Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 426 reviews | 2.6 out of 5

2.5 stars

426 reviews | 2.6 out of 5

2.5 stars

426 reviews | 2.6 out of 5

38%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
107
4 stars
34
3 stars
42
2 stars
56
1 stars
187
1-20 of 422 total reviews
38%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 422 total reviews
1-20 of 422 reviews
Fabulous ice cream!!
3/1/2009

Customer review by IcecreamAddict

5.0 stars 3/1/2009 by IcecreamAddict
by IcecreamAddict

This ice cream maker makes the most wonderful home-made ice cream ever!! I found it very easy to use and just store it in my freezer so I can use it whenever the mood strikes me. One reviewer mentioned that you can buy a stand-alone maker for the same money, but I think those require that the bowl be frozen before use as well. I also purchased the Ben & Jerry's ice cream recipe book and have had lots of fun experimenting with new flavors or combinations. My original idea was that I could make delicious low-calorie desserts, but once I started on the Ben & Jerry's flavors - well - forget it!! I took one star off for "features" as I find it a bit messy to get the ice cream out of the bowl, but this is quite a minor inconvenience and my kids are always quite happy to lick the paddle off for me! I like that it fits any model of KitchenAid mixer. I have the bowl lift model and it works great. Highly recommended and WalMart has the best price! I only have one warning - be careful - it's addictive!

Was this review helpful? (44) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IcecreamAddict
Maple Falls, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Cooooooool
1/18/2008

Customer review by ElGordo

5.0 stars 1/18/2008 by ElGordo
by ElGordo
Top 25 contributor

This little thing works rather great. All you have to do is stuff the bucket in the freezer for 18 hours (yeah, plan your ice cream making 2 days in advance), then pour in the mix and stir. One note, it says it makes 2 quarts, and that's true, just remember that ice cream is 50% air. Put more than 1 qt of mix and you have what we in the ice cream biz call a mess. Also, the cheaper mixes and a faster mix will actually make a little more than 50% air. So just stick to the frozen custard mixes. Besides, the cheap stuff to make at home is even cheaper to buy off the shelf. For just a little more time and effort you can make your own Ben and Jerry's at home for less than $4 a pint. I did knock off a star for value because it really is quite expensive. You can buy a stand alone ice cream machine for about the same money. If you get this, it would be for the convenience of not having an extra machine lying around.

Was this review helpful? (49) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ElGordo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Top 25 contributor
Disapointed
7/3/2016

Customer review by Candice

1.0 stars 7/3/2016 by Candice
by Candice

I am sitting here getting ready for our family 4th of July celebration and was planning on surprising the family with some awesome homemade ice cream, however what I got instead was a freezer shelf full of blue goo, an ice cream base that is not freezing (due to no more cold blue goo inside of it) and then once I go to pour it out of the bowl I get blue goo in the ice cream. Needless to say, I am not a happy camper right now. I have used this item once since I have recievd it for a wedding gift 2 years ago and am now about on the verge of tears because of it. I am reading reviews from it now and am seeing that Kitcheaide does not seem to be very accomidating in exchanging this product. I am a long time faithful supporter of Kitchenaide and foodblogger/ vlogger and I can say right now that if this is not resolved in a favorable manner, my followers will not hear the end of it from me. I sure hope I am not further disappointed.

Candice
Orange
Would recommend to a friend? No
Wish it had better features
9/5/2016

Customer review by Tracy

3.0 stars 9/5/2016 by Tracy
by Tracy

I recieved this as a gift. I really wanted it. I have had this product for 7 years. I have found that i do not use it very often. I think i have only used it 2 times. In order to use this item, i have freeze it for a minimum of 15 hours prior to use. After doing so, i can only make one batch of tasty treats and then i have to wash and refreeze to use again. With all of the technology out there, i would think there would be a way of a programmed product that will freeze on its own with out having to freeze the product first. To top this off, i have to make a plan well in advance, so that i have room in my tiny freezer for the bowl. I would rather have a product that could be used on a whim with no preplanning

Tracy
Michigan
Disappointed
9/11/2016

Customer review by Ryan

1.0 stars 9/11/2016 by Ryan
by Ryan

We have only used our ice cream maker a few times and we discovered today that it is already leaking the blue fluid. It appears this is an issue for many others as well. Love our mixer, but extremely disappointed with the quality of this ice cream maker.

