Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 64 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

64 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

64 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
35
4 stars
17
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 stars
7
1-20 of 53 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 53 total reviews
1-20 of 53 reviews
Almost perfect...
6/27/2008

Customer review by GuerrerodeFe

5.0 stars 6/27/2008 by GuerrerodeFe
by GuerrerodeFe

There is nothing bad about this radio at all. Every feature that you could ask for in an emegency radio is here on this item: AM/FM/Weather stations, dynamo crank that works incredibly, bright LED flashlight, alarm clock, good reception, thermometer, LCD display with bright orange backlighting, dynamo/battery/AC power options (haven't tried the cranking time to operation time comparision yet), etc. The only problem that I have is that there is no standby mode for the weather alerts. The radio has to be actually turned on to give you the very loud weater warnings. In other words, the entire unit is on and operating in order to receive weather updates. However, the way around that is to turn on the radio when you want to be notified, turn the volume completely down so there is no noise (fortunately there is no speaker hiss either) and there you go. The alarm will sound at the same ear splitting volume no matter what. The other minor issue is that tuning the FM radio is done digitally with a knob. The knob is incredibly sensative, so that if you look at the knob wrong, it will move by one decimal place. Other than that, you cannot go wrong with this radio. Those minor issues are completely overshadowed by the great quality and features of this radio. Buy one. Perfect for camping, power outages, outside, or the downfall of civilization as we know it.

Was this review helpful? (161) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GuerrerodeFe
Topeka, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A gift to a always prepared father
1/9/2008

Customer review by Eldergamer

5.0 stars 1/9/2008 by Eldergamer
by Eldergamer

The screen was digital and easy to read. The switches and dials are all well placed and intuitive. I gave it as a gift to my father. He loved it and uses it regularly. I'm very pleased and so is he.

Was this review helpful? (48) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Eldergamer
Cave Junction, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Kinda awesome
9/16/2010

Customer review by BigMuff

4.0 stars 9/16/2010 by BigMuff
by BigMuff

This is a welcome addition to my hurricane kit. The multiple functions make it an all-in-one kind of product. The hand crank is not like that of a flashlight where you crank for 1 minute and get 10 minutes of power. It's more like Gilligan's Island. It works while you pedal the bike and stops when you get off. Also, the hand crank WILL NOT charge or power my 3G iphone. It will only power my 3rd generation ipod, not charge it. It will however power and charge the 1st generation ipod. I was really wanting something that would hand power my phone, but this just isn't it. Other than that, it's pretty sweet.

Was this review helpful? (40) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BigMuff
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Does a great job
5/23/2011

Customer review by TVcabinet

4.0 stars 5/23/2011 by TVcabinet
by TVcabinet

Everything as expected. I was surprised that it is as compact as it is. One comment about battery charging procedure: the manual said that the power switch should be in the AC/DYNAMO ON position to charge the LiH battery from an AC outlet. This turns the unit on and the battery was not fully charged, even with the charging light lit, after the alloted charging time. I redid the charging process with the power switch OFF, the charging light was on, and the unit seems to be fully charged. I.m considering using this product as our everyday kitchen radio.

Was this review helpful? (27) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TVcabinet
AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
not to be without
3/29/2010

Customer review by wlfdnc

5.0 stars 3/29/2010 by wlfdnc
by wlfdnc

I like the features this weather radio has..it's rugged, has a built in flashlight, hand crank, and DC input along with a wake alarm and freeze warning alerts from NOAA...also has a headphone jack...the display is large and well lit.....many features for the price!

Was this review helpful? (19) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wlfdnc
NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
A piece of junk right out of the box
6/12/2011

Customer review by mrjmcb

1.0 stars 6/12/2011 by mrjmcb
by mrjmcb

The AC adapter did not work so consequently the rechargeable batteries would not charge and the radio would not work on AC power. I don't know if it's the adapter or the radio. Received it on Friday--taking it back on Monday. If given the opportunity, I would have rated it even lower. I would definitely NOT recommend this to a friend.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mrjmcb
southern WV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
would not hold a charge and the alert did not work
6/28/2011

Customer review by tubefittingman

1.0 stars 6/28/2011 by tubefittingman
by tubefittingman

It looks like it could be a good product but I could not get it to hold a charge and then the weather alert did not work so I returned it. maybe I just got a bad one so I may try another one to see if it would work correctly.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tubefittingman
Would recommend to a friend? No
Worked less than 12 hours
5/11/2011

Customer review by shadoe0131

1.0 stars 5/11/2011 by shadoe0131
by shadoe0131

This weather radio took an initial charge and worked for about 12 hours. After that it would no longer charge. I had to return it. Cannot recommend.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shadoe0131
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
not worth the money
11/26/2008

Customer review by Shopwithfun

1.0 stars 11/26/2008 by Shopwithfun
by Shopwithfun

This radio is not programmable to your own county (S.A.M.E.) which wake you up all night. It receives everything all over the map. The hand-crank function does not last no time. People may miss alert when it is weak reception due to low battery. You rather find a readio has long back up battery. AM/FM with static noise, poor sound. When I called Midland for help, the customer service is very rude and not helpful, suggesting return the radio to Walmart. I did.

