Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 34 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

34 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

5 stars
15
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
11
62%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 33 total reviews
1/4/2009

Customer review by ELOVEnAWE

4.0 stars by ELOVEnAWE

My boyfriend seems to enjoy this remote control mouse as much as my cats. One of our cats sits by it and stares at him until he picks up the remote to play. It runs for about 5-8 minutes and then you have to recharege for 3 minutes. It's not the fastest in the world but it holds their interest. The kittens even more so. I almost bought a remote control car for them to chase and then I saw this, which was cheaper and, I think, turned out better because their claws stick in it's "fur" and they can bat it around. And the cheese remote is just so cute.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ELOVEnAWE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Don't waste your time
12/25/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars by An anonymous customer

Well we bought this toy as a "Christmas present" to the cats and I took it out of the package and charged it and put it on the floor of the kitchen and it worked great!...for approximately 60 seconds, then it died. It will kinda make a noise like it is going to start going but then it doesn't. Maybe it's the frequency but we have already spent more time trying to figure out what's wrong with the stupid thing than it's worth. So my advice is to buy at your own risk. Great idea though, just too bad they don't make a $20 one that actually works! :)

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
An anonymous customer
Cordova, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
broke after 2 minutes
12/2/2010

Customer review by steve1978

1.0 stars by steve1978

This thing is the coolest idea, but is cheaply made. It broke just as my cat began to play. It clicks when you trey to go forward and backwards. Going to take it back and see if another works any better.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
steve1978
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Not the product pictured
10/5/2013

Customer review by Arden357

1.0 stars by Arden357

I ordered this cat toy to replace one that no longer worked. I was happy to find this replacement. When I picked it up, it was a different product with the same name. Does not work well, does not have the control the pictured product has. The "cheese" controller pictured controls forward, backward and turning. The NEW model has no control and stops working if the cat blocks the toy from the lame controller. Also, the new toy doesn' hold a charge. If you are looking for the product pictured, then don't order this!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Arden357
South Windsor, CT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
KITTIES WENT NUTS, HUSBAND LOVED THE REMOTE CHEESE
7/11/2010

Customer review by TEEDEE43

5.0 stars by TEEDEE43

WELL, THIS WAS THE REACTION I WAS HOPING FOR, FROM BOTH THE BOYZ AND MY HUSBAND! OUR BOYZ ARE 7 1/2 YEARS OLD AND ARE SLOWING DOWN A BIT. THIS TOY REALLY ENERGIZED THEM AND WORE THEM OUT IN A FEW MINUTES. MY HUSBAND HAD A GREAT TIME USING THE CHEESE REMOTE CONTROL...I KNEW HE WOULD LOVE THAT!!! I ENJOYED WATCHING THE SHOW!! THANKS FOR A GREAT PLAY TIME FOR US ALL. YOGI, BOOBOO, BOB & LINDA

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TEEDEE43
MONTESANO, WA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Loads of fun!
1/22/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars by An anonymous customer

My cat loves mice and things that move on their own (such as lasers), so this was the perfect choice for her. She doesn't chase after it, but it holds her attention and she'll bat it around and pounce on it when it stops moving. For her, it's more of an engagement and mental stimulation toy than physical exercise (for that, the laser pointer comes in handy). The company has upgraded this toy, and the current model is different than the one shown. The remote looks like a white computer mouse with one simple button that can be pushed forward and backward, and the mouse is smaller with gray fur and a pink stringy tail (which my cat loves). As other reviewers have mentioned, the gears have a tendency to get clogged with dust, hair, and lint found on the floor. You can open up the back of the mouse to clean it out. It's also helpful to keep it off of rugs and dusty places underneath things. It takes a while to get the hang of controlling it, but cats will love the erratic movements anyway.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
An anonymous customer
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
not what you pay for
7/17/2012

Customer review by onelifetolive1990

1.0 stars by onelifetolive1990

i bought this 2 times and still not as pictured i ordered online and i got a cheaper made product you dont get the cheese wheel as pictured and it dont even go half the time and it wont work if your more then 1 foot away which is horrible they could have done better making this its like they put little effort in this the one as pictured is what i wanted not the cheap thing i was sent you would better off buying a mouse that looks life like go get a little remote controlled car and cut open the mouse and glue them together and it would be so much better then this it has lil power at all i would not recommend anyone this

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
onelifetolive1990
indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Bought 2 times
3/17/2011

Customer review by OMidnight

1.0 stars by OMidnight

Very dissappointed both times, returned them...lid to battery case will not stay on..

