Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 453 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

453 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

453 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
257
4 stars
120
3 stars
23
2 stars
21
1 stars
32
1-20 of 322 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 322 total reviews
1-20 of 322 reviews
My Black & Decker
5/10/2011

Customer review by Instructicon

5.0 stars 5/10/2011 by Instructicon
by Instructicon

I wondered why there were so many complaints about this product, but I guess some people are following the instructions that come with the cooker. Wrong! I went to Cuba, got hooked on rice, and my future mother-in-law showed me how to make the best rice with the cooker. Basically, one measure of rice (a full measure in the cup that comes with the rice cooker) should be matched with a cup and 1/2 of water. (2 full measures + 3 full measures of water and so on) She adds a little oil and some salt to make white rice. I have never had the dripping or splattering problem. The flavored rices (like Goya) are excellent when made with this cooker. Also, steaming is pretty easy and very efficient with this cooker. Also, "mi mamucha" showed me how to seat the cooking container in the cooker before cooking: spin it counter-clockwise before beginning to cook. I use the cooker at least three times a week. The oly problem is positioning the unit in an area where the steam will not discolor cabinets. If you are fortunate to have an ample kitchen, you're cool. Scary! When I got home from work on the day after I ordered this product it was sitting in its FedEx box on my porch! That was after paying the lowest shipping rate. Unbelievable! I bought this product twice. I plan to stuff my new unit in a duffle bag and take it to mamucha to replace her aging, metal rice cooker. I can't wait to see their faces when I pull it out of the bag!

Was this review helpful? (161) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Instructicon
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Control the Spitting with a wet cloth
11/8/2010

Customer review by Brizz

5.0 stars 11/8/2010 by Brizz
by Brizz

This cooker make great rice, with easy cleanup. Rice on the bottom is a little crispy, but not burned, and I like the bottom layer the best. My old rice cooker was such a pain to clean. This cooker can be wiped off with a wet sponge. The only problem is the mess from spitting starchy liquid out the vent hole. You can control that mess by loosely placing a wet paper towel or dish cloth on top of the hole, allowing steam to vent but catching the wet mess that comes out.

Was this review helpful? (144) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Brizz
Houston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A great product
1/12/2011

Customer review by babysue1

5.0 stars 1/12/2011 by babysue1
by babysue1

I read some reviews before purchasing this product. What concerned me was when others mentioned that the water spilled over or bubbled over onto counter tops. But after using this product for a while, i don't know where those reviewers got that idea. It's never bubbled over and i think the only reason why it will bubble over is if you put in too much water. And the hard crust will only form if you leave it on warm for an extended period of time. Besides, the manual mentions that there will be some crust formation so i took that as being forewarned. This is a great product and it does what it says it will do so i will recommend it to everyone.I haven't used it for that long so i can't comment on the durability though.

Was this review helpful? (85) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
babysue1
tuscaloosa, Al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Worth the $$
1/11/2011

Customer review by NVFromChicago

4.0 stars 1/11/2011 by NVFromChicago
by NVFromChicago

We've used rice cookers before, and know for sure, that this one meets the expectations of a decent rice cooker, without pinching the pocket. Not many fancy features - just the "Cook" and "Warm" buttons. I haven't had the problem of water from the vent in the lid - that some others have complained about. But then, we've had it only for about a month now, and I haven't tried to fill it to the brim (I've seen this happen with my old rice cookers, as well, and usually the cause is when we try to fill the cooker to the brim). The shipping cost and times were very reasonable (though the site said 1 week, we got it in 2 days). I think it is overall a very good value - other non-stick cookers doing the same thing cost at least twice, in any online or retail store.

Was this review helpful? (42) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NVFromChicago
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
A great rice cooker for a small party.
1/9/2014

Customer review by Mamilola

5.0 stars 1/9/2014 by Mamilola
by Mamilola

We have been using a same brand of 3-cup rice cooker for 4 years now. When I say 3-cup, I mean, 3 cups of uncooked rice. The description of this rice cooker says it's a 16-cup rice cooker, 16 cups means the yield or the cooked rice after cooking 7 cups (max.) of uncooked rice. It's a bit confusing. Anyway, I don't really need a big rice cooker. I just need a bigger one than what we already have, for potluck party. This is a great rice cooker.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mamilola
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
does the job
12/12/2013

Customer review by monkeyshenanigan

4.0 stars 12/12/2013 by monkeyshenanigan
by monkeyshenanigan

Just got this to replace ours that just broke. It was the exact same one and lasted us 6 years. We used it approx 3x per month. Liked it well enogh to buy the same one again. Sometimes rice on the bottom of the pan gets overcooked.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
monkeyshenanigan
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good for just 2 people... At the max 3.
12/23/2011

Customer review by abierto

3.0 stars 12/23/2011 by abierto
by abierto

When I purchased this product, which says 16-cup rice cooker, I was expecting it to be sufficient for 5-6 people but it turned out otherwise. The cooker is small and can cook only 3 cups of rice at a time. It can cook 1 more cup but the water spills all over the cooker. This product would be ideal for daily cooking for a couple but cannot be used when guests drop by. I'd recommend to get a bigger one.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
abierto
California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Just What I Wanted
10/14/2011

Customer review by Grammiemac

5.0 stars 10/14/2011 by Grammiemac
by Grammiemac

Black and Decker products are usually quality products and they did not disappoint me. The rice cooker is easy to use and keeps the rice nice and hot while the rest of the meal is being prepared. This was a value product; inexpensive and totally what I wanted in a rice cooker.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Grammiemac
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing little appliance
3/29/2014

