Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 481 reviews | 2.6 out of 5

2.5 stars

481 reviews | 2.6 out of 5

2.5 stars

481 reviews | 2.6 out of 5

39%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
127
4 stars
37
3 stars
46
2 stars
66
1 stars
205
1-20 of 477 total reviews
39%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 477 total reviews
1-20 of 477 reviews
Fabulous.
12/2/2016

Customer review by Llindalu

5.0 stars 12/2/2016 by Llindalu
by Llindalu

I have two of these ice cream makers. They have made the best homemade ice cream desserts my family and friends have ever had. I've owned them for many years and they are still performing beautifully. Following the directions helps tremendously, such as starting mixer stirring before adding the ice cream batter. Also, stopping the stirring process when the ice cream has mounded up in the freezer bowl and moving it to containers to finish setting up prevents the mixer from laboring. These bowls and attachments fit and work with both my 6 qt and 7 qt bowl lift kitchenaid mixers. The attachment was a little askew with the newer 7 qt and Kitchenaid Small Appliance department provided a newer adaptor and now everything works smoothly. I keep both bowls in the freezer all the time so they're always ready to make the next batch. Having two is very handy so that I can make two different flavors on any occasion without waiting for the bowl to refreeze. Thank you Kitchenaid customer service for always being extremely helpful.

Llindalu
Salem, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Frustrated and disappointed
2/5/2017

Customer review by KH

1.0 stars 2/5/2017 by KH
by KH

Firstly I would like say that I am big fan of Kitchen Aid appliance, unfortunately the ice cream maker is the most frustrating and disappointing appliance. The parts are tricky to put on and if you do not get the right fit, when you turn it on it starts to jolt, which if you are not careful, can cause the small metal ends on the Drive Assembly to come out of place. Secondly if the mix is too thick this will also cause the parts to come out of place and then it is impossible to continue as the Dasher will not fit properly in the bowl. Wha I find the most frustrating is that you cannot stop during the churnning process to stir in any of the mixture that is at the top of the bowl as again this will cause the parts to come out of place.

KH
London
Would recommend to a friend? No
Appalling dasher design - won't let me give zero stars!
2/15/2017

Customer review by DNA_VA

1.0 stars 2/15/2017 by DNA_VA
by DNA_VA

I bought this and it failed the second time I used it. The square drive shaft twists in the plastic and then jams. The pictures now show what looks like a different dasher design, so I guess that Kitchenaid worked out it had a problem, but can't find spare parts anywhere and I'm not going to spend another $90 to have it fail again on me.

DNA_VA
Oakton, Va
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ice cream maker leaking bluish liquid
2/12/2017

Customer review by KarminD

2.0 stars 2/12/2017 by KarminD
by KarminD

I've had my ice cream maker for almost two years. I take very good care of it. I always store it properly when not in use. Today I pulled it out, after not using it for a few months and was disappointed to see it had blue stains all over it and that it was leaking. I have many kitchenaid products and love them all. I'm very disappointed that the ice cream maker is defected and sad to see that other customers have had the same issue.

KarminD
San Antonio, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Leaks blue liquid
1/28/2017

Customer review by Bernadette M

3.0 stars 1/28/2017 by Bernadette M
by Bernadette M

I put the bowl in my freezer Thursday evening and used the mixer Saturday afternoon. There was blue liquid on the outside of it, so I wiped it off and made my ice cream thinking it would be okay. The ice cream froze nicely, but more blue stuff leaked out while I was pouring the ice cream into the container. Some dripped into my ice cream. I think I scooped out all the blue drips. Is the blue liquid poisonous?! The ice cream maker works great, but after reading the reviews, I'm going to buy another brand or make it using Ziploc bags, ice, and rock salt. ( the cheap method that works great!)

Bernadette M
New York
Would recommend to a friend? No
Don't bother
2/9/2017

Customer review by Grandma Mel

1.0 stars 2/9/2017 by Grandma Mel
by Grandma Mel

I received this as a Christmas present and absolutely loved it until the dasher quit fitting into the housing piece so I had to continually stop the machine and reset the pieces. It started happening maybe the eighth time I used it. I can't find a replacement part.

