Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 55 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

55 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

55 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

80%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
33
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 stars
7
1-20 of 46 total reviews
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 46 total reviews
1-20 of 46 reviews
Very impressed with this cooler
5/13/2014

Customer review by whogivesadarn

5.0 stars 5/13/2014 by whogivesadarn
by whogivesadarn
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have not used my new cooler yet so I am trusting that other reviews will be correct as to the whether ice will last 5 days or not. I am writing about my first impressions of this cooler. At first I thought it was broke as the top wouldn't open. I tugged and pulled and it would not come open. I wanted to yank but I was afraid if it wasn't broken I'd break it. I waited for my son to come in and asked him to see if he could find a lock on the cooler. Well, he yanked and open it came. I don't doubt the 5 day claim as this cooler has one super seal on it. It is sturdy made and I suspect could take quite a bit of abuse. I wish it were some other color as white dirties easily but it is a marine cooler so maybe that's why it's white. The company might consider that some people are buying this for camping and white on dirt is hard to clean. I upped my value guess to excellent because I do believe the few dollars more you pay for this will save you in ice, lost food and trips to the ice machine/store.

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
whogivesadarn
West Columbia, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Run-of-the-mill cooler
8/5/2008

Customer review by AstronomyNow

3.0 stars 8/5/2008 by AstronomyNow
by AstronomyNow

This cooler was touted to be a "marine" version, and would keep ice for up to 5 days. Since I bought it on-line, I didn't really get to see it beforehand. To me it looks like all other budget coolers. I have had several in the past that made the same claim of keeping ice for up to 5 days in 90-degree weather, and none of them came even close. This one is no different, I put a big bag of ice in it at about 2 in the afternoon, and it was completely melted by noon the next day. I suppose it is labeled as a "marine" cooler because it has a tape measure embossed in the plastic on the lid, so you can measure that fish...

Was this review helpful? (35) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AstronomyNow
Poway, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
great cooler and value
3/14/2014

Customer review by PMM15

5.0 stars 3/14/2014 by PMM15
by PMM15

I assume the whole xtreme marine line of coolers is the same quality but this 70 quart version was the perfect size for the back of our Suburban for a long road trip. This kept our frozen and refrigerated foods ice cold and fresh for a two day road trip through warm weather, and when we arrived the bags of ice were still mostly frozen...so I just stuck the ice in the freezer during our stay, and used the same ice coming back home for two days of driving. Same result when we got home. I'm very happy with that performance. Though I was considering the Yeti which costs maybe 6-8x as much, and since I'm not the Old Man and the Sea who's going to be adrift for days and days in the hot sun, the Yeti's likely excess performance is more or less of no use to me. No offense to Yeti, it's a cool product, but when this Coleman cooler is available at its price point, a Yeti purchase for me personally would have been a status symbol only. Maybe this cooler will fall apart a lot sooner than a Yeti...maybe I'll update this review once I get it out on the boat and bash it around a bit, but it appears to be well made and like I said, I could buy about six more of these later in life before spending the full Yeti cost. Also, this shipped free to my house in about one day's time...not saying you'll get the same result, but that was awesome for my transaction.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PMM15
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Coleman 5 day cooler
8/19/2008

Customer review by Tahdi

5.0 stars 8/19/2008 by Tahdi
by Tahdi

I bought this cooler for a week long camping trip. It was used for food with a 25lb block of ice. It was only opened a few times a day & kept in the shade. It kept the items cold for the entire week. It was also on clearance at Walmart.com for 34.99. The only downfall is that it has no wheels. Pick a good spot for it and leave it there.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tahdi
New England
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Very sturdy cooler
7/8/2009

Customer review by aspenhamilton

5.0 stars 7/8/2009 by aspenhamilton
by aspenhamilton

I was looking for a cooler that could handle people sitting on the lid. This fits the bill perfectly! Lots of space inside, but I can still carry it by myself, and it fits under my truck's tonnou cover. Would definately buy another.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
aspenhamilton
Montgomery, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Should have bought the regular Xtreme
3/9/2011

Customer review by CarsonH

4.0 stars 3/9/2011 by CarsonH
by CarsonH

We had the 70 qt regular (blue) Xtreme icechest and loved it...until it was stolen from us. So, when we went to replace it, we decided on the marine version, as our friend has it and it and his came with stainless steel hinges (purchased last summer). While the description didn't mention the hardware, I assumed we would get the stainless hinges. Unfortunately, this one came with regular plastic hinges. It is a fine ice chest, and we swear by Coleman brand, but I should have saved the xtra $10 and just purchased the regular 70 qt chest.

Was this review helpful? (13) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CarsonH
So. Cal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Awesome job.
8/9/2011

Customer review by Canadianshopper4

5.0 stars 8/9/2011 by Canadianshopper4
by Canadianshopper4

I love this cooler. That being said, although it keeps things very cold for the 5 days, I would not say it keeps them frozen. It's summer, it was outside in a shaded area, and the meat that was put in frozen was still very cold after 5 days, but was not frozen still. I love it, and would strongly recommend it. Suggestion: as with all coolers, if you'll be camping for for more than 2 days: freeze everything you can first. That helps a lot.

