Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 92 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

92 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

92 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
49
4 stars
27
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 stars
6
1-20 of 88 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 88 total reviews
1-20 of 88 reviews
Great gift for young prospector's
12/30/2013

Customer review by BigdaddyCurb

4.0 stars 12/30/2013 by BigdaddyCurb
by BigdaddyCurb
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Pros: I gave this 4 stars because my 8yr old son just got it for Christmas so I cant give it a long lasting review but it seems to be of good quality and a great beginners detector. It is very easy to use the sensitivity seems to be accurate and after about 5mins of use he was able to decipher the difference in pings. He has been able to find old nails,washers and a couple coins buried about 4 to 6 inches under dirt and clay. We are planning a beach vacation this summer and he's already looking forward to the "buried treasures" he plans to find. Cons: Better stock up on 9volt batteries, they don't last long in this. About 30 to 45mins on store brands, maybe a little longer since he has learned to "turn it off" while digging. I'm gonna try some of the different name brand battery companies to see if they will last longer, maybe a rechargeable type. The only other thing is it doesn't have an ear phone input, only an external speaker. Either way he's enjoyed this so much it's well worth it to me.

Was this review helpful? (51) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BigdaddyCurb
Scottsboro AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Major disappointment
6/26/2016

Customer review by Momof1boy

1.0 stars 6/26/2016 by Momof1boy
by Momof1boy

We got this for my 7 year old based on such great reviews. We set it up with fresh batteries. The battery test was fine. We adjusted the dial to take it off battery test as instructed. Major dud!!!! The detector can't find ANYTHING in the grass, Absolute zero. We then put the coins on the driveway just to practice. The detector does not find them or beep unless the detector is actually touching the coins. That really defeats the purpose of a metal detector as it can't find anything more than .000000000000000000001" below the surface and doesn't work like any other I'e ever used. Back to the store to return this garbage.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Momof1boy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great for kids
9/25/2016

Customer review by clothesrack

5.0 stars 9/25/2016 by clothesrack
by clothesrack
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought for a gift. He lived it

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
clothesrack
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bounty Hunter
8/29/2016

Customer review by jans

5.0 stars 8/29/2016 by jans
by jans
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This product was very much worth the price! We have found many coins and things hidden in our backyard.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jans
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Looking4Nectar
6/19/2015

Customer review by tonedat48

5.0 stars 6/19/2015 by tonedat48
by tonedat48

I bought this detector, the Wildgame Innovations Youth Analog, and the Bounty Hunter Gold Digger detector for my grandkids ages 6,9, & 11. The BHGD gets you the best bang for your buck but I don't recommend it for under the age of 10. This one, the BHJM I highly recommend for traveling and for the younger diggers. It assembles quickly and is the most lightweight even tho the WGIYA suggests it weighs less - it does not - prob 1-1 1/2 lbs heavier than BHJM. We have tested in the yard and at the beach tho I bought all 3 for a trip out West that's upcoming. BHGD seems to have best detection of the 3 by a small margin. As someone previously noted, you MUST keep the detectors away from one another or they will short out one another. If this happens as it did to me, I simply shut them off. Removed the batteries. Reinserted same batteries. Turned back on and we were all up and running again! In sum, this one is the one to get for under age 10.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tonedat48
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Bounty Hunter Junior Metal Detector
1/2/2014

Customer review by Sproutmomma5

5.0 stars 1/2/2014 by Sproutmomma5
by Sproutmomma5
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Thank you! The Bounty Hunter Junior Metal Detector is a great product! We purchased this for my 12 year old son. It works fantastic, even with lots of snow and ice! Christmas morning my two boys went searching for metal for about 45 minutes and came back with a big assortment. We are very pleased with it's ease of use, that it works so well, and that my son loves it!! Also, thanks for the super speedy delivery! We didn't expect it to arrive so quickly and we were so thankful it came just in time for our Christmas. I will definitely recommend this to friends and family!!

Was this review helpful? (38) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sproutmomma5
West Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Cost effective
4/13/2016

Customer review by Goldfinger

4.0 stars 4/13/2016 by Goldfinger
by Goldfinger

I had conducted thorough searches in the grass without success. A forty dollar detector found a four hundred dollar gold ring in less than ten minutes. Nuff said ?

Was this review helpful? (16) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Goldfinger
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Saved the day
5/30/2016

Customer review by Girl1985

5.0 stars 5/30/2016 by Girl1985
by Girl1985
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Found the $800 dollar ring. Worth the cost and saved the day

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Girl1985
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for kids
5/12/2012

Customer review by Brankster

5.0 stars 5/12/2012 by Brankster
by Brankster

This is great for kids starting out doing this. We took it camping and found tent stakes, nails, screws and a really old cool pocket knife. It is better if you have the metal tools not the plastic ones and a good metal shovel. I am now looking at buying accessories to go with it. The carrying bag is a necessity. Great purchase!

