Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 94 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

94 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

94 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

64%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
42
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 stars
31
1-20 of 84 total reviews
64%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 84 total reviews
1-20 of 84 reviews
worked great for me.... first timer
1/6/2017

Customer review by The new Sausage King of South Elgin

4.0 stars 1/6/2017 by The new Sausage King of South Elgin
by The new Sausage King of South Elgin

Received it as a gift. First time ever attempting to make my own sausages. I cubed the meat, put it in the freezer for a 1/2 hr, then ran it through the grinder, then mixed in herbs and seasonings. Then put it back in the freezer for another 1/2 hr to stiffen it up again. I then ran it through the grinder into the prepared natural casing. I had to work it a bit the fill the casing evenly and push out a little air here and there. But I thought it went pretty smoothly considering it was the first time I used this thing. There was one thing that i didn't like but it wasn't a gamechanger. The grinder got a little warm after running it for a while. I put it in the freezer with the meat before grinding/stuffing the second round. As long as the meat was cold enough to start with, it never got too warm by the time I got into the casing. I'm no Abe Froman, but I think the negative reviews were due to user error or too high of expectations.... I thought this unit worked rather well, especially for the price. Just don't expect to crank out 100 sausages an hour.

The new Sausage King of South Elgin
South Elgin, Il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Kitchenaide bombed this one
2/12/2017

Customer review by Rich the electrician

1.0 stars 2/12/2017 by Rich the electrician
by Rich the electrician

Considering the quality of the mixer I thought that I would give this a try. Its a disaster! Between the air bubbles being pushed into the meat casing the plunger not pushing the meat properly into hole the plunger constantly getting meat stuck all over it forcing you to clean it every couple of minutes, the meat barely going through, it's a horror what should have taken me 15 min took me almost two hours! Never again will I use this attachment.

Rich the electrician
Indiana
Worked fine for me.
12/19/2016

Customer review by OldSmokerDude

5.0 stars 12/19/2016 by OldSmokerDude
by OldSmokerDude

Was totally impressed with the grinder attachment for processing deer, and wanted to try making sausage, too, so bought the sausage maker kit. I'm with the last reviewer -- I think the people with negative reviews must have been doing something wrong. I just made 5 lbs. of pepper sticks and it went very smoothly. Had none of the problems described below, with the exception of one or two air bubbles; even that was rare, and a pin hole solved it. The meat I used was ground fine beforehand, which I'm guessing makes a big difference. Trying to grind AND stuff simultaneously doesn't seem to work, which is probably why the instructions don't recommend that. I had a helper feeding the ground meat while I stuffed the casings, which definitely helped -- I think I could have done it single-handed, but it wouldn't have been as easy. All in all, the sausage maker worked fine, and I would definitely recommend it to a friend. I was skeptical when my wife wanted to buy one of the pricier KitchenAid mixers. But I've processed eight deer in the last two months with it, and I'm a believer. Hobart it ain't, but it's pretty darn good.

OldSmokerDude
Eau Claire, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Frustrating at best - 0 would be a fitting rating
1/14/2017

Customer review by johnnyhep

1.0 stars 1/14/2017 by johnnyhep
by johnnyhep

I'm a completely disappointed first time user. Watched several Youtube videos of folks using the attachment successfully. I don't recall any of them saying that they froze the product being stuffed. Freezing is the only step that I didn't take, but I had zero success getting ground pork (ground twice with the course die) through the this stuffer. Must be some error in my technique because some uses have clearly been successful, but that would seem to indicate that this unit doesn't perform well in many situations... Alternative sausage stuffers are more expensive, but I would consider them or just making patties over this piece of garbage.

johnnyhep
Milwaukee
Would recommend to a friend? No
Don't believe the negative reviews, they're doing it wrong.
12/3/2016

Customer review by Kleinen Küchenchef

4.0 stars 12/3/2016 by Kleinen Küchenchef
by Kleinen Küchenchef

The attachment works perfectly. The complaints about the plunger being too small and the air in the casing is due to user error. A little bit of air gets into every sausage maker. For the first pass, tie a knot in the casing for the end and add a tiny hole. Push all of the filling into the casing until it's one continuous tube. Start from the end and choose the length of sausage you want, then make a gap to get the end of the link. Twist the casing around to tighten. Continue down to the tube to keep making same sized sausages. Let the cool. Before or after cooking, depending on whether you smoke, grill, boil or fry, you can cut the spaces between the sausages. Go look at some youtube videos for how-to. The extra air is fine, you just have longer casings than you would otherwise