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Canadianshopper4
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
GREAT cooler!
4/27/2014

Customer review by starfish29

5.0 stars 4/27/2014 by starfish29
by starfish29
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We bought this cooler for our son to take camping! We own one and it has always kept things cold. The ice doesn't melt for days! We love it and they love it. It does the job for sure!

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
starfish29
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
MY FISHING COOLER
7/27/2014

Customer review by WALLEYEMIKE

5.0 stars 7/27/2014 by WALLEYEMIKE
by WALLEYEMIKE
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

GREAT COOLER FOR THE MONEY, HAD ICE LAST 4 DAYS, JUST REMEMBER TO KEEP THE PLUG OPEN TO DRAIN ALL WATER. THE WATER MAKES THE ICE MELT FASTER SO YOU NEED TO DRAIN THE WATER AND YOUR ICE WILL LAST.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WALLEYEMIKE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Does exactly what it said it would do
6/20/2014

Customer review by SkippoII

5.0 stars 6/20/2014 by SkippoII
by SkippoII
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

First use a very hot camping trip with three grandchildren for four days. Even though theyfrequently forgot to fully closr the lid and the drain was accidentally opened at least twice, our ice stayed and food stayed cool. We did supplement ice once with a small amount

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SkippoII
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Outstanding
7/31/2010

Customer review by Guapo3

5.0 stars 7/31/2010 by Guapo3
by Guapo3

Was what Coleman Advertise, Keep Cool for a long time. Stronger than other cooler I have owned.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Guapo3
Crystal Lake, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
nice cooler
6/22/2010

Customer review by mountainmomma77

5.0 stars 6/22/2010 by mountainmomma77
by mountainmomma77

We ordered a couple of these for our boat and really like them. They kept drinks and food cool for the 3 days we went camping. We dumped ice out when we returned home, so they worked well. Durable and well made, typical Coleman product.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mountainmomma77
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
not much good
8/20/2008

Customer review by evanspop

1.0 stars 8/20/2008 by evanspop
by evanspop

We purchased this cooler for a 3 day camping trip.It advertised to keep ice for 5 days,but it only lasted 2 We had some rain and things in the tent were getting wet we thought from the rain but it was the cooler leaking around the drain plug.Very poor quality.Would not recommend.

Was this review helpful? (11) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
evanspop
Troy,Pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Just as advertised
12/7/2010

Customer review by doggie07

5.0 stars 12/7/2010 by doggie07
by doggie07

looks good; received quickly; very nice

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
doggie07
Somerset, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
only thing marine about it is the color white
8/5/2014

Customer review by DDogs

1.0 stars 8/5/2014 by DDogs
by DDogs
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

same cheap hinges as non marine coolers not constructed any better than regular coolers. It used to be when you ordered a marine cooler you got stainless steel hindges and screw on with hose adapter drain plug. drink holders in the top cover also a no no, that just means no insulation. I guess today as long as it is white they will call it a marine cooler.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DDogs
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Cooler
8/19/2010

Customer review by LineOn

5.0 stars 8/19/2010 by LineOn
by LineOn

I bought this cooler, kept it in a cool room before leaving for Lake Powell for 8 days. I still had ice in the cooler when I was leaving bullfrog marina. It did stay in the shade the ENTIRE trip, and I limited how often I retrieved items. Loved the cooler, I initially wanted a lid with a latch, but they usually break anyways. Would recommend this cooler!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LineOn
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
great price!
10/1/2010

Customer review by Seedog

4.0 stars 10/1/2010 by Seedog
by Seedog

The Walmart price was right and the cooler looks very solid and well made. My only complaint is that I purchased the Coleman cooler seat for this cooler and the attachment straps go under the lid and with the cooler used as a fish box the straps are hard to keep clean. I think an external attachment would be a better set up.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Seedog
Southport, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Marine Cooler
5/2/2011

Customer review by JacksonA33133

2.0 stars 5/2/2011 by JacksonA33133
by JacksonA33133

Ordered two one has wrinkles on one corner of the outer shell which will crack the first time it is bumped. Quality Control at Coleman has certainly slipped over the years. Taking it back and getting the Extreme 70 quart which is the same basically and 20 dollars less.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JacksonA33133
Would recommend to a friend? No
Wasn't quite what I was looking for
7/12/2014

Customer review by ccc7003

3.0 stars 7/12/2014 by ccc7003
by ccc7003
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The description said it had a threaded drain. I thought that meant it had a screw on plug instead of a pull plug. Was looking for the screw-on because that always seems to be the first thing to break on every cooler we have ever had

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ccc7003
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Cooler, Great Price!
8/3/2008

Customer review by RiverCamper

5.0 stars 8/3/2008 by RiverCamper
by RiverCamper

Used this cooler over a weekend, my drinks were icy in less than 12 hours. I did pack it full of ice and had plenty when I got home, hated to dump the rest out. You can't go wrong with Coleman.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RiverCamper
Everywhere in, Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 46 total reviews
1-20 of 46 reviews