Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 37 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

37 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

37 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
30
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-20 of 29 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 29 total reviews
1-20 of 29 reviews
Chikara Series 12-Piece
1/3/2014

Customer review by Ghostmark

5.0 stars 1/3/2014 by Ghostmark
by Ghostmark

I discovered these knives from a Consumer Report and purchased them here at Walmart Online. Great price and shipping from Walmart. The Ginsu Bamboo Chikara Series 12-Piece Cutlery Set is amazing for the price and by far the best knives I have owned. The stainless steal is high quality and so far (over a year) has proved truly stainless. The blades hold their edge extremely well and are very sharp for long periods. I am guilty of not always using the best cutting surfaces and these Chikara series knives have no problem with that! The balance and feel of these knives are great. Simply saying it's a pleasure to use them, sums it up nicely. As of this review, I have purchased three sets of these. 1st for myself, I loved them so I gave them as gifts twice! The people who received them as gifts, rave about them to me all the time. "Best gift ever" has been repeated many times over the year. The Bamboo knife block is solid but I do wish it was slightly angled. However, in reading reviews and info about this set, I learned it's designed that way to avoid dulling the blades. I would recommend the Chikara series knives by Ginsu to anyone...and I have, many times. ;) For a gift or for yourself these knives are a fantastic addition for any kitchen.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ghostmark
Raleigh, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Don't even want to try them out
12/19/2015

Customer review by Daniel

1.0 stars 12/19/2015 by Daniel
by Daniel

Just opened my 12 piece Chikara set and what a disappointment. I opened a steak knife first and thought, "wow, this is really cheap looking". Opened the rest of the steak knives and they were all the same. Started opening other knives and they looked much nicer, felt much nicer and actually said Chikara on them (steak knives didn't). Realized the company tried to sneak in cheap steak knife Chikara knockoffs. I started examining the actual Chikara knives and realized that some of the blades were bent considerably, some had dings and black smudges, and some didn't even feel sharp. I'm wrapping them up and sending them back. Don't waste your time on these unless you can get someone to guarantee the set you ordered was quality checked. My set looked like factory seconds with cheap knockoff replacements sprinkled in.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Daniel
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Value
7/18/2009

Customer review by kawawa

4.0 stars 7/18/2009 by kawawa
by kawawa

Only complaint is I wish the block was angled so I could remove the knives while they we under the cabinet overhang. Otherwise excellent set!

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kawawa
Lawrence, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
8/18/2008

Customer review by tarmat

5.0 stars 8/18/2008 by tarmat
by tarmat

I have never had a set of knives that were this sharp. The quality is fantastic and using them was quite a surprise as they flowed through every thing I used them on. This is the small set and it has every thing you would need unless you were a Chef.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tarmat
Henderson, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Love the 8 knives, ok with the steak knives.
7/6/2013

Customer review by SparkyPie

4.0 stars 7/6/2013 by SparkyPie
by SparkyPie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Pros: 8 High quality forged knives for the chef. Love using them. Recommend them highly. Cons: Not dishwasher safe (which they clearly state). Butcher block is not bamboo, as described. It is knotty pine with a bamboo laminate. Felt cheated on that as I don't think the pine knife slots will be as hygienic as bamboo would be. Butcher block's upright stance makes removing Chef's knife and hone impossible under a cabinet. Steak knives look and feel stamped, not forged. They feel like cheap knives but cut very well. I would recommend buying the 8 piece set for the chef, and pick up other steak knives.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SparkyPie
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Throw away your old knives
1/13/2008

Customer review by BabsShop

5.0 stars 1/13/2008 by BabsShop
by BabsShop

I purchased this knife set for my mom, who already had one Ginsu knife and a collection of very old, very dull knives that she has accummulated over the last 30 years. When she first opened the box, the knives and the bamboo block were visually impressive, sleek and modern looking. She has been using them for a month now and absolutely loves them....she even finally threw away all of her old knives! The only problem that she experienced was that one of the smaller knives was slightly bent at the very tip. However, she was able to apply some pressure on it and bend it back.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BabsShop
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very sharp and well-crafted
6/9/2009

Customer review by thistler

5.0 stars 6/9/2009 by thistler
by thistler

We finally replaced our dull knives. The new knives were recommended by an independent reviewer (CR) and we were not disappointed with their quality and excellent balance. These knives are very sharp. So, if you're used to a dull knife be extra careful when you handle these.

