Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 127 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

127 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

127 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

76%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
75
4 stars
23
3 stars
8
2 stars
7
1 stars
14
1-20 of 125 total reviews
76%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 125 total reviews
1-20 of 125 reviews
Best Printer ever
12/22/2008

Customer review by terra

5.0 stars 12/22/2008 by terra
by terra

I switched from a Pixma 4000 which I was happy with except it did not network well and the black ink sender burned out when it got dry. This printer is totally awesome. I never thought I would use all the features, but I definitely do. I tossed my ancient Epson scanner after one try at the new Canon. The best part is the networking. It finds all 3 computers in our house and sends the scanned document or whatever you're doing to or from the machine while you're standing there--no back and forth. AND the little canon screen actually tells you what's going on, so if you're out of ink or paper or something's not connected, you don't have to guess or go to the master computer it's connected to. The only negative has been figuring out how to get beyond the scan or copy screen to make it happen--it gets you to the settings okay but doesn't tell you what button to finally push to produce the copy or scan. I finally figured out you have to push the "black" or "color" button. Now if the only thing that goes wrong so what!! Read the manual.

terra
Fort Bragg, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fax nightmare
7/16/2010

Customer review by Bee

1.0 stars 7/16/2010 by Bee
by Bee

I liked this machine when we first got it in July 2009, but then in August the fax problems started. The service people are well-mannered, knowledgeable and will stay with you until they solve the problem ask you to bring it to a shop. The next service call was in September and then in January, I had to take it to the shop. By the end of January we realized that we can only fax one sheet at a time; it cannot handle multiple sheet faxes. Luckily my wife faxes a weekly time sheet which is one sheet, but today I had a multi-page form to fax and after a lot of tries with different settings, it didn't work. Our year warranty is up. I must add-- luckily the scanner works very well, so I can scan documents in as PDFs and send them as email attachments, as long as the other party accepts the attachments. We did give canon a try. Wish we could get help but our warranty is up. I will try emailing tech support to see if there are some answers.

Bee
Parlin, New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? No
Now Happy with My MX700
4/21/2009

Customer review by Tweak

5.0 stars 4/21/2009 by Tweak
by Tweak

I have read the reviews, especially the con's of the MX700. Although I do not use the Fax at present, I still went with the 700, because of the Canon Name, and prompt service support friends received with theirs. Yes, I had crooked prints and jammed paper , but it was all due to my NOT following the instructions in the Manual. I was putting in too much paper (above the paper guide arrow and horizontal line mark), both in the front and rear paper trays. Granted the lines for the marks are difficult to see, but I solved my problems caused by my zeal to start printing and paper loading. I am real pleased with my choice in purchasing the MX700. I have only written 2 reviews in my life of a product. I also purchased the MX330 for home use. The PIXMA series (If you read the instruction manual carefully especially on loading the paper and do not exceed the limits, ) you will be very pleased wih this MX700. Tweak - Columbus, Ohio USA

Tweak
Columbus, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Disappointed with Canon
2/14/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 2/14/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have now been using my replacement MX700 for about 10 days. The first didn't make it through the first year. Service was very helpful and sent out a replacement promptly. Unfortunately the second MX700 has one of the problems the first one had--it doesn't pull the paper through straight and the text ends up at an angle on the page. This only happens on the bottom tray. My intent was to put my business checks in the rear tray (where they must be to pull them through in order) and plain paper in the bottom. Now I have to switch them out in the back. Paid for two trays, can only use one. Ink heads must be aligned on the tiny screen on the machine, not on your monitor as the quick start guide would lead you to believe. First machine also began having smeared printing. When I removed the print head to pack up the machine for return, I noticed ink crusted on the print head. I have used all four functions. The card slots are a pain to use, especially if you want to write to the card. Must get instructions for that on Canon's website. Great service, bad machine.

