Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 31 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

31 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

31 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
20
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
1
1-20 of 31 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 31 total reviews
1-20 of 31 reviews
Look at the box
4/11/2009

Customer review by Debator

5.0 stars 4/11/2009 by Debator
by Debator

When you look at the box, why do people think it can hold a 10" skillet and a couple of 2-qt. pots? This is not for a family reunion! It's for hiking and backpacking. My wife and I took it backpacking for a two night trip. This set can cook a meal for two people. We carried a couple of plastic cups to drink from. It's non-stick, so clean-up was easy.

Was this review helpful? (43) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Debator
McKinney, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great solo kit
2/13/2011

Customer review by mark9564

5.0 stars 2/13/2011 by mark9564
by mark9564

This is a great kit and if you own a Svea 123 this is perfect for storing your stove. The Svea fits inside the pots minus on small pot. I did find that the handles got a bit hot so I used 1/16th surgical tubing on them and solved the problem. If you are looking for a 1-2 person cook st this is great and a great price.

Was this review helpful? (25) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mark9564
WA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Perfect for my needs
5/1/2010

Customer review by packmonkey1

5.0 stars 5/1/2010 by packmonkey1
by packmonkey1

I bought this cookset just to get the smaller pot from it. I only need to boil 2 cups of water at a time for dehydrated food. The total weight for the entire cookset (both pots and lids) is 15.5 oz including the mesh bag. The small cook pot with lid and bag weigh only 7.5 oz. My modified Esbit stove and fuel fit inside and the whole thing fits in an outer pocket on my backpack. The pot handles swing out and the lid handles fold out and lock. Both sizes are perfect for backpacking and when it comes to cost v. weight with titanium - this is the best deal for me. I liked it the first time I used it!

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
packmonkey1
Fort Worth, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
less is more!
10/4/2010

Customer review by ATultralight

4.0 stars 10/4/2010 by ATultralight
by ATultralight

I borrowed this little cook set on a weekend canoe trip and I love it I will be buying one for myself very soon. I have used many expensive cooksets over the years and this one preformed as well as almost all of them. It is true that it is a bit small the large pot is only about 850 ml or so. I was hoping to find a set like this with a 1L cook pot, but for the price I haven't found a thing that comes anywhere close I would, and have already recommended it to a friend. great product. I'm glad to see coleman stepping up their products.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ATultralight
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Great set
3/21/2010

Customer review by liberty1743

5.0 stars 3/21/2010 by liberty1743
by liberty1743

I'm not an expert, but I do camp 6-8 times a year. I camp for hunting and just to be out and enjoy nature. I spend a lot of money on my equipment. This cookware blows away my expensive Snow Peak titanium set. Yes, the snow peak was a little lighter, being titanium, but it buckled and didn't hold up to the heat. IMHO, they made the items too thin thinking that the titanium would allow it to old up. It doesn't. The Coleman anodized aluminum is light enough and has more solid construction. I took it camping during a snow storm which forced us to make an emergency stop to pitch camp and get warm. This set came in handy when needing to boil snow and heat soup. I highly recommend it. It's a little pricy, but much better than the overpriced set I mentioned.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
liberty1743
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
Coleman Mess Kit
2/26/2010

Customer review by quenchcrack

4.0 stars 2/26/2010 by quenchcrack
by quenchcrack

OK, read the description, people. This is a single person mess kit but if all you want to do is boil water for dehydrated meals, it will work for 2 people. This is not the $80 REI set, it is not the $125 Jetboil set, it is a $25 Coleman set. It is hard anodized aluminum and as such it is a good buy. It is well made for the price and I can certainly put it to good use. Your results may vary.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
quenchcrack
Cypress, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Best Bang for the Buck!
2/14/2011

Customer review by Serilius

5.0 stars 2/14/2011 by Serilius
by Serilius

I do a lot of motorcycle camping, and I needed a pot set that nestles my SVEA 123 stove inside, therefore making a nice, neat package. This set fits the bill! The SVEA stove fits perfectly, with a bar towel cushioning it so it doesn't scratch the pots. Since the stove already has fuel in it, I'm set for a couple of days of cooking. I was pleasantly surprised at how heavy duty this set really was! No thin stuff here! I bought a Snow Peak Trek 9000 Aluminum pot set at the same time since I have 2 of these stoves. It also fits the SVEA nicely. But, of the 2, the Coleman was the better, more sturdy set. Plus, I only used 2 of the pots and have 2 extra pots for extras. A bargain for sure. For the price and for the quality, this set cannot be beat!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Serilius
Springfield, Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great set for the money!
8/3/2011

Customer review by Oregonwoodsman

4.0 stars 8/3/2011 by Oregonwoodsman
by Oregonwoodsman

So on the side of spending a small amount of cash and getting your money's worth, I'd have to say this little kit is worth every penny. It may be a bit heavy for UL standards, but it's unlikely you will bring all 4 pieces at the same time. Some reviews I read state that rice and eggs stick to it. It's not non-stick. It's just hard anodized aluminum. I fried a few strips of bacon in the pan(doubles as a lid for the pot) then fried up some eggs. Slid around like non-stick. I did this using my Red Bull Alcohol stove. Did up some boil in bag rice( I never use loose rice for camping) no issues. As far as clean up, it's a snap. Most of the soot even wipes off. I just used a sponge and dish soap. I wouldn't use anything abrasive as it will eventually wear off the anodizing. (I'm a machinist, I know). Overall, for what I was expecting, the quality is up there and far better than most of the Coleman products offered in past years. It cooked evenly, cleaned up easily, and stores well(I put paper towels between everything as I cannot stand rattling.) My one complaint is that the handles could have been a wee bit longer. There's room to do so. They tend to get a little hot. A pot grabber does the trick though. IMHO, one would be hard pressed to find this amount of bang for the buck.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Oregonwoodsman
Hillsboro, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Exactly as advertised
4/17/2010

