Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 40 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

40 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

40 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

80%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
18
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 stars
6
1-20 of 32 total reviews
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 32 total reviews
1-20 of 32 reviews
Confusing How-To Explained!
3/11/2009

Customer review by MuleShoe64

5.0 stars 3/11/2009 by MuleShoe64
by MuleShoe64

It clear from all other reviews that there seems to be general confusion how this cooker operates. There are 3 (three) cooking modes: Cook-by-Power, Cook-by-Temperature and Cook-by-Program. "Cook-By-Power" applies constant power (at the desired level from Keep Warm to Max) regardless of the actual temperature of the cooking vessel. This mode should be used for boiling, steaming, simmering, etc., where there is plenty of liquid (water/stock/juice) in the vessel. If you try to use Cook-By-Power for frying, the pan will get too hot and the pan overheat protection will shut the cooker down as a precaution after a few minutes - you must use Cook-By-Temperature for frying) "Cook-By-Temperature" uses a sensor to determine the temperature of the cooking vessel and cycles the power on and off to maintain the temperature (from Keep Warm to 410ºF) within 6% to 15% of the desired temperature. This mode should be used for pan frying, deep frying, stir-frying, and griddle-type operations, where the the pan will be dry or contain oil. "Cook-By-Program" uses either Power or Temperature or Both according to a predetermined function profile. For example: the Rice setting boils the water at MED POWER then switches to a simmer on MIN POWER all the while measuring the temperature of the cooking vessel. When all the moisture is absorbed the pan will start to heat up. The induction cooker will sense this and then switch to the Keep Warm TEMPERATURE (just like a dedicated rice cooker). The Boil Water setting starts on MAX POWER and when the temperature reaches 212ºF the cooker shuts off. The water will bubble long before 212ºF is reached. Each of the 8 buttons on the cooker is assigned one of the above 3 cooking modes: Cook-by-Power: –Hotpot (when you adjust levels, you are adjusting POWER from 300W to 1300W and the cooker stays on continuously until you shut it off, or the pan overheats) Hotpot is the default mode when the cooker is turned on. Cook-by-Temperature: –Stir-Fry, –Braise, –Roast (when you adjust levels, you are adjusting TEMPERATURE and the cooker will cycle on and off to maintain the set temperature) Note: the primary difference between these three buttons seems to be the initial tempature which can easily be adjusted up or down for each one. Cook-by-Program: –Rice, –Boil Water, –Soup (MIN to MED POWER for a set time) , and –Stew (MED to MAX POWER for a set time) . Soup and Stew are kind of like Slow Cooker Low and High settings. You cannot adjust either power or temperature for the Cook-By-Program buttons -- they just do their thang. Timer Operation: Cooking Time can be set for Hot Pot, Stir-Fry, Roast and Braise buttons. When using the Cook-By-Program buttons (Rice, Boil Water, etc.) the timer functions as a delayed start timer instead. Hope this helps!

Was this review helpful? (189) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MuleShoe64
Southern Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Best buy for the money
11/25/2008

Customer review by roadtreasure

4.0 stars 11/25/2008 by roadtreasure
by roadtreasure

You can't beat the price for this burner, but it does have it's drawbacks. The ceramic top is dish shaped - it has a lip so you are limited to round bottom pans no more than 9 in diameter. All of the presets are a waste of time. Find one of the settings where you can vary the temperature and just use it to increase and decrease the temperature. The timer is hard to use, and has limited time options depending on what preset you use. Most of the preset times are too long and it is hard to find a setting where you can adjust it by minutes. If you are pan frying - the food in the center of the pan cooks faster. You have to keep moving the food around in the pan so it cooks evenly. However, I've read this is a problem on some of the high dollar units also. All that said, I am very pleased with it .

Was this review helpful? (28) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
roadtreasure
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Excellent product
9/30/2008

Customer review by johnJay

5.0 stars 9/30/2008 by johnJay
by johnJay

This is my first induction cooktop. I'm moving into a place with electric stoves. Considering this cooktop is much cheaper than others, I had worries. When it arrived, my worries were gone: 1. It's as powerful as a gas stove. The box says it's 1300W although the Walmart description does not say anything. 2. The build is solid. The top is some kind of plastic -- not ceramic. I guess that's why it's cheaper than the others. I don't see anything wrong with the plastic top. The device automatically shuts down if it gets too hot any way. 3. The fan is noisy if you are used to gas stoves. I read complaints to other induction cooktops as well. The fan noise level is about the same as my microwave oven makes. In general, I'm very happy with it. I'm thinking of getting a 2nd.