Ryan
Cedar Falls, IA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Leaked Blue Coolant
9/5/2016

Customer review by BHelmick

1.0 stars 9/5/2016 by BHelmick
by BHelmick

We used our bowl a handful of times and it worked well. We got it out yesterday to make ice cream for a get together and the ice cream just would not freeze. We then found blue coolant leaking from the bottom. We love KitchenAid products but definitely can't recommend this one. We are well outside our warranty, and have long since lost the receipt.

BHelmick
West Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Leaking blue coolant!
6/28/2016

Customer review by LKT

1.0 stars 6/28/2016 by LKT
by LKT

After following the use and cleaning guidelines for this ice cream maker perfectly, the bowl started leaking blue coolant after < 15 uses. After reading reviews from others about what appears to be a common problem, I contacted KitchenAid. I was told that since my ice cream maker is more than 1 year old, it is not under warranty and all that they can do is offer a slightly discounted new or refurbished ice cream maker. This is extremely disappointing. I am a loyal KitchenAid customer. I constantly rave about their products to others and have purchased stand mixers and ice cream makers to multiple family members and friends over the years. This ice cream maker does not live up to what I believe are the standards of the brand. With so many complaints of coolant leaks, how is this not being formally addressed by KitchenAid?! Coolant is toxic. This isn't an issue to be taken lightly.

LKT
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Terrible quality
9/9/2016

Customer review by Jacob

1.0 stars 9/9/2016 by Jacob
by Jacob

After using it maybe 5-6 times it started leaking blue coolant (which got all over my freezer).

Jacob
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Won't Freeze
9/3/2016

Customer review by Ashley

2.0 stars 9/3/2016 by Ashley
by Ashley

I bought this product about 3 months ago and have used it twice. Was dissatisfied in the fact my ice cream would never freeze. I feel it should have a lid to keep in the coolness. I feel I've wasted my money and time.

Ashley
McPherson, KS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Nothing Will Freeze
8/19/2016

Customer review by Carissa

1.0 stars 8/19/2016 by Carissa
by Carissa

I received this as a gift. I had very high hopes for this attachment. We have tried sherbert , peanut butter ice cream and plain vanilla. Nothing with freeze! The vanilla ice cream we have made in a traditional electric ice cream maker for years and it is no fail but it does not work in this attachment. Very disappointed! Very expensive for something that does not work.

Carissa
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Worked well until it didn't
8/22/2016

Customer review by NJ Home Cook

3.0 stars 8/22/2016 by NJ Home Cook
by NJ Home Cook

Received as a gift and used about 15 times, and then us started leaking blue coolant. Unable to continue using. I see others have had the same problem. It looks like Kitchenaid needs to work on this product.

NJ Home Cook
West Orange, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great at first, leaks now
8/20/2016

Customer review by Christie

2.0 stars 8/20/2016 by Christie
by Christie

This was amazing at first. We made many delicious batches of ice cream. Unfortunately, after about 10 uses or so, it now leaks blue liquid. It's been sitting on my shelf for years unused, but I would desperately love to start making ice cream again. I just don't trust this anymore :(

Christie
Seattle, wa
Would recommend to a friend? No
It was a hit with our dinner guests
3/2/2008

Customer review by RLittleFamily

4.0 stars 3/2/2008 by RLittleFamily
by RLittleFamily

We like the ice cream recipes that we've tried so far. A couple of down sides (besides the original purchase Price)I wish that it attached a little firmer to the kitchen Aid. & The two parts that do the churning show wear after only three uses, they will be needing replacement pretty quickly.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RLittleFamily
Homer, AK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Super easy to use!
8/7/2016

Customer review by GizmoGrl

4.0 stars 8/7/2016 by GizmoGrl
by GizmoGrl
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The ice cream maker attachment is super easy to use! After making my homemade ice cream I don't think I can ever go back to store bought ice cream, especially considering how easy it was to make. A couple of things that were the reason for my 4 star rating (vs. 5 stars:) - attaching the driver was not intuitive for me, especially since it didn't look like the picture in the manual and the manual didn't have good instructions. After looking through YouTube I figured it out. - not enough in the way of fruit ice cream recipes in the booklet but that's why there's the Internet. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

GizmoGrl
Asheville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A great company that backs up their product
7/20/2016

