Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 371 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

371 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

371 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

98%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
325
4 stars
33
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 stars
3
1-20 of 301 total reviews
98%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 301 total reviews
1-20 of 301 reviews
GPS Garmin Bean Bag
4/2/2009

Customer review by gobjob

5.0 stars 4/2/2009 by gobjob
by gobjob

We used it for the first time last week and loved it. Very easy to put up and take down. It is easy to remove before pulling up to your destination. You will need to remove the attachment that holds the GPS to the suction cup onto the bean bag which is very simple to do. I got a little tote bag and put the bean bag, cord, and GPS in it. This way we can grab the bag and use it in any car or put it in the trunk. In the Honda Accord it sits below the windshield where the Honda's built in GPS would be. It is easy to read and out of site in the windshield.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gobjob
Birmingham, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
6/25/2009

Customer review by Yeaz

4.0 stars 6/25/2009 by Yeaz
by Yeaz

Just a little too large for the mounting on Honda Goldwing Motorcycle but works well when secured with velcro. See photo!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Yeaz
Orange Park, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Stays Put!
1/21/2009

Customer review by CopperheadVA

5.0 stars 1/21/2009 by CopperheadVA
by CopperheadVA

I had a problem with the GPS window mount falling off - and of course it always happened at the most inopportune moment! The last time it happened, I almost got into an accident while I was trying to catch the GPS as it fell. I heard about the friction mount and bought it immediately - what a great product! It definitely stays put. My dashboard is somewhat shallow, but the friction mount does not move. I wish I had known about this product sooner! I tried to buy this product in the store - the website supposedly tells you which Wal-Mart stores have it in stock. What a waste of time! It was NOT available in the store and the Wal-Mart associate said they've never carried it and that the website is often incorrect about store stock. I purchased on-line and paid the $0.97 shipping, which was well worth it! I love this Garmin Friction Mount and I especially love it that I was able to buy it for 25% less at Wal-Mart.com that anywhere else that sells it! Thank you Wal-Mart!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CopperheadVA
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Garmin GPS Friction Mount
1/28/2008

Customer review by captmickey

5.0 stars 1/28/2008 by captmickey
by captmickey

I have found this mount to be an excellent alternative to the suction-type mount. While under way, it provides a very stable platform for my Nuvi 350. Once I park, it is very easy to remove from the dash so as not to advertise the presence of the device.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
captmickey
Laurinburg, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
OK but not as good as previous model
12/22/2008

Customer review by Tony27

3.0 stars 12/22/2008 by Tony27
by Tony27

The mount works ie it holds a Garmin in place. However, costs have been cut and the stand has lost the best feature of the previous model. Previously the power lead connected to the stand and the Garmin picked up power from a connection within the stand. Now the power plugs into the Garmin and the Garmin connects to an unpowered stand. If you want to remove the Garmin from the car, as advised when vacating the car, you have to disconnect the Garmin from both the power lead and the stand. Previously you just separated the Garmin from the stand and you were all done. The extra hassle will probably mean that you wont disconnect as often as you might have done - raising the chances of losing your Garmin and side passenger window.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tony27
Would recommend to a friend? No
Garmin beanbag
11/22/2008

Customer review by mylark

5.0 stars 11/22/2008 by mylark
by mylark

I can now put the GPS on the dash and it stays put. Worth every penny. Easy to set up and then put away.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mylark
Oroville, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
I luv this thing
10/1/2009

Customer review by BaltimoreMomma

5.0 stars 10/1/2009 by BaltimoreMomma
by BaltimoreMomma

I really do like this friction mount for my nuvi. I've had it now for a few months and it is great. It is so easy to use. I just leave my GPS attached to it and when I'm not using it, I store it under my center console tray on the floor in my Honda CRV. When I'm ready to use it, I just plop it on the dash and it stays put....not once has it fallen off. I didn't like the suction mount that came with my gps because it left a ring on the windshield and because my windshield slopes outward quite a bit, it was a bit difficult to mount. This is great. When I ordered this, it came as a package deal with my 265T garmin GPS. I luv it and my gps so much that my co-worker wanted to try it out....well she fell in luv with this and my gps and bought one too.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BaltimoreMomma
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
What a find!
12/27/2008

