Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1058 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

1058 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

1058 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

60%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
201
4 stars
334
3 stars
179
2 stars
112
1 stars
232
1-20 of 964 total reviews
60%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 964 total reviews
1-20 of 964 reviews
I was very pleased with this product
4/11/2011

Customer review by TheeSaver

5.0 stars 4/11/2011 by TheeSaver
by TheeSaver

OK I have to admit that after reading the reviews, I was very uneasy with having ordered the bed so many had problems with but let me say this- those problems wouldn't have been problems if you simply follow the instructions! True, the instructions are mostly pictures however there are a few notes in there (where it counts) and my boyfriend and I didn't have any issues in interpreting what they want you to do. We borrowed a drill because most of the reviews said it was needed, however we never needed to use it. The only part that we found skeptical was when the instructions said to assemble the boards with the furnished side inwards, but we did it and it ended up working out fine as the furnished board was the backboard which faces the wall anyways. I think this is where people started drilling their own holes (unnecesarily). If you have faith in the instructions, it'll work out beautifully! It took us 2.5 hours to assemble and the drawers slide flawlessly (and that's on carpet) and our matress didn't slide. We did however have to use the blemish pen on a few dings but overall this bed was worth it.

Was this review helpful? (347) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheeSaver
Mountain View, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good Purchase for the Price
9/22/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 9/22/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I read almost all the reviews of the South Shore Platform Storage Bed (both good and bad) before showing the bed to my boyfriend. He just purchased a home and was in need of a bed with storage due to the small size of the master bedroom, and he wanted something affordable for now until he can purchase/build his own furniture. We did realize from reading the reviews and just by using common sense that this wasn't going to be a high end piece of furniture. And after reading some of the reviews, I really debated actually purchasing the bed (people saying they had pieces broken or that it was too confusing to put together, that it looked bad, it was chipped, etc). However, we decided to take the chance, and we shipped the bed using Site-to-Store. It came within two weeks of ordering it, a week-to-two weeks earlier than expected. -->The directions are a little complicated, but the actual construction of the bed is not that hard if you have ever put anything together. -->It is a little time consuming...it took about an hour and a half overall, but that included wiping down each piece which is covered with some dust and styrofoam. -->The drawers are not going to be the sturdiest because the bottoms of the drawers are just made of flimsy material, but if constructed correctly, they will be fairly sturdy. -->In some of the reviews I read, people said that the drawers didn't slide correctly on carpet, but I don't know what kind of carpet they had because we had no problems getting the drawers to open and close on regular carpeted floors. -->The directions don't state how to set the bed up to be a Full Size, rather than a Queen Size bed, but again, it's simply common sense...you just don't put in one of the smaller sections of the platform. -->We had one piece of the platform itself that was weak. There was a crease running the entire length of it. We were worried that this weak spot might affect the strength of the platform, but with the number of screw holding it in place on the frame, there haven't been any problems. -->There is a touch-up marker to fix any nicks or scratches. We only needed it in one place; otherwise, the bed was fairly scratch and nick free, which we were happy about. -->The hardware for the drawers is metal, which is nice. It's not cheap plastic that might eventually break. Overall, the bed is nice to look at, and for the $200.00 we paid, my boyfriend is happy with the purchase. As I said before, this bed wasn't purchased to be a permanent piece that he will keep forever, but for now, it's serving it's purpose, and we don't regret purchasing it.

Was this review helpful? (223) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Ellicottville, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great value for the money
2/18/2008

Customer review by krick

3.0 stars 2/18/2008 by krick
by krick

My girlfriend and I got this bed because we needed some additional drawers in the bedroom. We knew we were buying a cheap bed, and thus accepted a few little quirks. Apart from the quirks we found, this is a great bed. We had fun putting it together although it did include a trip to Home Depot to get some extra stuff. The quirks we ran into were: * As we saw in other reviews of this bed before buying it, the drawers won't open on a carpeted floor. We solved this by buying cheap wooden lists (1/2 inch high) which we nailed under all the load bearing parts of the bed, thus raising it a bit so the drawers work smoothly. * There are some metal plates in the construction kit, for holding the panels on top of the bed together. The screws provided for those plates are too small for the holes in the plates (ie. the screws can't hold the plates since the screw heads just go through the holes). We solved this by getting some large flushers with small holes.

