Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 158 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

158 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

158 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

45%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
54
4 stars
14
3 stars
11
2 stars
16
1 stars
63
1-20 of 154 total reviews
45%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 154 total reviews
1-20 of 154 reviews
Fabulous ice cream!!
3/1/2009

Customer review by IcecreamAddict

5.0 stars 3/1/2009 by IcecreamAddict
by IcecreamAddict

This ice cream maker makes the most wonderful home-made ice cream ever!! I found it very easy to use and just store it in my freezer so I can use it whenever the mood strikes me. One reviewer mentioned that you can buy a stand-alone maker for the same money, but I think those require that the bowl be frozen before use as well. I also purchased the Ben & Jerry's ice cream recipe book and have had lots of fun experimenting with new flavors or combinations. My original idea was that I could make delicious low-calorie desserts, but once I started on the Ben & Jerry's flavors - well - forget it!! I took one star off for "features" as I find it a bit messy to get the ice cream out of the bowl, but this is quite a minor inconvenience and my kids are always quite happy to lick the paddle off for me! I like that it fits any model of KitchenAid mixer. I have the bowl lift model and it works great. Highly recommended and WalMart has the best price! I only have one warning - be careful - it's addictive!

Was this review helpful? (42) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IcecreamAddict
Maple Falls, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Cooooooool
1/18/2008

Customer review by ElGordo

5.0 stars 1/18/2008 by ElGordo
by ElGordo
Top 25 contributor

This little thing works rather great. All you have to do is stuff the bucket in the freezer for 18 hours (yeah, plan your ice cream making 2 days in advance), then pour in the mix and stir. One note, it says it makes 2 quarts, and that's true, just remember that ice cream is 50% air. Put more than 1 qt of mix and you have what we in the ice cream biz call a mess. Also, the cheaper mixes and a faster mix will actually make a little more than 50% air. So just stick to the frozen custard mixes. Besides, the cheap stuff to make at home is even cheaper to buy off the shelf. For just a little more time and effort you can make your own Ben and Jerry's at home for less than $4 a pint. I did knock off a star for value because it really is quite expensive. You can buy a stand alone ice cream machine for about the same money. If you get this, it would be for the convenience of not having an extra machine lying around.

Was this review helpful? (45) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ElGordo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Top 25 contributor
KitchenAid Ice Cream Maker
2/8/2016

Customer review by JLU65

4.0 stars 2/8/2016 by JLU65
by JLU65
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I got this for Christmas. I have tried several recipes in it. I have found that the recipe that I got from my mom that contains condensed milk, sugar, whole milk and eggs doesn't really freeze in this. I found another recipe online that uses heavy cream, whole milk and sugar freezes good. Both recipes work better if the liquid is put in the fridge and allowed to get cold first.

JLU65
Chillicothe, MO
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Leaking blue liquid
2/7/2016

Customer review by A. Turner

1.0 stars 2/7/2016 by A. Turner
by A. Turner

I have only had my ice cream attachment for just over a year (I got it for Christmas last year). I haven't used it over but I noticed when I tried to use it this weekend there was blue liquid at the base and all over my freezer. I am surprised and dissappointed because I love Kitchenaid products and have never had a problem with them before.

A. Turner
New Orleans, LA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Does not work
2/8/2016

Customer review by DebbieD

1.0 stars 2/8/2016 by DebbieD
by DebbieD

Received for Christmas. Used for the first time for Super Bowl. The drive assembly does not attach to mixer it falls off no way to snap on or attach. The dasher an drive assembly come apart and thus dasher will no turn. Many problems

DebbieD
Springfield
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great price!
2/9/2016

Customer review by kicki22

5.0 stars 2/9/2016 by kicki22
by kicki22

This was $30 less than anywhere else I found it. It's authentic Kitchen Aid and works exactly as you'd expect a product from KitchenAid to work - you just pay less for it! I tried the lemon-orange gelato recipe in the booklet that comes with first and it worked beautifully.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kicki22
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Disappointing
1/23/2016

Customer review by Lisa L

1.0 stars 1/23/2016 by Lisa L
by Lisa L

This ice cream maker worked well enough at first, but small droplets of blue fluid started leaking out after a couple months. Since it was only a few drops, I didn't think too much of it at the time and put the ice cream maker away in a cabinet. However, when I picked up the ice cream maker today, it was sitting in a puddle of blue fluid. As it seems that nearly half of the coolant is now gone, I doubt it will work anymore. Its disappointing that the design of the ice cream maker is so flawed, especially since I love my kitchenaid mixer and other attachments. Unfortunately for me its also well past the warranty period.

Lisa L
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? No
Easy to use
2/5/2016

Customer review by Marion

5.0 stars 2/5/2016 by Marion
by Marion
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I received the ice cream maker as a Christmas gift. Since then I made ice cream twice. It took no time at all, and the ice cream was very good. I took the recipe out of the instruction manual, which was easy to follow, and the ice cream was very very rich.

Marion
West Columbia, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not Freezing
1/28/2016

Customer review by Marissa

1.0 stars 1/28/2016 by Marissa
by Marissa

I just got this attachment as a Christmas gift, and after freezing the bowl for 24 hours, it still does not freeze the icecream. At best, I end up with milkshake consistency. Your manual doesn't have a troubleshooting guide, so I'm not sure what I'm supposed to do. Also, people keep saying it leaks blue coolant. I haven't had that problem, but now I'm afraid. Please advise. Should I just return this and buy a stand-alone ice cream maker? Very frustrating.

