Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 40 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

40 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

40 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

80%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
20
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
6
1 stars
4
1-20 of 38 total reviews
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 38 total reviews
1-20 of 38 reviews
Awesome, just Awesome
8/18/2009

Customer review by Yoti14

5.0 stars 8/18/2009 by Yoti14
by Yoti14

I bought this with the idea that it would be nice little Luxury, for us while camping at the races this August. Well, man was I wrong. This unit is just spectacular. We had six people showering once a day for 4 days. 4 days of doing dishes twice a day,(2 wash tubs going at once). All of this was done on the initial charge of the battery, and one propane canister. Unreal!!!!! I love this heater and cannot wait to take it again. The On Demand water heater is a bit "plasticy", but if your careful it should last as long as you want. My only isssue was there is not a shut off for the shower head. You have to completely turn of the heater, which makes for some fun moments when you have soap in your eyes. LOL I highly recommend this to anyone who is looking for a way to get some hot water while camping

Was this review helpful? (29) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Yoti14
Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
VERY HELPFUL PRODUCT!
8/5/2009

Customer review by moondog4042

5.0 stars 8/5/2009 by moondog4042
by moondog4042

We are very very happy with our purchase of HOT WATER ON DEMAND by Coleman. We've been looking at them for some time and shopping around. Then all of a sudden (spur of the moment) we decided we needed it THAT week. We checked Bass Pro (who had in stock) but it was still less expensive for us to purchase from Walmart ONLINE and get delivered on the 1-2 day delivery, Great...thanks Walmart!~

Was this review helpful? (16) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
moondog4042
Moberly, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Works well and very complete
4/1/2014

Customer review by Tarby93

5.0 stars 4/1/2014 by Tarby93
by Tarby93

Purchased this unit from Walmart.com for their great price ($196.99 plus free shipping at the time). Read many reviews, and for the most part, it sounded like a good unit to suit my needs as a tent and pop-up camper. Well, after receiving the unit, it lives up to the reviews. Works flawlessly and very quiet. The battery unit holds charge very well and it is nice to see that it comes equipped with the optional 12-volt cord to use in your car cigarette lighter for charging just in case the battery dies off on a camping trip. I know many things Coleman has made in the recent years have not been up to the quality of past items, but this is a high point in quality for them. I also purchased the shower unit and the carry case. The carry case I would recommend to protect the unit and store propane tanks, plus it comes with a water-resistant cover to put over the unit when you set up camp and leave it out overnight.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tarby93
Smethport, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great replacement for the water heater
6/17/2014

Customer review by bzytaz13

5.0 stars 6/17/2014 by bzytaz13
by bzytaz13

I have a pop-up camper that has a hot water heater and uses a lot of propane when I use it. I picked this up to warm water for washing dishes, I did not want to use a pan on the fire. Good: Warms fast, runs as much water as you have the fuel for, Charges quick and lasts for a long time (did not drain my unit but went for 6 cycles of 3 gallons each), can go anywhere (just realize it is big, about the size of a sewing machine in a storage case) and weighs a few pounds, has a charger for 110v and 12v car charger, will impress anyone who has not seen one. Cone: size (I did not notice the size in the description), the knob that adjusts the temperature feels like it is ready be break every time I turn it on (I hope it lasts).

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bzytaz13
Greeley, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not for cooler climates
11/9/2009

Customer review by camper12

2.0 stars 11/9/2009 by camper12
by camper12

I purchased this product for camping. I saw it in action and thought it would be a great addition to my camping collection. Well, I deer hunt (tent camping) in the North Georgia mountains in November and December and this product failed miserably. The temperature knob broke (it was cold outside) when I tried to turn it to high heat. I could not use the unit again. I returned it to the store and exchanged it for a new one. The next time I used it, again it was cold outside, the same thing happened again! I was very frustrated and brought it back to the store again. This is a 3 season water heater. Do not rely on it if the temperature drops below 40 degrees. If you need a water heater in colder weather, I would recommend some other water hear (maybe Zodi) where you have no mechanical parts that can break.

