Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 40 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

40 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

40 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
22
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 stars
2
1-20 of 39 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 39 total reviews
1-20 of 39 reviews
Good Quality and sturdy
5/31/2009

Customer review by poolboy49

4.0 stars 5/31/2009 by poolboy49
by poolboy49

This seems to be a very high quality Canopy made by the manufacturers of swiss army knives. I am using it as a semi-permanent shade for my patio/pool area. We'll see how well it holds up in the wind. It definitely was not "EZ Up". I pinched my finger badly and bleeding and almost hurt my back trying to get it to lock in place. I suggest having three people to raise it up, placing emphasis on pushing up the center/middle extensions.

Was this review helpful? (22) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
poolboy49
Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
EXCELLENT product!
5/17/2010

Customer review by Designer74

5.0 stars 5/17/2010 by Designer74
by Designer74

I purhcased this canopy for my annual Relay for Life 24 hour Cancer Walk. I read MANY online reviews because I just couldn't decide. I read great reviews about the Swissgear brands and decided to get the 10' x 15' canopy. I am SO happy with the canopy. Our event is on a high school track/football field in Michigan in an open area which produces an extreme amount of wind. I am pleased that it took only 2 gallon milk jugs filled with sand to hold down each leg of the canopy. Basically, 4 bags of sand, 12 - gallon milk jugs, and a back cover and we were wind-free under the canopy! The cover withheld the nighttime dew and the frame supported all of our decorations and banners. I couldn't be happier with this product and I am sure it will be the most important addition to our Relay Team for many years!

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Designer74
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Best Yet
7/12/2009

Customer review by gavinsgrammie

5.0 stars 7/12/2009 by gavinsgrammie
by gavinsgrammie

I was looking for a decent canopy that could be left up for the summer on my back deck which is made of wood.This exceeded my expectations . It has held up in high winds , rain and nicely protects from the sun. The set up really requires 2 people but 1 strong man could do it with some assistance from a female. It is very well made and much sturdier than prior canopies I have tried. I would highy recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gavinsgrammie
CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Thoroughly love this canopy!
6/30/2009

Customer review by nunilovesgrandbabies

5.0 stars 6/30/2009 by nunilovesgrandbabies
by nunilovesgrandbabies

At first we thought that the canopy was a little more difficult to put up, but it might possibly be that it seemed that way because this was the first time to use it. After getting the frame up and the canopy on, we all agreed that it is the best addition that we have made to our family camping equipment in years. We had great shade and protection for our eating, cooking and game playing area. It was very easy to take down and that was a big plus, especially when you're tired and just want to get everything put away and go home. I also found shade sides at Walmart for an easy up that was meant to fit a 10 * 10 with four sides that easily covered the two long sides and one short side of our canopy and it was only about 38 dollars. It was great to protect our cooking gear and belongings from the elements. It is two parts that zip together on two sides. Even though it was not made for our canopy, the clamps and hooks at the top side were easy to adjust to use for ours. I would highly recommend both of these products to anyone, but would also say that you need at least three people to put the 15 * 10 up.

Was this review helpful? (13) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nunilovesgrandbabies
South Hills, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
worth the price
8/17/2010

Customer review by ahastings

3.0 stars 8/17/2010 by ahastings
by ahastings

I have been through several of these ezup style canopies over the years for use in the pits at motorcycle races. I also have an ezup express II. I got this one due to good reviews and the larger size. It is a decent canopy for the price but not as heavy duty as the ezup express. As long as it is handled gently while putting it up and down and make sure it is strapped down good when set up it should hold up good. I was hoping the frame would be more stout for a canopy of this size. It seemd a little wobbly at full height so we set it up one click down which makes the edges around 5 1/2' high so taller people have to duck going under.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ahastings
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
one big canopy
9/23/2011

