Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 202 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

202 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

202 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
146
4 stars
39
3 stars
8
2 stars
2
1 stars
7
1-20 of 178 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 178 total reviews
1-20 of 178 reviews
Suggestions/Questions
1/3/2017

Customer review by Swab30

4.0 stars 1/3/2017 by Swab30
by Swab30

Does Rubbermaid offer some sort of plywood or similar lightweight shelf liner? Also some sort of hardware for undershelf lighting such as the type you see lining the walkways of airplanes or in movie theaters? About the only complaint I hear from these systems is about clothes/fabrics placed directly onto the wire shelves because of the dents the wires create due to the weight of other items (for example, the bottom sweater in a stack of sweaters). Of course, I can poke around the hardware store and conjure something up myself, but it would be nice if this was an option to buy. Also, it would be nice if the closet had interior lighting. A track or whatever under the shelves to mount it would be great! P.S. - Those who complain about the installation instructions actually need to read them first! My honey is an engineer, which means he tried to install without reading them. Once he read them, the installation was fast and easy peasy. His main concern which the directions don't address involved ensuring the vertical things you put the shelving brackets brackets (not sure what you call those things) were in the studs.

Swab30
Virginia, United States
Gender:Female
Needs better instructions
2/2/2017

Customer review by Mary Kay

1.0 stars 2/2/2017 by Mary Kay
by Mary Kay

Installed a Linen Shelf Kit and would not recommend it. Flimsy, very poor instructions. You don't even include what size drill bit to use.

Mary Kay
Lisle, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Disappointed
1/20/2017

Customer review by Corie

3.0 stars 1/20/2017 by Corie
by Corie

I bought 2 of the 4-8 foot kits and wanted to add more shelves. I didn't realize that you can't just buy extra pieces and the other systems are not compatible.

Corie
PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Finally. a product that lives up to it's marketing
10/19/2008

Customer review by AcesDad

5.0 stars 10/19/2008 by AcesDad
by AcesDad

I'm in the military and we move every two years and this is one of the best products I've purchased for my new rental home. Our rental doesn't have a pantry and there's little storage. We were looking for ideas to add shelf space in the laundry roon and came across the Rubbermaid Closet Kit at our local home improvement store. After looking at the display in the store and surfing the Rubbermaid website, we decided to take the plunge and buy the kit. It was refreshing to have everything needed in one box (including all the screws), so no return trips to the store! I have some parts left over because our laundry room is small, but I'd rather have more parts than I need as opposed to making two (or more) trips to the store. I don't like drilling into the wall, but we only needed nine screws to install the kit. Installation was EASY! Just hang the header rail and go. Plus, we can easily just remove everything when we move out, so we don't have to leave our great closet kit behind when we move. Thanks Rubbermaid for a great product.

AcesDad
St. Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Terrific
11/20/2016

Customer review by Hesitant

5.0 stars 11/20/2016 by Hesitant
by Hesitant

Have bought three kitssizes the last couple of years....absolutely easy easy to install and configure......highly recommend

Hesitant
Bedford, Nova Scotia, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
10 Years and Going Strong!
8/15/2016

Customer review by MichaelLC

5.0 stars 8/15/2016 by MichaelLC
by MichaelLC

Look, it's some metal shelves so not super sexy, but these have been the best metal shelves I've used. Very strong, all bars are full of clothes and holding with no problems. Installed in our new condo; walk-in closet and kid's closet. Had no issues, bought some of the extras like the shoe rack and the slide-out pant pipes. Racks are great, pants thing is OK, wish they slid out a little farther. Plan to finally get a set for the front hall closet as well.

MichaelLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
LOVE THESE
7/14/2011

Customer review by momof2boys

5.0 stars 7/14/2011 by momof2boys
by momof2boys

These are the best closet organizers I have used and have recommended them to all my friends. Installation is a breeze the only problem is I spend hours reconfiguring the units! I love how you can buy the starter unit then add pieces as your needs change. I have installed these in all three bedrooms so far and will slowly do all closets in the house. The best part is mixing and matching between all the rooms. I also like how I can hang my sons shelves and rods low for him to get his own clothes and still have shelves up high to keep items out of his reach. So far the units have stood up to a two year old swinging like a monkey off the bars and climbing the shelves. At first I was hesitant to pay the price for these units but in the end it is worth the cost. Anyone with kids knows the value of having an organized closet!

momof2boys
Langley, BC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Like this product but.....
9/23/2015

Customer review by jon2

3.0 stars 9/23/2015 by jon2
by jon2

Bought (2) 3-6ft kits because it suited my needs best and it looks nice but, it was missing some parts & the store does not carry replacement parts. So far I have not been able to get them. Also, plastic anchors are cheap and I have doubts as to their reliability, some screws didn't screw in tight and I fear they will pull right out of the wall. Kit should have included metal toggle bolts instead of the plastic anchors for better stability/reliability. Additionally, I need some extra shelves and have not been able to find those either. Ridiculous, replacement parts should be readily available. I shouldn't have to buy another complete kit to get replacement or extra parts. So, for the issues raised above I think this product is overpriced and would not recommend it unless you can live with those drawbacks.

jon2
Bad consumer experience
8/27/2016

Customer review by Paited

1.0 stars 8/27/2016 by Paited
by Paited

Hope you don't need extra parts or plan to expand. You will have to buy a whole new kit. Would not purchase again.

