Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 25 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

25 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

25 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
22
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-14 of 14 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

A lovely new "Persuasion"
1/20/2010

Customer review by azpcflyer

5.0 stars 1/20/2010 by azpcflyer
by azpcflyer

I had inadvertently rented this movie from Netflix, and enjoyed it so much, I wanted to own it and hence I ordered it from WalMart. The casting, locations and performances are truly excellent. A delightful new approach to a Jane Austen classic.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
azpcflyer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Enjoyable
4/20/2008

Customer review by pooly

5.0 stars 4/20/2008 by pooly
by pooly

I thoroughly enjoyed this movie--It has excellent acting, beautiful background--The kind of movie you want to watch over and over again--Enjoyable for any age

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pooly
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Wonderful film!
3/3/2008

Customer review by celticpearl

5.0 stars 3/3/2008 by celticpearl
by celticpearl

I love this movie! Being a proud Janeite and lover of all things Regency, I highly recommend this film. It is actually the one Jane Austen book that I've not read any of, so I can't give any report on the accuracy or faithfulness to the original story, but I love the movie. The costumes and scenery are gorgeous and Sally and Rupert shine as Anne and Captain Wentworth. Even if you aren't particularly interested in this era (are there really such people out there? Shocking!), you can enjoy this as a sweet story of second chances and the courage and strength of true love. :)

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
celticpearl
Broken Arrow, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Movie
5/20/2008

Customer review by orchidgirl

5.0 stars 5/20/2008 by orchidgirl
by orchidgirl

I love this movie!! The only problem was how long it took to get here. I ordered two other things at the same time, which I received within a week and a half. This was the first to be shipped out and the last to be received, quite a bit after it was supposed to get here, I thought it might have been misplaced. But when I got it, I did have to watch it several times-it's just that good! I do wish it had some behind the scenes or a making of, some kind of special features.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
orchidgirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
A very nice video
8/4/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 8/4/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I love this movie! Better than the other Persusions, in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Grants Pass, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
A Travesty of Adaptation
3/19/2010

Customer review by JesterP

1.0 stars 3/19/2010 by JesterP
by JesterP

I was so disappointed in this version. The only person to whom I would recommend this movie is someone who has never actually read "Persuasion" or seen one of the purer movie adaptations. The movie is not without merit, but the scenes that are familiar seem to be recycle from earlier versions, and the of the scenes that try to be novel, half are not even representative of the book. Apparently, the screen writer(s) felt they were more capable of delivering Jane Austen’s vision than she was. I could have forgiven the small disappointments throughout the movie if the end hadn’t been varied beyond recognition. The fairy tale moment that we expect (Austen fans will know to what I refer) is so grotesquely distorted that it completely alters the character of Anne and makes her laughable instead of the heroine. The ending is absolutely slaughtered. If you love "Persuasion" DO NOT BUY THIS VERSION!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JesterP
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
One Great Movie
10/13/2008

Customer review by HopelessRomantic2

5.0 stars 10/13/2008 by HopelessRomantic2
by HopelessRomantic2

If you are a hopeless romantic. You will definitely love this movie. Glad I didn't miss it. One you will be glad you watched.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HopelessRomantic2
Fort Payne, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Enjoyed greatly
8/6/2010

Customer review by Caranna2

5.0 stars 8/6/2010 by Caranna2
by Caranna2

Loved this movie. The previous version of Persuasion with Amanda Root and Ciaran Hinds followed closer to the Austen novel but watching Rupert Penry-Jones made this purchase well worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Caranna2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great adaptation of Jane Austen's book
5/18/2011

Customer review by JaneAustenFan100

5.0 stars 5/18/2011 by JaneAustenFan100
by JaneAustenFan100

This movie is a little slow, but I still LOVE it! If you are a fan of Jane Austen's book Persuasion, I'm sure you will love it too.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JaneAustenFan100
Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Enjoyable Jane Austin classic tale
12/16/2012

Customer review by Joethecoach

5.0 stars 12/16/2012 by Joethecoach
by Joethecoach

We watched this film as a family and enjoyed the Pride and Predjudice type feeling and setting. We have enjoyed that Jane Austin classic over and over. Persuasion will certainly be that type of movie also.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Joethecoach
Nampa, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
a beautiful movie
9/23/2008

Customer review by nat123

5.0 stars 9/23/2008 by nat123
by nat123

it's a great movie.beautiful places,romantic and classic . i love this movie.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nat123
inver grove heights , MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Best Love Story Ever
3/31/2009

Customer review by Bookgirl4423

5.0 stars 3/31/2009 by Bookgirl4423
by Bookgirl4423

Persuasion is the best love story ever writen. I love this movie.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bookgirl4423
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Austen
1/15/2010

Customer review by MaryAG

5.0 stars 1/15/2010 by MaryAG
by MaryAG

I did enjoy this version from the BBC, but I wished they would have shown the wedding at the end. Still a very good version of story.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MaryAG
Abingdon,MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Persuasion
9/19/2008

Customer review by cteach1

4.0 stars 9/19/2008 by cteach1
by cteach1

If you are a die heart fan of Austin as I am, then you'll delight in seeing any version of her work. I found this rendering good based not on the actors, even though they we good, but based on the physical appointments. The location of the shots that were of the house were most excellent. I thought it gave the viewer a better idea of what the father had flittered away than other works. The resolution of the of the conflict was done well as it demonstrates the logical conclusion much better. However, the shots of the waterfront were a bit dark, overdone, and there were too many of them. All in all it was as decent attempt. It won't be a let down to buy this movie.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cteach1
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days