Grandma Mel
Albuquerque
Love it ❤
2/7/2017

Customer review by Fatinha

5.0 stars 2/7/2017 by Fatinha
by Fatinha
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I got the Ice cream attachment for Christmas and I made Strawberry Banana Ice Cream to try it out and since then I've been making fruit sherbet because is healthier. Me and my 3 year old grandson love to make them. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Fatinha
San Tan Valley, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Broke quickly
2/3/2017

Customer review by M. Barella

1.0 stars 2/3/2017 by M. Barella
by M. Barella

I received this as a wedding gift and after only 3 uses, it cracked and started leaking the blue liquid from inside. After reading all the info online, I guess it's done and I have to throw it away. Shameful that someone would spend that kind of money on a wedding gift and have it break so quickly. That is $33.00 per batch.

M. Barella
Denver, Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? No
Can't wait for strawberry picking season
1/13/2017

Customer review by Swede

5.0 stars 1/13/2017 by Swede
by Swede

First time I made honey vanilla ice cream it did not solidify right but that was because I did not get the attachment cold enough. This time I wrapped the attachment in two plastic bags and set it on the patio table in the bag yard in the snow. I did this two days ago as we were getting an artic blast in Northern Wisconsin. Then prior to bringing in the attachment I blended the ingredients and covered the bowl with foil and set that out in the snow for 30 minutes. I used only heart of lakes cream and milk for ingredients because the quality is better. it went to soft serve halfway through the mix. What a treat for friends coming over for the Packer game tomarrow.

Swede
Rhinelander, Wis.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This Is Amazing
1/15/2017

Customer review by Hudson's Girl

5.0 stars 1/15/2017 by Hudson's Girl
by Hudson's Girl
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My husband bought this ice cream maker for me as a Christmas gift. I myself have never made ice cream so I was pretty sure I'd mess it up somehow. I will say, I read the booklet that came with the bowl and made the vanilla ice cream first. You know, something easy. I followed the directions making my ice cream batter and after it chilled for hours in the frig I took out the bowl from the freezer and quite easily attached it to the Kitchen Aid mixer stand. (I did have my husband check it to make sure I did it right.) At this point, all I had to do was pour the batter into the bowl and watch the cream thicken before my eyes. The secret is the bowl's insulated gel. After 15-20 minutes its ready to pour into a freezer safe bowl to ripen (harden) for a couple of hours. Some hours later I whipped the bowl out to divvy up some ice cream, (thinking all I did was make ice milk) and boy was I impressed! Kitchen Aid you did it again! This ice cream was like I just turned my kitchen into a parlor. No joke. Sure it takes a few hours from start to finish, but most of that is just making the batter, then freeze time...but the ice cream is absolutely delicious. I even made a chocolate gelato ice cream. If you are considering an ice cream maker, this is it! I'm telling you, this is the real deal where ice cream is concerned. You won't be disappointed. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Hudson's Girl
Bedford, Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Broke after second use
1/23/2017

Customer review by Robira

1.0 stars 1/23/2017 by Robira
by Robira

We bought this as soon as we got our kitchenaid mixer to save space not buying a separate ice cream maker. Blue liquid started leaking from a little handle that attaches to the mixer. Which makes sense cause it requires a super hard pushing of the ice cream maker into the mixer. And the maker itself is plastic. No wonder it broke. I'd recommend going for a separate ice cream maker.

Robira
Santa clarity,Ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
So disappointed
1/14/2017

Customer review by Jamie V

2.0 stars 1/14/2017 by Jamie V
by Jamie V

I have had this component for 1 year. I've made 6 batches of ice cream and each time I feel like I'm on borrowed time. The plastic components finally showed their true colors. Made a batch where the mix was a little thicker and...skip, skip, strip...no traction on the parts. Now what am I supposed to do? My freezer bowl hasn't started leaking and now I can't use it. Not sure what I can do but could have predicted this. The instructions that came with it don't even describe the parts I have.

