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SmilinPiscies
Hart, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
The Last Lecture Book
2/2/2009

Customer review by Movie66Watcher

5.0 stars 2/2/2009 by Movie66Watcher
by Movie66Watcher

I think everyone should read this book. Maybe people would be nicer to each other, after reading this book. It is a fabulous book.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Movie66Watcher
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
You need tissue!
4/30/2008

Customer review by brash

5.0 stars 4/30/2008 by brash
by brash

This is an amazing story! I have to warn you, that you must have a box of kleenex sitting next toyou for the entire book.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
brash
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Book!
10/21/2008

Customer review by MMSerenity

5.0 stars 10/21/2008 by MMSerenity
by MMSerenity

Most people do not wish to pick up this book, thinking that it would be very sad. Instead it is VERY inspirational.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MMSerenity
North Bergen, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Inspirational
1/5/2009

Customer review by PKJauto

5.0 stars 1/5/2009 by PKJauto
by PKJauto

This book has helped me appreciate my life and especially my time that I spend on what's really important to me

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PKJauto
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
The Last Leture
5/28/2010

Customer review by Star747

5.0 stars 5/28/2010 by Star747
by Star747

It was a very interesting,easy to follow and intriging and moving book...a must buy!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Star747
Sitka,AK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 23 total reviews
1-20 of 23 reviews