Paited
Louisville, KY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Brilliant!!
6/21/2012

Customer review by dlayne

5.0 stars 6/21/2012 by dlayne
by dlayne

This kit is AMAZING. Really. It far exceeded my expectations. Product appearance is good...not high-end of course but very good. The finished product itself (fully organized closet) is great, but it is deeper than that... I am thoroughly impressed with everything from the packaging on down the line. It is CLEAR Rubbermaid has thought everything through from start to finish and that deserves to be commended. It is packaged neatly and efficiently with all pieces easy to locate and access quickly. The instructions are simply stated and to the point. Rubbermaid made the process of putting this thing together simple and easy. The info provided (from the layout suggestions for each size closet on the outside of the box to the graphic listing of the exact tools you will need) is as efficient as can be! Bravo to the design team of these kits because truly this is nothing short of a BRILLIANT product design. And I mean that to the fullest extent of the word brilliant. I am very happy with my purchase of the 6-10ft Closet Kit and will recommend to anyone trying to organize a closet that there is no other way to go for functionality, ease and price. Well done Rubbermaid!!

dlayne
Champaign, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Anchors are poor
8/21/2016

Customer review by Traprap

1.0 stars 8/21/2016 by Traprap
by Traprap

The anchors pulled out of the wall every time. We had to go purchase metal toggles to make it work.

Traprap
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Love them!!!!!!
7/27/2016

Customer review by Jeri

4.0 stars 7/27/2016 by Jeri
by Jeri
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Easy to put up- very stable/- bought 3,and loved them-

Jeri
Charenton, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Difficulty getting replacement parts
5/3/2016

Customer review by AWBT

2.0 stars 5/3/2016 by AWBT
by AWBT

The kits come with basic options. If you want to add to or extend, you have to purchase additional rails/parts. Well, no one sells these parts locally. Why would you sell this product and not sell replacement parts. Just not right. So now we have to order the parts and wait for them to be shipped. We are living in boxes. If we had not already attached 5 rails to the walls, we would be returning all. Nice idea, but poor execution. Now I am worried about how easily we will be able to add accessories in the future.

AWBT
Would recommend to a friend? No
wonderful solution for my fallen closet.
6/7/2016

Customer review by becky17268

5.0 stars 6/7/2016 by becky17268
by becky17268

My closet system fell and we bought this. It was so easy to install and very accommodating to my needs. You can adjust it anyway you need it to work for you.

becky17268
pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
horrible instructions
9/13/2015

Customer review by Kaywithmore letters

1.0 stars 9/13/2015 by Kaywithmore letters
by Kaywithmore letters

I bought the FastTrack sliding drawers. The instructions were awful; the pictures were of a very small section for each step so that it was difficult to figure out what to do. They need to be of a bigger section so that one gets the overall picture of each step. Attaching the bracket to the wall thing with the frame attached was impossible, even with a hammer. Finally the frame came off the bracket and then the bracket easily slipped into place. I then reattached the frame to the bracket, after losing the washer in the bottom of the closet. I bought two drawers, one was enough misery for me. Returning the other and the extra shelves and shoe racks.

Kaywithmore letters
Jefferson City, MO, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
6-10 foot organizer
5/28/2016

Customer review by milfam

1.0 stars 5/28/2016 by milfam
by milfam

Love the product but needed extra brackets and can not find anywhere. why would you not make extra parts available without having to buy whole other kit?!

milfam
Illinois, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Super practical
5/25/2016

Customer review by shopshopBO

4.0 stars 5/25/2016 by shopshopBO
by shopshopBO

I brought it a while ago and it's super siple to install and great quality. I recommend

shopshopBO
Boston, Massachusetts, États-Unis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Homefree 3-6 ft closet kit
4/24/2011

Customer review by mrstds

5.0 stars 4/24/2011 by mrstds
by mrstds

I love my new closet! This kit was easy to install and looks good. I took a couple breaks to watch the baseball game so it took about 4 hours. My husband is very impressed! This kit is as good or better than the ELFA system..actually I think it's better and sturdier. I did my closet for approx. 1/5 what it would have cost to use the other brands kit.I did not care for the drywall anchors, i don't have a lot of strength in my hands and so I used some other ones I had in my tool kit.Once you get it all screwed into the wall..it's not going anywhere. There are so many ways you can configure a small closet because its so versatile.

mrstds
Fremont,ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Overall nice closet organizing system
6/30/2011

Customer review by rolledham

4.0 stars 6/30/2011 by rolledham
by rolledham

Once you find the studs in your walls and hang the horizontal mounting bracket this is quite an easy system to install. Also the ability to just move shelves or add hanging rods is fantastic. However I don't like the "no cutting" approach that Rubbermaid is using in this series. You have an A and a B shelf that will overlap (one is slightly deeper than the other) and I think it makes the closet look a little unfinished. The trim pieces that cover the last few inches of the horizontal mounting bracket tend to fall off. Also there are no end caps for these trim pieces so when viewed from the side the closet looks unfinished.

rolledham
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Can't get small parts to add or change kit.
1/9/2016

Customer review by mechanic

3.0 stars 1/9/2016 by mechanic
by mechanic

My wife decided to change closet around several weeks after installing a kit. I went to try to find more supports only to find you have to buy another kit. I also could have used some connectors for the supports. If the products were made available without having to buy an entire kit would have been helpful. The store has supports that look the same but when you get them home they are a different depth and cannot be used with the kits.

mechanic
New York, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 178 total reviews
1-20 of 178 reviews