Was this review helpful? (9) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
camper12
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
better than expected!
8/2/2014

Customer review by NotKansas

5.0 stars 8/2/2014 by NotKansas
by NotKansas

I just bought this and used it for the first time at a horse show where I camped in my horse trailer. I set up a shower in the back and it worked out great. (I also purchased the shower adapter.) I was surprised at how simple it was to set up, then once set up, so simple to use. Just turn in on and you have water. I used mine to wash my face, hands, brush teeth and shower. I was very surprised at how hot the water got. I was about 1/2 to 3/4 on the Warm setting to get a good hot shower. The water pressure on the shower adapter was very good and plenty to rinse all the shampoo from my thick long hair. It uses a lot of water pretty quickly, but I am ok with that because of the water pressure. I used approx. 3-4 gallons for one shower. It was easier for me to simply drop the pump in a 5 gallon bucket. The collapsible bag is good as well because you can get the water heated like a solar bag, which would then mean using less propane to heat it up.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NotKansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Coleman Water Camping Heater
4/11/2008

Customer review by kingwiggins

2.0 stars 4/11/2008 by kingwiggins
by kingwiggins

The water heater does heat the water as advertised but the water pressure from the battery powered pump is very very low. I was very disappointed in the water pressure as I wanted to take a shower with the unit (as was mentioned in the ad). It will do what Coleman says it should do but I was not happy with the unit.

Was this review helpful? (7) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kingwiggins
Lawton, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Unit failed on second use
5/19/2014

Customer review by Normstod

2.0 stars 5/19/2014 by Normstod
by Normstod

I have several of these Water heaters and I use them a lot. I decided it was time to buy a new one as a backup. I tested it when we got it home and it appeared to work as expected. Put in car my son noticed it was leaking propane. When we tried to use it after changing out the propane it would not light. Was on a level surface and we have enough experience with these to do basic troubleshooting. Our experience with these heaters has been good in the past. Guess we just got a bad one this time. Nothing we tried work so we returned it to the local Wal Mart. I did not want to void the warranty by opening it up and looking at the switch that sometimes goes bad and does not detect water movement. We were very happy with the no hassle return process. We had used the site to store shipping. All we had to do was print a return label and drop off at customer service.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Normstod
Huntsville, AL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works very well
7/6/2008

Customer review by Mzsuzyq

5.0 stars 7/6/2008 by Mzsuzyq
by Mzsuzyq

I have used this water heater for the last two summers for our annual camping trip. It works very well. As the other review mentioned, the water pressure is not high, but what do you expect from a portable unit? It heats the water in seconds and we got around 14 showers out of one propane bottle and had propane left. The only suggestion I have is to charge the unit in your car every night whether the low battery light is on or not. The first year I only charged it when it said it needed it and until the green light came back on, but then it would run out of power in the middle of a shower. That did not happen this year charging it every night.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mzsuzyq
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Met my expectations
8/16/2009

Customer review by trailerfanatic

5.0 stars 8/16/2009 by trailerfanatic
by trailerfanatic

I actually purchased this to use with my concession cart. It works great and heats the water to Health Dept. requirements. It's easy to use. We also take it camping and it is nice to have hot water to wash our dishes. I would highly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
trailerfanatic
Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
great product
3/16/2010

Customer review by happyfloridacamper

5.0 stars 3/16/2010 by happyfloridacamper
by happyfloridacamper

i used a friends and had to have my own. works great, easy to operate, great for camping & when kids play in the mud they can get a shower outside and not track in my house

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
happyfloridacamper
lake wales florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Excellent For warm outdoor shower
7/15/2010

Customer review by Szenyka

5.0 stars 7/15/2010 by Szenyka
by Szenyka

Along with a shower tent and accessories to hook the water heater up to a shower hose, this product was perfect for warm showers when our hot water heater went out. The only draw back was the accessory to hook our hose directly up to the heater. We could not get a good seal, but just a large bucket, hose, and product's pump fixed the problem.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Szenyka
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Coleman Hot Water On Demand
3/22/2011

Customer review by Effects

5.0 stars 3/22/2011 by Effects
by Effects

Coleman's HWOD is a can't-do-without product for camping fun. As advertised, it gives you HOT water when and where you need it with NO WAITING. Cleanup was never so easy with this portable water heater that provides gallons of hot water on one small bottle of gas. Love it!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Effects
Englewood, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Lovely hot water anywhere!
8/12/2008

