Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 194 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

194 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

194 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
138
4 stars
40
3 stars
12
2 stars
0
1 stars
4
1-20 of 161 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 161 total reviews
1-20 of 161 reviews
great for closets!
3/14/2010

Customer review by blonddnyc

5.0 stars 3/14/2010 by blonddnyc
by blonddnyc

This product is exactly what I needed, an easy convienent way to organize all my stuff. I had a small closet that just had one long rod and one long shelf. it took me a few hours to install and i was able to do it all by myself. i also only needed one of the drill pieces, since i didnt have both. i was able to make it work without the drywall anchors as well. it didnt come out perfect but it holds up, and hold all my stuff. i love that the shelves and rods are all interchangeable and i can confirgure it however i want. i was also impressed that the shipping charge was only 99 cents!!! this was amazing to me because usually really heavey stuff costs a ton of money to ship. i am super happy with my new organized closet, and the only thing i wish it had were more parts and shelves so i could add even more! i may buy the shoe rack seperately and install that next!

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
blonddnyc
new york, ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Greate product... not as pictured
10/8/2012

Customer review by HandyMamToo

5.0 stars 10/8/2012 by HandyMamToo
by HandyMamToo

This is the second time I re-do a closet in my home. I used a white version for reach-in 5' closet of my son's room and bought 2 wire drawers and a pant rack to upgrade. This made a huge difference in his organization and made his closet roomier. This time I re-did my 6'x6' walk-in with a titanium version. The hanging space increased over 5' and I bought extra shelves for one wall to put shoes and “shelfable” stuff within reach. I painted walls in yellowstone from B&M and ceiling in off white AC-42 from B&M and titanium looks very good and expensive against these colors and there is no need for a wooden trim as metal color is already softened by yellow-golden wall color. The instruction says to use 1/8 bit for the stud connection but I used 9/64 bit and still found the screws to be hard to tighten. I attached the guide rails to studs in both cases and "anchored" supports to walls. From my experience it is very secure. These closets are well made and easy to re-arrange and upgrade with drawers and etc. The super expensive Elfa has wooden trim for nearly same metal shelves and looks a bit neater but it costs 10 x more and you still see the wall supports like you see them in this system which are the ugliest in the whole construction. But they are nearly invisible in a white version against the white wall.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HandyMamToo
Chicago
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wonderful product
7/5/2008

Customer review by adeneas

5.0 stars 7/5/2008 by adeneas
by adeneas

The closet system was extremely easy to install. The directions were written well and easy to follow. My closet is about 5 feet and the closet system adjusted easily to fit into my closet. The closet system has nearly doubled my storage space. I now have plenty of room for all of my clothes and room to spare! I've attached two pictures so you can see the final product....however, the pictures don't near do the product justice! It's much better in person.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
adeneas
Panama City, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
3/19/2010

Customer review by clutteredmom

4.0 stars 3/19/2010 by clutteredmom
by clutteredmom

Our order arrived sooner than I expected! I was able to put up the closet on my own (my first real project) fairly easily. My closet looks much nicer now! The organizer allows adjusting for different sized closets. I feel that I could have saved money if I knew what to buy individually at the hardware store, but I wouldn't have known where to start, so this was great for me.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
clutteredmom
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Organizer
8/11/2008

Customer review by SbmLew

5.0 stars 8/11/2008 by SbmLew
by SbmLew

My husband and I changed the smallest room in our home into a closet, because like many people you never have enough closet space. We used this product to organize all our clothes on one side of the wall. This was the best item to do the job and we are going to purchase another closet kit to place on the other wall. In the pic we are in the process of moving clothes in.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SbmLew
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent product
8/7/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 8/7/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

We bought this for my 21 year old daughter's college room. The titanium material and the Rubbermaid name sold us (the alternative-those white, rubberized wire shelves get nasty over time so we didn't want them). It went up pretty easy and my daughter loves the flexibility. Very happy with the product and the delivery to the store for pick up service.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Just what I wanted
12/29/2008

