Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 94 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

94 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

94 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

54%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
40
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
8
1 stars
34
1-20 of 90 total reviews
54%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 90 total reviews
1-20 of 90 reviews
Cooooooool
1/18/2008

Customer review by ElGordo

5.0 stars 1/18/2008 by ElGordo
by ElGordo

This little thing works rather great. All you have to do is stuff the bucket in the freezer for 18 hours (yeah, plan your ice cream making 2 days in advance), then pour in the mix and stir. One note, it says it makes 2 quarts, and that's true, just remember that ice cream is 50% air. Put more than 1 qt of mix and you have what we in the ice cream biz call a mess. Also, the cheaper mixes and a faster mix will actually make a little more than 50% air. So just stick to the frozen custard mixes. Besides, the cheap stuff to make at home is even cheaper to buy off the shelf. For just a little more time and effort you can make your own Ben and Jerry's at home for less than $4 a pint. I did knock off a star for value because it really is quite expensive. You can buy a stand alone ice cream machine for about the same money. If you get this, it would be for the convenience of not having an extra machine lying around.

Was this review helpful? (38) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ElGordo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Top 25 contributor
Fabulous ice cream!!
3/1/2009

Customer review by IcecreamAddict

5.0 stars 3/1/2009 by IcecreamAddict
by IcecreamAddict

This ice cream maker makes the most wonderful home-made ice cream ever!! I found it very easy to use and just store it in my freezer so I can use it whenever the mood strikes me. One reviewer mentioned that you can buy a stand-alone maker for the same money, but I think those require that the bowl be frozen before use as well. I also purchased the Ben & Jerry's ice cream recipe book and have had lots of fun experimenting with new flavors or combinations. My original idea was that I could make delicious low-calorie desserts, but once I started on the Ben & Jerry's flavors - well - forget it!! I took one star off for "features" as I find it a bit messy to get the ice cream out of the bowl, but this is quite a minor inconvenience and my kids are always quite happy to lick the paddle off for me! I like that it fits any model of KitchenAid mixer. I have the bowl lift model and it works great. Highly recommended and WalMart has the best price! I only have one warning - be careful - it's addictive!

Was this review helpful? (34) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IcecreamAddict
Maple Falls, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
This works a lot better than I thought it would.
8/22/2011

Customer review by jj182RG

5.0 stars 8/22/2011 by jj182RG
by jj182RG

After reading a lot of reviews on the web about this item. I was not sure it would freeze the ice cream hard enough. Just to the contrary. It work very well. I mix up enough to eat for 2 people. Very happy with the unit. Wish I had bought one a long time ago. No more salt water to through out or ice to buy. I am just leaving the bowl in the freezer. I was planning on buying a ice cream machine for about $300 but ran across this as my mixer has just been setting on the counter doing nothing for several months. Already taking up space. Finally put it to use. jj / Fort Worth Tx.

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jj182RG
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Super
4/26/2010

Customer review by JDJ23

5.0 stars 4/26/2010 by JDJ23
by JDJ23

What can I say. My wife loves it and if she is happy I am happy. You still have to freeze your icecream after mixing if you want a more solid product but, overall it is a very good product and works very well. Be sure to follow the directions as the mixture will expand alot during the mixing process.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JDJ23
Alachua, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
love it!
7/13/2009

Customer review by AngellasSweetTreats

5.0 stars 7/13/2009 by AngellasSweetTreats
by AngellasSweetTreats

This ice cream maker is the best. I like to keep the bowl in the freezer just incase I feel like making sweets! The recipies in the book come out great also!! I recommend using mostly real whipecream in many of them for the extra extra goodness. Anyways the bowl is a sinch to use, so much easier than the whole ice and salt method other machines use. Def. something anyone with a kitchenaid should pickup if they love ice cream!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AngellasSweetTreats
Chico, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
It was a hit with our dinner guests
3/2/2008

Customer review by RLittleFamily

4.0 stars 3/2/2008 by RLittleFamily
by RLittleFamily

We like the ice cream recipes that we've tried so far. A couple of down sides (besides the original purchase Price)I wish that it attached a little firmer to the kitchen Aid. & The two parts that do the churning show wear after only three uses, they will be needing replacement pretty quickly.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RLittleFamily
Homer, AK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
WOW ! I love it !
3/27/2012

Customer review by irronman

5.0 stars 3/27/2012 by irronman
by irronman

#1 , this cost so much less from Wal-Mart.com , i was going to by this from the kitchenaid web site but seen it cheaper here, My kids and husband LOVE the home made ice cream i make from using this product, the ice cream taste so much better then the store brand and at least i KNOW what is in MY ice cream lol, i put in about 5 ingredients and when you buy it from a store you have about 20-30 ingredients and most of them you cant even pronounce . I will chose this product every time ! NO MORE STORE BOUGHT ICE CREAM FOR MY FAMILY !!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
irronman
Calera AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Good ice cream maker
8/14/2012