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
OMidnight
Westland, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Usage:Never
8/14/2013

Customer review by reendan

1.0 stars by reendan

This product was ordered through the website. The picture on the site was the product we wanted, however when the product arrived it was a different version of the same product (I am assuming a newer version). They need to change to photo so people know what they are actually getting. My cat likes the older version of the toy so we bought several when we saw the photo. What arrived was a different version of the toy that our cat won't even look at. I did return the product to the store and was refunded, but I wish that I had not had to do that because the picture on the site was wrong.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
reendan
RI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
SmartyKat Pro and Con
12/23/2009

Customer review by krissylynny

5.0 stars by krissylynny

My cat absolutely adored this toy. She use to be indoor/outdoor when we lived on a farm, and she was a very proficient hunter. She missed the life, and I used my observational knowledge of how to make the toy mouse act like a real mouse would behave. She was in love with the toy. Now for the con. Never, never bring it across any kind of carpeting, rugs, or fabrics. The mouse no longer functions because thread is so in-bedded into the axle that I cannot remove it. Now the mouse no longer functions. I WILL BUY A REPLACEMENT! I just will be more careful to avoid harmful surfaces in my home as well as sweep/vacuum prior to playing. YOUR CAT WILL LOVE THE TOY! Keep it to the walls and near furniture as mice tend to stay to these areas and only rarely run across open spaces to get to the next safe place. They play dead when the cat first gets them and then they will try to run away. I hope this helps you with this very worth while toy.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
krissylynny
Elizabethtown, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Was not the same product.
7/22/2014

Customer review by MeganEH

2.0 stars by MeganEH

I purposely ordered this product because I wanted the older model with cheese remote. I was sent the newer model (not pctiured) and was very disappointed. The mouse would only go foreword and back where the older model moved in 4 directions. I also found that the wheels got jammed after a few uses. Wouldn't buy again.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MeganEH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Little Rascal
12/15/2009

Customer review by luckykat

1.0 stars by luckykat

Does Not Work Well, Would not Go backwards took it back, exchanged for second one, it would not go forward, they are junk, they only work well first minute of use out of the package. , after that they are never the same, we bought the best batteries you could buy didn't make a difference, remote signal is poor, not a good product taking this one back. We think we will buy a small remote car wrap it in fur material, would be a better product. The packaging on this Little Rascal Cost more than you get out of the product. save your $10. I also contacted the company to them their product does not work, no reply. MY CAT LOVES THE ZHU ZHU HAMSTER MUCH BETTER..AND MUCH BETTER PRODUCT

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
luckykat
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
tons of fun for you and your cat
3/6/2008

Customer review by lovemyoliver

5.0 stars by lovemyoliver

Smart Kat Runaway Rascal Toy - my cat loves this toy and so do we. I just wish the range on the remote were a little further but still a great toy! It is hard to find toys that cats really like, this one is worth it!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
lovemyoliver
Oxford, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Cat Loves It
9/9/2010

Customer review by DebKK

5.0 stars by DebKK

I don't know who had more fun with this toy, my husband or the cat. They played ubtil the toy had to be recharged, then played again until it needed to be charged again. The one down side is that when it is charged, this toy needs to last longer. Outside of that, it was worth every penny and I would buy it again.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
DebKK
Hermann, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
great cat and owner
4/9/2014

Customer review by grapesticker

5.0 stars by grapesticker

It was great fun seeing my cat's reaction to this thing. She didn't know what to make of it at first but after I'd teased her w/ it for a while, she decided that this even better than the real thing. Some hilarious moments for sure.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
grapesticker
boise, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Cats on the hunt.
9/26/2010

Customer review by ejsqueeze

5.0 stars by ejsqueeze

This product brings out the hunting nature of cats. They follow the mouse and then they pouced on it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ejsqueeze
Nperville, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
My cats love it!
1/14/2013

Customer review by bsf777

5.0 stars by bsf777

My remote is different then the one shown in this pic. My cats absolutely love this toy, even without the remote. The mouse is small, only abt 2 in long, therefore, is easily lost. We actually went and bought a 2nd one after our cat lost the first one, but have since found it so they now have two. To help with the lost and found problem, we tied a ribbon, like Christmas ribbon, on the end of the tail so that it would be easily found. That has worked great and does not interfere with the movement or play of the toy. This is their favorite toy. My remote has an on and off switch to save on battery use. I use rechargable batteries, so when the mouse quickly quits running after charging it, you know the batteries in the remote need changing.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
bsf777
Pendleton, Ky.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great toy for the price
10/20/2012

Customer review by WallyWorldLovah

5.0 stars by WallyWorldLovah

Must be a "hit or miss" item, judging by other reviews. I didn't expect it to be that great, but it actually moves forward and backward, and turns when it goes in reverse, so it's more possible than I thought to get it to move all around the kitchen. Runs best on hard surfaces and low pile carpets, as the instructions say, but I was amazed at the runtime--the insert says 3 mins of charging will give you 8 mins of playtime, but we've been playing with it for over 20 mins! Maybe I lucked out with a good unit, but if I'm wrong, I'd highly recommend it to anyone with a curiously active kitty like mine.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
WallyWorldLovah
Midcoast Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent interactive toy satisfies cat's needs!
9/6/2012

Customer review by CrazyCatLady5

5.0 stars by CrazyCatLady5

Perfect for indoor cats. This is the best cat toy created, especially for lazy people. The mouse is charged on the remote. The remote takes two AA batteries. It's the perfect cat toy because it fulfills the cat's needs for hunting, catching, and killing. They are able to satisfy those needs with this simulation toy. Once your cat catches and kills it's "prey", you can turn the remote off and resume playing another time. My girls love it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
CrazyCatLady5
Schenectady, New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Fun for the cats and you
11/6/2012

Customer review by dawningtomoro

5.0 stars by dawningtomoro

The charging of the mouse is a little awkward and it doesn't run very long, but the cats love it. The battery also charges really fast so by the time the cats are rested it is ready to go again. So much fun for indoor play in cold weather.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
dawningtomoro
West Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 33 total reviews