Customer review by Knailz

5.0 stars 9/23/2011 by Knailz
by Knailz

I bought this when it was marked down to $207. It fits very snugly in the bag (but there is expansion pockets on the bag itself, so getting it back in there isn't a problem. It goes up easy enough, 2 people can do it, the only con with this thing is that there is a crossbeam in the center of it (it is not totally obstruction free in the center), but it isn't a problem. Very well built and a great deal for what it is. It even comes with a GOOD set of stakes too, as well as a pocket to install on it for holding odds and ends. If there is a downside to it, it would be the weight, it is VERY heavy, so storing it might be a limitation because of that

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Knailz
Oneonta NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Excellent product
7/19/2010

Customer review by CutiePieLady

5.0 stars 7/19/2010 by CutiePieLady
by CutiePieLady

10x15 Swiss Gear Smart Shade Canaopy - This turned out to be the perfect solution for us. The 10x15 is a much better size than the 10x10. That extra 5 ft made alot of difference. I was initially concerned because it is extremely heavy - I had a hard time lifting the box when it was delivered. But it is very light once open and it was so easy to put up and take down! I read all of the reviews and had an idea that it was not a one man job. The instructions that came with the canopy clearly say it is a four person job, so we came prepared. With four people it took 5 min to put up and 5 min to take down - very simple. It is sturdy and very well designed. It kept the rain off and handled the wind very well using the leg stakes and tie downs. It definitely exceeded our expectations.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CutiePieLady
Mn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
works great but quality questionable
7/7/2010

Customer review by emasch

4.0 stars 7/7/2010 by emasch
by emasch

This canopy sets up fairly easy and works great at creating a big shady area on our deck. An issue with it is the canopy quality, as after 2 weeks there is already noticeable wear on the parts of the canopy that touches downon the metal frame. If the wear continues at this rate, I imagine that by the end of the summer there will be holes in the canopy at those pressure points. This is too bad, because otherwise an excellent product from my view. But we may return it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
emasch
Cleveland, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Not Worth The Money
9/20/2010

Customer review by ILikeReviews7

1.0 stars 9/20/2010 by ILikeReviews7
by ILikeReviews7

After having this canopy up for Labor Day weekend, and then taken down, and then Put back up for the following weekend, there were four spots where holes formed in the canvas. They couldn't have been better weekends in my opinion as far as weather goes because, there were no storms, no rain, no wind, no heat, no nothing. So for holes to form in the canvas is in that short period of time is ridiculous. I think that only lasting 2 weekends isn't very inviting for me to replace this item. I plan on returning for a full refund and looking elsewhere for a canopy. I originally looked at this canopy because of the size, price and ease of use from the other reviews

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ILikeReviews7
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Best purchase all year
12/2/2010

Customer review by SandhillsSal

5.0 stars 12/2/2010 by SandhillsSal
by SandhillsSal

We LOVE our Swiss Gear canopy! We purchased this for our deck, so we can sit outside even when it's raining. So far, it hasn't leaked a drop, even in heavy rain, and has stood up beautifully to high winds. (We did bolt concrete "feet" to the bottom, and we put on the ties and attach them to our deck railing when the weather forecast is ugly.) Plus it looks great! Our guests have all commented on how cool it is. My one caveat is that you really do need 4 people to set it up. Unless you pull equally from all 4 corners, it's virtually impossible to get the frame mechanism properly stretched out so you can go to the next step. (We had to beg two neighbors to come over and help us!) Once you get the corners out and clicked into place, it becomes easy to attach the canopy, raise it up, and lock the other frame joints into place. We're very, very pleased with our purchase, and the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars for value is that, since I bought it 2 months ago at what I thought was a great price - Walmart dropped it $8! If you want a sturdy, attractive deck cover that you can leave out all season/year, you can't do much better than this.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SandhillsSal
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Exactly what we needed
7/20/2010