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
johnJay
Vienna, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A product that worths the money you paid
5/14/2009

Customer review by Lyudmila

4.0 stars 5/14/2009 by Lyudmila
by Lyudmila

I bought this induction cooker more than a week ago and I've been using it every day since then. It's powerful enough to cook just almost whatever you want: from boiling water (that takes me about 10 min) to making soups, stews, fries and etc. This product met all my expectation and it really can replace a stove and being used for an everyday cooking. I also want to point out at two minuses i've noticed: first the timer doesn't let you to set less than 30 min and the second - the cooking settings may be confusing at the beginning - I usually use "boiling" or "hot pot" functions. As I said before - it's a very useful product and if you are looking for a portable cooker I will recommend to buy this model.

Was this review helpful? (14) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lyudmila
Ft Lauderdale, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love it but getting a different one
6/11/2011

Customer review by liztrentseth

4.0 stars 6/11/2011 by liztrentseth
by liztrentseth

This was my first induction cooker, and once I found the right pans to use loved it untill I bought a 12" pan. the top has a built up ring that will not let a 12" pan sit flat. all the presets are useless to me. I use stir fry and boil. I am going to keep this one but I would not recomend it only because of the ring on the top. I do however recomend induction cookers, just not sure which one yet. :)

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
liztrentseth
Lakeland, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
new experience
11/28/2009

Customer review by JeannieGirl

5.0 stars 11/28/2009 by JeannieGirl
by JeannieGirl

It takes quite a while to learn how to use all the different options. I am still learning. I had a hot plate before, boy what a difference. This burner is so much better. It boils water in no time at all. I really like the way it works. The biggest problem I had was finding pans that would work on the surface. I started out by buying different pans, bringting them home, if they didnt work I took them back (none of my old pans worked). Then I pulled up on the internet different sets of pans. If the sets said they were for induction cooker, they will work. If it doesn't say it, they won't work. Even the pans in the local stores will say if the are for induction cooker. I could have saved myself a lot of shopping if I had known that.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JeannieGirl
Ludington, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Not at all happy
1/27/2009

Customer review by GreatExpectation

1.0 stars 1/27/2009 by GreatExpectation
by GreatExpectation

The heating is very uneven. The timer function is lame in that the minimum time you can set is 30 minutes, there is no facility for reducing the time only increasing it by one or ten minutes. If you select stew (simmer) after a few minutes the heat will go to high and burn your food. The boil function is supposed to turn the burner off one minute after the water boils but does not. There is NO information about the unit at the website listed in the manual and the telephone support line is not open late enough for west coast users. After using a neighbors induction cooktop I had much higher expectations. I'm returning the unit to Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GreatExpectation
Milpitas, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Nice Product
11/19/2011

Customer review by JSurfer

5.0 stars 11/19/2011 by JSurfer
by JSurfer

Have only used it twice so I could not review "durability". Otherwise exceptional so far. Looks great. Easy to use. Requires special pans (must be steel/iron, etc.) Doesn't work with glass or aluminum pans. Read useer's manual.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JSurfer
Rhode Island
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great deal and worth the money!
1/28/2011

Customer review by EarlyAtNJ

5.0 stars 1/28/2011 by EarlyAtNJ
by EarlyAtNJ

Just received two weeks ago, and used it two times only. The features are good enough and they are easy to operate. The time to heat up is reasonable. Actually, can't tell how the durability it is, since I just got it for two weeks. The material it used seems fine by me. Anyway, it is a good deal compare to some similar cookers on the market, as I don't exactly know why they can cost almost double to this cooker.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EarlyAtNJ
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
good price, functional but not perfect
1/15/2009

Customer review by allofusluvWalmart

4.0 stars 1/15/2009 by allofusluvWalmart
by allofusluvWalmart

We decided to keep it for its value, although the cooker is not powerful enough to fry steak like our gas top can. It's intelligent enough to turn itself off automatically when certain conditions are detected, such as overheating. We used a infrared temperature probe to measure the temperature of the cast iron pan we were using, and the temperatures are not uniform and vary significantly. Hence, some foods are not cooked as well, if they happen to be in less hot spots. This means you'd need to stir and turn foods to get even cooking. Having said that, it's hard to beat the price, considering we don't cook very often with it, and only use it for outdoor cooking to avoid stinking up the kitchen.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
allofusluvWalmart
Vienna, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
GE Induction cooker
1/5/2011

Customer review by co101

4.0 stars 1/5/2011 by co101
by co101

This is the first induction product I've ever tried, and I really like how fast it heats up and how evenly it heats, amazing technology. The only thing I don't like on this one is it seems to think that it is smarter than I am, changing heat settings seemingly at random sometimes, so you have to pay attention to it. I've had it about 2 weeks now, so I can't say much one way or another toward durability.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
co101
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Spend more
2/6/2009

