Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 238 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

238 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

238 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
138
4 stars
63
3 stars
19
2 stars
11
1 stars
7
1-20 of 207 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 207 total reviews
1-20 of 207 reviews
Protecting Grandson
6/28/2008

Customer review by Striperhunter

5.0 stars 6/28/2008 by Striperhunter
by Striperhunter

Great product; my son has been using two of these gates on his patio in NY for three years (full time) now, so I was already familiar with its durability, ease of operation and ability to contain our grandson and two Labs. Also, this gate is easily removed for storeage when not required. I rated it average for installation because the posts I mounted it to were not plumb and required shimming and side hinge mounting for proper gate operation. If the posts had been plumb, then I would have rated ease of installation as excellent.

Was this review helpful? (46) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Striperhunter
Moneta, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent!!
4/19/2008

Customer review by covingtonmomof2

5.0 stars 4/19/2008 by covingtonmomof2
by covingtonmomof2

We bought this for the top of our stairs. We have had it for 2 years and it is still just like new. It's wonderful, extremely sturdy and durable. The latch absolutely cannot be undone without adult strength, which I LOVE...having a very curious 2 yr. old and 4 yr. old. I would definitely buy it again!!

Was this review helpful? (23) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
covingtonmomof2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Gate
8/18/2009

Customer review by Brinks33

5.0 stars 8/18/2009 by Brinks33
by Brinks33

We needed a gate to fit our 62" doorway to keep our busy 15 month old from running into the kitchen and this gate was a perfect fit. It is very sturdy and collapsible to fold against the wall when not in use. My only issue is with the installation, the wall mountings and directions are for flat walls only and give no consideration for baseboards. We mounted strips of wood (stained to match the baseboards) to the wall to correct the difference. Other than that, great gate for the money!

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Brinks33
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Okay but there is better
4/3/2008

Customer review by Mommyof02

3.0 stars 4/3/2008 by Mommyof02
by Mommyof02

I bought this to close in an extra wide doorway. This gate is nice because is collapses when open into a smaller gate making getting in and out easier. The down side is all the screws needed for installation, there is I think 8 maybe 10 on each side, which leaves a lot of holes in the wall once you need to take it down. Also people who are not used to the gate cannot figure out how to open it. Other than the holes I really liked this gate but I have recently moved into a nicer home and I do not want to put all those holes in the wall so I am looking for a better product.

Was this review helpful? (18) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mommyof02
Somewhere USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Description was wrong
1/21/2009

Customer review by stewdizzle

1.0 stars 1/21/2009 by stewdizzle
by stewdizzle

I purchased this gate to keep my 8 month old out of the kitchen. I ordered it with Site to Store and the experience was wonderful. I installed the swing bracket. Then installed the locking bracket. I put the gate on and it did not reach across! When I got out my measuring tape the gate only spanned 58". That is a 4" difference from the description. Due to the missing four inches I now have 16 useless holes in the walls of my apartment.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stewdizzle
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Perfect
2/16/2009

Customer review by bostonterriermommi

5.0 stars 2/16/2009 by bostonterriermommi
by bostonterriermommi

I think this gate is perfect for what I needed. The price is awesome. I looked everywhere for a gate that would fit my 63" entryway and still be tall enough for my dogs to not jump it. Easy to clean and install. You really can't beat it for the price, and best of all it works! I have boston terriers and a german shepard and it works well for them.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bostonterriermommi
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A way to avoid so many holes in walls
3/3/2012

Customer review by ladypug22

4.0 stars 3/3/2012 by ladypug22
by ladypug22

I bought this for my 15 year old blind pug to keep her from wandering to areas where she might get lost and frightened. Since I would not be using this for a long time, I didn't want to put that many holes in my doorway woodwork. I took strips of wood, a bit longer than the gate height, painted them to match, and then secured them to the walls with heavy duty anchor screws at the top and bottom of the strips. Then I secured the gate to these strips with all the other 8 screws on each side. When I remove it, now I will only have to patch 2 holes on each side, instead of 16. It is very secure and gives her the freedom to move around instead of being in a pen all day. I would highly recommend this product. Great value and price.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ladypug22
Oswego NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Most resonable priced baby gate
10/3/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 10/3/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This gate is perfect. I had an opening that I needed to put a baby gate up in however it was wider then a regular door way. When looking up extra wide baby gates I found some for as much as $150. I didn't want to invest so much in money in something I may potentially only have to use for a few months. This product is great. It's really easy to open, easy to install, and it keeps my toddler and 150 pound dog locked in one room. I can make dinner without worrying that her or the dog have knocked over the baby gate and are now making a bee line for the stairs.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Coon Rapids, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Have had this for 6 years!
3/17/2009

Customer review by babygirlmomma3

5.0 stars 3/17/2009 by babygirlmomma3
by babygirlmomma3

GREAT baby gate! I have two of them. We've had them and use them everyday, for 6 years. By far the best baby gate I've ever had. I have them to gate off my kitchen and then my dining room from the living room. I have 3 children one with cerebral palsy (she's 7) who uses this to cruise along. So it's not only durable being shaken everyday, but has lasted way beyond what we would have expected. And it keeps my 5 year old out too. We havn't told her how to do it and so far she' not figured it out, not that she hasn't tried. So it's perfect for all ages. Worth every penny!!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
babygirlmomma3
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
Perfect for large openings
5/23/2010

Customer review by zhane21

5.0 stars 5/23/2010 by zhane21
by zhane21

My husband and I were looking for a gate to fit into a large opening and found this one online. It worked perfectly. It is tricky enough to open that our little one doesn't figure it out, but we open it pretty easily. It can be taken down at any time that it is not needed, but the strips that hold it to the wall are still there so it can easily be put back up when needed. It worked so great that we bought a second one to place at the top of our wide staircase opening and are considering a third for an opening on the front porch steps.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
zhane21
MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
not worth the money
9/3/2010