Customer review by DepDeb

5.0 stars 12/27/2008 by DepDeb
by DepDeb

I hate suction cups on my windshield. They fall off, leave marks and frankly, the product is too far away to use easily. The Gramin Friction mount cures all that. The GPS pops right in and you have the flexibility of putting it wherever you like. Mine sits nicely in the niche in front of my message center. In my husbands van, it sits on the cup holder. Both locations keep it out it close at hand and easy to see without having anything in my line of sight on the windshield. Easy to move from vehicle to vehicle and to hide when leaving the car. I just unplug and drop the whole thing in a small camera bag, through it over my shoulder and away I go! A must have if you use a Garmin GPS.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DepDeb
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great portable alternative to mounting in window
4/12/2009

Customer review by kindnessmatters

4.0 stars 4/12/2009 by kindnessmatters
by kindnessmatters

The was really a great alternative to the window mount. We were told at my daughters college that people were breaking into cars to steal the navagation units. So it was important to not even have the suction cup mount in your car or someone might break in.We had rented a car on vacation and they had this bean bag weighted bag, It was great, we ordered it from walmart online and I have to say it was sent to her at school very quickly. It is really good, I think it slides a bit more than I would like, but overall it is a smart alternative to the window mount.I got the Garmin unit from walmart.com also and they were sent very quickly and we are pretty happy with them.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kindnessmatters
Long Island NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Ultimate GPS mount
12/6/2008

Customer review by espgypsy

5.0 stars 12/6/2008 by espgypsy
by espgypsy

This is the answer for anyone who has caught a flying GPS in mid-air as the standard issue suction cup mount failed to perform to spec. This is the design that respects physics and not only does exactly what you hope it should do, which is to say keep everything solidly in place, it makes it possible to stow the mount out of sight. Even if you leave the wire plugged in, there is little to attract thieves while the standard issue suction cup is either in plain view or the nasty windshield tattoo it causes is obvious. This lets you position the unit with more finesse and blocks less of your view of the road. Simple, brilliant design that makes it the mount of choice.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
espgypsy
Hamilton NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Better Than the Suction Cup on the Windshield
2/16/2009

Customer review by Coriolis

5.0 stars 2/16/2009 by Coriolis
by Coriolis

Started out with the windshield suction cup mount for my Garmin GPS. Was not pleased with the long reach to my unit. This is due to the sloped windshield which positons the lower edge of the windshield too far away to easily change the GPS settings. The friction dashboard mount does a great job in resolving the difficult access to the GPS unit. It stays in position perfectly-even on acceleration and sharp turns. So easy to hide the unit when car is parked in a public area and no suction-cup marks to let potential thieves suspect that there may be a GPS unit in the car. The product does its job very well and I rate it highly. A little too expensive however.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Coriolis
Spring Hill. Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
It works!
12/20/2008

Customer review by bluzfrek

5.0 stars 12/20/2008 by bluzfrek
by bluzfrek

When I got my Garmin GPS unit, I tried the window mount in my Dodge van, and that worked pretty good. But in my wife's Mercury Grand Marquis, the angle of the windshield made it difficult to get the mount in the best spot. I decided to give this Garmin dsahboard mount a try, and am happy with the functionality of the weighted pad. It's easy to find just the right spot for the GPS unit to sit, and the mount is heavy enough that it doesn't move around under normal driving conditions. I do think the mount might be a tad overpriced, but Wal-Mart had the best price of all the places I checked(Amazon, Frye's, etc.), plus free shipping to the closest W-M.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bluzfrek
Humble, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Works very well!
2/25/2009

Customer review by Tawanda1950

5.0 stars 2/25/2009 by Tawanda1950
by Tawanda1950

This product met my expectations, and then some. With my Honda CRV, mounting on the windsheild was not practical, and I really didn't want a 'stick on' mount on the dash or anywhere else on my new car. The friction mount is sturdy....I was surprised at the weight of it. On our first trip across the state with it, it did not move at all from the position we placed it in on the dash. Easy to adjust the GPS so either passenger, driver or BOTH can see easily. When we would make rest or food stops we simply placed it on the floor and out of sight. Plus if my daughter needs to borrow it for her car, no problem.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tawanda1950
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
An Absolute Must!!
12/27/2008

