Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 496 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

496 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

496 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
279
4 stars
128
3 stars
25
2 stars
24
1 stars
40
1-20 of 365 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 365 total reviews
1-20 of 365 reviews
Encore
8/9/2014

Customer review by irvant

5.0 stars 8/9/2014 by irvant
by irvant
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this model rice cooker after the previous model I had by Black and Decker kicked the bucket -- after a very busy life of 20 years or so cooking rice at least every week. I had high hopes for the non-stick feature, and was completely thrilled to find that it is in fact, non-stick (the older model wasn't). I don't know if it's dishwasher proof or not, so I have been cleaning it by hand. Also, I do not follow the directions for measurements given by the manufacturer. I use a 2:1 water (or liquid) to white rice ratio, and it turns out beautifully. I like my rice a bit on the sticky side, and this is how it turns out with that ratio, so if you like yours dry and separated, use different measurements. I haven't used the steamer, and am not likely too. But as a rice cooker, this model exceeded my expectations, and couldn't be easier to use (except it would be nice to know if it can be washed in the dishwasher).

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
irvant
Oceanside, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
owned mine for over 3 yr.s now!
10/30/2011

Customer review by dootsie1

5.0 stars 10/30/2011 by dootsie1
by dootsie1

this little jewel has served me well over the past few years. originally, the low price plus the light weight of the cooker had me convinced i'd be replacing it in a year or so because i cook rice at least 3 times weekly! WRONG! i've moved a few times, it's been banged around, shuffled about and used extensively but, "she keeps on tickin'"... : ) it's not loaded with bells/whistles but the cooking feature automatically flipping to warming feature, is all i need. i cook brown rice mostly and get the same perfectly cooked rice as i do when using white. in fact, i'm purchasing one for my south louisiana daughter whose whole family are serious rice eaters! no more lending her mine : ) i join some of these other reviewers who have been surprised at some people writing about an issue w/bubbling thru the vent hole. i've never had that problem. add a little cumin and a jar of picante sauce and the results are a deliciously easy spanish rice!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dootsie1
houma, la
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Much lower than what I expected!
5/30/2016

Customer review by FarTah

1.0 stars 5/30/2016 by FarTah
by FarTah
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very poor quality. The cook/warm key was not working properly! sometimes it worked and sometimes did not!! The non stick material of the pot is very bad. a layer of my rice was compeletly stuck on it after each cooking. After a few days, I put it in garbage! You get what you pay!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FarTah
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wow 16 cup rice cooker for less than $15
7/28/2016

Customer review by RKotari

4.0 stars 7/28/2016 by RKotari
by RKotari
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We got this rice cooker from Walmart online. It is just $15 and working like the costly one and I am loving it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RKotari
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Amazing little appliance
3/29/2014

Customer review by cooks4friends

5.0 stars 3/29/2014 by cooks4friends
by cooks4friends

I bought this cooker some time ago and just got around to using it. It is so easy to use and made the best Basmati rice I've ever eaten. The pot is non-stick which is a plus. I didn't use the measure that came with the cooker or the measurements on the pot. This is what I did and it was perfect. 2 cups rice 1 teaspoon oil 3 cups reduced sodium chicken broth 1 teaspoon salt Put rice in the pot,add the oil and stir until all the rice is coated Add salt and chicken broth. Plug the cooker in and press the cook button. Cooker will go to warm when rice is cooked,but I will time it next time so I can remove the pot from the cooker as this time it started to get a little brown on the bottom. I think the oil on the rice did that. It had an excellent flavor and grains didn't stick together. I'm going to try brown rice next time. This is a great buy for $20.00.

Was this review helpful? (20) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cooks4friends
Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Great value for the price
7/20/2016

Customer review by walmartcyberguy

5.0 stars 7/20/2016 by walmartcyberguy
by walmartcyberguy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I cook the cheaper brown rice in this. An unexpected surprise is the inside comes out so you can put it in the dishwasher. I can also steam veggies in the tray. There is a cook and keep warm setting, no timer. They recommended you not put this under a cabinet due to the steam vent. A valuable book came with this for cooking times, amount of water to use, amount of rice/type of rice and vegetables.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
walmartcyberguy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My Black & Decker
5/10/2011

Customer review by Instructicon

5.0 stars 5/10/2011 by Instructicon
by Instructicon

I wondered why there were so many complaints about this product, but I guess some people are following the instructions that come with the cooker. Wrong! I went to Cuba, got hooked on rice, and my future mother-in-law showed me how to make the best rice with the cooker. Basically, one measure of rice (a full measure in the cup that comes with the rice cooker) should be matched with a cup and 1/2 of water. (2 full measures + 3 full measures of water and so on) She adds a little oil and some salt to make white rice. I have never had the dripping or splattering problem. The flavored rices (like Goya) are excellent when made with this cooker. Also, steaming is pretty easy and very efficient with this cooker. Also, "mi mamucha" showed me how to seat the cooking container in the cooker before cooking: spin it counter-clockwise before beginning to cook. I use the cooker at least three times a week. The oly problem is positioning the unit in an area where the steam will not discolor cabinets. If you are fortunate to have an ample kitchen, you're cool. Scary! When I got home from work on the day after I ordered this product it was sitting in its FedEx box on my porch! That was after paying the lowest shipping rate. Unbelievable! I bought this product twice. I plan to stuff my new unit in a duffle bag and take it to mamucha to replace her aging, metal rice cooker. I can't wait to see their faces when I pull it out of the bag!

