Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 63 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

63 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

63 reviews | 4 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
35
4 stars
14
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 stars
9
1-20 of 59 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 59 total reviews
1-20 of 59 reviews
Katmaster
2/6/2010

Customer review by Cowboy73164

5.0 stars 2/6/2010 by Cowboy73164
by Cowboy73164

This rod combo never has failed me yet.I hardly miss one at night with this assembly. It's worth every penny saved up for it.

Was this review helpful? (47) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cowboy73164
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Catfish Killer
8/13/2008

Customer review by jls1znv9999

4.0 stars 8/13/2008 by jls1znv9999
by jls1znv9999

Overall i would say i am pleased. No longer must you use either a bell (that sometimes doesn't work well enough especially in windy conditions) nor do you have to use the old school method of hanging a bobber from slack in the line. The only other thing that is truely better than the bite alert is a bite sensor (they get really expensive and take some room). Overall i have had overall good luck. First fish landed was a 7 lb channel took him with ease! I have to say catching the smaller scale ones almost seems to take the fight out of them as the open face gear ratios help crank em in. Make sure you preset the bite alert to your comfort zone, this includes the drag setting as well as it does play an instrumental part. The only reason that i didn't give it a better rating is that the factory line that comes on it is really not that great. I would suggest you also pick up some Spectra Stealth or PowerPro for your new reel. As the factory placed string causes some problems. I took a good 50 yrds off of it before using as there was too much already on there (could forsee a tangle as one on the racks was already!)

Was this review helpful? (184) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jls1znv9999
Roxana, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Fishing
2/20/2016

Customer review by DODGERS27

4.0 stars 2/20/2016 by DODGERS27
by DODGERS27

This fishing setup is really good ive never caught a catfish but i have caught a 30lb yellowfin tuna and alot of 10-15 pound yellowtail i just changed the line to 25lb.But i finally broke the reel last summer.So if u guys are debating on getting this rod i say get it because u can use this setup for fresh and saltwater fishing.Hope this review was helpful.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DODGERS27
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Laughing
5/13/2016

Customer review by Chris

1.0 stars 5/13/2016 by Chris
by Chris

This is so gimmicky! Every time I see these combos at Walmart I laugh. "Bite alert" - believe me if you're not paying attention to your rod it will be in the water. The reel is complete garbage - mostly plastic and of the lowest quality. The rod almost feels like plastic too. Follow the advice "buy what you need." Are you fishing for channel cats averaging 2 to 5lbs? Grab a 7' medium rod with a softer tip and your going to be just fine. An Ugly Stik GX2 or sensitive Penn Squadron would work well for this application. Are you targeting larger trophy cats such as blues and flatheads? Go with a 7'6" Rippin Lips SuperCat or a 7'6" Tangling With Catfish casting rod. Again, these fit the task. Sorry Zebco but I can not recommend this! Remember buy what you need.

Was this review helpful? (6) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chris
Would recommend to a friend? No
Interesting fishing combo
8/19/2010

Customer review by wolfwolf

4.0 stars 8/19/2010 by wolfwolf
by wolfwolf

This is an interesting fishing combo. At first I couldn't get the bite alarm to work while fishing. No instructions stating that you must REMOVE the green try me button in order to "turn on" the bite alert. So, I found out by accident. I thought the alert was broken as the green button was missing off of one of the poles. (I bought 2 combos) Then I noticed that next to the "try me green button" was "On/Off" switch which you must have "On" in order for the bite alert to work. Over all, I find this combo very interesting and hope it works well for us.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wolfwolf
Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
excellent combo
6/29/2009

Customer review by jovanny661

5.0 stars 6/29/2009 by jovanny661
by jovanny661

you get your moneys worth for this combo. the first time i used the hawg seeker was in saltwater and we were fishing for 10 to 20 pound barracuda. caught over 10 that day and was impressed by the rod and reels performance. this is an all around fishing rod and i like the price i got it for.

Was this review helpful? (75) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jovanny661
lancaster, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great for night fishing
11/28/2011

Customer review by Apache5064

5.0 stars 11/28/2011 by Apache5064
by Apache5064

No longer need previous alerts on rod(flashlight, bell, etc.). I used it almost nightly in the summer time with the smallest of probably 40 fish caught being 4lb and the largest 16lb in swift current. I've not missed a single fish when the sensor goes off. I've recomended this to lift long fishermen and beginners alike.

Was this review helpful? (25) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Apache5064
Yuma,Az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
5/4/2009

Customer review by TxHawgSeeker

4.0 stars 5/4/2009 by TxHawgSeeker
by TxHawgSeeker

Great rod and reel combo. The second day I had it caught a 25# flathead. Took about 15 minutes to get it in, and was very pleased how the gear held up.