Customer review by John M

5.0 stars 7/20/2016 by John M
by John M

We were given this as a wedding gift in 2014. It was October so we were not able to use it until the following summer, 2015. We made wonderful ice cream with it. Blueberry, Peach, Bourbon Cherry, and of course plain vanilla. It was fantastic and we loved being able to enjoy ice cream made with simple ingredients. Imagine our dismay when we took it out and put it in the freezer only to find a small puddle of blue liquid on the bottom of the freezer. We followed all of the instructions to the letter so we called Kitchen Aid to see if they could do anything for us. I explained the timing, the fact that we had only used it for one season, that it was a wedding gift, and after answer a few question the agent ask me to hold for a moment to see what could be done. I fully expected her to come back and polity explain that it was too old to do anything about. However, she came back after only a minute, she apologized about it leaking, and informed me that they were sending us a new one free of charge. I was floored. Now I am sure this can't happen every time, and it should be know that we are on file as we own a lot of kitchen aid items and have tried to register them all. This was such a great example of above and beyond customer service. Thank You

John M
Philadelphia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Leaking Blue Fluid
8/21/2016

Customer review by Liz

1.0 stars 8/21/2016 by Liz
by Liz

I got this item a little over two years ago. This is the second time it's been put to use. Hand washed and left in dish drainer to dry overnight. In the morning, noticed blue liquid all over my counter top.

Liz
Canterbury, NH
Would recommend to a friend? No
This works a lot better than I thought it would.
8/22/2011

Customer review by jj182RG

5.0 stars 8/22/2011 by jj182RG
by jj182RG

After reading a lot of reviews on the web about this item. I was not sure it would freeze the ice cream hard enough. Just to the contrary. It work very well. I mix up enough to eat for 2 people. Very happy with the unit. Wish I had bought one a long time ago. No more salt water to through out or ice to buy. I am just leaving the bowl in the freezer. I was planning on buying a ice cream machine for about $300 but ran across this as my mixer has just been setting on the counter doing nothing for several months. Already taking up space. Finally put it to use. jj / Fort Worth Tx.

Was this review helpful? (20) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jj182RG
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So easy to use!
8/17/2016

Customer review by Spacle

5.0 stars 8/17/2016 by Spacle
by Spacle
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Got this for my birthday and I love it! Have made ice cream, sherbet and sorbet so far and it couldn't have been easier to use. Love it! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Spacle
Jensen Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Blue Liquid Problem Strikes Again!
8/12/2015

Customer review by Tiger Fan

1.0 stars 8/12/2015 by Tiger Fan
by Tiger Fan

I'm unfortunately joining the ranks of those who are experiencing blue liquid leaks from this unit. I found a ring of blue liquid on the surface of the shelf where I had stored it (a portion of the area is permanently stained now) from around the seam ring on the bottom of the unit, and on one of the protruding parts on the upper side, as well. There are no cracks visible. This is a frustrating development for sure. Of course, my unit is several years out of the warranty period, but, frankly, I expected it to last many more years, especially as I have been careful to treat it per instructions in the manual, and also because it is a product from a company known for durability and quality. It has produced many batches of ice cream, which my family looks forward to on special occasions. It is difficult to arrive at a rating when the unit becomes unexpectedly defective with what now appears to be a common problem. Otherwise, it made pretty good ice cream, although at times it seemed to be slow to freeze the mixture.

Tiger Fan
Maryland USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Blue Liquid Problem Strikes Again!
8/12/2015

Customer review by Tiger Fan

1.0 stars 8/12/2015 by Tiger Fan
by Tiger Fan

I'm unfortunately joining the ranks of those who are experiencing blue liquid leaks from this unit. I found a ring of blue liquid on the surface of the shelf where I had stored it (a portion of the area is permanently stained now) from around the seam ring on the bottom of the unit, and on one of the protruding parts on the upper side, as well. There are no cracks visible. This is a frustrating development for sure. Of course, my unit is several years out of the warranty period, but, frankly, I expected it to last many more years, especially as I have been careful to treat it per instructions in the manual, and also because it is a product from a company known for durability and quality. It has produced many batches of ice cream, which my family looks forward to on special occasions. It is difficult to arrive at a rating when the unit becomes unexpectedly defective with what now appears to be a common problem. Otherwise, it made pretty good ice cream, although at times it seemed to be slow to freeze the mixture.

Tiger Fan
Maryland USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 422 total reviews
1-20 of 422 reviews