Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 24 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

24 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

24 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
19
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-20 of 20 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Best 2001 Edition Yet
10/23/2008

Customer review by 50BMG

5.0 stars 10/23/2008 by 50BMG
by 50BMG

I have many copies of 2001, including LaserDisk, DVD and now this Blu-Ray edition. Not all 2001's are the same. Many are made from prints that are substantially degraded or worn. I have encountered these in the past. Until now, I thought I would never again see another Digital edition made from the same heralded source as the 1993 25th Anniversary Deluxe CAV Widescreen LaserDisk. or the 2001 Deluxe Collectors DVD Box Set with Senitype. This is quite apparent because it lacks editing marks of any kind, being re-constructed from the original film elements and camera negatives. Likewise, this Blu-Ray edition is PRISTINE. The picture quality is unsurpassed by any previous rendering. It is noiseless, clear, strikingly colorful and faithful in every way to my recollection of the original theatrical experience. Techincal: CODEC:VC-1 ASPECT:2.2:1 Anamorphic Vertical Resolution:1080P Horizontal Resolution: Unknown - probably 1330 or more - could be 1920, it's hard to know. Until viewing this version, I had my doubts about the VC-1 coding system. No more. It is well able to handle this material faithfully. Bit rates are often in the 20Mbit range, but not higher that I've noticed. My Equipment: Epson 1080P (1920x1080) 3LCD HD Video Projector 100" Diagonal Grey High Contrast Projection Screen Onkyo THX TX-DS939 5.1 Surround with THX Speakers HDMI Connected Playstation3 Blu-Ray Player Summary: This Blu-Ray edition is a "must have" for any 2001 enthusiast. If you were not fortunate enough to see it in the theatre originally, this will make that experience possible if you have the right equipment. An excellent value at any price.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
50BMG
Cincinnati, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
2001: A Space Odyssey...and more
12/9/2009

Customer review by moodybluzEGBDF

5.0 stars 12/9/2009 by moodybluzEGBDF
by moodybluzEGBDF

My single motivation for writing this is in response to Strumgirl's review (?) on 9/5/09. I do not wish to be harsh or unfairly critical in my comments, but at my very heart I am compelled to assist. I could list many of the undeniable facts about this film. Suffice it to say it will most certainly remain one of the most important films for ages to come, and it will forever remain one of only a few films significantly ahead of its time. If I can be so bold as to lend anything of value to those who can both listen and hear, I can only suggest the traditional resources. Read literature, listen to classical music, study the classical arts, etc. Always remember "the unexamined life is not worth living". If you should care to research the author of this expression, then you are, at last, on your way...

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
moodybluzEGBDF
Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
2001: on Blu-ray, incredible!
12/6/2009

Customer review by tjy57

5.0 stars 12/6/2009 by tjy57
by tjy57

Incredible transfer to the Blu-ray format. If you need to own one format of this movie this is it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tjy57
Arroyo Grande, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
2001 Blu ray is amazing!
9/12/2008

Customer review by jpmaximus

5.0 stars 9/12/2008 by jpmaximus
by jpmaximus

This is one of the best blu ray movies out there. The picture quality is simply amazing for a film made in the 1960's. I highly recommend you get it if you like this film. The improvements over the normal DVD are breathtaking!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jpmaximus
Virginia Beach, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Classic Movie and HAL9000
1/30/2013

Customer review by Texasluva

5.0 stars 1/30/2013 by Texasluva
by Texasluva

Blu-ray transfer is very nice in this 1968 Classic Movie. From the Dawn of Man till the Space Voyage and HAL9000 going berserk. Enjoy.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Texasluva
Plano, texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect Xmas Pressie
1/3/2009

Customer review by SquidGirl

5.0 stars 1/3/2009 by SquidGirl
by SquidGirl

I got this for my father for Xmas and it was great! The price was low and the picture quality/colour was brilliant! I called the store and they didn't have it on the shelf so from the comfort of my home, without having to leave the house in the nasty-cold weather, I got the item for only a couple dollars more with shipping (definitely a deal if you live in Michigan this winter).

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SquidGirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
A SIGNIFICANT STEP FORWARD
3/3/2010

