Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 322 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

322 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

322 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
233
4 stars
69
3 stars
9
2 stars
4
1 stars
7
1-20 of 274 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 274 total reviews
1-20 of 274 reviews
A very helpful and safe product
5/13/2009

Customer review by STLDaughter

5.0 stars 5/13/2009 by STLDaughter
by STLDaughter

I purchased this transfer bench for my elderly parents who were having trouble getting in and out of the bath tub. Their PT recommended getting a transfer bench. Those at the medical equipment stores are much more expensive (up to twice as much or more). This bench is very sturdy and safe. My father who has spinal stenosis was able to sit down, lift his legs into the tub, and scoot over with no assistance. He was so proud! For my mother who prefers to stand in the tub and shower, this bench provides a safe method for her to get in and out and still leaves enough room for her to stand and take a shower. Also, purchased and installed a grab bar to help with that. We are very happy with this equipment.

Was this review helpful? (80) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
STLDaughter
St. Louis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great
5/14/2009

Customer review by SMJS

5.0 stars 5/14/2009 by SMJS
by SMJS

This chair was for an 88 year old and has worked out perfect! She can now shower with no problem of falling.

Was this review helpful? (72) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SMJS
Kanona,NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent bench for the price!
9/18/2013

Customer review by Chuck893

5.0 stars 9/18/2013 by Chuck893
by Chuck893

This is a solidly built, basic transfer bench for someone who cannot stand in the shower or tub but still has some mobility and upper body strength. It does not have a sliding seat or anything sophisticated, but for a patient who can assist in his/her own movement it is excellent, and a real bargain. It is intended for use inside a regular bathtub, but is more useful in more situations than a simple shower chair, which assumes that a patient can use both legs to climb in. If a patient cannot use at least one leg, being able to sit down outside the tub and lift the legs over is ideal, but many of these benches are pretty pricey. This one does the job at a bargain price. The half that goes inside the tub has a pair of large suction cups on the legs to anchor it. The grab handle is solid and angled slightly away from the body so that the patient is not cramped up against it. The legs are adjustable up or down, and the back is both removable and reversible, all for maximum utility.

Was this review helpful? (40) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chuck893
Madison, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
WONDERFUL
4/19/2009

Customer review by lovingitinwv

5.0 stars 4/19/2009 by lovingitinwv
by lovingitinwv

I was very pleased with my shower bench. I was having such a hard time getting a shower before. Now taking a shower is wonderful. I'm so glad I have it. It's sturdy and well made I love it. If you need a shower chair bench this is the one.

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lovingitinwv
Moundsville Wv
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Safe and user-friendly
9/23/2009

Customer review by Mahopac

5.0 stars 9/23/2009 by Mahopac
by Mahopac

After foot surgery I was unable to put weight on one foot for six weeks. The transfer bench enabled me to sit on the part of the bench extending into the room and safely swing around to sit on the chair portion over the tub and use a hand-held shower and then safely maneuver back to the bathroom floor. I don't know what I would have done without this! Easy to assemble and use, and sturdy (rubber suction cups firmly attach to tub bottom). Also looked at shower chairs that were not transfer benches, but couldn't understand how someone who is disabled can safely get onto them -- a transfer bench seems much safer and user friendly.

Was this review helpful? (51) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mahopac
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
versatile and strong
1/13/2014

Customer review by claudia8811

5.0 stars 1/13/2014 by claudia8811
by claudia8811

After an extended stay in the hospital and nursing facility, I needed a good chair to help me in the shower. This chair is a called a transfer bench used to transfer the patient into a bathtub. We have a large shower that is easy to get into and I did not need to transfer. However, due to the nature of my illness, I needed good support for my back as well as an arm rest to lean on or hold on to. This chair easily supported my 350lbs with no squeaking or wobbling. Finally, NO ONE can touch Walmart for pricing. I started at a medical supply store who would not quote me any price until they had all of my insurance information. I told them that I had not paid my deductable and would have to pay out of pocket to which they replied, the price changes depending on your insurance company's discounts. After much arguing, I was quoted a price in excess of $100.00, excluding shipping fees, and a 2 week shipping delay. Walmart cost: $66.00, free shipping, and I received it in 3 days.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
claudia8811
Wilson, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great simple tub bench
12/21/2012

Customer review by Summer622

5.0 stars 12/21/2012 by Summer622
by Summer622

I am an occupational therapist and ordered this product on behalf of a patient preparing to return home independently. This product is virtually identical to the bench we use in therapy at my facility, except this product costs $100 less. This bench is sturdy, offers a variety of adjustable heights, will accommodate left or right tub set-ups with shower head configuration on either side. The suction cups on the inside legs are a must to ensure stability and safety. Other comparable products don't have these. The bench offers enough holes/openings on the seat to ensure proper water drainage to prevent overflow spills outside the tub. Another feature I like is that there are three seat sections on the bench, as opposed one solid section. This allows for a shower curtain to more easily be tucked in and around the bench. A tip to effectively seal the curtain around the bench is to either purchase two curtains or cut one curtain in half. You then cut out a horizontal slit on each (inner curtain on the side closest to the bench). The slit should be where the actual seat is, in order to pass by the metal frame and be tucked in between two seat sections. Then use Velcro or adhesive magnets to attach the curtains to each other. Hope this was helpful.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Summer622
Delaware
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good bench but legs may be too wide
5/26/2011

Customer review by Dhurd

4.0 stars 5/26/2011 by Dhurd
by Dhurd

This bench was super easy to assemble and seemed to be the exact product that we needed for my mother, however, the legs were set too wide to fit comfortably in her bath tub. I believe her bathroom was just too small for this product. If you want to purchase this product but have a small space, you might want to consider a shower chair or seat.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dhurd
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great product, great price!
5/8/2012

