Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 468 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

468 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

468 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
263
4 stars
122
3 stars
24
2 stars
23
1 stars
36
1-20 of 337 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 337 total reviews
1-20 of 337 reviews
Encore
8/9/2014

Customer review by irvant

5.0 stars 8/9/2014 by irvant
by irvant
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this model rice cooker after the previous model I had by Black and Decker kicked the bucket -- after a very busy life of 20 years or so cooking rice at least every week. I had high hopes for the non-stick feature, and was completely thrilled to find that it is in fact, non-stick (the older model wasn't). I don't know if it's dishwasher proof or not, so I have been cleaning it by hand. Also, I do not follow the directions for measurements given by the manufacturer. I use a 2:1 water (or liquid) to white rice ratio, and it turns out beautifully. I like my rice a bit on the sticky side, and this is how it turns out with that ratio, so if you like yours dry and separated, use different measurements. I haven't used the steamer, and am not likely too. But as a rice cooker, this model exceeded my expectations, and couldn't be easier to use (except it would be nice to know if it can be washed in the dishwasher).

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
irvant
Oceanside, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Amazing little appliance
3/29/2014

Customer review by cooks4friends

5.0 stars 3/29/2014 by cooks4friends
by cooks4friends

I bought this cooker some time ago and just got around to using it. It is so easy to use and made the best Basmati rice I've ever eaten. The pot is non-stick which is a plus. I didn't use the measure that came with the cooker or the measurements on the pot. This is what I did and it was perfect. 2 cups rice 1 teaspoon oil 3 cups reduced sodium chicken broth 1 teaspoon salt Put rice in the pot,add the oil and stir until all the rice is coated Add salt and chicken broth. Plug the cooker in and press the cook button. Cooker will go to warm when rice is cooked,but I will time it next time so I can remove the pot from the cooker as this time it started to get a little brown on the bottom. I think the oil on the rice did that. It had an excellent flavor and grains didn't stick together. I'm going to try brown rice next time. This is a great buy for $20.00.

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cooks4friends
Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
My Black & Decker
5/10/2011

Customer review by Instructicon

5.0 stars 5/10/2011 by Instructicon
by Instructicon

I wondered why there were so many complaints about this product, but I guess some people are following the instructions that come with the cooker. Wrong! I went to Cuba, got hooked on rice, and my future mother-in-law showed me how to make the best rice with the cooker. Basically, one measure of rice (a full measure in the cup that comes with the rice cooker) should be matched with a cup and 1/2 of water. (2 full measures + 3 full measures of water and so on) She adds a little oil and some salt to make white rice. I have never had the dripping or splattering problem. The flavored rices (like Goya) are excellent when made with this cooker. Also, steaming is pretty easy and very efficient with this cooker. Also, "mi mamucha" showed me how to seat the cooking container in the cooker before cooking: spin it counter-clockwise before beginning to cook. I use the cooker at least three times a week. The oly problem is positioning the unit in an area where the steam will not discolor cabinets. If you are fortunate to have an ample kitchen, you're cool. Scary! When I got home from work on the day after I ordered this product it was sitting in its FedEx box on my porch! That was after paying the lowest shipping rate. Unbelievable! I bought this product twice. I plan to stuff my new unit in a duffle bag and take it to mamucha to replace her aging, metal rice cooker. I can't wait to see their faces when I pull it out of the bag!

Was this review helpful? (184) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Instructicon
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Control the Spitting with a wet cloth
11/8/2010

Customer review by Brizz

5.0 stars 11/8/2010 by Brizz
by Brizz

This cooker make great rice, with easy cleanup. Rice on the bottom is a little crispy, but not burned, and I like the bottom layer the best. My old rice cooker was such a pain to clean. This cooker can be wiped off with a wet sponge. The only problem is the mess from spitting starchy liquid out the vent hole. You can control that mess by loosely placing a wet paper towel or dish cloth on top of the hole, allowing steam to vent but catching the wet mess that comes out.

