Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4out of 5 stars
4 out of 5 | 131 reviews
5 stars
60
4 stars
40
3 stars
15
2 stars
9
1 stars
7
Sort by: 
1-20 of 121 reviews
1-20 of 121 reviews
instructions were terrible
6/25/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The instructions that came with the goal were a night mare to follow. It took my son and I 5 hours to assemble the goal due to trying to figure what the instructions where trying to show us.There very few explanations in the instructions, just a lot if hard to make out illustrations. The 5 hours just included assembly, not digging the hole for the base pole. Digging the hole and poring the concrete were a grease compare to assemble of the goal. The backboard on the goal is made very cheaply. The last Huffy goal I bought several years ago was cheaper than this one, but the backboard was made out much stronger material. I ordered the goal online and when I pick it up at the store, the box was ripped, torn, and dented. However all parts were in the box and no parts were damaged. See photo
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Basketball
8/7/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Great goal and pretty simple set up. Lots of concrete and a big hole to dig though! We painted the bottom section of the post high viz orange and added reflective tape because it's in a parking area in our neighborhood
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Missing 10 parts
6/11/2016
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Missing alot of parts, arrived in an old beatup box, half taped up. Returned to the store.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
You get what you pay for!
8/8/2015
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
First off, the directions were IMPOSSIBLE to understand. I have assembled hundreds of things in my day and this one takes the cake. The bolts were not specified as to which ones to use, and there are metal spacers that aren't even listed as parts! You have to figure out where they go, and I hope it isn't too late because you will have to disassemble things to add the spacers. The concrete was OK to do because ive had experience. You have to dig a 24" hole and only sink the pole 14", so I had to make a bracket to hold the pole so that it would not sink! Another fail on their part! After 2 hours of what should have been an easy assembly I noticed that the rim is not level with the backboard, so I will have to mess with that once it's up. The backboard seems cheap and flimsy, so time will tell as far as the lifespan. Oh yeah I forgot to add that I snapped a rim bolt with ease because of the cheap steel that goes into these things. So after a Lowes trip tomorrow I should be good to go.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
7/31/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We just got this for our son. The shipping box, as other reviewers have mentioned, is not strong enough. Part of the contents fell out when I moved it from where FedEx left it. At least nothing was lost nor damaged. I started assembling the back board this afternoon. The instructions are awful. The pictures are helpful but there isn't enough detail. I had a few things I had to redo because the instructions were so poor that when the next step was needed it wouldn't work because the previous was off a bit. I enjoy assembling things and like puzzles (my husband hates it). This has been quite a challenge. Some of the assembly I had to figure out based on what seemed logical the instructions were so incomplete. Once the cement is dry and we can get the whole thing up, I'll be interested to see how that goes. The back board is some what flimsy feeling, I thought it would be thicker. We'll have to see how it holds up to teenagers. Be sure to read, reread and finger tighten only, until you are sure everything is together correctly.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Just ok.
1/9/2010
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I loved this item when I first installed it a year and a half ago. I hated the idea of those sand filled black bases taking up the driveway. However by the end of 6 monhts rust started to show in the lowest connection on the pole. The "stainless steel" screws that hold the last piece together rusted, but more the pole is rusting so that new screws don't have anything to bite on. Can't seem to find replacement poles, or they cost as much as the entire thing was new. After 18 months I am here shopping for another basketball set up because its coming down when the ground unfreezes. Plan on getting 2 - 3 years out of it. I won't park my car under it, just in case there the rusting deterioration has accelerated.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (67)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Basketball ball goal system
9/24/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Awesome quality. Is used for outdoor gym ministry
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Breakable Backboard
6/24/2009
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The backboard arrived cracked, like a hammer had hit it. The box was so flimsy for such a large, awkward item, we had to use packing tape to hold it together for returning to the store. Backboard is acrylic, which cracks. Why even make a backboard that cracks? Definitely getting a polycarbonate backboard. We tried to get a backboard with a pole diameter that matched the pole already in our backyard; when we measured poles in the store, they were several inches smaller in diameter and not uniform from model to model , even though the one in our yard was the same brand. The quality of the new models is cheaper; lighter weight support poles and all-over lighter durability. All around disappointment.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (26)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
great product for the price
9/3/2008
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Super easy to adjust the height. Best value we found after checking lots of places and the product seems to be sturdy and of good quality. Was a little tougher to assemble and concrete in the ground than we had expected. Be sure to give yourself a few days to get it put together and allow time for the cement to set before you want to use it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (34)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
good for kids good price
10/18/2009
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
this is good for kids but I would not reccomend it for someone serious about basketball the backboard it flimsy and cheap not solid like other boards but it works for my kids they are younger and just want to shoot the ball! very easy assembly says in instructions 2 people but with the help of 2 saw horses I was able to assemble the backboard alone. honestly digging the hole deep enough (frost line) and pouring the concrete were the hardest parts. Hope this review is helpful to someone!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (32)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great hoop for the price
8/23/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Great basketball hoop for the price. Instructions are not real easy to follow or understand. Son loves it!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good Deal
7/1/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We had bought this pole,hoop, and backboard about 10 years ago and it lasted so very well, even with supplying entertainment for our 3 boys and all of the neighborhood kids (at least 20). The only reason we had to by it again is because we moved and my husband had used so much concrete (in clay soil) that we could not bring it along. You do need to make sure that you keep the rust at bay, as is normal for any metal exposed to the elements, but this is an awesome deal.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (19)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Package delivered busted, missing parts, dented
5/5/2014
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The box was left at my door w/ a big hole in it. Upon opening, it was dented, missing bolts, nuts, etc. I didn't want to fool with loading up and sending back, so I dealt with it. After 3 trips to the hardware store, and purchasing about $15 misc parts, it was put together. Not very sturdy, even with the pole full of concrete.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Directions
8/7/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It's a well made goal, but the directions are a little hard to follow it took 3 try's to get it together. But all is good
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
44" In Ground Hoop system for $110.00
5/12/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Great product, was easy to install and made fairly well with good quality materials. This was worth the money, and I am happy with my purchase. TY
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Basketball Goal
3/14/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My son loves it, a family friend waisted no time to put it together. He had no issues. I didn't put it together so I don't know any complications that may have ocurrred.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
For the price you can't go wrong.
6/7/2011
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It's made somewhat well, was disapointed with the backboard - not the greatest material. But overall happy with it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good product for a great price
6/8/2010
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This goal takes some patience in putting together, but it is about as easy as it can be. It actually took me 8 40 lb bags of concrete as opposed to the 6 the directions call for. Once I got it up though the goal exceeded my expectations in that there was only slight wobble and the ball reacts well off the backboard. This goal is suitable for a shootaround, but if you want to dunk and get very competitive then find a different goal. Adjusting the height of the goal is very easy and I prefer the broomstick method over the hydrolic or counterweight handle adjustment systems since less moving parts is always a plus in my opinion.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Easy to install
3/18/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Great product. I would recommend getting the ground sleeve when ordering.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
great
3/12/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
my son received this for his birthday and he loves it
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184642840, DC-prod-dal3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-