Customer review by CONSTANTWATCHER

4.0 stars 3/3/2010 by CONSTANTWATCHER
by CONSTANTWATCHER

OK, so the special effects aren't digital (they're "models"). OK, so this movie doesn't exactly dazzle you with "blinding" speed. You're missing the point. "2001" was significant because it helped make sci-fi a "credible" format. Up untill this movie came along (not to mention the original Star Trek TV series) sci-fi was kind of a joke (there was Flash Gordon, Buck Rodgers, and LOTS of cold war space monsters). 2001 showed us what space travel will REALLY be like - slow, dangerous progress (that's still worth pursuing). Without 2001 (AND Star Trek) there would BE no "Battlestar Galactica" (or hopes that space travel will actually lead us to a better future). Give this vision of the future from the past a shot. You'll find it gives you a strong sense of how we got "from there to here". Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CONSTANTWATCHER
Forest Park, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Killer movie, but not on blu-ray
12/22/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/22/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I think it's one of the top 10 movies of all time, but the fact is that all of these movies that are rereleased onto the blu-ray format just aren't that super. Tommy Lee Jones comes to mind in Men In Black, when he said "Looks like I'm going to have to buy the White Album again." this is pretty much like that, but it's the same as it ever was. There's not really any new features on it that weren't on the Kubrick boxset in regular dvd format. Unless it's a new movie chock full of CGI or an animated movie, blu-ray versions of old movies just isn't mind-blowing sorry. Other than that, read the book. It kicks the movie in the face.

Was this review helpful? (3) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Evansville, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
2001 Space Odyssey
9/5/2009

Customer review by Strumgirl

1.0 stars 9/5/2009 by Strumgirl
by Strumgirl

Worse movie I've ever seen. Had never seen this movie, but bought a new Blu-ray player that I thought would look good with this movie. The movie was extremely BORING. I don't know how it ever made it to a sequel.

Was this review helpful? (4) (62)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Strumgirl
Eastern Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Awesome Movie
3/29/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 3/29/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is an all time classic sci-fi movie with amaizing effects long before Star Wars

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Blu-Ray does this masterpiece justice!
10/16/2009

Customer review by Tykes4sure

5.0 stars 10/16/2009 by Tykes4sure
by Tykes4sure

Over the decades I've owned versions of this spectacular EVENT on several formats. This Blu-Ray version is superb and I'm pleased to add it to my collection.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tykes4sure
Renton, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
You cannot beat the price.
1/11/2012

Customer review by 9Lives

5.0 stars 1/11/2012 by 9Lives
by 9Lives

I Saw this movie on viewtopia ondemand and thought "I've got to have this". So now that I've watched this on blue-ray. It shows an excellent pictuire.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
9Lives
Fort Smith, ARK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Looks and sounds fantastic.
1/28/2012

Customer review by Aeolus37

5.0 stars 1/28/2012 by Aeolus37
by Aeolus37

Best video and audio transfer.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Aeolus37
Alvin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Worth the upgrade from DVD
2/25/2008

Customer review by DocNovak

5.0 stars 2/25/2008 by DocNovak
by DocNovak

If you have never seen this movie before, I suggest renting it first as it is a unique movie to say the least. However, if you have seen the movie and liked it, it is worth it to upgrade to HDTV and blu-ray just for this movie.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DocNovak
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great movie
10/12/2012

Customer review by ChasesBears

5.0 stars 10/12/2012 by ChasesBears
by ChasesBears

Movie was terrific as expected. Blu-ray case and label was damaged in transit though.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChasesBears
Connecticut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Stands the Test of Time
9/3/2010

Customer review by LordOfTheShops

5.0 stars 9/3/2010 by LordOfTheShops
by LordOfTheShops

I'm not a critic so I won't attempt a proper review - plenty of more qualified people have done that already - just search the net. Having said that, I found that the movie stands the test of time very well and did not seem dated. Central issue still a good debate for us in a technological society. On bluray the picture was excellent, but to be honest, as this is not a highly graphical or special effects-heavy movie, I'm not sure that blu ray brings that much to the party - for this movie. Generally I am a great fan of bluray. I've seen this movie on DVD and picture seemed almost as good.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LordOfTheShops
California, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Great
1/1/2014

Customer review by 65maho

5.0 stars 1/1/2014 by 65maho
by 65maho

Great Blu-ray up grade!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
65maho
Springfield, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
2001 on Blu-ray is a treat!
5/22/2015

Customer review by UncleCasey

5.0 stars 5/22/2015 by UncleCasey
by UncleCasey

I have watched this film many times and love it, but I have never really SEEN this movie until I watched it on Blu-ray. WOW! You will not believe how nice it looks. It was like seeing it for the first time. It was originally shot on 70mm film and so the Blu-ray encoding is fantastic. It literally looks like a brand new movie. Thanks HAL. "I am putting myself to the fullest possible use, which is all I think that any conscious entity can ever hope to do."

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
UncleCasey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
2001 Space Odyssey
6/26/2008

Customer review by Whamo

3.0 stars 6/26/2008 by Whamo
by Whamo

Very good video, but disappointing audio.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Whamo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
DVD defective
1/12/2014

Customer review by Grampi65

3.0 stars 1/12/2014 by Grampi65
by Grampi65

This DVD had two bad spots in the first 1/2 hr of viewing. Will return and get replacement. Otherwise the movie is fanatastic for the time it was crated 1966.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Grampi65
Wilmington, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.