Jamie V
Parkville, MD
Came with the wrong parts
1/6/2017

Customer review by Keri

1.0 stars 1/6/2017 by Keri
by Keri

Received this as a gift from my daughter, made my mix for blueberry gelato and when I went to attach it to my mixer it doesn't fit. Really bummed out now. Wrong attachment.I went online to found out what the problem was and then I read all of the reviews. Very disappointing KitchenAid. So I am going to put it back in the box, send it back to my daughter ( we live in different states) and tell her to get her money back.What a waste of our time AND our money having to ship it back and forth. I was so looking forward to my gelato tonight. Now I have to throw it out. What a waste of my food.

Keri
Gautier, MS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Quality Issues Leaking Blue Internal Fluid
1/3/2017

Customer review by Stephen

2.0 stars 1/3/2017 by Stephen
by Stephen

I bought this ice cream maker attachment, and it makes ice cream well. However, after minimal use, it developed a small crack at one of the non-handle flanges and it leaked blue internal fluid in our freezer rendering it useless (see attached image of crack and traces of blue fluid after clean up). We handle the product well, and let it get to room temperature before washing, so it shouldn't be due to a sudden temperature change. Looking at other reviews, the blue fluid leaks pretty consistently for others after a short time too, so it must be a design or manufacturing flaw. Look elsewhere for a long term ice cream maker.

Stephen
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Works easily.
1/16/2017

Customer review by Lauralea3

5.0 stars 1/16/2017 by Lauralea3
by Lauralea3
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Simple recipe, simple instruction, great ice cream. I received this ice cream maker for Christmas and in 2 weeks have made ice cream 4 times ,turns out great every time jade a dessert night new years day ,everyone enjoyed. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Lauralea3
Rochester, N.Y.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Super easy
1/19/2017

Customer review by Ned

5.0 stars 1/19/2017 by Ned
by Ned
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Was a gift and love it. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Ned
San Jose Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
We used to love this accessory
1/9/2017

Customer review by Adi Gil80

1.0 stars 1/9/2017 by Adi Gil80
by Adi Gil80

We purchased this about 2 years ago and loved it. We were very careful not to drop it and always let it warm to room temperature before hand washing. We noticed 6 months ago a trickle of the blue liquid inside was starting to leak from it. Now it's full-on leaking all over the place. We're really disappointed because up until now we've enjoyed using it. A one year warranty on this product isn't long enough.

Adi Gil80
Lake Zurich, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
A few uses and now the ice cream maker is leaking.
1/15/2017

Customer review by LPo

1.0 stars 1/15/2017 by LPo
by LPo

I've used my ice cream maker a few times, but it is now leaking a bluish fluid. Not worth the purchase price.

LPo
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Love it
1/13/2017

Customer review by Shana

5.0 stars 1/13/2017 by Shana
by Shana
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The first time I used it the plastic parts did not want to turn but when I finally got them to turn the ice cream turned out great we will not be buying ice cream from the stores anymore [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Shana
Montrose mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Blue Liquid Problem Strikes Again!
8/12/2015

Customer review by Tiger Fan

1.0 stars 8/12/2015 by Tiger Fan
by Tiger Fan

I'm unfortunately joining the ranks of those who are experiencing blue liquid leaks from this unit. I found a ring of blue liquid on the surface of the shelf where I had stored it (a portion of the area is permanently stained now) from around the seam ring on the bottom of the unit, and on one of the protruding parts on the upper side, as well. There are no cracks visible. This is a frustrating development for sure. Of course, my unit is several years out of the warranty period, but, frankly, I expected it to last many more years, especially as I have been careful to treat it per instructions in the manual, and also because it is a product from a company known for durability and quality. It has produced many batches of ice cream, which my family looks forward to on special occasions. It is difficult to arrive at a rating when the unit becomes unexpectedly defective with what now appears to be a common problem. Otherwise, it made pretty good ice cream, although at times it seemed to be slow to freeze the mixture.

Tiger Fan
Maryland USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 477 total reviews
1-20 of 477 reviews