Customer review by cooks4friends

5.0 stars 3/29/2014 by cooks4friends
by cooks4friends

I bought this cooker some time ago and just got around to using it. It is so easy to use and made the best Basmati rice I've ever eaten. The pot is non-stick which is a plus. I didn't use the measure that came with the cooker or the measurements on the pot. This is what I did and it was perfect. 2 cups rice 1 teaspoon oil 3 cups reduced sodium chicken broth 1 teaspoon salt Put rice in the pot,add the oil and stir until all the rice is coated Add salt and chicken broth. Plug the cooker in and press the cook button. Cooker will go to warm when rice is cooked,but I will time it next time so I can remove the pot from the cooker as this time it started to get a little brown on the bottom. I think the oil on the rice did that. It had an excellent flavor and grains didn't stick together. I'm going to try brown rice next time. This is a great buy for $20.00.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cooks4friends
Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Very Nice
11/9/2011

Customer review by ShishSDSU

5.0 stars 11/9/2011 by ShishSDSU
by ShishSDSU

I love this product. This is very nice and we almost daily cook rice in this cooker. We cook brown and white rice and the results are awesome. Rice (White Basmati Rice) cooked very well with aroma and separated grains. If you add appropriate amount of rice and water you will get excellent results. We are completely satisfied with this product. We have not tried soup in this cooker yet. There should be some mechanism to completely auto turn off the cooker once the rice or food is cooked. It goes into heat/warm mode from cook mode once the cooking is done, which is nice as you get warm food always and bad since it eats electricity to keep your food/rice warm until you unplug the cooker/device. Overall, nice product.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ShishSDSU
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good price, kind of messy but managebale
1/14/2014

Customer review by Andy6716

4.0 stars 1/14/2014 by Andy6716
by Andy6716

It works well though it sprays slime surrounding countertop and floor. Actually it sprays only if you use too much water, otherwise it is kind of ok...The good think is that it takes less time to cook both brown and white rice compare to other rice cooker like Aroma...

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Andy6716
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
disapointing
1/12/2008

Customer review by likemyrice

1.0 stars 1/12/2008 by likemyrice
by likemyrice

The cooker causes the bottom 1/2" of rice to become hard, yellow and rubberized. You need to flake the top off and leave the hard stuff. Spews all over the countertop. Have to put a big towel under it to contain the mess. I guess I'll trade in on a different cooker.

Was this review helpful? (12) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
likemyrice
Borger, Tx.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
Easy to use
12/12/2013

Customer review by Vibz

5.0 stars 12/12/2013 by Vibz
by Vibz

This is a non-sticky rice cooker. Meaning the rice doesn't stick on the pot when it's cooked. This is why a PLus. Price is affordable.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Vibz
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I Love it.. No trouble so far.
11/11/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 11/11/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I Love it.. I bought this cooker and I am using it for the past 2 weeks. The rice doesn't stick on to the bottom as it has a Non-stick coating and fast cooking. Steam comes out while cooking but we can clean it once its done. I would recommend this to my family and friends for sure.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Atlanta,GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great rice cooker!
10/3/2011

Customer review by PretPret

4.0 stars 10/3/2011 by PretPret
by PretPret

I bought one of these rice cookers for our son & daughter-in-law a couple of years ago. Once I borrowed it as I had a lot of rice to make for a potluck dinner, and knew I had to have one of my own. It makes cooking rice so much easier. The only reason I gave it 4 stars rather than 5 is because the rice on the bottom of the pan always turns brown. I don't know why as I don't leave it in the pan after the rice is cooked. Other than that I love this cooker!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PretPret
New Hampshire
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
overflows at 2 cups!
5/28/2008

Customer review by looking2shop

1.0 stars 5/28/2008 by looking2shop
by looking2shop

Purchsed for price and size. Unfortunatley the "16" cup rice maker boiled foam over the side and onto my stove, and I was only making 3 cups. Giving it the benefit of the doubt I made 2 cups the next day and same thing again, I had a steam / rice foam boil over. The product was returned to Wal-mart, I do not know if it cannot make 2 or 3 cups, i'd hate to see what 10 or 16 cups would look like.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
looking2shop
Rochester, MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
12/27/2011

Customer review by Cooker80

2.0 stars 12/27/2011 by Cooker80
by Cooker80

I purchased this item for the large capacity it indicated, 16 cup rice cooker. I should have guessed at the price, which was a great price, it was too good to be true. When I recieved it, clearly says it cooks 16 cups but the bowl clearly would not hold 16 cups of cooked rice. Other than that, it is a good cooker, quality is good. But, I am still in need of a rice cooker that will hold 16 cups of cooked rice at a reasonable price.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cooker80
Would recommend to a friend? No
What a mess!
1/7/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 1/7/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Spews water ALL over the countertop--and it's rice-water, so it formed a crusty film all over itself, all over the counter, and on the floor. (we had to put it close to the edge of the counter because it was spewing "water" onto the bottom of the cabinets). And we did NOT put too much water in. We were only cooking at level 2 - 2 cups. I am returning it today!

Was this review helpful? (8) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
lakeland, fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
We love this product
1/30/2012

Customer review by vinkb

5.0 stars 1/30/2012 by vinkb
by vinkb

We have used the product for 4 yrs and again replaced recently with the same product. We never had any issues with the product and we are happy with the way it works.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vinkb
charlotte, nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
Wonderful Features and Great Value!
1/2/2012

Customer review by StephAnd

5.0 stars 1/2/2012 by StephAnd
by StephAnd

This Rice Cooker is a wonderful value. It's not only a nice size but the features that allow you position the rice spoon on the side of the cooker and to hook the lid to the cooker instead of tracking water condensation on your countertop is GREAT! All rice cookers should allow include these features.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
StephAnd
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
1-20 of 322 total reviews
1-20 of 322 reviews