Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 36 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

36 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

36 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
16
4 stars
9
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 stars
5
1-20 of 36 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 36 total reviews
1-20 of 36 reviews
easy to install
12/26/2007

Customer review by lovtocamp

5.0 stars 12/26/2007 by lovtocamp
by lovtocamp

makes my life so much easier not to have to drag a hose thru the rv to clean out the black water now just hook up the hose outside the rv and flush

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lovtocamp
reno,nevada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Ingenuous
5/13/2010

Customer review by RVFulltimer

4.0 stars 5/13/2010 by RVFulltimer
by RVFulltimer

This is by far the easiest, and most thorough way to rinse your holding tank. If installed on the opposite side of the tank from the dump valve, you will get the most thorough cleaning possible with the least amount of effort. The only weakness is that the product comes with a 5 ft supply line and it really needs to be 8 to 9 feet long to successfully reach the opposite side of the tank. I solved this by attaching a 4 ft 1/2" water hose (another expense). I would recommend dumping the tank before it has completely filled. If the waste level remains high enough to completely cover the tornado for a period of time, it can eventually clog the jets to where it will cease to function. If properly installed and used, this product is something you won't want to be without. A little pricey, but no real competition on the market.

Was this review helpful? (25) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RVFulltimer
Prescott, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Keep the water pressure down
8/27/2009

Customer review by strach

4.0 stars 8/27/2009 by strach
by strach

This is a great product. I am on my second one. The problem is you must control the water pressure otherwise you will blow the head off it. Other than that the product works great and saves a lot of time and mess at the dump station.

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
strach
enola, pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Makes life much simpler
7/29/2008

Customer review by Webslave

5.0 stars 7/29/2008 by Webslave
by Webslave

Was sitting one day at the dump station, slowly filling the black tank up from the dump valve side of the tank, when it dawned on me that what I was really doing was pushing all the stuff back into the tanks...hoping it would come out on the second try, or the third, or the fourth... Eureka, put one of these on the black tank, one on the gray tank. Mounted the hose connections (put quick connects on them) right next to the tank valves. Pull the black handle...while emptying, attach hose to the black Tornado connector, turn on, flush until clear...about 3 minutes. Repeat for the gray tank and we're outta there. Went from 20 minutes and more at the dumpstation to just a bit more than 10. Happy camper, definitely. Two things though...they should provide longer hoses, both my tanks were longer than the lengths of hose in the kit - made extensions out of an old fresh water hose. Second - they need to make their water pressure recommendation in bigger print or somehow more prominent. It is there, just way at the end of the instruction page and well past the point most people would have quit reading, thinking they were finished. I've read some reviews where people complained about them "blowing up" or breaking. I suspect that they were using unregulated water pressure and just turning the valve on full tilt. I use a 40 psi regulator on the hose and slowly open the valve to let them "spin up" gradually and have had no problems. Looking at how they are made when I installed them, I can see how a sudden burst of water, particularly a high pressure burst, could cause them to either seize up or blow apart. Keep the pressure down, open the valve slowly and they work just fine :-)

Was this review helpful? (68) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Webslave
Clearville, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per month
Worth the trouble
6/24/2010