Was this review helpful? (260) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
krick
Redmond, wa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
95% Exactly What I Expected
5/25/2011

Customer review by NoMoreCollegeDorm

4.0 stars 5/25/2011 by NoMoreCollegeDorm
by NoMoreCollegeDorm

First, I'd like you to know that I am 30 something SWF and I've been waiting, for what seems like eternity, for the furniture I would truly love and cherish, and be able to afford to appear. As by this product review you can see that it has not and I was forced by the rapid decline of my current ensemble to do something.... I did my homework and read all the reviews and eventually settled on this set. It suited my style, and is functional for me and, of course, it was in my price range. I was a little hesitant based on some of the negative reviews I read and now that everything is assembled I think I understand why: 1) Some folk were surprised that nothing was at least partially assembled: It says right on the product description that assembly is required. 2) Some thought it was flimsy: I feel it is exactly what is to be expected from MDF furniture. 3) Some thought it took too long to put together: Are these people who have some basis for comparison as to how long it takes to build furniture? 4) Some said the hardware didn't line up with the prefabricated holes and that additional tools were required: Although some of the hardware required a little manual manipulation all of my 'Tab A's' fit in to my 'Slot B's' and a hammer and screwdriver are all I used for all six pieces. I put most of these pieces together by myself with an occassional hand from someone of the muscular persuasion. If you read the instructions thoroughly and have patience you should have no problem assembling these items. Here are my top complaints: 1) The furniture boxes are so heavy we could barely get them in the truck & up the stairs. 2) The fixing bracket for the drawer is a nightmare. Try to get the bracket flush to its piece before trying to screw it in the attachment piece. Trust my bruised thumbs on this one. 3) The drawers are smaller than I expected. 4) There isn't enough hardware provided to ensure the stability of the headboard to the bed frame. The headboard is waiting for my trip to Home Depot for help. All in all I am most pleased with my $750 bedroom set.

Was this review helpful? (190) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NoMoreCollegeDorm
Boynton Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Perfect for the price.
6/19/2011

Customer review by mburke294

4.0 stars 6/19/2011 by mburke294
by mburke294

I spent a lot of time looking around for different beds. I decided on this because of the price and appearance, it seemed to be exactly what I was looking for. After reading a lot of reviews on here, I was growing uneasy about the bed. A few customers received damaged parts and some said that assembly was close to impossible. However, I found that neither of these allegations were true for my experience. The bed comes completely un-assembled in a 7.5 foot long package. I fit it in a Ford Ranger and was able to transport it relatively easily with two people carrying and one person helping. I unwrapped all the packaging and, inside the box, everything looked very neatly organized. I would recommend taking all the pieces out, if you have the room, and laying them out. The directions are in no way as complicated as people are making them out to be. Anyone who has ever played LEGO's as a child should be able to handle this. Every piece has a label written on the edge and the directions include a full diagram of where every piece goes right on the first page. I made a photocopy of this to reference while I turn the other pages. I found it very helpful to, before screwing or installing anything, lay out all the foundation pieces according to the diagram picture. Assembly took me (alone) about 3 hours. TAKE YOUR TIME!!! If you don't have at least 3-5 hours to commit to assembling this, I would strongly suggest putting it off until you have the time. Once the foundation was setup, I then moved onto the drawers. These were actually a bit bigger than I had anticipated. Many people complained about the metal ball-bearing shaft used to move the drawer in and out. This MUST SEPARATE into two pieces BEFORE you screw it in. Once I separated the pieces, I found that the drawer assembly was the easiest part about putting this together. Lastly came the cover pieces. The slab comes in four long pieces. This was the most intimidating part of the assembly. In the packaging, you are provided with two small blocks to measure the distance each side piece should hang over. I did not find that very helpful at all. I would have liked if there were notches or something to align these pieces. Once they are on, you simply screw them into the foundation. Don't screw this up, because particle board is very unforgiving when it comes to multiple attempts. Once the bed was assembled and complete, I loaded the mattress on. A Queen-sized mattress takes up pretty much the entire platform, with a small edge running around. It looks very nice and I was impressed. I read some reviews that said people smack their legs on the corner. I disregarded this but, apparently, don't have the dexterity I thought I did because I've already smacked my leg on the corner a few times. To fix this, I took some cotton balls and put them around the corner, and used electrical tape to affix them. The mattress does slide around on the platform. To counter this, I plan to buy a rubberized mat (like what you see under carpets) and put that between the bed and mattress. All-in-all, I can say that I am very impressed with this platform bed. It is definitely not ever leaving my room. I doubt that this bed will ever re-assemble if it has to be moved, so make sure you're ready to have that bed in your room long term. I would definitely buy this again, and was happy with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (100) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mburke294
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sturdy
5/30/2010

Customer review by lola08

4.0 stars 5/30/2010 by lola08
by lola08

I bought this bed for my new house. It took me and another about 3 hours to put together. but all the peices were all there, and all the right the colors. Directions were tricky. But over all it is a nice bed and seems sturdy. Not to mention 5star price.