Kleinen Küchenchef
Chicago
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not worth getting
1/10/2017

Customer review by Peter

1.0 stars 1/10/2017 by Peter
by Peter

You, basically, have to stuff the sausage with the plunger. The grind worm didn't push the sausage into the casing well at all. Even with steady and gentle pressure the sausage meat mostly oozed back up the feeder tube. Very bad design,

Peter
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? No
Worthless
12/15/2016

Customer review by Jp

1.0 stars 12/15/2016 by Jp
by Jp

Wouldn't even work to stuff my balogna. Plunger is not worth using

Jp
Pittsburgh pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
The KitchenAid sausage stuffer doesn't work well at all
10/30/2016

Customer review by Skip

1.0 stars 10/30/2016 by Skip
by Skip

The KitchenAid sausage stuffer is the most aggravating piece of junk I've ever bought.

Skip
NH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Bad design
10/13/2016

Customer review by Chef Rich

1.0 stars 10/13/2016 by Chef Rich
by Chef Rich

I have both the new and old stuffer grinder. the old one cracked after many years, not unexpected. Bought a new one with the magic all-in-one plunger wrench, its garbage. Luckily I still had the wooden plunger from the old grinder, which works wonderfully. Seems like the designer never actually used the new plunger.

Chef Rich
Phoenix
Would recommend to a friend? No
Terrible plunger design
7/16/2016

Customer review by Unhappy

1.0 stars 7/16/2016 by Unhappy
by Unhappy

Like other reviewers have stated, the plunger's diameter is just too small and doesn't create any type of seal and also allows air in. While pushing the meat down the tube the meat just squishes around the edges. I even kept the meat in the freezer ahead of time to keep it cold as is recommended for sausage making. I abandoned attempting to make sausages altogether and ended up pan frying the meat in patties. This product is so bad it actually prompted me to write my first review of a product ever.

Unhappy
PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
No problems for me!
5/30/2015

Customer review by Bonnie B17

5.0 stars 5/30/2015 by Bonnie B17
by Bonnie B17

I must admit, I was a little leery about buying this attachment after reading all of the bad reviews. But, one of my main reasons for buying the Kitchenaid Artisan Mixer, besides baking of course, was to get the meat grinder and sausage stuffer attachment, so I could make home made kielbasa like my mom used to. I can't understand why these other reviewers had so many problems. I grew up helping my mom and dad make sausage, so I pretty much knew what I was doing. I didn't have any problems with air bubbles, and the plunger from the meat grinder worked fine to help push the meat through to stuff it. A full size casing fit onto the stuffer just fine, of course you have to bunch it up, but it fit. The end result was perfect kielbasa, and I'm proud to be able to carry on my mom and dad's legacy.

Bonnie B17
East Troy, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
No problems for me!
5/30/2015

Customer review by Bonnie B17

5.0 stars 5/30/2015 by Bonnie B17
by Bonnie B17

I must admit, I was a little leery about buying this attachment after reading all of the bad reviews. But, one of my main reasons for buying the Kitchenaid Artisan Mixer, besides baking of course, was to get the meat grinder and sausage stuffer attachment, so I could make home made kielbasa like my mom used to. I can't understand why these other reviewers had so many problems. I grew up helping my mom and dad make sausage, so I pretty much knew what I was doing. I didn't have any problems with air bubbles, and the plunger from the meat grinder worked fine to help push the meat through to stuff it. A full size casing fit onto the stuffer just fine, of course you have to bunch it up, but it fit. The end result was perfect kielbasa, and I'm proud to be able to carry on my mom and dad's legacy.

Bonnie B17
East Troy, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worst product I've ever dealt with
12/31/2015

Customer review by Nichjake

1.0 stars 12/31/2015 by Nichjake
by Nichjake

Products that work poorly or break quickly are annoying, but not nearly as annoying as products that do not work at all and do more harm than good. Such is the case with this piece. I tried it twice, once as directed and once trying to troubleshoot...no matter what I tried this piece does not work for stuffing. I managed to get a few links, in about an hour. This is unacceptabe. It takes too long and works too poorly to produce decent quality sausage. The meat gets too warm, the machine turns it into a nasty paste and it incorporates so much air that what little is produced, is a terrible product. This will be going in the trash. The grinder portion is OK, very slow but it get the job done. The stuffer is where the problem lies.

