Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 36 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

36 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5 stars
30
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 28 total reviews
Very sharp and well-crafted
6/9/2009

Customer review by thistler

5.0 stars by thistler

We finally replaced our dull knives. The new knives were recommended by an independent reviewer (CR) and we were not disappointed with their quality and excellent balance. These knives are very sharp. So, if you're used to a dull knife be extra careful when you handle these.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
thistler
Oneonta, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Chikara Series 12-Piece
1/3/2014

Customer review by Ghostmark

5.0 stars by Ghostmark

I discovered these knives from a Consumer Report and purchased them here at Walmart Online. Great price and shipping from Walmart. The Ginsu Bamboo Chikara Series 12-Piece Cutlery Set is amazing for the price and by far the best knives I have owned. The stainless steal is high quality and so far (over a year) has proved truly stainless. The blades hold their edge extremely well and are very sharp for long periods. I am guilty of not always using the best cutting surfaces and these Chikara series knives have no problem with that! The balance and feel of these knives are great. Simply saying it's a pleasure to use them, sums it up nicely. As of this review, I have purchased three sets of these. 1st for myself, I loved them so I gave them as gifts twice! The people who received them as gifts, rave about them to me all the time. "Best gift ever" has been repeated many times over the year. The Bamboo knife block is solid but I do wish it was slightly angled. However, in reading reviews and info about this set, I learned it's designed that way to avoid dulling the blades. I would recommend the Chikara series knives by Ginsu to anyone...and I have, many times. ;) For a gift or for yourself these knives are a fantastic addition for any kitchen.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Ghostmark
Raleigh, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Value
7/18/2009

Customer review by kawawa

4.0 stars by kawawa

Only complaint is I wish the block was angled so I could remove the knives while they we under the cabinet overhang. Otherwise excellent set!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
kawawa
Lawrence, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
8/18/2008

Customer review by tarmat

5.0 stars by tarmat

I have never had a set of knives that were this sharp. The quality is fantastic and using them was quite a surprise as they flowed through every thing I used them on. This is the small set and it has every thing you would need unless you were a Chef.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
tarmat
Henderson, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
2/1/2011

Customer review by RDFuquay

4.0 stars by RDFuquay

Good Product. Knife blades go all the way through the handle. The knives seem a little light. Knives are very sharp and the bamboo block is well constructed. I wish the set came with a longer serrated knife for bread, but overall a good set.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
RDFuquay
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Throw away your old knives
1/13/2008

Customer review by BabsShop

5.0 stars by BabsShop

I purchased this knife set for my mom, who already had one Ginsu knife and a collection of very old, very dull knives that she has accummulated over the last 30 years. When she first opened the box, the knives and the bamboo block were visually impressive, sleek and modern looking. She has been using them for a month now and absolutely loves them....she even finally threw away all of her old knives! The only problem that she experienced was that one of the smaller knives was slightly bent at the very tip. However, she was able to apply some pressure on it and bend it back.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
BabsShop
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good so far
1/4/2008

Customer review by kelly11

5.0 stars by kelly11

We've only had the knives for a few weeks, but they have worked well thus far. The knives are high quality and have a sleek design. I love having the scissors handy at the kitchen counter. The bamboo wood holder is also attractive. Did not rate durability because we haven't had them long enough.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
kelly11
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome
8/31/2014

Customer review by newbabe

5.0 stars by newbabe

These knives are awesome. I never realized how dull my knives were until I used these.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
newbabe
Murfreesboro, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Investment
12/22/2008

Customer review by ams0671

5.0 stars by ams0671

If you like to cook - Not frozen or previously prepared foods, then having knives is perhaps the most important thing. Having good kinve is even better. These knives are great. The only down side, I wish there were 2-3 more knives in this package. I am sure if I wanted to pay more I could find a more complete set, like my old set of farbare ware. The Farbere Ware, well they are ok, better than most... but this set... You will love. Remeber, you are getting what you pay for.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ams0671
New Hampshire
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love the 8 knives, ok with the steak knives.
7/6/2013