Was this review helpful? (66) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TxHawgSeeker
Texarkana, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Zebco Hawk Seeker good and bad
6/29/2010

Customer review by Barbiethefishslayer

4.0 stars 6/29/2010 by Barbiethefishslayer
by Barbiethefishslayer

The rod itself from a scale of 1-10 I would give it about an 8. The Reel, worked well the bite alert came not working, however, I really didn't care as I didn't buy it for that anyway for me, I sort of wish it had worked on my sons pole. However, the line that came on the reel was terrible; don't even bother taking the pole out with that terrible line on it. Take it all off and start over with new line! I have used other med- heavy weight combo’s that weren't quite as heavy by weight as this, as you can really tire yourself out quick with this pole combo as my son and friend did. So just be aware that for younger fishermen who have the skills but not a lot of strength, this may not be the combo for them. I however loved it, just the line I didn't like, but I did not buy it for the line. I think I am just picky about what is on my reel.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Barbiethefishslayer
Arlington WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
fishing pole
6/28/2016

Customer review by Britt

5.0 stars 6/28/2016 by Britt
by Britt
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The pole is mainly for cat fishing is a stiff pole but my husband loves it for Father's Day when we got it it is very long and bulky. Works well the sensor is right on.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Britt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Big Catch
11/2/2008

Customer review by Retiredat32

5.0 stars 11/2/2008 by Retiredat32
by Retiredat32

The day I picked up the Hawg Seeker I caught a starry flounder the first time I cast it out. Love this rod as I continue to catch fish with it.

Was this review helpful? (49) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Retiredat32
Everett, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
the hawg seeker
4/6/2010

Customer review by averageguy2010

4.0 stars 4/6/2010 by averageguy2010
by averageguy2010

the hawg seeker is a very nice pole and reel for the money i realy like it a lot the only complant is the bait alert which works good but the first night i used it it started to rain and they say the electronics are water resistent my oppion is they should be water proof this is why i didn't give it a full 5 star other than that its great

Was this review helpful? (23) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
averageguy2010
norwalk, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Had this rod for about 6yrs now!!
5/13/2015

Customer review by BubsHawgSeeker28

5.0 stars 5/13/2015 by BubsHawgSeeker28
by BubsHawgSeeker28

I got this rod and reel for a birthday gift 5 years ago. It will be SIX this June. I have caught everything from baby channel cats to monster 50lb flatheads. I fish lakes, rivers, and quarries. Had an issue with the bite alert a couple years ago, turns out batteries don't last forever. I am a distracted fisherman and sometimes I just need a beer. I did change the line finally this year bumped up to 25lb florescent line works great with a black light. All from Walmart. Including the Bud-light.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BubsHawgSeeker28
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Outstanding
7/4/2010

Customer review by bodittle4

5.0 stars 7/4/2010 by bodittle4
by bodittle4

For the price, this combo is an outstanding deal. The first fish I caught on this new rig was a 38 pound flathead catfish. Not one issue. I did when I recieved it take off a bit of the line. I could see that there was to much and would cause issues later. But the bite alert worked great. I set both rigs with live perch as bait. Fished all night with just a pen lite. Didnt use the lantern unless I needed a pop out of the cooler :) . When the flat head took and ran with the perch. The bite alert woke me from sleeping in my lawn chair lol. Buy this rig if you like slip floating or fishing with live perch for sure.

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bodittle4
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
A great help
7/16/2009

Customer review by 3sistersnoboys

5.0 stars 7/16/2009 by 3sistersnoboys
by 3sistersnoboys

The fishing pole was for my 12 year old grandson. He has used it twice. Once in the bay and then in the lake. It is too big for perch fishing but great for cat fishing. So far he really likes it. He especially likes the beeper when he has a fish on the line. so all in all he is very satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
3sistersnoboys
Sandusky, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
great
4/1/2016

Customer review by jchepeperezj

5.0 stars 4/1/2016 by jchepeperezj
by jchepeperezj

I love this reel after a few night of nothing i got some beeps a some fish

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jchepeperezj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A fishing Rod for years to come
3/31/2015

Customer review by Moses

4.0 stars 3/31/2015 by Moses
by Moses

I bought this fishing rod back in 12/20/2014 man I tell you it is great! I use it for saltwater fishing, I have caught Reds, Black drums & sting rays with no problem. The reel is great strong and smooth, but the only thing I don't like to much is the bite alert sometimes it works sometimes it doesn't and other times it gets annoying its a good invention but needs some tweaking to better it. Don't buy it just because the bite alert but to have a great looking and durable fishing rod. you wont regret this buy.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Moses
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great rod and reel
7/17/2010

Customer review by Abugarcia

5.0 stars 7/17/2010 by Abugarcia
by Abugarcia

I bought this pole a couple of years ago and put 65 pound power pro ive hooked up on 40 pound cats and i am very impressed with how well it handles

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Abugarcia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Zebco...excellent as always
4/24/2011

Customer review by phoenixy

5.0 stars 4/24/2011 by phoenixy
by phoenixy

I have used Zebco reels and rods for more the 27 years and I have never been disappointed in performance ( nor appearance ) . I fish year 'round ...rain sleet snow... and Zebco reels and rods go right along with me everytime .

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
phoenixy
Columbus , Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Fishing Rod and Reel
5/14/2014

Customer review by jlr050487

5.0 stars 5/14/2014 by jlr050487
by jlr050487
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This rod and reel combo is an exceptional fishing pole. I would recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jlr050487
Cowen, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 59 total reviews
1-20 of 59 reviews