Customer review by rockymountainman

5.0 stars 6/24/2010 by rockymountainman
by rockymountainman

I had read some reviews of this product on Amazon and other sites and found it at Walmart's site. It was a little less costly and was delivered to my door rather than having to pick it up at the store, which actually isn't a problem. I wanted to make sure that the black water tank on my travel trailer was as "cleaned out" as much as possible before putting it away for weeks at a time. I didn't want to drag a hose through my camper because it seemed more of a hassle and I also felt that if there was a line behind me at the dump station, that would just create more cold stares that anything else. The install on this would have been easier had the frame of my camper not been as close to my water tank judging from other people's campers, I think it would have been a much easier install. The manufacturer suggests to install on the opposite end from the drain valve, which I did and I barely had enough hose to reach, but it did so you might want to measure your tank before you install it or you'll have to install on the middle of the tank. After the drilling, I connected the hose adapter near the main drain valve and I was done. It took me about an hour to install, but on other trailers I imagine 15 minutes would be all that's required. The first time I used this I had a regular, black colored adapter that connected to the sewer hose which didn't allow me to see what was going on. I scrapped that and bought a clear adapter to make sure that this thing was working. I couldn't really judge if it worked well or not, the first time because of the black adapter, but the second time I used it, I can tell you that it really did a good job of what it's advertised to do. After draining the black water tank, I turned on the hose and let it run for several minutes. I suggest letting it run for a while as it does take some time to make sure everything does move out. It did a great job of getting the areas of the tank that normally would not have been reached any other way and I could tell it worked by watching what flowed into the drain. I would say that my only concern is if you live in a cold weather area of the country, buy a connector and compressor to blow out the hose before you store it as I would worry about the water in the hose and the "head" in the tank freezing and breaking during the winter. Definitely this is a great purchase and I would do it again.

Was this review helpful? (38) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rockymountainman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great idea, poor product
6/5/2009

Customer review by bdmry

1.0 stars 6/5/2009 by bdmry
by bdmry

I purchased 3 of these since I have two gray tanks and one black. After reading some negative reviews I figured I better test them a bit before installing them to make sure they were OK. One of them didn't even spin right out of the package. The other two worked initially but then when I went to test them again they stopped turning as well. They turn easily by hand, but when the water is turned on they just sit there spraying water without spinning. If only one of them was bad I could accept that I received a bad one, but with all three being bad, this is clearly a poorly designed product. I will instead buy the Quickie Flush which has no moving parts.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bdmry
Would recommend to a friend? No
Tornado Destroyed
8/16/2010

Customer review by TiredOldMan2

3.0 stars 8/16/2010 by TiredOldMan2
by TiredOldMan2

I bought the product over a year ago. I've only used it to flush around 8 times. I have taken care to turn the pressure up slowly (as noted on some of the other reviews) but I noticed the last two times things weren't right. I removed the unit from the tank yesterday and found it was no longer spinning. Because of the fact it works well, when it works, and I've got a big hole in my black water tank I'll be getting a replacement, but there must be another out there that doesn't fail so quickly.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TiredOldMan2
San Antonio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Good product works as described
4/7/2009

Customer review by TG800

5.0 stars 4/7/2009 by TG800
by TG800

Would recommend, Rinses as directed,,, no mess.. Caution: Look at your tank(s) on your RV before ordering. Plan ahead where you want to place it. I had to lower the black tank slightly to mount correctly under the camper(due to a steel support beam) Once mounted, resecured tank in original position .. Unit works great,,, use light water pressure to start head turning then increase. Instant hard pressure could lock up the head from spinning...

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TG800
Belle Chasse, La.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
So far so good...
6/28/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 6/28/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Installation was a bit tricky, since my blackwater tank is shallow and not easily accessed. By crawling under the rig and maneuvering a bit, I was able to drill the pilot holes and cut the opening. Be sure that your pilot holes are accurately drilled to make screw installation easier. I had a problem there and thus made more work for myself. Locating the hose hookup on near the drain valves is no easy task. I may have to add an extension to make flushing easier. I dumped my tank today and flushed it. The sensor for the tank still reads two-thirds full, however. I'm hoping that with further use, the sensors will read correctly. Only time will tell.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Helena, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
A must have
6/2/2008

Customer review by ShopForThings

5.0 stars 6/2/2008 by ShopForThings
by ShopForThings

The Tornado is a camper black water tank rinsing device. Installation: Carefully drill the mounting holes in the black tank with the provided template, then mount the Tornado with sealant and a few screws. Use: When it is time to clean the black tank, take your 'tank cleaning ONLY' hose and connect it to the Tornado. Open the black tank valve and turn on the water. The Tornado will blast the inside of the tank and rinse it until it runs clear - no need to stand over the toilet with a hose anymore! It works so well that I immediately bought one for our second camper.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShopForThings
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
RV tank rinser-excellent!
11/24/2009