Was this review helpful? (159) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Brizz
Houston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Worth the $$
1/11/2011

Customer review by NVFromChicago

4.0 stars 1/11/2011 by NVFromChicago
by NVFromChicago

We've used rice cookers before, and know for sure, that this one meets the expectations of a decent rice cooker, without pinching the pocket. Not many fancy features - just the "Cook" and "Warm" buttons. I haven't had the problem of water from the vent in the lid - that some others have complained about. But then, we've had it only for about a month now, and I haven't tried to fill it to the brim (I've seen this happen with my old rice cookers, as well, and usually the cause is when we try to fill the cooker to the brim). The shipping cost and times were very reasonable (though the site said 1 week, we got it in 2 days). I think it is overall a very good value - other non-stick cookers doing the same thing cost at least twice, in any online or retail store.

Was this review helpful? (49) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NVFromChicago
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
A great product
1/12/2011

Customer review by babysue1

5.0 stars 1/12/2011 by babysue1
by babysue1

I read some reviews before purchasing this product. What concerned me was when others mentioned that the water spilled over or bubbled over onto counter tops. But after using this product for a while, i don't know where those reviewers got that idea. It's never bubbled over and i think the only reason why it will bubble over is if you put in too much water. And the hard crust will only form if you leave it on warm for an extended period of time. Besides, the manual mentions that there will be some crust formation so i took that as being forewarned. This is a great product and it does what it says it will do so i will recommend it to everyone.I haven't used it for that long so i can't comment on the durability though.

Was this review helpful? (94) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
babysue1
tuscaloosa, Al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
owned mine for over 3 yr.s now!
10/30/2011

Customer review by dootsie1

5.0 stars 10/30/2011 by dootsie1
by dootsie1

this little jewel has served me well over the past few years. originally, the low price plus the light weight of the cooker had me convinced i'd be replacing it in a year or so because i cook rice at least 3 times weekly! WRONG! i've moved a few times, it's been banged around, shuffled about and used extensively but, "she keeps on tickin'"... : ) it's not loaded with bells/whistles but the cooking feature automatically flipping to warming feature, is all i need. i cook brown rice mostly and get the same perfectly cooked rice as i do when using white. in fact, i'm purchasing one for my south louisiana daughter whose whole family are serious rice eaters! no more lending her mine : ) i join some of these other reviewers who have been surprised at some people writing about an issue w/bubbling thru the vent hole. i've never had that problem. add a little cumin and a jar of picante sauce and the results are a deliciously easy spanish rice!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dootsie1
houma, la
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent for small families!
12/8/2015

Customer review by diegomoises1

5.0 stars 12/8/2015 by diegomoises1
by diegomoises1

Great price! Smooth cook, excellent for small families.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
diegomoises1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great rice cooker
12/7/2015

Customer review by Karen428

5.0 stars 12/7/2015 by Karen428
by Karen428

This is a great Rice cooker. I have one which I use all the time. It cooks the rice perfectly, so I purchased one for my mom for Christmas.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Karen428
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very good
12/9/2015

Customer review by Ortiz

5.0 stars 12/9/2015 by Ortiz
by Ortiz

Excellent

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ortiz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works perfect!
1/14/2016

Customer review by Mgtrevi28

4.0 stars 1/14/2016 by Mgtrevi28
by Mgtrevi28

This product was recommended to me -- now I highly recommended !