Was this review helpful? (19) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
thistler
Oneonta, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
2/1/2011

Customer review by RDFuquay

4.0 stars 2/1/2011 by RDFuquay
by RDFuquay

Good Product. Knife blades go all the way through the handle. The knives seem a little light. Knives are very sharp and the bamboo block is well constructed. I wish the set came with a longer serrated knife for bread, but overall a good set.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RDFuquay
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good so far
1/4/2008

Customer review by kelly11

5.0 stars 1/4/2008 by kelly11
by kelly11

We've only had the knives for a few weeks, but they have worked well thus far. The knives are high quality and have a sleek design. I love having the scissors handy at the kitchen counter. The bamboo wood holder is also attractive. Did not rate durability because we haven't had them long enough.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kelly11
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome
8/31/2014

Customer review by newbabe

5.0 stars 8/31/2014 by newbabe
by newbabe
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

These knives are awesome. I never realized how dull my knives were until I used these.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
newbabe
Murfreesboro, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/26/2012

Customer review by placated

5.0 stars 10/26/2012 by placated
by placated
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My wife was constantly complaining about her kitchen knives being dull. I went to Consummers Report to find the best knives for the money. They recommended Gensu Bamboo Chikars. Since I am a Walmart customer I ordered the knives and they arrived exactly when promised! My wife was VERY pleased!! And gentlemen, what ever pleases my wife tickles me plum to death. That is the reason we have stayed married for 56 years. Thanks to Walmart I have at least one more year of married bliss! God Bless you!!! HAPPYHUSBAND.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
placated
Ponca City O.K.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Investment
12/22/2008

Customer review by ams0671

5.0 stars 12/22/2008 by ams0671
by ams0671

If you like to cook - Not frozen or previously prepared foods, then having knives is perhaps the most important thing. Having good kinve is even better. These knives are great. The only down side, I wish there were 2-3 more knives in this package. I am sure if I wanted to pay more I could find a more complete set, like my old set of farbare ware. The Farbere Ware, well they are ok, better than most... but this set... You will love. Remeber, you are getting what you pay for.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ams0671
New Hampshire
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent knife set
1/8/2014

Customer review by iwwright

5.0 stars 1/8/2014 by iwwright
by iwwright
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Nice set of cutlery at a great price. The knives feel good in your hands, cut well, and appear to be well built. They have an excellent rating on Consumer Reports, and look good too.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
iwwright
Acworth, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/23/2013

Customer review by MtJoyFamily

5.0 stars 8/23/2013 by MtJoyFamily
by MtJoyFamily
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Awesome knife set! Well packaged....very sleek looking and excellent quality...and considering the price I am over the moon!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MtJoyFamily
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best knives I ever owned!
1/18/2014

Customer review by mlip

5.0 stars 1/18/2014 by mlip
by mlip
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was a little reluctant to buy buy so glad I did. They are so sharp and a great deal.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mlip
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/24/2012

Customer review by JM2231

5.0 stars 3/24/2012 by JM2231
by JM2231

Great so far. Extremely sharp and look great on the counter. Great buy.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JM2231
Wentzville, Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
wonderful - wish I had them years ago
2/8/2012

Customer review by chocoholic4ever

5.0 stars 2/8/2012 by chocoholic4ever
by chocoholic4ever

These knives are great. I bought the steak knives and they were great so I started searching for something like this set. I have another popular brand that comes with a sharpener and they do not even compare to these knives. I could not believe how they cut so nicely. I do not put them in the dishwasher as recommended but wish they were dishwasher safe. I plan to purchase them for my son and daughter.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chocoholic4ever
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
My 2 cents
5/7/2013

Customer review by Archersofloaf12

3.0 stars 5/7/2013 by Archersofloaf12
by Archersofloaf12
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

1. Outside packaging looks good. Inner individual are dirty, they clearly packed the parts on the floor and there is a layer of "dust". The instruction to clean before use....please follow. 2. After cleaning (with soap and warm water), I noticed the handle lost it's sheen. It looks dull. I am okay but if you are into aesthetic, this is a minus. 3. Have not had a chance to really use all the knifes (just moved in and will update this after 6-12 months) I am giving it 3 stars based on my initial feel, will need to use it before I feel comfortable bumping it up

Was this review helpful? (1) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Archersofloaf12
Hoboken, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A bit pricey, but pretty good...
9/6/2014

Customer review by BlackPanther71

4.0 stars 9/6/2014 by BlackPanther71
by BlackPanther71
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

These are great knives, and they are a bit different than what I'm used to. I haven't used them yet enough to experience the full quality of this knife set, though. Too, they are overpriced just a little, but for the money, they were worth it. The only reason I didn't give five stars is because of the lack of experience with the knife set. I would recommend them.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BlackPanther71
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Satisfied with knives
5/28/2013

Customer review by LaPoochie

4.0 stars 5/28/2013 by LaPoochie
by LaPoochie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am so far very satisfied with this knife set. Have been using them for 3 weeks and they perform very well. I was especially impressed with the speedy home delivery from Walmart! It was a Mother's Day gift for my wife. Ordered the set after 10 pm on the Wednesday before Mother's Day; received the knife set the following Friday afternoon.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LaPoochie
Chicago, IL suburbs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 29 total reviews
1-20 of 29 reviews