Customer review by Ferretlaw

4.0 stars 8/12/2008 by Ferretlaw
by Ferretlaw

I agree that the water pressure doesn't match that of even a low-budget hotel, but hey...you're in the wilderness, right? Rinsing long hair with a bucket of warm water (faster than using the spray nozzle) works perfectly. On the plus side, this thing has worked over and over from horse shows to mountain peaks without a hitch. It is not a substitute for your trusty kettle as the highest setting is great for tea but not hot enough for making drip coffee. However, we set this up on the camp kitchen for easy dish & hand washing then move it over to the shower tent for endless hot water (connected to our big propane tank, there's plenty of hot, not scalding, water for four people to shower). It is an expensive luxury when a really big constantly warmed teakettle would do the same job, but this was a Christmas-present convenience I now wouldn't want to be without.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ferretlaw
Bakersfield, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
I would buy it again
10/18/2009

Customer review by shotoshine

4.0 stars 10/18/2009 by shotoshine
by shotoshine

Had the product for a couple of months now, and have to say, It was worth every dime. nothing like a hot shower when the alternative is going without. Some of these reviews say it has weak pressure, but mine is not so bad, I'm 6'1 240 lbs, I can take a 20 minute shower, and its great. Not like home, but hey, better than a heating water over a stove. I have taken 3 showers, and washed dishes with one small propane bottle. I would recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shotoshine
Russellville, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Hot Water On Demand
9/18/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 9/18/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Product lives up to its name! It is big and heavy and I was a bit intimidated, but I followed the instructions for cleaning well before use and am amazed how really easy it is to use. I plan to use with a camping trailer and this will really help with dishes, bathing and hot drinks. Love it! No more waiting for the pot of water to heat.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Convenience will cost you...
5/3/2014

Customer review by Horticulturalist

4.0 stars 5/3/2014 by Horticulturalist
by Horticulturalist

I would recommend this product only IF you connect it to propane tank and a garden water hose. The propane connection does not swivel so threading the cylinder is difficult unless you sit at the same level or squat below the unit. Also, you will be dependent on buying the propane cylinders which have to be properly recycled. A 2 pack of Coleman propane cylinders will cost $5-6 and one cylinder on the hottest temperature setting will pump water for only 20-30 minutes on a fully charged battery. IF order to use a garden hose you will need to buy an accessory part--the Water Hose Adapter ($35-$40) to regulate the flow of water. However, if there is not enough water pressure built up in your water line the HWOD pump will not even turn on. If you need to bathe, then you will need another accessory the shower hand adapter ($25-$35). The 5 foot propane hose tank will cost approximately ($19-$28). It's a good product for short term use and emergencies. The only drawback is you will keep spending money to increase your convenience. Also, you must be discipline enough to recharge it everyday you need to use it frequently. You are buying hardware ONLY, a constant water source, fuel costs and recharging the battery is your responsibility. HOWEVER, does it produce HOT WATER ON DEMAND=YES!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Horticulturalist
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Hot water is great
7/31/2014

Customer review by Stackshouse

4.0 stars 7/31/2014 by Stackshouse
by Stackshouse

The Hot water maker runs forever on a single charge and it takes at most 30 seconds to have piping hot water. The down side is that there is not much pressure created by the machine. It just takes a little extra time to fill a dish pan. We had a shower head attachment that would attach to it, but there was not enough pressure to wash off easily. The included 5 gallon container is nice because you can collapse it, which is handy for storing it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Stackshouse
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great for the sportsman
11/2/2009

Customer review by coldnorth

5.0 stars 11/2/2009 by coldnorth
by coldnorth

We got this to use while cleaning pheasants outdoors as the water coming from the garden hose is too cold for cleaning birds. It worked great!! We did not have any problems with the unit at all.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
coldnorth
the Dakotas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Great for quick hot shower
12/26/2012

Customer review by jstroutbuster

5.0 stars 12/26/2012 by jstroutbuster
by jstroutbuster

its better than I thought...love it

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jstroutbuster
york, pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 38 total reviews
1-20 of 38 reviews