Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 59 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

59 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

59 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
33
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 stars
8
1-20 of 55 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 55 total reviews
1-20 of 55 reviews
Catfish Killer
8/13/2008

Customer review by jls1znv9999

4.0 stars 8/13/2008 by jls1znv9999
by jls1znv9999

Overall i would say i am pleased. No longer must you use either a bell (that sometimes doesn't work well enough especially in windy conditions) nor do you have to use the old school method of hanging a bobber from slack in the line. The only other thing that is truely better than the bite alert is a bite sensor (they get really expensive and take some room). Overall i have had overall good luck. First fish landed was a 7 lb channel took him with ease! I have to say catching the smaller scale ones almost seems to take the fight out of them as the open face gear ratios help crank em in. Make sure you preset the bite alert to your comfort zone, this includes the drag setting as well as it does play an instrumental part. The only reason that i didn't give it a better rating is that the factory line that comes on it is really not that great. I would suggest you also pick up some Spectra Stealth or PowerPro for your new reel. As the factory placed string causes some problems. I took a good 50 yrds off of it before using as there was too much already on there (could forsee a tangle as one on the racks was already!)

Was this review helpful? (164) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jls1znv9999
Roxana, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
excellent combo
6/29/2009

Customer review by jovanny661

5.0 stars 6/29/2009 by jovanny661
by jovanny661

you get your moneys worth for this combo. the first time i used the hawg seeker was in saltwater and we were fishing for 10 to 20 pound barracuda. caught over 10 that day and was impressed by the rod and reels performance. this is an all around fishing rod and i like the price i got it for.

Was this review helpful? (66) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jovanny661
lancaster, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
5/4/2009

Customer review by TxHawgSeeker

4.0 stars 5/4/2009 by TxHawgSeeker
by TxHawgSeeker

Great rod and reel combo. The second day I had it caught a 25# flathead. Took about 15 minutes to get it in, and was very pleased how the gear held up.

Was this review helpful? (50) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TxHawgSeeker
Texarkana, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Big Catch
11/2/2008

Customer review by Retiredat32

5.0 stars 11/2/2008 by Retiredat32
by Retiredat32

The day I picked up the Hawg Seeker I caught a starry flounder the first time I cast it out. Love this rod as I continue to catch fish with it.

Was this review helpful? (43) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Retiredat32
Everett, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Katmaster
2/6/2010

Customer review by Cowboy73164

5.0 stars 2/6/2010 by Cowboy73164
by Cowboy73164

This rod combo never has failed me yet.I hardly miss one at night with this assembly. It's worth every penny saved up for it.

Was this review helpful? (31) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cowboy73164
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great for night fishing
11/28/2011

Customer review by Apache5064

5.0 stars 11/28/2011 by Apache5064
by Apache5064

No longer need previous alerts on rod(flashlight, bell, etc.). I used it almost nightly in the summer time with the smallest of probably 40 fish caught being 4lb and the largest 16lb in swift current. I've not missed a single fish when the sensor goes off. I've recomended this to lift long fishermen and beginners alike.

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Apache5064
Yuma,Az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
the hawg seeker
4/6/2010

Customer review by averageguy2010

4.0 stars 4/6/2010 by averageguy2010
by averageguy2010

the hawg seeker is a very nice pole and reel for the money i realy like it a lot the only complant is the bait alert which works good but the first night i used it it started to rain and they say the electronics are water resistent my oppion is they should be water proof this is why i didn't give it a full 5 star other than that its great

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
averageguy2010
norwalk, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Zebco...excellent as always
4/24/2011

Customer review by phoenixy

5.0 stars 4/24/2011 by phoenixy
by phoenixy

I have used Zebco reels and rods for more the 27 years and I have never been disappointed in performance ( nor appearance ) . I fish year 'round ...rain sleet snow... and Zebco reels and rods go right along with me everytime .

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
phoenixy
Columbus , Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Outstanding
7/4/2010

Customer review by bodittle4

5.0 stars 7/4/2010 by bodittle4
by bodittle4

For the price, this combo is an outstanding deal. The first fish I caught on this new rig was a 38 pound flathead catfish. Not one issue. I did when I recieved it take off a bit of the line. I could see that there was to much and would cause issues later. But the bite alert worked great. I set both rigs with live perch as bait. Fished all night with just a pen lite. Didnt use the lantern unless I needed a pop out of the cooler :) . When the flat head took and ran with the perch. The bite alert woke me from sleeping in my lawn chair lol. Buy this rig if you like slip floating or fishing with live perch for sure.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bodittle4
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great rod and reel
7/17/2010

Customer review by Abugarcia

5.0 stars 7/17/2010 by Abugarcia
by Abugarcia

I bought this pole a couple of years ago and put 65 pound power pro ive hooked up on 40 pound cats and i am very impressed with how well it handles