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mgtrevi28
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good for just 2 people... At the max 3.
12/23/2011

Customer review by abierto

3.0 stars 12/23/2011 by abierto
by abierto

When I purchased this product, which says 16-cup rice cooker, I was expecting it to be sufficient for 5-6 people but it turned out otherwise. The cooker is small and can cook only 3 cups of rice at a time. It can cook 1 more cup but the water spills all over the cooker. This product would be ideal for daily cooking for a couple but cannot be used when guests drop by. I'd recommend to get a bigger one.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
abierto
California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very good appliance
1/5/2016

Customer review by Jomarpar

4.0 stars 1/5/2016 by Jomarpar
by Jomarpar

It does all expected, easy to use and clean and versatile

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jomarpar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Overcooked or undercooked and a mess
10/22/2008

Customer review by LufflyJ

2.0 stars 10/22/2008 by LufflyJ
by LufflyJ

I've managed to get stove-top rice cooking down pretty well, but got sucked in by this product's claims to "Make firm or fluffy rice the fast and easy way with this 16-cup rice cooker. No more having to stir or watch the pot; the rice cooker automatically keeps rice warm until you're ready to serve." Well, I've used it twice and it's going back to the store. The first time, my rice was completely undercooked. The second time it was completely overcooked. Both times, the bottom half inch of rice was inedible (what a waste!!). The second time, the liquid from the pot spewed all over the countertop even though I was only cooking 2 "cups" of rice (we're NOT talking an overfilled pot here!!). And no, the rice doesn't cook any faster in the cooker than it does on the stove top, so the description was wrong on pretty much all counts.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LufflyJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Smaller than expected
4/15/2014

Customer review by aWCustomer

3.0 stars 4/15/2014 by aWCustomer
by aWCustomer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was looking for a cooker that can cook 5 to 7 cups of rice and went for this B&D 16-cup cooker. It was much smaller that expected. Definitely not 16 cup capacity nor 8. Not sure what the manufacturer actually meant by 16 cups. I returned it without using it but in my opinion it will probably cook 3 cups of un-cooked rice (going by 1 cup rice - 2 cups water ratio). May be the $20 price was an indicator but could not judge it and went by the '16 cup' description. The cooker itself looked good though so will probably be looking for a bigger cooker may be '32 cups' or higher by manufacturers description!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
aWCustomer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very Nice
11/9/2011

Customer review by ShishSDSU

5.0 stars 11/9/2011 by ShishSDSU
by ShishSDSU

I love this product. This is very nice and we almost daily cook rice in this cooker. We cook brown and white rice and the results are awesome. Rice (White Basmati Rice) cooked very well with aroma and separated grains. If you add appropriate amount of rice and water you will get excellent results. We are completely satisfied with this product. We have not tried soup in this cooker yet. There should be some mechanism to completely auto turn off the cooker once the rice or food is cooked. It goes into heat/warm mode from cook mode once the cooking is done, which is nice as you get warm food always and bad since it eats electricity to keep your food/rice warm until you unplug the cooker/device. Overall, nice product.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShishSDSU
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A great rice cooker for a small party.
1/9/2014

Customer review by Mamilola

5.0 stars 1/9/2014 by Mamilola
by Mamilola

We have been using a same brand of 3-cup rice cooker for 4 years now. When I say 3-cup, I mean, 3 cups of uncooked rice. The description of this rice cooker says it's a 16-cup rice cooker, 16 cups means the yield or the cooked rice after cooking 7 cups (max.) of uncooked rice. It's a bit confusing. Anyway, I don't really need a big rice cooker. I just need a bigger one than what we already have, for potluck party. This is a great rice cooker.

Was this review helpful? (24) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mamilola
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Not happy with this!
12/8/2015

Customer review by Karla

1.0 stars 12/8/2015 by Karla
by Karla

Its supposed to be a 16 cup pot but it is as big as my 10 cup one. Crazy small!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Karla
Would recommend to a friend? No
Wonderful product
12/27/2015

Customer review by jani

5.0 stars 12/27/2015 by jani
by jani

It's wonderful product

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jani
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Easy to use
12/12/2013

Customer review by Vibz

5.0 stars 12/12/2013 by Vibz
by Vibz
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a non-sticky rice cooker. Meaning the rice doesn't stick on the pot when it's cooked. This is why a PLus. Price is affordable.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Vibz
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 337 total reviews
1-20 of 337 reviews