Was this review helpful? (91) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lola08
california
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
6/2/2009

Customer review by NewLifeNewStart

5.0 stars 6/2/2009 by NewLifeNewStart
by NewLifeNewStart

This is THE PERFECT bed, especially for a teenage boy. They tend to toss their clothing on the floor. It has great storage which adds to the rest of the furniture so you aren't having to buy extra pieces to go with the rest of the set. Now he can put away clothing that he wears more often in the drawers under the bed and swap them out as the seasons change. I am glad I purchased this bed, was a little apprehensive as I had purchased a platform bed before through a different company, but I paid less money for this and it is far superior to what I had purchased before. It is much sturdier, the other bed literally broke in the middle a week after we had it and the company would not replace it. Having the drawers not only adds to the function of the piece but I think also lends itself to the sturdiness of the product. I would recommend this to anyone and if it can withstand teenage boys it can withstand anything!

Was this review helpful? (83) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NewLifeNewStart
Lecanto, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Looks good, hard to assemble
11/16/2009

Customer review by Shop4LessMoney

4.0 stars 11/16/2009 by Shop4LessMoney
by Shop4LessMoney

This took about 2 hours to assemble. The last step was hardest to do. When we drilled through the hole, it did not go through the bottom, so we had to make our own hole. A small part of the frame broke off because we had to angle the nail so that it would nail into the bottom frame. There were also a few places where the paint chipped off but were fixable with the marker includuded.

Was this review helpful? (87) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shop4LessMoney
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great storage option!
7/25/2007

Customer review by DreamBelievers

5.0 stars 7/25/2007 by DreamBelievers
by DreamBelievers

I think the product is useful and can be beneficial for a single person like myself. The storage is definitely great and the look is up to date and sleek! I not only have one for myself but recommend it to anyone who needs those little hide away spaces!

Was this review helpful? (70) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DreamBelievers
Greensboro, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
walmart should explain full/queen
12/24/2012

Customer review by grandpa123

4.0 stars 12/24/2012 by grandpa123
by grandpa123

For those who buy this or ant other platform bed that lists "full/queen" I would like to let you know what they don't tell you. The boards that make up the top of the platform come in 4 pieces for the queen setup and if you only want a full setup you can leave out 1 of the middle pieces. Had I known this in advance, I would have only bought a full matress not a queen.

Was this review helpful? (54) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
grandpa123
vermont
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I LOVE THIS BED!!!!
12/31/2009

Customer review by leran

5.0 stars 12/31/2009 by leran
by leran

I absolutely love everything about this platform bed! It was incredibly easy to put together and it looks gorgeous in my room. The drawers are big enough to store a ton of stuff in and bed itself is very sleek and modern looking with ultra clean lines. this was a fantastic deal and I am completely and utterly satisfied with my purchase. Great value and I highly recommend this product!! Oh and with the ship to store it only took one week to arrive and everyone at the store was very helpful in helping me get the box into my truck. The way the bed is packed, it is very convienant and does not take up much room at all. The bed is very heavy and if you have to take it up stairs, remove the pieces from the box first (That's what we did) and carried the pieces up the stairs in stages.

Was this review helpful? (46) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
leran
colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Good Bed for the Price
4/16/2010

Customer review by CollegeWorkingGrad

4.0 stars 4/16/2010 by CollegeWorkingGrad
by CollegeWorkingGrad

I just moved out with my boyfriend, and we needed a new bed, so we went online shopping as opposed to furniture stores, and it wasn't too bad of a find for this bed. The package is REALLY heavy, so be sure to have another person with you. The instructions really aren't that bad, if you can read diagrams ok. It took me about an hour and a half to put it together, and the drill holes for the piece for the head of the bed are off, so you would have to make your own holes. In my case, I just skipped the two holes that didn't fit, and the bed is as sturdy as ever. The mattress does slide around a lot, so I'm thinking about getting some sort of grip or velcro strip for it. The biggest con about the bed is that the corners are so pointy, you can scrape and cut yourself easily. I'll have to look for some felt or fabric to pad it. Other than that, the bed looks great, and the drawers underneath are awesome!