An anonymous customer
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
best printer I ever had and cheapest
2/5/2009

Customer review by nobodyhasthisnickname

5.0 stars 2/5/2009 by nobodyhasthisnickname
by nobodyhasthisnickname

This is best little printer I ever had. I have had some HP's that were much more expensive and that did not function as well....or last very long. I love this printer. I hooked it up myself in an hour. I am gradually learning to use all its features. It prints beautiful copies quickly. I love that you can replace just the cartridge that is empty and that the color cartridges are broken down into several colors. I have not yet used all the features, but so far it is great. It is also a good size. So far the paper has not jammed. My HP's were constantly jamming if I put more than a few sheets of paper in there.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nobodyhasthisnickname
Fort Mill SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Poor design, poor support
5/11/2009

Customer review by Zina

3.0 stars 5/11/2009 by Zina
by Zina

The MX700 does a good job of printing, faxing and copying. NO problems there. My real complaints have to do with its design, its operating expenses, and its lack of support. The major design flaw is that all offsize paper (such as envelopes) must be loaded thru the feed slot in the back of the machine. To save space, my printer is on a shelf over my desk, five feet off the floor, against the wall. I cannot see how to load envelopes without crawling on my desk on my knees and trying to see over the top of the machine. So I never use it to print anything other than 8.5x11. Next problem, the ink cartidges are tiny, so they must be rreplaced often, and very expensive. Finally, I am trying for the first time to scan doucments into my computer, but Canon provides no support at all. The paper manual has one page on scanning photos, nothing on scanning documents. The application itself (the window that opens when you click on Canon Printer)is equally useless as it contains only printer options and information, nothing on scanning documents. I haven't found anything on their website either.

Zina
Chicago
Would recommend to a friend? No
Horrible network features, good printer
4/15/2010

Customer review by WaltB123

2.0 stars 4/15/2010 by WaltB123
by WaltB123

I've had the MX700 for about 2 years now. I honestly loved this printer when I first got it and used it via USB. However, soon after I looked to take advantage of the so called network features, I've come to hate it. I'm an IT pro and over my 2 years ownership, I've installed and upgraded this printer to several different PC's, the latest Windows 7. Each time I spend about 2 hours before giving up on it and wishing I had never tried. It should work like any other network printer does. Plug in the network cable, set the IP address, etc, on the printer, and install the driver to the PC. They are using proprietary software thats required for network use and it's absolutely horrible. Buy it and love it if you're not interested in sharing this out to your other network pc's. Avoid it like the plague if you need network features.

WaltB123
Philadelphia PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Wonderful Purchase!
4/9/2009

Customer review by Lucille

5.0 stars 4/9/2009 by Lucille
by Lucille

If you are looking to buy this printer, don't hesitate to buy it! It produces prints with incredible quality, and I love how it is 3-in-1! It's very easy to use, with simple features. Also, you can print right from your memory card, by sticking it in a slot provided for it. I actually haven't tried printing any photos from my digital camera yet, but I'm looking to soon. (Note: If you have a Memory Stick Memory card for Sony as I do, you need to buy a "Special Adapter," which you need to put the memory card in, to put that in the slot, for the memory card would slip in the slot since it's too small. I wouldn't worry about this, though, as it's just a thing where you put in the memory card, and you can buy one for $5-$10.) Cons: It is very bulky, though, taking up a lot of space. But this doesn't bother me, so it's okay.

Lucille
Sacramento, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best All-in-One I owned
4/19/2009

Customer review by Rogue

5.0 stars 4/19/2009 by Rogue
by Rogue

Easy to use. Setting it up was a Dream. No compatiblity issues what so ever. OS recognized it right away. Vista prem.32bit. Bold text print. 1.8 LCD is clear and bright. My photo's were bright and colorful. Networking was easy to set up. In-box Instructions were easy to follow. Comes with a easy-set up sheet as well. First All-in-One FAX I had no issues with. Canon supplyed a CD with up-todate drivers & softwear. I cross-checked them with web site. Easy to use softwear. CD gives you a choise of what you would like to use or not use. Only thing is 'Time' to see Durablity. Canon produced a beautiful product. My first printer is a canon. I've owned 3 other products since my first printer. They all failed in time. My canon is still being used today by my parents. Enjoy mom & dad.