Customer review by Toosma

5.0 stars 12/29/2008 by Toosma
by Toosma

We just moved in to a new house and I needed an extra closet. So I turned some space in the garage into closet space. This kit worked wonderful! I was a little concerned about it being strong enough to hold all the clothing... but I didnt need to worry. This took care of all my needs. Plus I have room to add shelves if I decide to later.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Toosma
Paris, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not as advertised
3/16/2009

Customer review by spanishteacherlolo

3.0 stars 3/16/2009 by spanishteacherlolo
by spanishteacherlolo

The picture makes this organizer look like it comes with a drawer, shoe organizer and lots of shelving. It doesn't! I wish the manufacturer would ONLY SHOW what comes in the box, instead of using a photo with tons of added accessories!

Was this review helpful? (192) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
spanishteacherlolo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Can't get small parts to add or change kit.
1/9/2016

Customer review by mechanic

3.0 stars 1/9/2016 by mechanic
by mechanic

My wife decided to change closet around several weeks after installing a kit. I went to try to find more supports only to find you have to buy another kit. I also could have used some connectors for the supports. If the products were made available without having to buy an entire kit would have been helpful. The store has supports that look the same but when you get them home they are a different depth and cannot be used with the kits.

mechanic
New York, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Better Closet
7/23/2011

Customer review by Ru4hope

5.0 stars 7/23/2011 by Ru4hope
by Ru4hope

WOW!! What a difference it made for my boys closets. From one shelf and hanging system all the way across, to a Multipurpose, organized closet, with 3 places to hang clothes. And now their shirts don't hang down on the clothes below from the cheap hanging hooks I had before. They also have shelving in their closet for added organization. They Loved it too. (Ages 13-18) It took me about 3 hours to install the first closet, and about half the time to install the 2nd closet. And that's including gutting the closet and taking breaks. I should have done it sooner. I went with a smaller configuration and thought I'd add to it as needed. I saved 140.00 doing it that way. Now I'm going to add one shelf to each closet. Also, the difference between the old Rubbermaid system and the new is that the old system would sag from the weight of the clothes; this system is strong and sturdy. I used anchor bolts where there weren't any studs.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ru4hope
Manvel, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very Good Product
4/19/2008

Customer review by cmme

5.0 stars 4/19/2008 by cmme
by cmme

I found this product very easy to install even though my husband did it.. it's very easy and convenient for any closet size space and I am REALLY happy with the finished product. My only recommendation, use only the parts (such as screws, bolts and anchors) that come with this item, we tried using some screws & anchors we had purchased from HD, thinking they would work the same but it was not the case.

Was this review helpful? (35) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cmme
Central, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best DIY Closet Option
1/2/2016

Customer review by cincimama

5.0 stars 1/2/2016 by cincimama
by cincimama

I have been slowly converting all our bedroom closets into the Home Free system. I love that you can design your closet online first so you can see what it will look like before you purchase anything. I also like that you can easily change the position of the shelves so the closets can grow with your kids or individual needs.

cincimama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good closet system
8/30/2009

Customer review by TexanWomen

4.0 stars 8/30/2009 by TexanWomen
by TexanWomen

This was an excellent buy for this closet system. My only complaint was the instructions for designing the closet you wanted were non existing. We had to figure it out ourselves. The instructions for installing the closet were good. This closet can be changed to grow with my young children. I put the longest bar at the bottom so they could reach their clothes. As they get older we can change that. GREAT GREAT GREAT!!

