Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 18 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

18 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

18 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
13
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 stars
1
1-17 of 17 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Great Buy
3/26/2009

Customer review by photogonriver

5.0 stars 3/26/2009 by photogonriver
by photogonriver

I checked sporting goods outlets and on-line sellers for a Pelican Pursuit kayak and found no better price than at WalMart, but, better yet, Walmart offered Free Shipping on their Site-to-Store option, saving me anywhere from $80.00 to $150.00 on shipping. I just picked it up at my local Walmart. The staff there loaded it into my pickup. The kayak is all it's supposed to be and I had it out on the Colorado River twice the week I bought it. Kayak arrived in perfect condition.

Was this review helpful? (84) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
photogonriver
Kingman, Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Fun little boat
5/4/2008

Customer review by kayakfisher

5.0 stars 5/4/2008 by kayakfisher
by kayakfisher

This is a great kayak for the beginner or the intermediate paddler. Speed and tracking are good for a boat of this size. I use mine in lakes and rivers and have added rod holders for fishing. This boat is very impressive. I have not used the paddle that was supplied with the kayak but opted for a carlisle daytripper paddle. I have paddled other manufactured kayaks and until you move into the larger kayaks you will not find a lot of difference in performance .

Was this review helpful? (37) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kayakfisher
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A Fun Boat
7/8/2009

Customer review by Detail1

4.0 stars 7/8/2009 by Detail1
by Detail1

New to the sport, but more than happy with this kayak. Using it in a large lake with lots of boat traffic in open waters, and smooth water in the quiet coves. Handles well in all. Tracks well. Stable even in rolling water. Lightweight so I can easily lift in and out. Paddle is a little heavy, but is fine for now. Hope you enjoy as much as I do.

Was this review helpful? (29) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Detail1
Lake of the Ozarks, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very Surprised!!
6/9/2009

Customer review by 1greatproduct

5.0 stars 6/9/2009 by 1greatproduct
by 1greatproduct

The kayak was a real surprise! I use it on a river and it handels great. It is a little slow to turn in the rapids, but it is also very light weight, tracks almost perfect, and really keeps good speed. The paddle is good enough and could be upgraded if needed. The kayak is very well made and easily repaired if it were ever damaged. The storage could easily hold enough for a week's trip and it is a very comfortable cockpit to sit in. I haven't paddled a kayak for about 2 years and after just 5 minutes in this one, it felt as if I'd used it for years!! I was not tired or sore after 3 hrs. of use, up and down river, and this is attributed to the high-quality of the product!! Get one you will like it!!!

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1greatproduct
Any River!!!
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Awesome Kayak!
8/15/2010

Customer review by greatgifts1

5.0 stars 8/15/2010 by greatgifts1
by greatgifts1

This is a very stable kayak and tracks very well for an inexpensive model! The seat is very comfortable even without padding on the bottom. It's contoured perfectly for me. The storage area is a good size to fit at least a 2-quart jug of water, a horn for emergencies, and a first aid kit. The foot placement area is adjustable. I am 5'3" with a 32" inseam and still had another 12" for kayakers much taller than I. The width is plenty big for larger individuals with a cockpit area of 25"X44". This IS an AWESOME kayak for those that wish to kayak the local lakes and gentle rivers or creeks! I HIGHLY recommend this to anyone from beginner to expert!

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
greatgifts1
Upstate NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
RockyvsPelican
5/28/2010

Customer review by ROCKY37

5.0 stars 5/28/2010 by ROCKY37
by ROCKY37

I own 5 kayaks, and the quality and value of this one surpases ones I have paid much more. I like the way it travels on water, and can carry it easily to a landing site!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ROCKY37
Okay Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
A Must Have~
6/10/2009

Customer review by KatnDew

5.0 stars 6/10/2009 by KatnDew
by KatnDew

Other stores have this exact same product for a couple hundred dollars more than Walmart! I have taken it on the lake a couple times already and it truly is a good quality kayak. I've had a wonderful time with it! I take a picnic lunch and mp3/book which stores nicely in the storage hatch and I make a day of it :)

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KatnDew
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
6/17/2009

Customer review by berryfarm

5.0 stars 6/17/2009 by berryfarm
by berryfarm

Great buy; perfect for lake fishing. Fits the whole family; very light and easy to transport.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
berryfarm
NW CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Kayak away!
1/14/2010

