Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 442 reviews | 2.6 out of 5

2.5 stars

442 reviews | 2.6 out of 5

2.5 stars

442 reviews | 2.6 out of 5

39%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
112
4 stars
36
3 stars
43
2 stars
59
1 stars
192
1-20 of 438 total reviews
39%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 438 total reviews
1-20 of 438 reviews
Fabulous.
12/2/2016

Customer review by Llindalu

5.0 stars 12/2/2016 by Llindalu
by Llindalu

I have two of these ice cream makers. They have made the best homemade ice cream desserts my family and friends have ever had. I've owned them for many years and they are still performing beautifully. Following the directions helps tremendously, such as starting mixer stirring before adding the ice cream batter. Also, stopping the stirring process when the ice cream has mounded up in the freezer bowl and moving it to containers to finish setting up prevents the mixer from laboring. These bowls and attachments fit and work with both my 6 qt and 7 qt bowl lift kitchenaid mixers. The attachment was a little askew with the newer 7 qt and Kitchenaid Small Appliance department provided a newer adaptor and now everything works smoothly. I keep both bowls in the freezer all the time so they're always ready to make the next batch. Having two is very handy so that I can make two different flavors on any occasion without waiting for the bowl to refreeze. Thank you Kitchenaid customer service for always being extremely helpful.

Llindalu
Salem, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fabulous ice cream!!
3/1/2009

Customer review by IcecreamAddict

5.0 stars 3/1/2009 by IcecreamAddict
by IcecreamAddict

This ice cream maker makes the most wonderful home-made ice cream ever!! I found it very easy to use and just store it in my freezer so I can use it whenever the mood strikes me. One reviewer mentioned that you can buy a stand-alone maker for the same money, but I think those require that the bowl be frozen before use as well. I also purchased the Ben & Jerry's ice cream recipe book and have had lots of fun experimenting with new flavors or combinations. My original idea was that I could make delicious low-calorie desserts, but once I started on the Ben & Jerry's flavors - well - forget it!! I took one star off for "features" as I find it a bit messy to get the ice cream out of the bowl, but this is quite a minor inconvenience and my kids are always quite happy to lick the paddle off for me! I like that it fits any model of KitchenAid mixer. I have the bowl lift model and it works great. Highly recommended and WalMart has the best price! I only have one warning - be careful - it's addictive!

Was this review helpful? (45) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IcecreamAddict
Maple Falls, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Cooooooool
1/18/2008

Customer review by ElGordo

5.0 stars 1/18/2008 by ElGordo
by ElGordo
Top 25 contributor

This little thing works rather great. All you have to do is stuff the bucket in the freezer for 18 hours (yeah, plan your ice cream making 2 days in advance), then pour in the mix and stir. One note, it says it makes 2 quarts, and that's true, just remember that ice cream is 50% air. Put more than 1 qt of mix and you have what we in the ice cream biz call a mess. Also, the cheaper mixes and a faster mix will actually make a little more than 50% air. So just stick to the frozen custard mixes. Besides, the cheap stuff to make at home is even cheaper to buy off the shelf. For just a little more time and effort you can make your own Ben and Jerry's at home for less than $4 a pint. I did knock off a star for value because it really is quite expensive. You can buy a stand alone ice cream machine for about the same money. If you get this, it would be for the convenience of not having an extra machine lying around.

Was this review helpful? (50) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ElGordo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Top 25 contributor
Bad design
11/24/2016

Customer review by DanK

1.0 stars 11/24/2016 by DanK
by DanK

We worked a great deal of the evening trying to get this to work. There is no way that there can be enough tension on the beater to keep this mixing, especially when the mix begins to freeze. It just starts skipping and stripping the plastic which are great little things to have in your mix. Very disappointing for a brand with such a good reputation.

DanK
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ice Cream Maker Leaked Blue Liquid after only three uses
11/25/2016

Customer review by Kris

2.0 stars 11/25/2016 by Kris
by Kris

I love my Kitchen Aid mixer and use it often, however this particular attachment did not last. It was gifted a few years back so is out of warranty, but was only used 3 times and leaked blue liquid all over the freezer and onto anything it touched. Sadly it had to be thrown away.