Customer review by ohana6

1.0 stars 9/3/2010 by ohana6
by ohana6

This gate was a big disappointment. It is extremely hard to open and shut and it does not slide open or close with out a lot of pushing and shoving. I would not recommend it. I'd step up for a better one.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ohana6
Keizer, OR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product, but can't install in all doorways
1/7/2010

Customer review by NJDogLover

5.0 stars 1/7/2010 by NJDogLover
by NJDogLover

We bought these gates to confine our 2 dogs to one area at night. There were 2 large doorways that needed to be blocked. My husband installed the first gate and we were very pleaesed. I did not realize, however, that you cannot install into plasterboard, so we had to return the second gate and get a pressure type gate. We love the one we did keep, it is working great. Even my little Houdini Chihuahua can't figure out how to get out!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NJDogLover
Wayne, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Price For an Extra Large Gate!
6/1/2012

Customer review by 315brandi

5.0 stars 6/1/2012 by 315brandi
by 315brandi

I have searched all over for an extra wide SWING gate that could be taken off on the weekends AND that was not metal! I was very happy with this gate! It is easy to install, I can open it with one hand, the kids cannot open it, and it comes off very easy to "put away" for the weekend. I have a home daycare and need this during the week but do not want it up all the time. It is of nice quality and easy to use! Oh, and an extra bonus is that it is a lot taller than most gates. I am 5'3" and it comes up to my hip. I would definitely recommend this to someone that has a large doorway/archway! I actually bought one, loved it and bought a second for another doorway that I have.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
315brandi
central NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great gate for the prices...
3/9/2013

Customer review by mathenat

5.0 stars 3/9/2013 by mathenat
by mathenat

I have 2 large dogs and 1 crazy baby . This gate holds up to them easy installation but stiff opening and closing when brand new... getting easier as time goes on. Great gate for The price n size... will buy another one ASAP thx

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mathenat
Orlando, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Value
6/12/2012

Customer review by amomnnc

4.0 stars 6/12/2012 by amomnnc
by amomnnc

I originally bought this gate in 2006 because of the width. My husband installed it on our back deck at the top of steps leading to our pool. The first year it was a bit stiff to slide, but by the second year it was fine. We replaced it this year only because it was getting old looking since it was exposed to outdoor elements. We didn't have to replace the wall mounts. The new gate fit perfectly right onto the old wall mounts. Economically the best gate by FAR!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
amomnnc
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Fast delivery! But incomplete...
11/5/2011

Customer review by MEH1985

1.0 stars 11/5/2011 by MEH1985
by MEH1985

I ordered this Wednesday and recieved it on Friday. I was really suprised it arrived so quickly. However, after opening the package it is missing the mounting hardware and the instructions for product assembly. Now, I have to go through the returns process and I'm dissapointed and annoyed!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MEH1985
Ashland, KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Great Product
4/8/2009

Customer review by OMGName

5.0 stars 4/8/2009 by OMGName
by OMGName

We bought this gate a few weeks ago and just love it! It's very easy to set up, though it is a lot of screws. Easy enough to open and close once you get it figured out. It's a very tall gate, which means no more little youngins climbing over it. Only thing I dislike is my Min Pinscher can still jump over it. But meh, she's a jumper. Still does it's purpose. Keeps our large dog in the kitchen and our 3 year old out of it. Also nice that it can sorta collaspe when you want to leave it open and move it out of way. OH! Also, this gate is perfect for the angled spots! Our kitchen entrance is sideways, and the pressure gates would never stay up because they never had anything to solidly sit against.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OMGName
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
This gate holds up great!
1/10/2012

Customer review by mommy0f6

5.0 stars 1/10/2012 by mommy0f6
by mommy0f6

I bought this gate to go in between our living room and our toy room. It is a large doorway with pocket doors. We live in a very old home, what we use as a toy room was a dinning room. I mounted it using a 2x4 cut to the hight of the gate on one side since the opening was too large for the gate. When closed it is fully extended. I am a mother of 6 ages from 10 years to 1 year, and this gate has held up better than any other gate I have bought; and I have gone through a lot! My 10, 7, and two 5 year olds can all open and close it with out a problem; however my 3 year old cannot. Plus it with stands him and my 1 year old pushing and pulling on it even in temper tatrum mode. Also so far it has been climb proof. For anyone who is looking at this for a larg dog, my dog, who is about the size of a full grown lab, can jump over it with a running start. This is a great buy you can't beat it for the price!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mommy0f6
LaPorte city, Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Worth the price!
12/31/2012

Customer review by ldcarp

5.0 stars 12/31/2012 by ldcarp
by ldcarp

I love this gate. I wanted a gate for my large kitchen entrance, but didn't want something in the way all the time. This was perfect. It slides and swings out of the way when not needed. And very easy to install.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ldcarp
Barboursville, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Does the job well
1/31/2012

Customer review by MontgomeryTxNana

5.0 stars 1/31/2012 by MontgomeryTxNana
by MontgomeryTxNana

We bought 2 of these gates to separate the little grandbabies from the big dogs. Our doorways are extra large (5 to 6 ft) and the gates are as sturdy on the widest opening as the narrower one. The height is good, too, they keep out our daughter's Great Dane. Now our house has a "dog side" and a "baby side" and when the babies go home we just store away the gates until the next time.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MontgomeryTxNana
Montgomery, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 207 total reviews
1-20 of 207 reviews