Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 45 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

45 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

45 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
24
4 stars
13
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 stars
1
1-20 of 39 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 39 total reviews
1-20 of 39 reviews
Not bad for thirty bucks
8/22/2009

Customer review by ShoppingShark

4.0 stars 8/22/2009 by ShoppingShark
by ShoppingShark

“Having air-traveled the last 5 years with only carry-on bags, it's been important to have a capacious and sturdy knapsack that fits my laptop -- inside its own case -- and be stuffed to the max yet still fit inside the typical jet’s overhead compartment. Thus, I scoured the websites looking for a candidate. This one pretty much makes it. Just a couple of nitpiks here. First, those smaller, outer pockets are very valuable to me, for that's where I stick stuff like boarding passes and internet-ticket-purchased receipts, travel itineraries, my checkbooks, passport, etc. So Targus, please use two zippers on the outermost front pocket so I can zip it up from both sides of the bottom, rather than zip from one bottom corner up, around and down to the other bottom corner (that allows too much stuff to fall out of the pocket in the middle of a flight). Second, please make the net overall “cavity width” another 2-3 inches wider because, even fully loaded, that will still fit in the overheads and frankly, space and durability form my bottom line here. I haven't put any "mileage" on this bag yet but it feels sturdy (the one I had was just great but after 10 years of heavy duty travel demands, it understandably started to split around the seams). So, 4 stars, not 5 -- until Targus incorporates my wonderful suggestions. Kudos, btw, to Wal-Mart for publishing user reviews – that drives up to 90% of my decision on whether to buy a given product over another (it’s also why I take the time to send in my review – thanks to all others who participate, just wish we were all “calibrated” because 4 stars from me, for example, may be 3 stars to another, or 5....)

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShoppingShark
Savannah,GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Perfect bag for laptops!
3/4/2009

Customer review by dennis4627

5.0 stars 3/4/2009 by dennis4627
by dennis4627

This bag is perfect for what I needed it for--to lug around a smaller laptop. I actually bought two of these bags (I gave out one as a gift). The bag's outer material is weather resistant, (helps in the rain) and has numerous compartments to store extra items. The best thing about this bag are the straps, which are curved inward to ensure the bag won't slip off your shoulder since most people tend to slip these bags over one shoulder. The actual laptop pouch has adequate cushion to support the unit. For the price, it's well worth it.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dennis4627
New Windsor, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Cheap backpack
11/29/2010

Customer review by UNTstudent

3.0 stars 11/29/2010 by UNTstudent
by UNTstudent

I carry my 15" Macbook in this backpack and it gets pretty well protected. I am a college student and I have A LOT of books that I have to carry around with me. When I am carrying a full load the backpack gets unmanageably heavy, which is frustrating. Also, the bottom of the back has started to deteriorate and the shoulder straps have started to break. I have had this bag for maybe a year now. This is a good basic backpack if you don't have a lot to carry, but it is a little cheaply made so don't try to carry too much with you. I do like the simple design but the headphone hole is in a really stupid place. They put it in the only place on the backpack where you have to take it off to get to the Ipod. In the side pouch or at the top of the bag would have been a smarter place to put that. Also, the bag isn't really water resistant, so if you get caught in the rain and your electronics are in your backpack...well I hope you said goodbye to them.

UNTstudent
Would recommend to a friend? No
Best Bag Ever
3/18/2008

Customer review by RVel

5.0 stars 3/18/2008 by RVel
by RVel

This is our 2nd Targus bag. Our first (the same model) was purchased in 2005, but had a slight accident and died (not the bag's fault - it actually held up rather well after getting ran over by a dump truck). Anyway, we bought an HP which was ok, but didnt have the nice quick adjustable straps like the Targus. When we got our 2nd laptop we decided the next bag had to be a Targus. More than plenty of room for cords, laptop, books, food, water bottle etc. Awsome for students or people who work outside. Highly recommended

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RVel
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Targus 15.4" Groove Backpack
7/18/2016

Customer review by Yusuf

5.0 stars 7/18/2016 by Yusuf
by Yusuf
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Good Product, reasonable price, speedy delivery. very satisfy.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Yusuf
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best backpack for the money
3/1/2014

Customer review by Paulstone

5.0 stars 3/1/2014 by Paulstone
by Paulstone
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I took my old Targus backpack for 3 trips to Asia totalling over 3 months of travel. Then I spent 3 more years trudging around San Francisco on the streets and I always had it loaded down. There was not a single tear or hole anywhere on the backpack. It survived some brutal wear and tear. It could have still gone more years, but I was ready for a new one, so I bought another one just like it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Paulstone
San Francisco
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
perfect!
4/30/2009

Customer review by McCartneyFamily

5.0 stars 4/30/2009 by McCartneyFamily
by McCartneyFamily

It was exactly what I need from my work. Needed a bag to keep my laptop dry, pack little electronics, and a few personal items. It carries about 25lbs of stuff .. straps are very comfortable with plenty of padding UNDER the laptop & back area. Zippers are plenty big for large fingers and nice pocket sizes.