Marissa
New Hampshire
Would recommend to a friend? No
Blue Liquid Problem Strikes Again!
8/12/2015

Customer review by Tiger Fan

1.0 stars 8/12/2015 by Tiger Fan
by Tiger Fan

I'm unfortunately joining the ranks of those who are experiencing blue liquid leaks from this unit. I found a ring of blue liquid on the surface of the shelf where I had stored it (a portion of the area is permanently stained now) from around the seam ring on the bottom of the unit, and on one of the protruding parts on the upper side, as well. There are no cracks visible. This is a frustrating development for sure. Of course, my unit is several years out of the warranty period, but, frankly, I expected it to last many more years, especially as I have been careful to treat it per instructions in the manual, and also because it is a product from a company known for durability and quality. It has produced many batches of ice cream, which my family looks forward to on special occasions. It is difficult to arrive at a rating when the unit becomes unexpectedly defective with what now appears to be a common problem. Otherwise, it made pretty good ice cream, although at times it seemed to be slow to freeze the mixture.

Tiger Fan
Maryland USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Leaking blue fluid
2/2/2016

Customer review by Lori

1.0 stars 2/2/2016 by Lori
by Lori

I received this product as a gift and was thrilled to start making homemade icecream. However, after 6 batches it started to leak blue fluid. I expect higher quality from KitchenAid.

Lori
Northfield, MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gift
1/27/2016

Customer review by Kitchenaide

5.0 stars 1/27/2016 by Kitchenaide
by Kitchenaide

This was a gift but I'm sure it's nothing less than amazing, after all it's a Kitchen Aide no matter where you buy it-

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kitchenaide
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Leaking blue fluid
1/24/2016

Customer review by Jessica

1.0 stars 1/24/2016 by Jessica
by Jessica

Got this attachment for Christmas and used it a few times... It is also leaking blue fluid. Very disappointed with this product. Wondering if there is a recall seeing that there is a lot of complaints about the same exact issue over and over.

Jessica
Tucson,az
Would recommend to a friend? No
I've been happy with this attachment
12/31/2015

Customer review by Elyse

4.0 stars 12/31/2015 by Elyse
by Elyse

Reading all the blue goo posts has got be a little spooked, though. I've had my ice cream maker attachment for about a year, and have enjoyed using it. After I use the frozen bowl to make ice cream, I let it sit on the kitchen counter on a towel to fully defrost before cleaning it with cold water and soap. I've never used warm water on it - cooling and heating that liquid inside just didn't seem like a good idea. I've given it four stars because it makes ice cream, but doesn't mix absolutely fabulously (I always add chocolate chips, etc., with a rubber spatula by hand), but I think that's the nature of a frozen bowl mixer. But it's definitely a solid "good" and fun to use.

Elyse
Hawaii
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect Creamy Icecream
11/6/2015

Customer review by AllyB

5.0 stars 11/6/2015 by AllyB
by AllyB

My husband has been asking for an ice cream maker for several years now, and 2 months ago, I went to Walmart to select one. I opted for this attachment for my KitchenAid because I love how well my KitchenAid works, and I love how simple it is to make ice cream. The bowl has to be frozen for hours before you make your ice cream, but I just put it in the freezer the night before we make ice cream. We have tried several of the recipes that came with the bowl, and the ice cream is always smooth, creamy, and delicious. It makes about a quart and a half of ice cream so it is perfect for our family of 6 for one sitting, but if there are less people, we simply store the ice cream in an air tight container in the freezer and it is good later too. Easy to use, easy to clean, ice cream is creamy and delicious so I would recommend to anyone who owns a Kitchen Aid! If you don't own one, buy that too!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AllyB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This works a lot better than I thought it would.
8/22/2011

Customer review by jj182RG

5.0 stars 8/22/2011 by jj182RG
by jj182RG

After reading a lot of reviews on the web about this item. I was not sure it would freeze the ice cream hard enough. Just to the contrary. It work very well. I mix up enough to eat for 2 people. Very happy with the unit. Wish I had bought one a long time ago. No more salt water to through out or ice to buy. I am just leaving the bowl in the freezer. I was planning on buying a ice cream machine for about $300 but ran across this as my mixer has just been setting on the counter doing nothing for several months. Already taking up space. Finally put it to use. jj / Fort Worth Tx.

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jj182RG
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Arrived with missing parts, won't connect to kitchen aid
1/9/2016

Customer review by Eddie Rodriguez

1.0 stars 1/9/2016 by Eddie Rodriguez
by Eddie Rodriguez

I bought this a few weeks ago. I prepped my first ice cream recipe and was very disappointed when trying to set up the maker. It arrived missing two parts and then when reading online it needs another special attachment to connect to my Kitchen aid professional 6000HD.

Eddie Rodriguez
Atlanta GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Leaking blue liquid
1/9/2016

Customer review by Meg

1.0 stars 1/9/2016 by Meg
by Meg

I bought this a year or more ago but have only used it about 2-3 times. I got it out today to use and it is leaking blue liquid. I found it didn't make hard ice cream but if you put the "ice cream" in the freezer after making it, it'll harden up.

Meg
Brooklyn, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
It was a hit with our dinner guests
3/2/2008

Customer review by RLittleFamily

4.0 stars 3/2/2008 by RLittleFamily
by RLittleFamily

We like the ice cream recipes that we've tried so far. A couple of down sides (besides the original purchase Price)I wish that it attached a little firmer to the kitchen Aid. & The two parts that do the churning show wear after only three uses, they will be needing replacement pretty quickly.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RLittleFamily
Homer, AK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
So sad
12/31/2015

Customer review by Desiree

1.0 stars 12/31/2015 by Desiree
by Desiree

Got this as a gift last Christmas along with my mixer. Got it out this Christmas while my kids were home to make ice cream. The top part will not push the paddle for longer then a couple minutes then it won't work. Started over 3x and made a huge mess but could not get it to work. I think I have used this 5 other times and had no problems. Poor design

Desiree
Gunter, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 154 total reviews
1-20 of 154 reviews