Customer review by unklgrumpy

5.0 stars 1/14/2010 by unklgrumpy
by unklgrumpy

Great value, with ease of shipping which surprised me. This kayak has beautiful lines and was purchased as a gift for my son and wife who have never kayaked before, but should love it. I was shocked by the ease of ordering, handling and expertise that it was shipped and thought it would have been a nightmare to do. I was alwo surprised that Walmart carried this item and I was able to cross reference it through other sporting good companies who handled the same product. Buy with confidence.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
unklgrumpy
Eastern, Long Island, New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Excellent starter kayak
5/26/2010

Customer review by kellyannkellyann1972

5.0 stars 5/26/2010 by kellyannkellyann1972
by kellyannkellyann1972

My husband works for wal-mart so naturally when we started looking for kayaks the first place we looked was Walmart.com. I was very surprised to find that they actually sold kayaks as I thought for sure we would have to go to a sporting goods store. We purchased two of these kayaks, one for my husband and one for myself. We have taken them out a few times already and love them. They are easy to steer and glide across the water with little to no effort. We would recommend these kayaks to anyone just starting out with kayaks like us.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kellyannkellyann1972
Johnstown, New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great Kayak
8/23/2010

Customer review by PAbeachbum

5.0 stars 8/23/2010 by PAbeachbum
by PAbeachbum

I used this kayak on a 9 hour trip this weekend and it was fantastic. Comfortable, sturdy, and well balanced. This is the first one I have purchased, so I don't have others to compare it to, but it is a great product and the Walmart price is unbeatable.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PAbeachbum
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
VERY COMPETITIVE PRICING
8/31/2010

Customer review by KPII

5.0 stars 8/31/2010 by KPII
by KPII

COULDN'T DO ANY BETTER THAN THIS! PRICING WAS VERY COMPETITIVE AND IF YOU CAN WAIT A BIT LONGER FOR THIS PRODUCT, IT'S WELL WORTH IT. I WAS KEPT INFORMED EVERY BIT OF THE WAY FROM BEGINNING TO END. AS A MATTER OF FACT, I JUST RETURNED FROM MY FIRST KAYAKING EXPEDITION AND LOVED IT.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KPII
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
What a deal!!!!
8/17/2010

Customer review by DaisyTripper

4.0 stars 8/17/2010 by DaisyTripper
by DaisyTripper

This is my first kayak so Im new to the sport, but my friend is a long-time adventurer and he is amazed at the quality for the price. He has owned lots of kayak in a variety of prices ranges and is considering buying this one for a backup or for other friends to use. Tracks surprisingly well even on choppy water. I love it - can't beat this deal anywhere!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DaisyTripper
Chattanooga, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
nice ride
8/23/2010

Customer review by onthewater2

4.0 stars 8/23/2010 by onthewater2
by onthewater2

It was as good as my Kayak costing three times the price. . Did not come with paddle

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
onthewater2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not very stable
6/24/2009

Customer review by scrapppygirl

2.0 stars 6/24/2009 by scrapppygirl
by scrapppygirl

Since the quality is not high enpugh for anexpereinced kayaker, and since it is somewhat tippy, I would not recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (7) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
scrapppygirl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Never
Disappointed
1/21/2010

Customer review by Crickjumper

1.0 stars 1/21/2010 by Crickjumper
by Crickjumper

We ordered two Pelican Persuit 100 kayaks. When they arrived one of them was damaged. There was a dent on the bow of the kayak. We didn't notice until after the trucker had left because the kayak was wrapped in stretch wrap. We are very disappointed to say the least after spending the amount of money we did on the kayaks and supplemental supplies.

Was this review helpful? (5) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Crickjumper
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
GREAT PRODUCT
8/12/2010

Customer review by projectapproved

5.0 stars 8/12/2010 by projectapproved
by projectapproved

This was the first Kayak i have ever used. It is very stable on the water, easy to move and haul. I am a 30 y/o man with back problems and the back rest really helps. My Son who is 14 and Wife who has had thumb surgery were both able to use this kayak with no problem. As far as price, everything else i had looked at for this size kayak was 500+. I ordered my kayak and paddle, paid shipping and taxes and it was less than $300 total. Very happy and plan on ordering another one for my son very soon.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
projectapproved
Campbellsville KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days