Customer review by Jenra

5.0 stars 11/24/2009 by Jenra
by Jenra

Easy to install once you gain access to a side of your RV holding tank. I ran the Tornado rinser for 1 hour. All the holding tank level sensors that were not reading properly before, were now reading accurately. The residue that was causing the misreadings were very effectively removed! Easy to use and certainly better than the other methods I've tried & heard of for cleaning the level sensors. A terrific & cost effective device!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jenra
Colrain, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
a MUST for all RV'ers
9/1/2009

Customer review by KaBOglie

5.0 stars 9/1/2009 by KaBOglie
by KaBOglie

I've installed these on the last three travel trailers I've owned. I don't go camping without them. It not only sprays down the whole inside of the tank it allows you to fill your tank with clean fresh water without having to run a hose into your rig! You can get your tank VERY VERY clean with this device! Also works well to get rid of toilet paper on the sensors! A+ product!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KaBOglie
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Does not spin as advertised.
7/9/2014

Customer review by RayJ13

1.0 stars 7/9/2014 by RayJ13
by RayJ13
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Upon receipt, hooked up to hose to check and the device does not spin to rinse. I am contacting the manufacturer.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RayJ13
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/21/2012

Customer review by bigE52

5.0 stars 5/21/2012 by bigE52
by bigE52

It was easy to install, worked like a charm. My black water tank has not read empty for over a year, after a few flushes with the tornado it is reading empty!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bigE52
Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Does the job.
5/29/2014

Customer review by Robob58

3.0 stars 5/29/2014 by Robob58
by Robob58
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is the second Camco Tank Rinser that I purchased. The first one broke off at the hose connection to the tank unit after only about 8 uses. The hose connector was made of plastic and I have now seen reports that this seems to be a common problem. The new connector is made of brass although it is attached to the unit which is still made of plastic. All that being said, when the unit was functional, it worked well and seemed to do a good job at rinsing the tank. I have used similar units in several prior RV's with good results and no problems.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Robob58
Treasure Island, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Defective product
7/23/2009

Customer review by melbettym

1.0 stars 7/23/2009 by melbettym
by melbettym

I purchased this product to replace a previous one that had broken at the hose connection. The replacement from Walmart had been improved in that the hose connection was now metal, not plastic. It was defective in that the check valve, that was supposed to prevent holding tank contents from leaking back into the hose connection, leaked!! I had to buy another Tornado from a local RV dealer because of time constraints.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
melbettym
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
An improvement
8/24/2009

Customer review by Haymaker

4.0 stars 8/24/2009 by Haymaker
by Haymaker

This is the second time I have purchased this product. The 1st time (2 yars ago) the place where you atached the blackwater rinse hose was made of plastic and it eventually failed from tightening the hose. The new model has a metal fastener and should last much longer. Device works great if the user turns the water on slowly rather than full force immediately.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Haymaker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Spotless black tank!
8/16/2010

Customer review by prawn

4.0 stars 8/16/2010 by prawn
by prawn

Installed this a year ago and have had a sparkling clean and odor free black tank since then. My only regret is paying big bucks to have it installed by the RV service guys. He did not tie up the tubes so they got caught on a stick and broke the collar. I replaced the part and I am back up and running.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
prawn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per year
poorly tested product
9/14/2008

Customer review by WestxSRT

1.0 stars 9/14/2008 by WestxSRT
by WestxSRT

The spinner cleaner is poorly made and leaks at all the seams, I tried it out before installing to watch the tornado action and what a joke! its DOES NOT spin at any water pressure.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WestxSRT
Canyon Tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
toronado tank flusher
11/23/2010

Customer review by abear1800

5.0 stars 11/23/2010 by abear1800
by abear1800

The tornado tank flusing product is easy to install and works great. I was impressed that you can hear the unit flushing. I will let you know how it holds up in a year! ABEAR 1800

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
abear1800
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
1-20 of 36 total reviews
1-20 of 36 reviews