Customer review by SoloCanoer

5.0 stars 4/17/2010 by SoloCanoer
by SoloCanoer

I was looking for a small cookset that would take up less space than my MSR set. At about the same weight it is much smaller. I only eat freeze dried or dehydrated foods on a trip so my primary need is to measure and boil water. Perfect for a solo canoer or hiker. Great price too.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SoloCanoer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent 1-2 Person Backpacking Cookware
1/1/2010

Customer review by Bradbury1981

5.0 stars 1/1/2010 by Bradbury1981
by Bradbury1981

The Coleman Anodized Cookset is perfect for backpacking or those looking to save on space, weight and COST. I have used this set a number of times. Measuring cup aspect is critical when using MRE's, dehydrated foods, etc. The other pots can also serve as cup/mug, lid, or a for use by a companion. The non-stick anodized steel makes cleaning easy. They compact into such a small space you can pack extra food or clothing. I commend Wal-mart and Coleman for making excellent and efficient camping gear for a low price. Perfect.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bradbury1981
Peoria, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
4/16/2012

Customer review by AvidBackpacker

5.0 stars 4/16/2012 by AvidBackpacker
by AvidBackpacker

This is a solo backpacking cooking set, that is to say it is fairly light, small and meant for one person preparing backpacking foods (mostly boiling water, adding the dehydrated ingredients & simmering until they are hydrated and 'cooked') and to cook over a backpacking or an alcohol stove. If that's your intended use, then by all means get it. It's a real deal--actually, you'll have two spare pots. It is easy to clean, handles are 'gripable' and the markings indicating ounces and liters are a plus. Though in a pinch it could be used for 'real' cooking, if you are contemplating cooking other than rehydrating, and for more than just yourself, I'd recommend you find something else.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AvidBackpacker
San Juan PR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Should be... Single Person Anodized Cookset
3/31/2009

Customer review by carbonspace

4.0 stars 3/31/2009 by carbonspace
by carbonspace

This product should be titled Coleman Max Single Person Anodized Cookset. This is indeed more than enough for one backpacker, but would not suffice if you're looking for a family cookset.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
carbonspace
denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Nice Compact Unit
1/1/2010

Customer review by CrazyDaveIowa

5.0 stars 1/1/2010 by CrazyDaveIowa
by CrazyDaveIowa

This kit is perfect for auto emergency kit and or BugOut Bag. I used it with an Esbit Stove with great results. Good to make coffee/tea; warming up MREs or boiling water for Mountain House pouches. I have paired it up with an old Boy Scout mess kit. MREs, Mountain House pouches, Ramen noodles, coffee, tea, the Esbit stove all in a small duffle bag. Don't forget the hobo kit (fork, knife, spoon) by Ozark Trails, also here at Walmart, it splits apart, very cool.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CrazyDaveIowa
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great cookset for backpacking
9/29/2011

Customer review by MostlyRight

5.0 stars 9/29/2011 by MostlyRight
by MostlyRight

Bought this set for a backpack trip. Worked great. Mostly used to boil water for freeze dried meals. The large pot worked well as it holds enough water for 3 meals. There were 3 of us camping together and was really nice everyone could eat at the same time. Very compact set with carry bag. Plenty of room when stacked together to put a small stove in with pots. Highly recommend this set. Very light weight and very durable. Cleans easily.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MostlyRight
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
GREAT BUY
11/1/2011

Customer review by jessss12000

5.0 stars 11/1/2011 by jessss12000
by jessss12000

Does the same thing as the expensive ones but you get 2 sets and for only $20

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jessss12000
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great Set For Hikers
1/18/2010

Customer review by fireant1222

5.0 stars 1/18/2010 by fireant1222
by fireant1222

This is a perfect set for hiking, backpacking, etc. It is small but, the perfect size for backpacking trips. It's made for one person thats why on the box it called Coleman SOLO Anodized Cookset. They should really put SOLO in the name on the website. Bottom line, if you are looking for backpacking cookware, BUY IT!!! REI and other outdoor stores want $30 for it or more for it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fireant1222
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great cookware
2/20/2009

Customer review by ladyem

5.0 stars 2/20/2009 by ladyem
by ladyem

We love this set! We have done alot of camping, as a family we need a larger set, which we have, but when the boys needed individual cookware for their scouting trips, this fit the bill perfectly.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ladyem
Phoeniz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great For Backpacking
8/30/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 8/30/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought these pans with my husband for the 2 of us to use backpacking. We recently went backpacking with my mom and dad, and now my mom is in love with my pans. They are easy to wash, kept the food warmer then a plate, easy to pack/stack and all four family members used the one set. I will be buying her a set or I have a feeling my set will go missing the next time she goes packing.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
12/23/2011

Customer review by Icepick

5.0 stars 12/23/2011 by Icepick
by Icepick

Best bang for your buck.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Icepick
Muskegon, Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Should Have Looked Closer
4/16/2008

Customer review by Juji719

4.0 stars 4/16/2008 by Juji719
by Juji719

I was very excited about this set when I ordered it. When it came in, I realized I hadn't read the specifications very well. This is great for a single person camping who doesn't mind having a coffee cup to cook in. The pots are high quality, but small. Do not buy this if you're cooking for a family while cooking. Otherwise, it's a good buy!

Was this review helpful? (2) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Juji719
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 31 total reviews
1-20 of 31 reviews