Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 27 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

27 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

27 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
22
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
1-20 of 23 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 23 total reviews
1-20 of 23 reviews
Cheap, but good
11/14/2009

Customer review by kevporteretna

3.0 stars 11/14/2009 by kevporteretna
by kevporteretna

This FireSteel is fine and dandy, but if you make a lot of fires and you not that great at it, I would not recommend it. I had mine for awhile but it broke in the middle for me.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kevporteretna
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Everyone should have one
2/16/2008

Customer review by BaldSpot

5.0 stars 2/16/2008 by BaldSpot
by BaldSpot

I used this product over 25 years ago on a month-long survival trip. I always had my fire lit immediately and dinner cooking first. Eventually, the rest of the camp would just wait for me to get my fire going and then come "borrow" some. I believe everyone should have this tucked away in an emergency kit. Unlike matches, moisture doesn't affect this - its good forever.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BaldSpot
Bremerton, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
A handy and trustful firestarter tool
2/10/2009

Customer review by CampingGuru

5.0 stars 2/10/2009 by CampingGuru
by CampingGuru

After ordering this product, I read a bad review of this product and became a little skeptical about whether or not it would work as advertised. I got it home, opened the package, and read all of the instructions carefully. The instructions stated to scrape off all of the protective paint on the rod with the supplied striker plate, knife, or sharp object. The paint prevents sparks from being produced during travel and storage in the packaging. For a test, I only scraped off one side of the paint on the rod and before I was finished scraping that side, I was making sparks! I wasn't ready to make a spark yet, so it sort of startled me. I then found that making a continuous spark by scraping down the rod with the supplied scraping tool could easily ignite any type of tinder I put in the path of the sparks. I showed my twelve-year old son how it works and he was able to easily do the same. Now, he has a handy fire-starting tool for Boy Scouts! Just remember to first scrape off the protective paint and the tool works GREAT!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CampingGuru
Frisco, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Must-have tool for every camper
11/5/2009

Customer review by HeyMomof4

5.0 stars 11/5/2009 by HeyMomof4
by HeyMomof4

Our two youngest sons are Boy Scouts, and the older of the two received his Swedish Fire Steel as a Christmas gift two years ago. He loves it, plus it has served him well as a waterproof source to start a fire, which is required gear on a Scout's packing list for High Adventure trips. In fact, he took it with him this past summer on his first High Adventure trip to the BWCA, where it rained each day of their trip, but he was still able to start a fire. Not bad for a fourteen-year-old. Our youngest son is eligible now for High Adventure trips so he will be getting his own Swedish Fire Steel. This is the best price I have seen for one, plus you can't beat the free shipping when you request it to be shipped for pick-up at the store. Every little bit helps when you are outfitting more than one camper.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HeyMomof4
Twin Cities region, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Great gift
6/28/2009

Customer review by MrsBuyingForBoys

5.0 stars 6/28/2009 by MrsBuyingForBoys
by MrsBuyingForBoys

Bought this item for my husband. He loves it. It is great for camping an deveryday living. Would recommed this item for any camper.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrsBuyingForBoys
Sterling, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good product, good price
6/12/2009

Customer review by HawkVT

5.0 stars 6/12/2009 by HawkVT
by HawkVT

Very easy to use, and it works...what more could you ask for?

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HawkVT
Galax, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great Sparks!
3/22/2008

Customer review by lostinspace61

5.0 stars 3/22/2008 by lostinspace61
by lostinspace61

I purchased this product to use to train my son who is a Webelo Scout so that he can use it when he crosses over to the boy scouts and goes on more campouts. We camp out a lot and I want him to be more skilled at lighting fires without matches. This product fits the requirements perfectly. It's easy to use by a 9 year old and when held correctly will throw out a ton of sparks and will light your tinder usually on the first or second try. We use drier lint for our tinder and this ignites it perfectly.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lostinspace61
Kingman, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Awesome product
5/16/2008