Was this review helpful? (38) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CollegeWorkingGrad
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Fantastic bed for the price!
7/8/2011

Customer review by LovingMyNewBed

5.0 stars 7/8/2011 by LovingMyNewBed
by LovingMyNewBed

I'm not sure why everyone else had so many issues with this bed. I wanted to write a review just so others wouldn't be so afraid to get it. I think it looks great! We didn't have any flaws in the bed and arrived in perfect condition. The drawers are spacious and come in and out with ease. The only thing I would prefer is in there were handles on the drawers to pull open but that is something I can easily ad on myself in time. It took my fiance just under an hour to put together.. Which I thought was reasonable for putting together a queen sized bed. It's sturdy and doesn't squeak or move at all like a standard bed frame would. I also love that there is no need to a box spring and with the platform style there is no need for a bed skirt. I couldn't ask for a better looking bed for under $200! We even received the bed sooner than we expected! We could not be happier with out purchase and I would highly recommended it to anyone considering it! :)

Was this review helpful? (32) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LovingMyNewBed
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very upset
12/16/2013

Customer review by Rusclu

2.0 stars 12/16/2013 by Rusclu
by Rusclu

The top boards do not line up the wood cracked in 4 places. The drawers lined up and move smoothly. That was a huge plus. The boards are not connected all to the base because any further tightening will cause more cracking. Waiting for a call back from the company but what are they going to do. Short of taking the whole thing apart. It took 2 plus hours of frustration. If everything would have lined up we would have been extremely happy.

Was this review helpful? (30) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rusclu
Salem il
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Get what you pay for
12/24/2009

Customer review by silly27

4.0 stars 12/24/2009 by silly27
by silly27

This is a bed for someone like me who has a low budget. It is made from the cheap presses wood, but I did not expect it not to. I do like the drawers hardware, it seems sturdy. I wanted a bed I could afford and got one. It is inexpensive so I was not expecting the best of quality. It works for me.

Was this review helpful? (31) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
silly27
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
8/31/2007

Customer review by buyerspecialist

5.0 stars 8/31/2007 by buyerspecialist
by buyerspecialist

easy to assemble, great construction, great look and much less than the competition- will probably order another one for my son's room

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
buyerspecialist
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Looks nice online but ...
2/22/2011

Customer review by DisappointedWithCrapBed

2.0 stars 2/22/2011 by DisappointedWithCrapBed
by DisappointedWithCrapBed

I liked the bed, liKed that it had drawers, and liked the price. It was pretty much what I'd been looking for, so I ordered one. When I picked it up, packaging was so flimsy I was worried, but worker at store told me I could always return it, even though he himself admitted that they get shipments of clothing into Walmart better packaged than the bed. Got home, unpacked bed to find one of the long boards cracked almost the whole length, and the boards themselves were shoddy as heck. I wasn't expecting wonders for that low of a price, but I was expecting something that felt like it would last me a couple years. This bed didn't even last a week in shipment.

Was this review helpful? (25) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DisappointedWithCrapBed
Fort Meyers, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
8/23/2011

Customer review by BeauTx

1.0 stars 8/23/2011 by BeauTx
by BeauTx

The assembly instruction was easy to follow, but the design is poor based on the following: 1) The surface of the bed is flat and very smooth. Therefore, the mattress slides around freely. Should have something to hold the mattress in place. 2) The bed frame was screwed together by ordinary wood screws. The bed frame is OK for stationary, but the screws easily split the pressed wood (which is the material for this bed) when the bed is lifted or pushed around. 3) The metal braces (provide support for the edge of pieces of wood that makeup the surface of the bed) seem to be an after-thought. inadequately support the surface of the bed when someone sits on the edge.

Was this review helpful? (26) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BeauTx
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1/28/2013

Customer review by Alex3121996

5.0 stars 1/28/2013 by Alex3121996
by Alex3121996

This bed is amazing for the price. It's 200 bucks! seriously it's not like this is a 500 dollar bed frame! Super deal for the money! It is very hard to assemble however it was well worth it. Storage is helpful and sleek. I would reccomend this to anyone!

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Alex3121996
Nh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
NOt bad at all
3/18/2011

Customer review by BornToDecor

4.0 stars 3/18/2011 by BornToDecor
by BornToDecor

We found this bed on other websites before finding out it was avail on Walmart.com. Since it was avail for ship to store for free, we went for it. We read the reviews, took a deep breath, and crossed our fingers. It arrived the 1st week it was expected (thumbs up) There was alot of pcs. (thumbs down). YOU MUST FOLLOW DIRECTIONS! I Definetly advise 2 people putting this together. the drawers were the hardest part... after that it was like a puzzle putting the pcs all together. It took us about 5 hours to put it all together (from box to putting our mattress on top). There were some knicks but most of them were covered by other pcs or the mattress. the drawers works great on our carpet. so all in all good bed for a good price. *One suggestion is to get a rug pad to keep your mattress from sliding all over the platform.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BornToDecor
Austin, tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 964 total reviews
1-20 of 964 reviews