Was this review helpful? (22) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TexanWomen
ORLANDO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Bought online...
1/1/2016

Customer review by moneymakah

5.0 stars 1/1/2016 by moneymakah
by moneymakah

Great value and the assembly was quite easy. Very impressed.

moneymakah
Midlothian, VA, United States
Gender:Male
Put add-ons together first
1/27/2009

Customer review by s197jrd

4.0 stars 1/27/2009 by s197jrd
by s197jrd

I ordered 2 of these along with 2 Rubbermaid Configurations 3-Shelf Units. The directions for the closet kit only tell you to place the wall mounts more than 22 inches apart. I put mine 24 inches apart. After I installed the kit, I put together the shelves and realized they are less than 23 inches wide! The measurements were/are not online in the product description. It was poor pre-planning on my part. I have to install 3 more kits, so I will adjust there. Other than that small snafu, I really like this kit. Now they need non-wire solid shelves so I can mount some under shelf lighting to them!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
s197jrd
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Photo not accurate
1/1/2010

Customer review by shop0000

3.0 stars 1/1/2010 by shop0000
by shop0000

The photo is NOT what is in the box. Read the list of items, you do not get everything in the photo.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shop0000
Would recommend to a friend? No
Finally. a product that lives up to it's marketing
10/19/2008

Customer review by AcesDad

5.0 stars 10/19/2008 by AcesDad
by AcesDad

I'm in the military and we move every two years and this is one of the best products I've purchased for my new rental home. Our rental doesn't have a pantry and there's little storage. We were looking for ideas to add shelf space in the laundry roon and came across the Rubbermaid Closet Kit at our local home improvement store. After looking at the display in the store and surfing the Rubbermaid website, we decided to take the plunge and buy the kit. It was refreshing to have everything needed in one box (including all the screws), so no return trips to the store! I have some parts left over because our laundry room is small, but I'd rather have more parts than I need as opposed to making two (or more) trips to the store. I don't like drilling into the wall, but we only needed nine screws to install the kit. Installation was EASY! Just hang the header rail and go. Plus, we can easily just remove everything when we move out, so we don't have to leave our great closet kit behind when we move. Thanks Rubbermaid for a great product.

AcesDad
St. Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Like this product but.....
9/23/2015

Customer review by jon2

3.0 stars 9/23/2015 by jon2
by jon2

Bought (2) 3-6ft kits because it suited my needs best and it looks nice but, it was missing some parts & the store does not carry replacement parts. So far I have not been able to get them. Also, plastic anchors are cheap and I have doubts as to their reliability, some screws didn't screw in tight and I fear they will pull right out of the wall. Kit should have included metal toggle bolts instead of the plastic anchors for better stability/reliability. Additionally, I need some extra shelves and have not been able to find those either. Ridiculous, replacement parts should be readily available. I shouldn't have to buy another complete kit to get replacement or extra parts. So, for the issues raised above I think this product is overpriced and would not recommend it unless you can live with those drawbacks.

jon2
Very Sturdy, not as easy to install as expected
9/19/2012

Customer review by SingingCassandra

4.0 stars 9/19/2012 by SingingCassandra
by SingingCassandra

The unit once it was up and on the wall is very nice, BUT my only issue with it is this, the Anchors which are used to secure it to the wall where there is no stud, were incredilby impossible to use. their design was flimsy and when following the directions with drilling a small hole then hammering into the wall, they did not fit, nor did they expand correctly once in the wall. After a few nasty large holes in the wall and brusied thumbs, my husband threw those anchors out and went to Home Depot to purchase a box of better designed anchors. My suggestion, either ONLY drill into Studs or have your own functional anchors to use ahead of time. We spent over 3 hours trying to get those suckers to work, and once we had functional anchors we got it up on the wall in 30 minutes. But we do love it now and have healed from our wounds

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SingingCassandra
Fullerton CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Product with Room to Grow!
2/24/2010

Customer review by CondoRemodel

5.0 stars 2/24/2010 by CondoRemodel
by CondoRemodel

This product is great for the money. It was relatively easy to put together, though I found I needed to buy more screws to secure the frame. The anchors were really great and once you got the frame on the wall securely, arranging all of the accessories was a breeze. I bought add ons, and if you decide to do this, just make sure you know the measurements of the product because everything hooks into the main frame. If you don't make them the right width apart, certain add ons won't fit. Over-all, great product that really helps optimize space!

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CondoRemodel
IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 161 total reviews
1-20 of 161 reviews