Was this review helpful? (70) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Brankster
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Works Well!
4/14/2016

Customer review by LoveToCycle

5.0 stars 4/14/2016 by LoveToCycle
by LoveToCycle

I bought this to retrieve shell casings from my backyard range. It's does pretty much what I wanted it to do. It even found older casings that were mashed down in the dirt.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LoveToCycle
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great to get the kids outside
3/21/2009

Customer review by pnb2

5.0 stars 3/21/2009 by pnb2
by pnb2

Bought 2 for my kids. We've already gone hunting and found change and a Boy Scout slide. They are very excited and can't wait for the warmer weather. Item is a bit heavy at first but they will build muscle with use. Great for family outings.

Was this review helpful? (61) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pnb2
Enfield, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Found the Ring!
3/29/2016

Customer review by Guys

5.0 stars 3/29/2016 by Guys
by Guys

Lost a family ring in a ski hill parking lot after a snow. This thing has a VERY short range (like 6"), but it was enough to detect the ring under 4" of snow when we were right above it. All in all, 5/5 would treasure hunt with the Bounty Hunter Junior again!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Guys
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Hunter and shipping
8/9/2016

Customer review by Josh

3.0 stars 8/9/2016 by Josh
by Josh
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The bounty hunter works well and the price is hard to beat .The shipping is a different story I paid for two day got it in 3 and was never informed that it was being pushed out another day and still have not got any of the shipping money back .

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Josh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bought to Find Property Markers
5/30/2014

Customer review by Audiophile2

4.0 stars 5/30/2014 by Audiophile2
by Audiophile2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this metal detector specifically to find the five 1-inch iron pipes marking corners for our recently purchased property. One was roughly four inches below the surface, the rest about an inch below the surface, hidden under thick turf. I found all but one, that marker apparently graded out when finish grading was done by the landscaper. Finding the four out of five markers that I did locate would not otherwise have been successful without hiring a land surveyor. I will end up hiring one after all to reset the missing marker. The detector was easy to learn to use and served the purpose I had in mind very well. It was certainly worth the small amount of money I spent.

Was this review helpful? (29) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Audiophile2
Germantown, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Gift for nephew
12/31/2015

Customer review by Jenkings

5.0 stars 12/31/2015 by Jenkings
by Jenkings

I ordered online and picked up the metal detector at the store. I have done this several times and I highly recommend it! It's a very convenient way to shop for the holidays. I did not open or use the metal detector myself, but my nephew was excited with his gift - quite the feat with a kid who has everything and is far from the excitable type! He's had it for a week now and has used it quite a bit. He's only found change so far, but he loves it! My nephew is 10 years old and has had no difficulty understanding and using this item. It's a great gift when you have no idea what to get.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jenkings
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Gift
4/1/2013

Customer review by amonoskey

5.0 stars 4/1/2013 by amonoskey
by amonoskey

We bought the Bounty Hunter Jr for our 5 year old daughter for Easter 2013. We had so much fun with it. We used it all day and can't wait for tomorrow to resume our hunt. We found a 1970's Grape Coke can in our yard! It was also fun doing research to find out how old the stulff was! The kids definatley got excited every time to see what it was. We also bought the Bounty Hunter with case and pinpointer for our 12 year old son We found so many cool things with it in our back yard that day to list them all! This is one of the best purchases that we've made. Considering getting more for my hubby and I. Thanks, Wal-Mart, for the fast shipping and for carriying such a great product.

Was this review helpful? (61) (42)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
amonoskey
Fredericksburg
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Bounty Hunter
11/1/2015

Customer review by Essby

4.0 stars 11/1/2015 by Essby
by Essby

Product is comparable to value. I would consider buying as another child's gift. Online shipping information offered incorecct data- I spent extra shipping to have it arrive on the date stated. It arrived 4 days after expected arrival, missing the child's birthday, so I am very disappointed in that aspect.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Essby
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product
4/13/2008

Customer review by becky13072

4.0 stars 4/13/2008 by becky13072
by becky13072

My son loves the metal detector. It is a good choice and size for a 9 year old, but a little pricey.

Was this review helpful? (40) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
becky13072
Beaufort, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
great gift for a 4 year old
11/25/2013

Customer review by JosiePat

5.0 stars 11/25/2013 by JosiePat
by JosiePat
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

bought as a gift for a 4 year old - interesting, educational & encourages outdoor activity!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JosiePat
charleston sc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My go to metal detector
11/7/2013

Customer review by Kristalane85

5.0 stars 11/7/2013 by Kristalane85
by Kristalane85
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The small size is nice,when folded it fits in a backpack with a small shovel entirely unseen. Very lightweight, I can swing it all day without tiring my arm. Very easy to use, only 2 knobs. I hunt for larger relics (Civil war era), I do have a larger and heavier metal detector that can detect smaller objects at a greater depth, but when going out and exploring new areas to hunt the Bounty Hunter JR. is what I use. My first day out with it I recovered a cannonball.

Was this review helpful? (32) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kristalane85
Burlington,N.C.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 88 total reviews
1-20 of 88 reviews