Kris
Austin,TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Leaking blue liquid
11/20/2016

Customer review by Mj

1.0 stars 11/20/2016 by Mj
by Mj

I bought this attachment and used it maybe twice. I then found blue liquid in my pantry coming from the base leaking. I emailed the company with no response. I threw it in the trash yesterday after keeping it broken for over a year. Thanks Kitchenaid

Mj
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? No
Makes delicious Ice Cream
11/1/2016

Customer review by Char

5.0 stars 11/1/2016 by Char
by Char
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased the Ice cream maker last month for my Kitchenaid stand mixer. So far I made fabulous creamy vanilla and chocolate Ice cream. I loved the idea of making fresh homemade Ice cream for my family, including, adding fruit into the mix-- strawberries, raspberries, peaches or in the summer I grow blackberries will make it even better!! Kitchenaid makes durable products which I recently also purchased food grinder and the rotor slicer/shredder attachments for my 6 qt. stand mixer which I had for many years. I'm very pleased I purchased all of them making it faster to make any meals and I find I can attach them to my mixer very easily. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Char
Utica, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Disapointed
7/3/2016

Customer review by Candice

1.0 stars 7/3/2016 by Candice
by Candice

I am sitting here getting ready for our family 4th of July celebration and was planning on surprising the family with some awesome homemade ice cream, however what I got instead was a freezer shelf full of blue goo, an ice cream base that is not freezing (due to no more cold blue goo inside of it) and then once I go to pour it out of the bowl I get blue goo in the ice cream. Needless to say, I am not a happy camper right now. I have used this item once since I have recievd it for a wedding gift 2 years ago and am now about on the verge of tears because of it. I am reading reviews from it now and am seeing that Kitcheaide does not seem to be very accomidating in exchanging this product. I am a long time faithful supporter of Kitchenaide and foodblogger/ vlogger and I can say right now that if this is not resolved in a favorable manner, my followers will not hear the end of it from me. I sure hope I am not further disappointed.

Candice
Orange
Would recommend to a friend? No
Amazing
11/9/2016

Customer review by Vicky

5.0 stars 11/9/2016 by Vicky
by Vicky
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought this item a few weeks ago....works fantastic I love my kitchenaid stand mixer and its attachments highly reccomend this product. A+++ [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Vicky
Burlington, VT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It was a hit with our dinner guests
3/2/2008

Customer review by RLittleFamily

4.0 stars 3/2/2008 by RLittleFamily
by RLittleFamily

We like the ice cream recipes that we've tried so far. A couple of down sides (besides the original purchase Price)I wish that it attached a little firmer to the kitchen Aid. & The two parts that do the churning show wear after only three uses, they will be needing replacement pretty quickly.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RLittleFamily
Homer, AK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Love it
11/4/2016

Customer review by Charchar

5.0 stars 11/4/2016 by Charchar
by Charchar
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We bought this ice cream attachment to make healthy homemade ice cream. We froze the bowl in our deep freezer overnight and it worked great the next day. The book comes with several recipes to try. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Charchar
Syracuse, ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not quite ice cream...
10/20/2016

Customer review by Deborah

2.0 stars 10/20/2016 by Deborah
by Deborah

I have had this now for a few years. I have tried and tried to get a good freeze from this but it does not quite work as expected. I freeze the bowl overnight, chill my mix and when I go to make ice cream or sorbet I get to the slush phase, but, nothing beyond that. I then freeze it and it gets icy. No smooth creamy ice cream. I am looking for a new solution. Too bad it was such a waste of money. I would expect a much higher quality item from Kitchenaid. This is the only tool of theirs I have been disapointed in.

Deborah
Rockville, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
This works a lot better than I thought it would.
8/22/2011

Customer review by jj182RG

5.0 stars 8/22/2011 by jj182RG
by jj182RG

After reading a lot of reviews on the web about this item. I was not sure it would freeze the ice cream hard enough. Just to the contrary. It work very well. I mix up enough to eat for 2 people. Very happy with the unit. Wish I had bought one a long time ago. No more salt water to through out or ice to buy. I am just leaving the bowl in the freezer. I was planning on buying a ice cream machine for about $300 but ran across this as my mixer has just been setting on the counter doing nothing for several months. Already taking up space. Finally put it to use. jj / Fort Worth Tx.

Was this review helpful? (20) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jj182RG
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fun and a wee bit inconvenient
10/14/2016

Customer review by Weim Mom

4.0 stars 10/14/2016 by Weim Mom
by Weim Mom

Clean out the freezer and plan ahead. You need to have frozen the attachment for 15 hours before using. And, after you make it, freeze the result if you like ice cream more firm than soft serve. That being said, it's awesome. I've had this for about 10 months and make a batch every week or two. We're crazy for the lemon sorbet. Don't try to fake maple with Mrs. Butterworth's - use real syrup. And have a blast with the recipes in the book, more online and in cookbooks. It's fun and tasty...if you plan ahead. I store mine in the freezer now so I'm always ready.