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Abugarcia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Interesting fishing combo
8/19/2010

Customer review by wolfwolf

4.0 stars 8/19/2010 by wolfwolf
by wolfwolf

This is an interesting fishing combo. At first I couldn't get the bite alarm to work while fishing. No instructions stating that you must REMOVE the green try me button in order to "turn on" the bite alert. So, I found out by accident. I thought the alert was broken as the green button was missing off of one of the poles. (I bought 2 combos) Then I noticed that next to the "try me green button" was "On/Off" switch which you must have "On" in order for the bite alert to work. Over all, I find this combo very interesting and hope it works well for us.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wolfwolf
Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Fishing Rod and Reel
5/14/2014

Customer review by jlr050487

5.0 stars 5/14/2014 by jlr050487
by jlr050487

This rod and reel combo is an exceptional fishing pole. I would recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jlr050487
Cowen, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A great help
7/16/2009

Customer review by 3sistersnoboys

5.0 stars 7/16/2009 by 3sistersnoboys
by 3sistersnoboys

The fishing pole was for my 12 year old grandson. He has used it twice. Once in the bay and then in the lake. It is too big for perch fishing but great for cat fishing. So far he really likes it. He especially likes the beeper when he has a fish on the line. so all in all he is very satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
3sistersnoboys
Sandusky, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
6/30/2009

Customer review by lynchmomdl

5.0 stars 6/30/2009 by lynchmomdl
by lynchmomdl

Got this for son's birthday, and he loves it!!!! Now he likes going fishing.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lynchmomdl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
8/28/2013

Customer review by coolen

4.0 stars 8/28/2013 by coolen
by coolen

Great for small fish or large. Get plenty of action no matter what type of fish you hook.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
coolen
United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Don't waste your money!!!
5/8/2011

Customer review by AverageJoeFisherman

1.0 stars 5/8/2011 by AverageJoeFisherman
by AverageJoeFisherman

Zebco has a great concept but a poor product. First, the bait alert system is very problematic and once you add water (even the water from line retrieval) causes the system to short out and break permantly. Second, the plastic assembly that connects the reel to the pole breaks under the slightest amont of stress allowing the reel to spin freely around the pole and slide up and down rendering the pole useless. I bought 2 at separate times both broke on their first fishing trip. Stay away from these zebco combos unless only plan to look at it in the rod rack! Walmart is great though, they gave me a refund in case you make the same mistake I did.

Was this review helpful? (6) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AverageJoeFisherman
Perryville, AR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Throwing Rig
8/25/2009

Customer review by NotToLate2BReady

5.0 stars 8/25/2009 by NotToLate2BReady
by NotToLate2BReady

My Husband bought me my first Hawg Seeker for my birthday this year and I loved it but so did my grandson and somehow he has possession of it now so I ordered me a new one. I love Zebco Reels and have been using them for 40 or more years as well as my dad before me. It is a Great Throwing Rig. Thanks Zebco

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NotToLate2BReady
Livingston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Rod Is nice Reel IS JUNK
6/4/2009

Customer review by catchbigens

3.0 stars 6/4/2009 by catchbigens
by catchbigens

First time I used this the reel broke.I put a new reel on,not a zebco,and used it several times.The rod handles big fish extremely well and seems to be built fairly well.

Was this review helpful? (5) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
catchbigens
W.V
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Can't believe it!!!
8/8/2010

Customer review by patent1985

1.0 stars 8/8/2010 by patent1985
by patent1985

So i buy this very fishing pole on friday august 6th 2010. The very next day august 7th 2010, I get out to lake erie to use this pole, and the first fish i catch,which was about a 2 lb catfish snaps the pole right in half where the rod tip slides into the pole. so needless to say the very first time using this product and the first fish i caught with it was all it took to snap this pole like a twig. would not recommend this product because even on zebco's web site they dont make replacement tips for these poles. Very disapointed because the bite alert worked great.

Was this review helpful? (5) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
patent1985
Monroe,Mi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
POOR DESIGN
6/4/2010

Customer review by Rrandy

1.0 stars 6/4/2010 by Rrandy
by Rrandy

I went through several in the store before purchasing the the one which appeared to be the least molested. That unit didn't survive the first cast! The unit is the poorest design I've ever handeled. The only function I found working was the drag, nothing else worked correctly in the field. The cast release button once depressed wouldn't recover due the push pawl sliding past the reel release shaft. I wasn't concerned with the bells and whistles but even these did't function as advertised. Pood material selection also contributes to malfunctions. Another sourse of irritation I don't need in my life and I'll bet you will experiance the same. Good luck with this one...I returned mine!

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rrandy
Nitro WV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 55 total reviews
1-20 of 55 reviews