Customer review by ATravelingMan

5.0 stars 12/27/2008 by ATravelingMan
by ATravelingMan

I cannot suggest strongly enough that you purchase this accessory for your Garmin GPS. I have seen many times - friends' GPS units fall from the windshield using the suction cup mount. In addition, the little circle that the suction cup unit is a sure giveaway that you have a GPS in your car even after you stow it for security purposes. With the friction mount, you stow the unit and their is no evidence of a GPS in the car. Lastly, the number of times I have seen friends lick their finger then wipe the suction cup... too many!! Get this friction mount!! Well worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ATravelingMan
New England
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Garmin GPS Base
12/27/2008

Customer review by TwiceRetired

5.0 stars 12/27/2008 by TwiceRetired
by TwiceRetired

This item is a perfect solution to having a base that will hold the GPS stationary on the dash of my vehicle while it is in use. It can also be hidden from exterior view when not in use so it does not serve as an attraction to passersby who may be looking to pick up a unit free of charge. There is no suction cup circle on the windshield to announce the presence of a GPS on board either. Additionally, it allows the GPS unit to be moved from vehicle to vehicle nicely, thereby saving money and expanding the utility of the GPS unit. Think about it, you'll want one too!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TwiceRetired
Northern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Garmin Sandbag
4/6/2009

Customer review by Garmin2009

5.0 stars 4/6/2009 by Garmin2009
by Garmin2009

Excellent product. Garmin stays on the dashboard securely. Can move on and off as needed. No more ugly marks on the windshield or the garmin falling down off of windshield mount. Can easily see the garmin screen and can be moved closer or farther per driver descretion. Can easily see over the garmin and around it versus the window mount. Makes you love your garmin more. Can also move the entire unit out of view and hidden easily without having to dismount and remount to the windshield. Very inexpensive and I am buying for all my friends with garmins as gifts.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Garmin2009
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
nice upgrade from suction mount
12/30/2008

Customer review by BigWaylon

5.0 stars 12/30/2008 by BigWaylon
by BigWaylon

we've had very little luck with the windshield mounts for our Nuvi 360 and our StreetPilot c550...but this mount works wonderful for both. it doesn't handle really sharp turns at a high rate of speed, but for "normal" driving it usually stays in place, depending on the shape/slope of your dash. quick and easy to mount/remove, so your GPS stays out of site of thieves. plus, it doesn't leave that tell-tale suction cup ring on the windshield to give a thief any indication that a GPS has been shoved under the seat, in the glove box, or in the center console!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BigWaylon
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Highly recommend - Cheapest found
1/4/2009

Customer review by LUVaValue

5.0 stars 1/4/2009 by LUVaValue
by LUVaValue

I highly recommend the Garmin GPS Friction mount. We just took a trip from Michigan to Florida. Quickly putting the GPS out of site at each stop/attraction was so easy. The mount goes not slide at all and can be put anywhere on the dash etc. I never used the windshield suction cup because of all the problems people stated about losing the suction and the GPS falling. I bought the friction mount when I bought my GPS. It is a good investment. Wal-mart online was the cheapest price I found and geat with 97 cent shipping for CHristmas. Hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LUVaValue
Troy, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Shipping was Super Fast!
4/29/2009

Customer review by Kelbel1963

4.0 stars 4/29/2009 by Kelbel1963
by Kelbel1963

Wow, I ordered this online Saturday night and received it Tuesday! That was really quick, 2 full days sooner than the earliest delivery date that they gave me. I just got it and put it in my car but haven't driven anywhere yet so I don't know if it will slide around, hopefully it won't. It was very easy to connect my Garmin Nuvi and it will be an easy disconnect or I can take the whole thing off the dashboard and hide it under the seat so it won't get stolen. Once I use it for a couple of days, I will come back and update my comments.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kelbel1963
Jacksonville, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very useful and functional
8/12/2008

Customer review by VillageIdiot

5.0 stars 8/12/2008 by VillageIdiot
by VillageIdiot

I bought this because I was going to be renting cars in California and Minnesota, both states where having a GPS (or anything else) fixed with a suction cup to the windshield is illegal. It is heavy for its size, and does not slide around the dash at all. It also appears to be well made, and should last a long time. An added benefit is that, with the mounting arm removed, it fits into the Garmin carry-case along with the GPS and the cables so that you can carry everything together. I leave the suction mount attached to my own car.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VillageIdiot
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 301 total reviews
1-20 of 301 reviews