Customer review by blues777

1.0 stars 2/6/2009 by blues777
by blues777

half the price of other induction heater, less than half the quality, slow to warm to boil, shuts off when it is ready, I returned mine

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
blues777
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent product!
2/13/2009

Customer review by MalibuMike

5.0 stars 2/13/2009 by MalibuMike
by MalibuMike

I have to agree with the other reviewer that trying to control settings is very tricky. I use Hot Pot setting to do all my cooking as I can vary the temperature to specific needs. Be careful with the other settings (with the exception of Boil) as the temperature can change automatically and scorch your food. This product more than meets my needs and exceeds my expectations.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MalibuMike
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
Love it!
1/8/2009

Customer review by ccs111

5.0 stars 1/8/2009 by ccs111
by ccs111

I am in the process of a kitchen remodel and don't have a stove. I have purchased several different cooktops. Utill now none of them got hot enough to cook a good size pot of pasta. I am very happy with my new induction cooker. Now I have to be careful not to burn things. Very powerful. Very good buy.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ccs111
Warren, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Cooker
10/23/2008

Customer review by JackB745

5.0 stars 10/23/2008 by JackB745
by JackB745

Slim line style, works great heats up real fast and cooks with great speed. Easy to clean up and lightweight. Highly recommend you purchase.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JackB745
Orlando Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Useful Product
1/12/2009

Customer review by BlessedYs

5.0 stars 1/12/2009 by BlessedYs
by BlessedYs

I was curious how this induction technology works, so purchased one. I'm now hooked. I use it everyday. It's fast, and saves energy and also safe. It's also relatively inexpensive.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BlessedYs
Philly
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
outstanding value.least expensive induction cooker
11/7/2008

Customer review by oldatlguy

5.0 stars 11/7/2008 by oldatlguy
by oldatlguy

my Viking 5 1/2 qt sauce pot just fits inside the raised outer ring with about 1/8 inch to spare.2+ qts of cold water take about 16 min to rolling boil (only about 5 min more than my more powerful Viking induction unit) also,this ge unit comes with a 2-yr warranty vs 1 yr for Viking.both are rated "home use only".unless you use 12 qt stock pots or fry pans,the ge way be all you need.(9 inch base max for ge use.)my Viking unit is prettier,but when it dies,i will be back to wal mart to buy another ge unit.incredible value.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
oldatlguy
atlanta ,ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not all it was supposed to be
10/30/2010

Customer review by Escapee1

4.0 stars 10/30/2010 by Escapee1
by Escapee1

I am really impressed with the Induction unit. The only draw back was that the book shows a rice cooking setting. On my Induction Unit, I have a Simmer setting where the rice setting was shown in the book. So I tried using the Simmer setting to cook rice and it burnt. I am just not sure the unit works correctly. I love the control of heat. It is like a gas stove, instant heat and instant cool down. Amazing. If someone could just answer my rice setting question, I would be completely satisfied

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Escapee1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
GE induction cooker
1/28/2011

Customer review by crawdadguy

4.0 stars 1/28/2011 by crawdadguy
by crawdadguy

It works exactly as described; the container is heated directly with almost no waste heat. Temperature control is the same as a microwave in that it cycles on and off. There is no actual power reduction. The controls don't work as described; the best way to learn is to put some water in a pot and experiment. There are other reviews that have good descriptions of what and how but hands on is a good way to learn. The "roast" setting with time and temperature adjustments seems to be the most useful setting and will do about everything. I used this to make ghee (clarified butter) using the roast setting and lowest power, keeping it partly covered at first did a fantastic job with no burning. The manual shows a rice cooker setting. My unit does not have this and other reviews do not mention it. This is no big deal since it is easy to adjust the temperature when it is time to do so. I rated this with fours because it is a bottom of the line unit without the amenities of a $300 cooker. It does a good job and I intend to buy several more as gifts.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
crawdadguy
Duncan, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Worth A Try
2/12/2009

Customer review by Panthro

3.0 stars 2/12/2009 by Panthro
by Panthro

After having used this product for almost everyday cooking, strong point was it is very quick to boil and fry and it seems it cuts cooking time by 25% and if I may say that the electricity savings would be around 30% too! However, in the simmering or lower down of heat, it is very tricky as you would keep track of it inorder not to overcook / burn the food. When I called GE customer support, they just advised to return / exchange it to Walmart with another one. It is really worth a try for new users of induction technology. As it goes with the rest of the reviews, you may love it or leave it. Worth a try.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Panthro
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 32 total reviews
1-20 of 32 reviews