Customer review by SparkyPie

4.0 stars by SparkyPie

Pros: 8 High quality forged knives for the chef. Love using them. Recommend them highly. Cons: Not dishwasher safe (which they clearly state). Butcher block is not bamboo, as described. It is knotty pine with a bamboo laminate. Felt cheated on that as I don't think the pine knife slots will be as hygienic as bamboo would be. Butcher block's upright stance makes removing Chef's knife and hone impossible under a cabinet. Steak knives look and feel stamped, not forged. They feel like cheap knives but cut very well. I would recommend buying the 8 piece set for the chef, and pick up other steak knives.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
SparkyPie
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/24/2012

Customer review by JM2231

5.0 stars by JM2231

Great so far. Extremely sharp and look great on the counter. Great buy.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
JM2231
Wentzville, Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
8/23/2013

Customer review by MtJoyFamily

5.0 stars by MtJoyFamily

Awesome knife set! Well packaged....very sleek looking and excellent quality...and considering the price I am over the moon!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MtJoyFamily
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent knife set
1/8/2014

Customer review by iwwright

5.0 stars by iwwright

Nice set of cutlery at a great price. The knives feel good in your hands, cut well, and appear to be well built. They have an excellent rating on Consumer Reports, and look good too.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
iwwright
Acworth, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best knives I ever owned!
1/18/2014

Customer review by mlip

5.0 stars by mlip

I was a little reluctant to buy buy so glad I did. They are so sharp and a great deal.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
mlip
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/26/2012

Customer review by placated

5.0 stars by placated

My wife was constantly complaining about her kitchen knives being dull. I went to Consummers Report to find the best knives for the money. They recommended Gensu Bamboo Chikars. Since I am a Walmart customer I ordered the knives and they arrived exactly when promised! My wife was VERY pleased!! And gentlemen, what ever pleases my wife tickles me plum to death. That is the reason we have stayed married for 56 years. Thanks to Walmart I have at least one more year of married bliss! God Bless you!!! HAPPYHUSBAND.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
placated
Ponca City O.K.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
wonderful - wish I had them years ago
2/8/2012

Customer review by chocoholic4ever

5.0 stars by chocoholic4ever

These knives are great. I bought the steak knives and they were great so I started searching for something like this set. I have another popular brand that comes with a sharpener and they do not even compare to these knives. I could not believe how they cut so nicely. I do not put them in the dishwasher as recommended but wish they were dishwasher safe. I plan to purchase them for my son and daughter.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
chocoholic4ever
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Satisfied with knives
5/28/2013

Customer review by LaPoochie

4.0 stars by LaPoochie

I am so far very satisfied with this knife set. Have been using them for 3 weeks and they perform very well. I was especially impressed with the speedy home delivery from Walmart! It was a Mother's Day gift for my wife. Ordered the set after 10 pm on the Wednesday before Mother's Day; received the knife set the following Friday afternoon.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
LaPoochie
Chicago, IL suburbs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A bit pricey, but pretty good...
9/6/2014

Customer review by BlackPanther71

4.0 stars by BlackPanther71

These are great knives, and they are a bit different than what I'm used to. I haven't used them yet enough to experience the full quality of this knife set, though. Too, they are overpriced just a little, but for the money, they were worth it. The only reason I didn't give five stars is because of the lack of experience with the knife set. I would recommend them.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
BlackPanther71
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/11/2009

Customer review by onlnshpr

5.0 stars by onlnshpr

This was purchased as a Christmas gift, and I am very envious of the person who received it. I will probably purchase a second one for myself

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
onlnshpr
tulsa, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Walmart associate
My 2 cents
5/7/2013

Customer review by Archersofloaf12

3.0 stars by Archersofloaf12

1. Outside packaging looks good. Inner individual are dirty, they clearly packed the parts on the floor and there is a layer of "dust". The instruction to clean before use....please follow. 2. After cleaning (with soap and warm water), I noticed the handle lost it's sheen. It looks dull. I am okay but if you are into aesthetic, this is a minus. 3. Have not had a chance to really use all the knifes (just moved in and will update this after 6-12 months) I am giving it 3 stars based on my initial feel, will need to use it before I feel comfortable bumping it up

Was this review helpful? (1) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Archersofloaf12
Hoboken, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 28 total reviews