Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.8out of 5 stars
4.8 out of 5 | 145 reviews
5 stars
120
4 stars
20
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
Sort by: 
1-20 of 114 reviews
1-20 of 114 reviews
Prolong The Life of Your Shredder
4/5/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Walmart associate
Using Fellowes brand oil will help prolong the life of any shredder. I must admit though, I did have an Aurora shredder that finally died a couple months ago after almost 8 years of extreme shredding and not once had I ever applied oil to it. Guess I was lucky...VERY lucky! Since purchasing a Fellowes MS-450Ci, (micro-shredder), its oiled every time a full basket is emptied. I fold an 8 1/2 x 11 piece of paper in half, inserting it about a half inch into the opening. Hold apart, a little bit, the two ends of the paper and quickly apply the oil beginning at the top and moving across as it will run down into the crease. Quickly insert the rest of the way into the shredder. A small amount of oil will run out of the sides, but that's good...it will lubricate the very ends of the cutters. When shredding is complete, I run in reverse and forward respectively, for approx. 15 seconds each mode. Works for me. NOTE: I apply oil beginning at the top of the folded paper letting it run down to make sure all the cutters have a chance of being lubricated. The cutter is cylindrical in shape and revolves. If oil is only applied to the bottom of crease, only a small number of the cutters will be lubricated in one revolution.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Shredder Oil
10/28/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Other vendors are insisting upon selling lubricant sheets that are less effective and by far more expensive than using shredder oil. I believe my shredder manufacturer specified oil not silly pieces of paper with lubricant imbeded. This product seems to work just fine to prolong the efficient operation of the shredder. It is as recommended by the shredder manufacturer. Re. Walmart's service. You can't beat ordering today, expecting it in a week and getting it in 24 hours. Way to go! Good customer service means exceeding expectations. If Walmart was handling emergency supply distribution to disaster areas in the USA we'd all be much safer.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (53)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Must Have!
12/27/2008
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I searched everywhere for the best price on this product because I did not want to pay a lot for it. Wal-Mart had the best price! Other reviewers suggested putting some of this product in a junk mail envelope and then running that through your shredder for the best results and I agree. This is the best way to use this product and keep your shredder blade in tip-top condition. I purchased this product to extend the life of my new shredder, but found that it restored life to my old shredder too.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (94)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
i guess its working
3/2/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
i bought the lubricant in hopes of extending the life of my new fellowes shredder and have applied it after each full basket of shredded paper. there is a helpful instuctional video on fellowes.com that shows how to apply the lubricant. my two complaints are that the bottle comes with no instructions and they video did not say where to cut the dispensing plastic top, so i unknowingly cut it too far down and the oil rushes out too fast. also, when the proct was delivered, there was no cap to the bottle in the box, so i had to use aluminum foil ... i just have to hope it doesnt get knocked over accidentally.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I recommend this product.
10/3/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Shredder sounded better immediately.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good For the $$$$$
10/1/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The 12oz bottle of oil is a good bargain. It should last quite a while.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A Must Have Product
8/27/2008
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Cross-cut shredders require periodic lubrication to clean out the paper debris accumulations on the cutting heads. Fellowes Powershred Shredder Lubricant Oil is an economical alternative to pre-lubricated cleanings sheets. Just spread some oil inside a junk mail envelope and shred.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (52)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
LONGLASTING
10/6/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
BEEN PLACING OIL IN A JUNK MAIL ENVELOPE PERIODICALLY. ALLOWS MY SHREDDER TO WORK MORE SMOOTHLY SINCE I HAVE BEEN USING THIS OIL.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (26)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
5/21/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This oil is very thin (watery). Cut a very small tip off the cap. A little goes a long way! Lubricating the cutting blades seems to have cut down on paper clustering on the underside fillng the shredder basket. I don't spend so much time plucking the tightly bunched up paper shreds from under the shredder. Use caution when lubricationg the blades, because the oil quickly runs through to the other side causing oil to drip everywhere. Also, I found that if I immediately run the shredder in reverse after I oil the cutting blades, that action causes the oil to distribute evenly over them. The lubricated blades seem to shred paper much quicker and easier than when not lubricated. So far, so good. No complaints thus far.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
oil for shredder
8/23/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is a good product
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
FIXED THE PROBLEM
9/1/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
One side of my shredder would not rotate, I used quite a bit of this oil and now it is like new. I plan to use it on a regular basis now that I know it is necessary. Even if your unit works fine now, you should use some type of oil to prevent the same problem I had. It is a little expensive, but it works!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Makes the old like new
3/23/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Have had my shredder for about 10 years now, and bought that at Walmart too. Recently the paper has been getting jammed and causing "aruckus". This helped make everything run smoothly again. I will be now using it at least once a month, b/c I use my shredder so much. Oh, and a little goes a long way.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Necessity for prolonging life of paper shredders
2/14/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Lubricant for paper shredders. Is as advertised, just spread across cutter blades and working parts of motor head. Wish I had been aware of importance of using this on my old shredder. I will be oiling the mechanical parts regularly on my new crosscut shredder to get the long life needed. Recommend this product for any brand of paper shredder. Nothing fancy and easy to use.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Wish Walmart SOLD this in the shredder isle also !