Rogue
Chicago, IL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good Replacement Printer
5/9/2009

Customer review by Premium Ookwee

5.0 stars 5/9/2009 by Premium Ookwee
by Premium Ookwee

The color print speed is relatively fast, even with full color copies. This printer lets you print when it thinks the ink is gone. These cartridges are very easy to refill. This printer often needs "mental preparation" when you first turn it on and print. It will make a few noises, move the print head back and forth a few times, then print/copy. The software works well with fast (3GHz) and slow (400MHz) computers running Windows XP. I have not tried Vista because it needs 2GB of RAM. When using the LAN, you need to do it in 3 steps. 1:When you get to choose the connection type pick the last one and cancel the part when it tries to find the LAN connected printer because it won't find the printer. 2:Go to printers/faxes and choose add a printer. Select local printer and uncheck the auto detect. Choose create a new port and select "Canon BJNP". Then type the IP address. When the setup asks if you would like to override the current driver choose yes. If you choose no, the setup won't work. 3: Go back to the canon CD and navigate to CanonCD\Win\Lan\English\Setup.exe This is the setup you canceled in step 1. Now, it should find your printer. Choose it and all the scanning/printing will now work.

Premium Ookwee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12/20/2007

Customer review by Norm

5.0 stars 12/20/2007 by Norm
by Norm
Walmart associate

I had no idea which scanner/printer to purchase and began to do research on the internet and visit computer stores. It was easy to see the Canon was the best built. Having owned several printers in the past, my feelings were negative about the quality and ease of use. I telephone Canon customer service and received far more help that a person would expect. I was amazed at the quality of the prints and the ease of making scans.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Norm
Sequim, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Versatile, but. . .
5/4/2009

Customer review by Wink

3.0 stars 5/4/2009 by Wink
by Wink

I bought this Canon MX700 to replace an older Canon multi-function printer and an older Canon photo printer. It does everything better and faster than the two printers it replaced. . . except sometimes incoming telephone voice calls are interrupted by the fax tone. This requires turning the printer off and having the person call again. The printer was replaced twice by Canon and the firmware and a circuit board were replaced by a repair center once, to no avail. I particularly like the flatbed scanner and the automatic document feeder. If you want a versatile, quiet, fast printer and don't need fax capability I highly recommend this unit. If you need fax capability 24/7 you may be frustrated and might better look elsewhere.

Wink
Atlanta
Would recommend to a friend? No
Best price and features
2/14/2009

Customer review by Chaplain Dave

5.0 stars 2/14/2009 by Chaplain Dave
by Chaplain Dave

I purchased this printer after my PIXMA800 malfunctioned. I have had it for over six months with no problems. This is not my first Canon product. The setup was a little involved, however, once done it has functioned nicely. The FAX function works great, even with international use. If you print a lot of documents, and set the quality to "Draft" or "Fast" the print speed is as fast or faster than any ink jet on the market. I figure if an old guy like me, who's first computer had a whopping 8K memory and loaded from a cassette tape (floppy drives were few and far between) can install this and make it work the first time, then I think that Canon has done a great job with installation and ease of use. Have a Blessed Day!

Chaplain Dave
Cali
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
good for the money
4/16/2009

Customer review by Deeder44

5.0 stars 4/16/2009 by Deeder44
by Deeder44

Love, love, love Canon. The separate ink cartridges really do save money. This one comes with a lot of bells & whistles. Lots to play with.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Deeder44
North east Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Fast & Accurate
11/26/2008