Customer review by mamashep

4.0 stars 5/8/2012 by mamashep
by mamashep

I purchased this for my 85 year old mother who recently had partical hip replacement surgery. After two months of rehab she returned home but wasn't able to lift her leg into the bath tub. It was recommended that we purchase a transfer bench. I searched online, Walmart had the best price and I ordered it. The item came within 2 days of my order at the regular rate which was a much appreciated surprise. It was mostly preassembled with an attachment, back to the seat which didn't take much time. It fits perfectly in the tub and very easy for the nurse to help her with her shower. I would recommend this bench to anyone with difficulties getting in and out of the tub.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mamashep
Indiana
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
Very useful
5/22/2011

Customer review by Nubble48

4.0 stars 5/22/2011 by Nubble48
by Nubble48

Purshased this for a family member who suffered a hip fracture and could no longer bathe in the shower or tub without assistance. Although hesitant to try it at first, she did finally use it and is now independent in bathing once again. The bench is quite secure and sturdy, providing a safe method of getting into and out of the tub for showering. The only negative aspects would be 1) the size of the bench (it is quite large, especially in a small bathroom, and 2) the difficulty in keeping water from getting on the floor (since it extends outside the tub, it is hard to arrainge the shower curtain to keep the spray of water inside the tub.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nubble48
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
too Large
10/23/2011

Customer review by JIFTX

1.0 stars 10/23/2011 by JIFTX
by JIFTX

It is too large but a great idea. It can be used but 90 yr old parent thinks it is in the way. Also hard to pull curtain around for shower.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JIFTX
TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Great Product
8/15/2011

Customer review by Skider

5.0 stars 8/15/2011 by Skider
by Skider

Works great, very simple to assemble, delivery faster than scheduled. Only complaint my mother had was the part of the bench that is outside the tub has holes in it and water was leaking on the floor. Fixed by putting inside shower curtain on the bench.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Skider
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great value and ease!
11/15/2013

Customer review by MargaretSue

5.0 stars 11/15/2013 by MargaretSue
by MargaretSue

I ordered this bench for my sister for her husband to use. The quality and price are fantastic. It arrived before promised and snapped together in about 2 minutes. Love it when things like this work so well and are so easy!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MargaretSue
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
6/24/2011

Customer review by KYgranny3

5.0 stars 6/24/2011 by KYgranny3
by KYgranny3

I bought this bench for my husband, who had a mild stroke over a yr. ago, and is somewhat unsteady on his feet and is fearful of falling...he has difficulty getting into and out of a tub bath, so I got this bench and a hand-held shower head with a 6ft. hose. Being a retired nurse, I was familiar with the Medline products, and the cost was so much less than at our local DMS! My only criticism is how to rig the shower curtain to prevent water on the floor. I wonder if anyone else has this complaint? The one I found online made for these benches is $50!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KYgranny3
Ewing,KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good Quality Bench
11/9/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 11/9/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I was very happy with the bench and it really lived up to the reviews found on this site. The price was considerably lower than listings from medical supply companies for the same exact product. Very easy to assemble even for me a woman with no mechanical ability.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Moreno Valley, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
I would highly recommend this product!
12/18/2013

Customer review by Tulup3335

5.0 stars 12/18/2013 by Tulup3335
by Tulup3335

Great item. It was exactly what it advertised it was...easy to assemble and fits my tub perfectly. Makes it easy to get in and out of the shower. Lets me keep my independent living...

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tulup3335
Tracy CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Makes bathing much easier
1/21/2012

Customer review by DAR833169

5.0 stars 1/21/2012 by DAR833169
by DAR833169

My mom had a shower seat but the transfer bench is much better because she can't lift her legs to get them over the side of the tub. With the transfer bench, she can sit down and then slide over on it into the tub. Excellent concept and works great! Walmart offers good quality products at an affordable price, especially if you have to go and buy several products at one time like we had to do. Some places' prices were absolutely ridiculous for these products.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DAR833169
Weirton, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
it's very sturdy and reliable.
5/20/2014

Customer review by memahpat

4.0 stars 5/20/2014 by memahpat
by memahpat

make sure and take something to the bathroom to release the leg suction cups if your removing it from the tub. they stick very well which is a good thing for safety. i used a spoon and was easy to remove.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
memahpat
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bench Will Work Very Well
3/16/2014

Customer review by OgOfBashan

4.0 stars 3/16/2014 by OgOfBashan
by OgOfBashan

I found it easy to put together and, having tested it personally (I don't actually need it - it's for a beloved relative who visits now and then), for its purpose it gets five stars. My only real complaint is that we'd planned to turn it sideways and store it in the tub, and the legs are too far apart to do that conveniently. I realize this has to do with stability, so can't complain TOO much, but we were disappointed that our slick storage idea hasn't worked out. One other thing - the suction cups on the bottom of the legs that sit inside the tub are VERY "sticky" -- picking the bench up after use pretty much requires kneeling down and prying up the edge of each cup to break the suction.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OgOfBashan
chico, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Medline Transfer Bench with Back
5/7/2011

Customer review by jeyzee23

5.0 stars 5/7/2011 by jeyzee23
by jeyzee23

This is a must have for individuals with difficulties entering/exiting baths/showers. It removes the risk of falling while entering and exiting baths/showers. Easy set up and adjustment. Overall an excellent product.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jeyzee23
Bonita, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 274 total reviews
1-20 of 274 reviews