12/24/2010
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Would be nice if walmart SOLD this With the Shredders in the shredder isle! I have been to THREE walmarts in my area..... And I can ONLY find this item ONLINE! The pile of items I need to shred is growing and I will be trying the nearest office supply store to see if THEY have this item on the shelf. I found NO directions or diagrams on how to oil my shredder, but it did state that it needed to be oiled. So,being the net surfer that I am, I did find a page with not only instructions, but with a sketch on: How to Oil Your Paper Shredder you can go to ( of course the 3 w's first) then: factory-express dot com/blog/2005/09/how- to-oil-paper-shredder.html Walmart should print out that page and put it in a holder for customers to take that buy or have purchased a shredder, so they know how to do it. AND put the oil you need next to the information, would be nice too! I ran the black and decker shredder BD-10P(that I bought at walmart) one day for almost 6 hours, then it started to sound louder. That was 2 weeks ago. So I stopped using it until I could get some oil for it. I put that shredder through its paces.... Very good shredder for the price! With the price of gas going up I don't want to keep driving around for oil for it. I also dont want to wait for weeks before it gets shipped to me. Something you will need every few weeks for maintainence for it so the shredder wont "blow up"on you - you'd THINK they would Keep on the shelf at the local Walmart.... That's why I gave the scores I did.... I havent "Found" the product to be able to use it, which is fustrating. But the only cheapest place I found "Online" is walmart. I would just like this item to be available on the shelves at the local walmart so I won't harm the 89.99 B&D shredder I bought from walmart. I'm dissapointed with walmart. I expected better. :(
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Shredder Oil
3/19/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Bought Fellowes Powershred Performance Oil thru Walmart.com and item is very good , large quantity, and of good quality. Should last me a long time.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Medicine for my Shredder
8/25/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I must admit that I had no idea that you were supposed to lubricate a shredder with vegetable oil until I bought a Fellowes and the instruction manual said so. I tried several different techniques that didn't work very well. I usually got the oil over or the shredder inside and out. I must admit that I looked but could not find this product anywhere and was shocked when I went to the Walmart website and found it. The price was fantastic as well as getting free shipping AND I can now lubricate my shredder and have excellent results. I recommend this product to anyone with a shredder and I suggest that you purchase it from Walmart! TOTALLY SATISFIED!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Fellowes Powershred Performance Oil
2/27/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Very easy to use with the long nose to keep the new shredder working like new for a long time!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Perfect just by itself
7/10/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This shredder lubricant oil worked perfect by itself. I did not use lubricant in a folded piece of paper or envelope like others suggested. My shredder had some paper already stuck in it, I just squeezed a generous amount of the lubricant oil in the hole where paper goes, and the lubricant unclogged the paper with no problems.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best Price
4/26/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This Fellowes oil works as described...Wal-mart has the best price on this product....I, like others have mentioned, use the oil on junk mail and run it through the shredder after I fill up the shredding bin! Product arrived in a fast amount of time. Ordering online from Wal-mart is fast, easy, and they always have the lowest prices!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Works great with my shredder!
1/17/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I abuse my shredder. The shredder has lasted a looooooong time. I keep it lubricated with the shredder oil. No worries!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184640667, DC-prod-dfw3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-