Customer review by SurvivalWoman

5.0 stars 5/16/2008 by SurvivalWoman
by SurvivalWoman

This is an awesome product that is easy to use and a great value. I'm in the process of buying them for all members of my family and have used mine in teaching a firestarting class to women. All of the women were able to easily use this product to start fires! Forget about rubbing two sticks together or the lighter that won't work when you need it: this is the way to go. Keep them on hand for emergencies.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SurvivalWoman
St Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Poor Product
6/6/2009

Customer review by Stash22

1.0 stars 6/6/2009 by Stash22
by Stash22

Numerous (probably 50-100) tries without anything close to fire from the limited sparks thrown off by the FireSteel (and yes I scrapped off the protective layer it is mailed with). Poor product. Save your $12.

Was this review helpful? (1) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Stash22
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Great alternative fire starter
3/14/2008

Customer review by MSAR

5.0 stars 3/14/2008 by MSAR
by MSAR

Great to know that you have an alternative fire starter to rely on in the cold, wet, and windy environment. I was surprised how easy it was to use. In fact, I didn't know if this one or the Army-size one... but, this one is a perfect size! Works great on all sorts of light tender. Now my survival kits is that much more complete.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MSAR
Thousand Oaks, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Do you have a match?
12/4/2008

Customer review by bestbass

1.0 stars 12/4/2008 by bestbass
by bestbass

We got this as a Christmas gift for our 12 year old Grandson. He couldn't get it to work. Our 14 year old tried it and again "No Luck!" Then our son (44) tried it. "No Luck!!" I knew Grandpa (72 That's me )could make it work. Never came even close to getting a sufficient spark to ignite anything!!! Very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bestbass
Would recommend to a friend? No
Awsome
5/27/2009

Customer review by acool77

5.0 stars 5/27/2009 by acool77
by acool77

This fire steel is great and easy to use. When I go backpacking it a quick and easy way to start a fire. It is a light weight and waterproof way to start a fire. I got the privilege of testing out the waterproofness as it rained 2 of the 4 days I was out there and it worked great.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
acool77
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Easy to use
6/15/2008

Customer review by fbug

5.0 stars 6/15/2008 by fbug
by fbug

I had a difficult time finding this product anywhere. I'm glad we got it from Walmart. It works just like it should and is a handy, compact tool to have when camping or in emergency situations.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fbug
Beaumont TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Works Great
1/1/2009

Customer review by rockerjk

5.0 stars 1/1/2009 by rockerjk
by rockerjk

I got this for my dad for Christmas this year ans he loves it. We were playing with it the other day and it worked everytime no matter what. Makes a great gift or just for anything.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rockerjk
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Product
1/23/2009

Customer review by lostintn

5.0 stars 1/23/2009 by lostintn
by lostintn

I can't think of how many times I wish I had this now that I see how well it works. This is a must have product if you do anything outdoors, camping, hiking, hunting..etc

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lostintn
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
great
6/11/2008

Customer review by badger7

5.0 stars 6/11/2008 by badger7
by badger7

scrape the paint off with a knife and your are ready to go. Works best with the striker that comes with it. Mix vaseline with cotten balls and you have great tinder.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
badger7
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
geat fire starter
4/16/2009

Customer review by claww1

5.0 stars 4/16/2009 by claww1
by claww1

The firesteel scout fire starter worked great an was easy to use, after you scrape the paint off. You have to remember to use the right side of the scarper.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
claww1
altoona pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Excellent product and price!!!
1/5/2009

Customer review by supremo

5.0 stars 1/5/2009 by supremo
by supremo

This is a very useful option when its time to get a fire lighted. Perfect using this firesteel with a cotton ball as a lint to start the fire, Try it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
supremo
Juárez, MX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
it sparks
2/13/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 2/13/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This little thing makes a good spark, can be used to start a fire. I would practice making a fire with it before throwing it in your backpack though.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
very good for the money
12/12/2008

Customer review by db1215

5.0 stars 12/12/2008 by db1215
by db1215

I have found this fire starter is well worth having for those times the wood is wet, and you can't find much to start a fire with.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
db1215
Unionville, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 23 total reviews
1-20 of 23 reviews