Nichjake
Lansing, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Worst product I've ever dealt with
12/31/2015

Customer review by Nichjake

1.0 stars 12/31/2015 by Nichjake
by Nichjake

Products that work poorly or break quickly are annoying, but not nearly as annoying as products that do not work at all and do more harm than good. Such is the case with this piece. I tried it twice, once as directed and once trying to troubleshoot...no matter what I tried this piece does not work for stuffing. I managed to get a few links, in about an hour. This is unacceptabe. It takes too long and works too poorly to produce decent quality sausage. The meat gets too warm, the machine turns it into a nasty paste and it incorporates so much air that what little is produced, is a terrible product. This will be going in the trash. The grinder portion is OK, very slow but it get the job done. The stuffer is where the problem lies.

Nichjake
Lansing, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Really flawed design
6/25/2016

Customer review by Ohieaux

1.0 stars 6/25/2016 by Ohieaux
by Ohieaux

As others have noted, the plunger design is inadequate. As the plunger is smaller in diameter than the feed tube, there is no way to keep the auger full. If you use it, you will starve the casing and introduce air into the system. I would guess that a larger diameter plunger might work, but I'm not going to waste more money on this attachment.

Ohieaux
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
The solution for the stuffer
6/25/2015

Customer review by GUTORUTS

3.0 stars 6/25/2015 by GUTORUTS
by GUTORUTS

I agree with most of the people that are positively reviewing the grinder and complaining about the stuffer. If you follow the instructions you will not be happy. BUT ... if you don't use the worm retainer that should stay between the worm and the horn, hell turns into heaven! Meet is pushed flawlessly and quickly. Try it and review your review of this product! Actually if you think about it, this retainer is actually useless. It was meant to hold the worm back in place. But as the worm pushes the meat forward while stuffing, it tends to push itself back (action-reaction) so that the retainer is only giving you trouble. I'm giving an average because I had to troubleshoot the product to find a solution for it, but I actually love it.

GUTORUTS
Porto Alegre, Brasil
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
WRENCH PUSHER
3/9/2016

Customer review by DAVID

1.0 stars 3/9/2016 by DAVID
by DAVID

I DO AGREE WITH EVERYONE ABOUT THE PUSHER. I FIXED THE PROBLEM BY PURCHASING A WOODEN DOWEL THE SAME DIAMETER AS THE TUBE. YOU CAN ROUND BOTH ENDS WITH SAND PAPER AND SOAK IN OLIVE OIL FOR A DAY YOU GET NO MEAT STICKING ON THE PUSHER AND NO AIR POCKETS. HOPE THIS HELPS EVERYONE.

DAVID
SUN VALLEY
Would recommend to a friend? No
WRENCH PUSHER
3/9/2016

Customer review by DAVID

1.0 stars 3/9/2016 by DAVID
by DAVID

I DO AGREE WITH EVERYONE ABOUT THE PUSHER. I FIXED THE PROBLEM BY PURCHASING A WOODEN DOWEL THE SAME DIAMETER AS THE TUBE. YOU CAN ROUND BOTH ENDS WITH SAND PAPER AND SOAK IN OLIVE OIL FOR A DAY YOU GET NO MEAT STICKING ON THE PUSHER AND NO AIR POCKETS. HOPE THIS HELPS EVERYONE.

DAVID
SUN VALLEY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great product
2/24/2016

Customer review by Steve

5.0 stars 2/24/2016 by Steve
by Steve

I found this to be a very easy to use accessory. I don't understand the negative reviews unless it's simply user error. It worked great for me.

Steve
Mesa,az.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product
2/24/2016

Customer review by Steve

5.0 stars 2/24/2016 by Steve
by Steve

I found this to be a very easy to use accessory. I don't understand the negative reviews unless it's simply user error. It worked great for me.

Steve
Mesa,az.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 84 total reviews
1-20 of 84 reviews