Customer review by LadyWithCats

5.0 stars 8/14/2012 by LadyWithCats
by LadyWithCats

I purchased this ice cream maker because I do not like having to use ones that require a lot of time and I have to use bags of ice. This ice cream maker meets my expectations and I am pleased with it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LadyWithCats
Rogers, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Easy to use
6/12/2012

Customer review by momof2ats

5.0 stars 6/12/2012 by momof2ats
by momof2ats

Have made several batches and it is super easy to use. So easy to put on mixer and use- My kids can do it by themselves!! I keep it stored in the freezer so it can be used at anytime. I bought the Ben and Jerrys ice cream book also.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
momof2ats
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Best ice cream
11/7/2009

Customer review by TvS123

5.0 stars 11/7/2009 by TvS123
by TvS123

Better taste than Haagen-dazs and I know whats in it. So far I only tried vanilla and it was reasonably easy to make. Wish they supplied more receipes like banana or pineapple.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TvS123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
WOw what a wonderful product
7/28/2009

Customer review by Sunnyyie

5.0 stars 7/28/2009 by Sunnyyie
by Sunnyyie

WE enjoy this ice cream bowl and are keeping in the refreeze all the time now so make ice cream every third day. My daughter loves it better than store bought ice cream.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sunnyyie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product
1/10/2011

Customer review by Sma11Fry

4.0 stars 1/10/2011 by Sma11Fry
by Sma11Fry

This is a great addition to the Kitchen Aid Mixer. The icecream recipe is simple and tastes great! My only complaint is the amount of time it takes to freeze the bowl 15+ hours.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sma11Fry
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
1/10/2012

Customer review by ChefHug

4.0 stars 1/10/2012 by ChefHug
by ChefHug

Works great. Can make ice cream almost any time any where.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChefHug
Idaho Falls, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Ice Cream maker
5/29/2008

Customer review by Sharone

4.0 stars 5/29/2008 by Sharone
by Sharone

This is great if you plan ahead. We did and the ice cream was great.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sharone
El Paso, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
i scream we all scream for ice cream
5/24/2008

Customer review by pixie2

1.0 stars 5/24/2008 by pixie2
by pixie2

This Kitchenaid ice cream maker is very dissappointing. Its very inconvenient to use. The fact you have to place some ingredients into a shallow pan and slightly freeze it before starting is cumbersome. Trying to transfer the ingredients into the maker is sloppy at best. Bought this as a gift for my mom she thought it would be great to have . She loves all her other kitchen aid attachments. This is truly a waste of a significant amount of money in comparison to other ice cream makers.

Was this review helpful? (9) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pixie2
Westville, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Preparation time estimate is misleading
8/1/2012

Customer review by GrandmotherV

1.0 stars 8/1/2012 by GrandmotherV
by GrandmotherV

I am embarrassed that I sent this to the grandchildren as a gift. The product information boasts that it will only take 15 or 20 minutes to prepare homemade ice cream. However, the fine print tells another story. This product requires 15 hours of chilling BEFORE the 15 to 20 minutes of prep time. I would not have purchased this item if I had known how long it took to get it ready to use.

Was this review helpful? (7) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GrandmotherV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great product-I'll never use ice and salt again!
3/17/2014

Customer review by Mb4932

5.0 stars 3/17/2014 by Mb4932
by Mb4932

I was so pleased with the outcome of my ice cream. But, remember, you MUST freeze the bowl for the recommended hours and the ice cream batter has to be chilled as directed for the ultimate results. I used my old standing recipe for my ice cream measuring the 46 oz maximum capacity for the batter. It expands as it freezes and you will get almost 2 quarts of finished ice cream. It keeps in your freezer for several weeks if you need to make it ahead of time. It is a WONDERFUL product and so easy to use!! I love it!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mb4932
Atlanta, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Junk
8/13/2013

Customer review by Pepper2013

1.0 stars 8/13/2013 by Pepper2013
by Pepper2013

Order one for grandson for when he was down opened it /it was broke called Walmart to replace /received the second one broke and sent it back Junk junk junk

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pepper2013
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
waste of ice cream products
3/16/2008

Customer review by louisianapie

1.0 stars 3/16/2008 by louisianapie
by louisianapie

I followed directions several times and it never made my ice cream or sorbet. Cheaper to get ice cream off of the shelf. Less headache....

Was this review helpful? (4) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
louisianapie
Cedar Hill, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
great ice-cream maker
4/19/2014

Customer review by snowbluz

5.0 stars 4/19/2014 by snowbluz
by snowbluz

Love this ice-cream maker, very easy to use, just remember to put it in the freezer before making any ice-cream. I put it in the freezer all the time so it comes in handy for use anytime.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
snowbluz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 90 total reviews
1-20 of 90 reviews