Was this review helpful? (192) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Instructicon
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Black & Decker Rice Cooker
4/11/2016

Customer review by Kodi

4.0 stars 4/11/2016 by Kodi
by Kodi

This cooker is good for cooking rice since I sometimes don't have the time to watch my rice cook. So I use this rice cooker to cook my rice at night and in the morning it is ready for me to dish out to fix for my lunch

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kodi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sufficient and Nice
7/23/2016

Customer review by MoneRo

5.0 stars 7/23/2016 by MoneRo
by MoneRo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love the item. It provides more than enough cups. I fed seven (including me) at once from this powerhouse rice machine!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MoneRo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Worth the $$
1/11/2011

Customer review by NVFromChicago

4.0 stars 1/11/2011 by NVFromChicago
by NVFromChicago

We've used rice cookers before, and know for sure, that this one meets the expectations of a decent rice cooker, without pinching the pocket. Not many fancy features - just the "Cook" and "Warm" buttons. I haven't had the problem of water from the vent in the lid - that some others have complained about. But then, we've had it only for about a month now, and I haven't tried to fill it to the brim (I've seen this happen with my old rice cookers, as well, and usually the cause is when we try to fill the cooker to the brim). The shipping cost and times were very reasonable (though the site said 1 week, we got it in 2 days). I think it is overall a very good value - other non-stick cookers doing the same thing cost at least twice, in any online or retail store.

Was this review helpful? (51) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NVFromChicago
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Control the Spitting with a wet cloth
11/8/2010

Customer review by Brizz

5.0 stars 11/8/2010 by Brizz
by Brizz

This cooker make great rice, with easy cleanup. Rice on the bottom is a little crispy, but not burned, and I like the bottom layer the best. My old rice cooker was such a pain to clean. This cooker can be wiped off with a wet sponge. The only problem is the mess from spitting starchy liquid out the vent hole. You can control that mess by loosely placing a wet paper towel or dish cloth on top of the hole, allowing steam to vent but catching the wet mess that comes out.

Was this review helpful? (164) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Brizz
Houston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A great product
1/12/2011

Customer review by babysue1

5.0 stars 1/12/2011 by babysue1
by babysue1

I read some reviews before purchasing this product. What concerned me was when others mentioned that the water spilled over or bubbled over onto counter tops. But after using this product for a while, i don't know where those reviewers got that idea. It's never bubbled over and i think the only reason why it will bubble over is if you put in too much water. And the hard crust will only form if you leave it on warm for an extended period of time. Besides, the manual mentions that there will be some crust formation so i took that as being forewarned. This is a great product and it does what it says it will do so i will recommend it to everyone.I haven't used it for that long so i can't comment on the durability though.

Was this review helpful? (96) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
babysue1
tuscaloosa, Al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Won't recommend
4/17/2016

Customer review by Harish

1.0 stars 4/17/2016 by Harish
by Harish

I purchased it one week back. Initially it worked fine, but however stopped working within a week itself. I purchased it as per my friend's recommendation but had a bad experience with it

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Harish
Would recommend to a friend? No
Love
2/23/2016

Customer review by Kelly

5.0 stars 2/23/2016 by Kelly
by Kelly

Love love love!!!!! I have cooked gumbo, jambalaya,soups, speckle beans and more........Not just a rice cooker

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kelly
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
its a normal rice cooker
7/13/2016

Customer review by rukkunudeen

3.0 stars 7/13/2016 by rukkunudeen
by rukkunudeen
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

it says 16 cup rice cooker, but it doesn't cook that much rice. also the on and off switch mechanism is crazy. the ladle and cup are a added advantage. the ceramic non stick coating will wear off quickly

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rukkunudeen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
B & D 16 Cup Rice Cooker
4/13/2016

Customer review by patty2567

5.0 stars 4/13/2016 by patty2567
by patty2567

I love this cooker. In the 13 days I had it, I used it about 5 times. Easy to get attached to, easy to use and easy care. Unfortunately it died on day 13. I had filled out the warranty card and submitted it so when I called about the incident, there wasn't a problem. I am waiting - impatiently - for the replacement to arrive via mail. Even though I got a bad cooker, I wouldn't choose a different one. I am very happy with my B & D rice cooker.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
patty2567
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
B n D rice cooker
7/7/2016

Customer review by jenys5357

5.0 stars 7/7/2016 by jenys5357
by jenys5357
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this item as a gift and the recipient is very very happy. I loved the price and the shipping was quick. I told my friends about shopping on line at Walmart. I have someone else in my office who has started to shop online at Walmart too. She is very happy also. Thanks Walmart

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jenys5357
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Failed as a gift
7/6/2016

Customer review by Roselle

1.0 stars 7/6/2016 by Roselle
by Roselle

I bought this rice cooker as a present to my Auntie who just arrived in the U.S. from Southeast Asia, a month after she sent me a message that it quit working. Since she cannot return it to a Walmart store we have to pay for shipment to return it. I am one unhappy customer because this is supposed to be my welcome gift for her.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Roselle
Would recommend to a friend? No
very good
7/11/2016

Customer review by AKay

5.0 stars 7/11/2016 by AKay
by AKay
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

perfect rice cooker with this price

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AKay
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Customer Service from Spectrum Brands
6/29/2016

Customer review by Sash

5.0 stars 6/29/2016 by Sash
by Sash

I have purchased this product in 2015. For some reason this product didn't work after a year. I had 2 years of manufacturer warranty for this product. So I claimed warranty a couple of weeks ago for replacement unit with my purchase receipt with Spectrum Brands. They welcomed it and dispatched a brand new replacement unit (even new model which costs $30 in amazon now) to me. I strongly appreciate this customer service provided by Spectrum Brands. Kudos Team.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sash
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 365 total reviews
1-20 of 365 reviews