Was this review helpful? (20) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shopwithfun
Lincoln NE
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
NOT MENT FOR "LONG TERM" STORAGE or EMERGENCYS
11/19/2013

Customer review by BREWNO

1.0 stars 11/19/2013 by BREWNO
by BREWNO

THIS UNIT WAS DEFECTIVE RIGHT OUT OF THE BOX! I SENT IT BACK THE NEXT DAY! THIS UNIT IS NOT MENT TO BE STORED AS A BACK-UP. THE CLOCK FEATURE WILL DRAIN THE BATTERIES AND (according to the directions) THE BATTRIES SHOULD BE RE-CHARGED FOR 12 HOURS FOR THE UNIT TO WORK EFFECTIVLY. NOT POSSIBLE IN A LONG TERM POWER OUTAGE! If left plugged in during every day use, this would be a good short term system for minimal power outages, but the direction repeatedly state that the unit needs to charge for 12 hours for optimal performance! I never got a chance to try the crank handle as the unit was DEFECTIVE! NOTE: The directions seem to indicate that. . . to recharge the unit with the crank, you must CRANK AGRESSIVLY FOR AS LONG AS YOU (feel comfortable) CAN. This will recharge the batteries for a short period. DEFECTIVE! When I plugged in the charger the "CHARGE INDICATOR LIGHT" did not come on. After charging for the recommended 12 hours the unit went haywire! The radio no longer worked, the thermometer read "188", and when I turned on the radio (after charging) and there was a thumping sort of static sound. THIS IS NOT A "DOOMSDAY PREPPER" ITEM!

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BREWNO
Cleveland, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Does not last
3/25/2012

Customer review by sharedexperience

1.0 stars 3/25/2012 by sharedexperience
by sharedexperience

I purchased the Midland emergency radio about two years ago as a hurricane preparedness supply. Thought I would grow old with it. Nice features, decent sound, great weather band reception. Tuner is very sensitive. Now ... AC adapter does not work. Provides no power, no charge. Crank does nothing. It does work on AA battery power, but I purchased it due to the multiple power options and liked the thought of not having to continually replace AA batteries. And the ones I left in the radio previously leaked (duracells, not dollar store batteries). Looked around for a replacement of the NiMh (ala cordless phone) battery. The only ones I found that MAY work cost near twenty dollars (did not risk it). It's not a total loss as it does work with AAs, but for the price, I truly expected more. I do not recommend this radio.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sharedexperience
Would recommend to a friend? No
Weather Radio
5/21/2011

Customer review by autumnscen

5.0 stars 5/21/2011 by autumnscen
by autumnscen

I have not used the Weather radio yet. I did check it out including convenience of controls, appearance, usefulness of controls and I was very satisfied. I liked the fact that you could listen to FM/AM radio and be alerted to switch to the Weather channel should there be tornadoes or bad weather alerts. The price was around $30.00 I purchased one a couple years ago for $20.00 and it was useless. (different company).

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
autumnscen
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Works as advertised...good product
5/6/2011

Customer review by arkievol

5.0 stars 5/6/2011 by arkievol
by arkievol

This radio got a real workout on its first use. When the thunderstorms came through Arkansas in April a number of its features were used including alert automatically switching from FM band to weather band, flashlight and battery power. Works well in a concrete and steel storm shelter. Good sharp sound. Great product at reasonable price...recommended.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
arkievol
AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good emergency radio
8/4/2014

Customer review by Atlanticsand

4.0 stars 8/4/2014 by Atlanticsand
by Atlanticsand

I live in a place where we have bad weather,,,hurricanes,,massive snow storms,,floods,,every year. And I'm so busy that I have no time to watch television so I like to listen to the weather while I'm getting ready for work,,it works great for receiving local weather stations,,and ocean details,,so far I am glad I have it.. No natural disasters yet since I've bought it,,but that time of year is coming,,hopefully I only need it to listen to the weather :) But,, the way the weather patterns have been,, it would probably be a good idea for everyone that lives on, or close to the Atlantic seaboard to have one.. I love the ocean,,but I don't like seagulls flying through my living room.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Atlanticsand
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Emergency Crank Radio
12/31/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/31/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is a great item. I bought it after a local power outtage and it has every feature needed in an emergency and few extra.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
2/6/2010

Customer review by greenlight3

5.0 stars 2/6/2010 by greenlight3
by greenlight3

Seems to work well. We use it for our 72-hour emergency kit. It works very well and we feel better knowing we have this additional radio tool.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
greenlight3
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
pleasantly surprised
1/1/2014

Customer review by yachtmanred

5.0 stars 1/1/2014 by yachtmanred
by yachtmanred

Looks to be very well made and everything worked as stated. very impressed.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
yachtmanred
Amsterdam, New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
very simple and depenable
12/1/2009

Customer review by ishop2idrop2

4.0 stars 12/1/2009 by ishop2idrop2
by ishop2idrop2

nice radio.no problems and very depenable.a very good buy for the price.the crank could use some improvement it dont charge the radio for very long.maybe 10 min.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ishop2idrop2
texarkana,ar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good Buy
11/9/2013

Customer review by LikentheBiken

5.0 stars 11/9/2013 by LikentheBiken
by LikentheBiken

I bought this for my son who has a deep appreciation for weather predictions. He loves it and it's easy for him to use. He is Developmentally Disabled, so ease of use is essential. We shall see how durable it is in time.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LikentheBiken
Wonder Lake, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very good buy
5/4/2008

Customer review by boogee

5.0 stars 5/4/2008 by boogee
by boogee

I bought this for my husband to use in our cellar during storms. But we have found that we use it more often then just for storms. It is great to take out on the boat as well.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
boogee
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 53 total reviews
1-20 of 53 reviews