Weim Mom
Georgia
Bad mechanical drive design
10/23/2016

Customer review by Marvin

1.0 stars 10/23/2016 by Marvin
by Marvin

The drive adapter/mechanism is not a good fit and can't "push" through the thickening mix. I have tried 6 batches and only one got even close to ice cream before the drive head couldn't handle the pressure and started "skipping" and then just about destroyed itself. The mixer head was pushing against the head lock and almost destroyed itself. So unfortunate.

Marvin
Portland, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? No
Blue Liquid Problem Strikes Again!
8/12/2015

Customer review by Tiger Fan

1.0 stars 8/12/2015 by Tiger Fan
by Tiger Fan

I'm unfortunately joining the ranks of those who are experiencing blue liquid leaks from this unit. I found a ring of blue liquid on the surface of the shelf where I had stored it (a portion of the area is permanently stained now) from around the seam ring on the bottom of the unit, and on one of the protruding parts on the upper side, as well. There are no cracks visible. This is a frustrating development for sure. Of course, my unit is several years out of the warranty period, but, frankly, I expected it to last many more years, especially as I have been careful to treat it per instructions in the manual, and also because it is a product from a company known for durability and quality. It has produced many batches of ice cream, which my family looks forward to on special occasions. It is difficult to arrive at a rating when the unit becomes unexpectedly defective with what now appears to be a common problem. Otherwise, it made pretty good ice cream, although at times it seemed to be slow to freeze the mixture.

Tiger Fan
Maryland USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Blue Liquid Problem Strikes Again!
8/12/2015

Customer review by Tiger Fan

1.0 stars 8/12/2015 by Tiger Fan
by Tiger Fan

I'm unfortunately joining the ranks of those who are experiencing blue liquid leaks from this unit. I found a ring of blue liquid on the surface of the shelf where I had stored it (a portion of the area is permanently stained now) from around the seam ring on the bottom of the unit, and on one of the protruding parts on the upper side, as well. There are no cracks visible. This is a frustrating development for sure. Of course, my unit is several years out of the warranty period, but, frankly, I expected it to last many more years, especially as I have been careful to treat it per instructions in the manual, and also because it is a product from a company known for durability and quality. It has produced many batches of ice cream, which my family looks forward to on special occasions. It is difficult to arrive at a rating when the unit becomes unexpectedly defective with what now appears to be a common problem. Otherwise, it made pretty good ice cream, although at times it seemed to be slow to freeze the mixture.

Tiger Fan
Maryland USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Leaking blue coolant
9/19/2016

Customer review by Amanda

2.0 stars 9/19/2016 by Amanda
by Amanda

I received this as a gift 2 years ago and initially loved it. It churned really soft creamy ice cream and I loved being able to make my own flavors despite the hassle of finding room in the freezer for the bowl. We made ice cream about 10 times in the past 2 summers. About a month ago, we noticed the bowl would leak a little bit of blue fluid as the ice cream was churning and the bowl warmed up; our solution was to keep the bowl permanently in the freezer so that we could keep making ice cream for the rest of the summer. Now that the summer's over I don't think I can use this again as it has lost too much of the coolant. Will be throwing this away and looking for a better replacement elsewhere.

Amanda
Orange, CT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Having lots of troubles
9/26/2016

Customer review by quirru

1.0 stars 9/26/2016 by quirru
by quirru

I love the ice cream maker machine, the thing is the piece that goes into de mixer and makes the machine move, does NOT fit in the mixer head, only once I was able to fit it all crooked and did an ice cream that came out pretty good, after that day, that took me forever to fit it, I haven't been able to do it again.I bought it in Mexico and they can not change the little part for me and here they don't ship outside USA, I don´t even know if they can ship just the piece. So, it is a great machine, just be careful when you buy it to be sure the pice fix your mixer..now I have a machine that can not use!! too sad!!

quirru
Mexico
Leaking blue coolant!
6/28/2016

Customer review by LKT

1.0 stars 6/28/2016 by LKT
by LKT

After following the use and cleaning guidelines for this ice cream maker perfectly, the bowl started leaking blue coolant after < 15 uses. After reading reviews from others about what appears to be a common problem, I contacted KitchenAid. I was told that since my ice cream maker is more than 1 year old, it is not under warranty and all that they can do is offer a slightly discounted new or refurbished ice cream maker. This is extremely disappointing. I am a loyal KitchenAid customer. I constantly rave about their products to others and have purchased stand mixers and ice cream makers to multiple family members and friends over the years. This ice cream maker does not live up to what I believe are the standards of the brand. With so many complaints of coolant leaks, how is this not being formally addressed by KitchenAid?! Coolant is toxic. This isn't an issue to be taken lightly.

LKT
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 438 total reviews
1-20 of 438 reviews