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
McCartneyFamily
Pollock, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A reliable bag up to daily-use
12/15/2011

Customer review by littlefish888

4.0 stars 12/15/2011 by littlefish888
by littlefish888

I have used a Targus Laptop backpack case for the past 8 years nearly daily for work. This includes commutes by bike, metro, taxi, own car, as well as dozens of carry-on trip onto passenger planes for both work and leisure trips. My Targus bags have served me well. This model was my second one as a warranty replacement for my first. The zipper started to wear after about 4 years on the old one and Targus replaced it with this model and so i have been using this one for the past 4 years. COnvenient pockets, easy to use, reinforces padded straps with loops for external possibilities. I highly recommend this bag!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
littlefish888
San Francisco
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
They changed features without changing the name.
6/9/2013

Customer review by Nate B

3.0 stars 6/9/2013 by Nate B
by Nate B

I love my CVR600, having owned it about 6 years and used it heavily for 4 of those. The zipper finally succumbed to my relentless abuse, and I went shopping for a new one. Found it, bought it, got it, hate it! Look around for old photos of the CVR600, and you'll find a small zippered side compartment on the left, pen-loops inside the rearmost flap, and a mesh sleeve inside the main compartment. Also a belly-strap for long hikes, though I seldom used this. All these features are missing on the new version. Notably, even if your merchant shows photos of the original, they'll probably send you the cost-optimized version. It's still a decent backpack, if you're not attached to those features. I don't feel like paying return shipping so I'll probably pick up a memory-card wallet to replace the missing compartment, rearrange a bit, and make do.

Nate B
Royal Oak, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Backpack!
8/5/2015

Customer review by jheck

5.0 stars 8/5/2015 by jheck
by jheck

I was in the market for a new laptop bag but was getting tired of the shoulder strap bags. A lot of my co workers have backpacks and they all love them. I saw this backpack on clearance and it already had good reviews. It does everything I need it to do and plenty of compartments.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jheck
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great for laptops and books
5/16/2008

Customer review by joser

4.0 stars 5/16/2008 by joser
by joser

I bought this backpack because I wanted to carry my books and laptop in the same bag. I did not want to be carrying around a school bag and side bag. Its more comfortable to it this way. I previously has a strap backpack and it was uncomfortable having all that weight on one shoulder. This backpack has the necessary amount of space for most school related supplies. It has enough compartments for the different things you'll carry (laptop, laptop charger, books, pens and pencils, mp3 player, even though I have a PSP and the pocket for mp3 players does not accompany the PSP well). Its blurred into the background since I got it and I've gotten comfortable with it without any real complaints, which I guess is a sign of a good product. I've had it for about 3 weeks now and its good. I just bought it a little late seeing as classes were over yesterday.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
joser
Orange Cove, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Too small
12/30/2009

Customer review by RachelRJ

2.0 stars 12/30/2009 by RachelRJ
by RachelRJ

This product looks much bigger than it is. When I received it, it was no more than a laptop case with two shoulder straps. If you are only looking for a laptop case, this may be a good value. As a backpack, it did not meet expectations.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RachelRJ
WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
I don't think I will ever need another backpack
1/16/2013

Customer review by Student

5.0 stars 1/16/2013 by Student
by Student

I have had this backpack now for 6 years, and nothing is even close to breaking or wearing out. This backpack has carried all of my books for school from my freshman year of highshool to, my secend year of college, and it is still like new. The only negative thing about this backpack is that it is not water proof. Targus did not make this backpack to wear out, and I don't see a reason to replace it, but if I ever need a new backpack, I will be looking at this brand first.

Student
Texas/Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
8/29/2012

Customer review by traveler

5.0 stars 8/29/2012 by traveler
by traveler

I guess I can agree with the comment about the earphone hole, but I've never even thought to use this backpack for listening to my ipod. I have had this backpack since 2004 and love it! The only problem I've had is one of the zipper tabs came off last year (7 years after I purchased it!). I recently acquired another one of these bags and I'm stoked to have one for work and one for the gym. Great bag!

traveler
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wears like Iron
7/24/2012

Customer review by ConLawGUy2012

5.0 stars 7/24/2012 by ConLawGUy2012
by ConLawGUy2012

Best backpack I've ever bought. Purchased it back in 2005 and I still use it. Carried books in college, files on business, and then books used in Law School. The bag has worn like it were made of iron. Best backpack I've ever used. Only buy this bag if you want it to last practically for years - if you're the type who likes to buy new bags, this is not the bag for you.

ConLawGUy2012
Grand Rapids, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not whats pictured
1/14/2016

Customer review by Sammy133

1.0 stars 1/14/2016 by Sammy133
by Sammy133

The bag I got had to be returned. It did not have a key clip , CD and mobile phone pockets.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sammy133
Would recommend to a friend? No
lasted a long time
7/19/2011

Customer review by tom

4.0 stars 7/19/2011 by tom
by tom

my school made it mandatory for use to use this backpack in school so we could carry are tablets and i have been using it for 4 years now and it is still going strong buy for heavy loads its not very comfortable.

tom
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love this backpack
10/31/2015

Customer review by Bela

5.0 stars 10/31/2015 by Bela
by Bela

My son gets this exact backpack model for school every three years. Yes, you heard correct; this backpack last approx. three school years filled with heavy school books and it is used every day. I would definitely recommend it and happy that I found it for $26.48, far cheaper than paying $70 at Staples for the same exact backpack. Its' durability is awesome and definitely a great steal!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bela
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfunctory Replacement
5/4/2012

Customer review by IMVJordan

4.0 stars 5/4/2012 by IMVJordan
by IMVJordan

This Targus product is a good, not great, replacement for the HP product that I previously owned. Not enthused about this product's overall engineering (earphone hole on top of compartment - rain water leaked into hole). Not as feature-rich as previous HP product that I owned. For example, there is no padlock holes, or other locking mechanism, on computer compartment for added security. Auxiliary compartments are undersized a bit, for my tastes when attempting to carry other books / electronics.

IMVJordan
Cincinnati, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
TOO Small for price
8/20/2010

Customer review by Gnatbat

2.0 stars 8/20/2010 by Gnatbat
by Gnatbat

Tha backpack could hardly hold a laptop not mentioning any accerories. To small for what the picture shows

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gnatbat
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
1-20 of 39 total reviews
1-20 of 39 reviews