Customer review by Martinville

5.0 stars 7/20/2010 by Martinville
by Martinville

Sturdy, durable, easy to set up with four people. We set up a ping pong table on the backyard patio and are using this as a sun cover. Exactly what we wanted and are very satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Martinville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
well built canopy
8/19/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 8/19/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have had this canopy for about a year now, used about 10 times, well built, easy to open with two or more, however the storage bag tore after the first use, think it should be made of heavier material to handle the weight of this canopy. Other than that i am pleased with this product.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Pierre Part, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Great canopy
5/23/2009

Customer review by relocatedbuckeye

5.0 stars 5/23/2009 by relocatedbuckeye
by relocatedbuckeye

Needed something larger than a table umbrella to keep sun off. This canopy did the trick. Plan on using 4 people to open it. Once open and the cover on the frame I was very satisfied. Quality construction on a powder coated frame and velcrow tabs for securing the cover. Would recommend if you need a larger canopy than those 10x10's.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
relocatedbuckeye
North Carolna mountains
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Swiss Gear Canopy
7/12/2010

Customer review by ShoppingAGH

5.0 stars 7/12/2010 by ShoppingAGH
by ShoppingAGH

Simple to set up. One note, it takes four people to pull all corners at the same time after you place the canopy atop the frame. Put away is easier and the carrying bag is great!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ShoppingAGH
Peabody, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
Easy Setup
8/4/2010

Customer review by Yelli01

5.0 stars 8/4/2010 by Yelli01
by Yelli01

The setup was quick and it only took two people. The tent was much more sturdier than expected. Very satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Yelli01
Waldorf, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Great Canopy
6/13/2011

Customer review by Terodin

4.0 stars 6/13/2011 by Terodin
by Terodin

This is worth the money however, the one that was shipped to me several of the ceiling devices would not lock in place.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Terodin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great canopy for the money!!!
7/21/2011

Customer review by kelseyfam

4.0 stars 7/21/2011 by kelseyfam
by kelseyfam

If you're looking for a 15' X 10' canopy, this is a great deal! There are a lot of deals out there for a 10' X 10' canopy but when you increase in size, they get very spendy. We bought with confidence knowing that WalMart is great about returns. We were not disappointed. If you're going to be opening and closing it frequently, it may be a tad frustrating. We're using it for the summer to protect our boat from trees that drop a lot of sap and my husband wants to order another one to use for our car.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kelseyfam
Northern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
SwissGear did not survive Houston rain storm
9/28/2009

Customer review by cse

2.0 stars 9/28/2009 by cse
by cse

I really liked this product until a storm completely demolished it. Once one leg gave way then almost every metal member got bent before I could get the canvas top off. I am not blaming the product. I did have warning about the storm. I should have taken it down or really fastened the corners to something. Anyway, it was very functional and easy to put up, so I would recommend it, especially at the Walmart price. Cheers, Chris

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cse
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Worked great!
8/12/2008

Customer review by Piper181

5.0 stars 8/12/2008 by Piper181
by Piper181

I'm really glad I bought this tent because it actually lived up to my expectations! I've been trying to convince my husband to let me get an outside shelter but he didn't want one. He had experienced a lot of trouble with EZ up tents at his work and didn't want something really cheap that would bend the first time we used it. He was actually impressed with this product. I read a lot of reviews before I bought and this one seemed like everyone had great things to say. I love my new tent! I have some other things made by Swiss gear and have always thought the quality was really good. They did good on their tent too. Even my in-laws thought I got a good deal, and that says a lot that I didn't get criticized!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Piper181
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Great Idea
8/10/2009

Customer review by MomG54

5.0 stars 8/10/2009 by MomG54
by MomG54

Only took 2 adults to put this up and very easy to take down (one adult managed it fine). Put this right on the deck to provide shade for an outdoor event and screwed it right to the decking. Wish we had purchased it years ago for our outdoor parties as it provides a good amount of shade. A little pricey but can't beat the 99 cent shipping charge.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MomG54
Hillsborough, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
1-20 of 39 total reviews
1-20 of 39 reviews