Customer review by Honest Abe

5.0 stars 11/26/2008 by Honest Abe
by Honest Abe

I love this printer except for one minor [but annoying] glitch that popped up 3 months after purchase. The "In Use" LED came on and refuses to go out despite the best efforts of an online Canon techie. Now, because I've turned AUTO PRINT off in order to prevent junk faxes from automatically printing and wasting ink, it's impossible to know when a FAX has arrived without digging through menu screens. The printer is attached to a 24" iMac. With this combination, I've found that documents & photos print exactly as displayed without having to tweak any of the manual color settings or ColorSync profiles. This machine is lightening fast and offers tons of printing options in the computer's Print Dialogue menu. I've never tried scanning directly from the printer but it's certainly a breeze when using the Mac's highly flexible "Image Capture" application. Likewise, copying is a no-brainer. I greatly appreciate the fact that the MX700 uses 4 ink tanks instead of 6, each of which can be replaced individually. Yes, the printer takes a while to set up because there are dozens of features to comprehend and zillions of options to consider, but isn't that a good thing really? Who wouldn't desire the most bang for their buck? Bottom line: I would buy another MX700 in a heartbeat.

Honest Abe
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Printer I Ever Purchased
2/14/2009

Customer review by smidget

5.0 stars 2/14/2009 by smidget
by smidget

I had a cannon printer years ago which was just a basic printer. I have had 2 other printers since, none of them cannon and I was very disapponted with them. I decided to buy another canon and this was it. Setting it up was easy and the quality of print, especially for photos is excelent. There are so many different functions that it takes some getting use to as far as how each function works but I will never buy any other printer again unless it is anther cannon. I love this printer, it does everything. And the ink does not run out quickly as most others do. THe in repacement cartridges are alos very reasonaby priced which is a big plus if you do a lot of printing.

smidget
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Christmas Present
7/31/2009

Customer review by Chrissy

5.0 stars 7/31/2009 by Chrissy
by Chrissy

I wanted to wait a while to write a review so that I had time to actually use the product. I am a student at a local university and have had no problem with my printer to date. I have gone through 1000 pieces of paper and am now just replacing the color ink as well as the black and white. I have used all the other features and have had no difficulties except for getting the fax and my phone to work. But I was told by my phone provider that it is a problem on their end with compatibility (I have cable phone). Other then that I am glad I asked for this model for Christmas and look forward to getting much more use out of it.

Chrissy
Portland, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works great for me!
5/3/2009

Customer review by Mary

5.0 stars 5/3/2009 by Mary
by Mary

I have not yet printed photos as this is not a major need for me. My main reasons for choosing it was the low ink consumption and the good reviews of customer support. I have not been disappointed. Initially I set it up with a USB connection but later decided to switch to connecting it to my FIOS router so that my laptop could also access it. I ran into a problem doing the switch but succeeded in the end. Customer support by e-mail was excellent - clear, professional, and timely. I am delighted. My copies are not crooked as others have said. The manual and some of the onscreen instructions do need some rewriting.

Mary
Lynn, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
No Complaints!
4/8/2009

Customer review by Quality Wild

5.0 stars 4/8/2009 by Quality Wild
by Quality Wild

I looked at a lot of reviews before I bought this printer, and saw quite a few that reported difficulties settiing up or inconsistent performance. I've had my printer for about 3 months now and can say with confidence... This is a great printer for the money. Setup was easy. The print quality is excellent, the speed is good and everything works exactly as it should (Faxing/scanning/printing/copying). Buy this with confidence! A special bonus is that there are separte paper trays for photo and standard paper. You load photo in the back and standard in the front and switch between the two with the push of a button.

Quality Wild
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
More than expected!
12/8/2009

Customer review by HomeOfficeMan

5.0 stars 12/8/2009 by HomeOfficeMan
by HomeOfficeMan

I love this printer. It's a full featured, well designed product. I didn't expect the quality or ease of use from such a lower priced product. The best thing about this product is the ease of use. The software that Canon provides as part of the package supports printing, scanning, faxing and copying perfectly well. Each task is done simply and without headache. I use it for a home office printer and I have never been disappointed. I am printing from this device via my home network from more than 3 computers throughout the home with a mix of Windows and Mac operating systems. Thanks for another winner Canon!

HomeOfficeMan
South Central Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 125 total reviews
1-20 of 125 reviews