Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 64 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

64 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

64 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
49
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 stars
5
1-20 of 55 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 55 total reviews
1-20 of 55 reviews
Download software first
6/9/2009

Customer review by CBCLVM

2.0 stars 6/9/2009 by CBCLVM
by CBCLVM

I couldn't wait for my Zune to arrive, but when I couldn't even get the Zune music software to load on my home computer I was very disappointed. I hoped the software would come with the actual Zune but it didn't. If you are looking to get a Zune I would make sure you can load the Zune music download software from their website before you purchase this MP3. I was able to load the software with no problems at work (XP) but at home (Vista) no matter what I did, I couldn't get it to load. I called their customer service number they sent me to a different website and even that didn't work. I finally decided that spending more time trying to get the software to load wasn't worth the money I spent when I belong to Rhapsody and have never had a problem. So, I returned the 8GB Zune and bought a Sansa 16GB View for less money!!! Not only is it lighter but the screen is a tad bigger and overall, more user friendly.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CBCLVM
Cleveland, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
8GB Zune - Great Hardware
1/14/2008

Customer review by BobInFWB

4.0 stars 1/14/2008 by BobInFWB
by BobInFWB

I bought an 8 GB Zune for my wife as a Christmas present. I ordered from the WalMart web site, and before the hardware arrived I went to the Microsoft web site to download the Zune software. I am very computer-savvy, but even I had hassles with the Zune software. If you buy a Zune, make sure your PC is up to date with the latest Microsoft updates and patches, especially those related to the Microsoft Update service - the Zune software is completely dependent on being able to contact the internet, and if the Update capability isn't completely up-to-speed, the Zune software won't install, even though your PC has a perfectly good internet connection. It took a lot of digging through the Microsoft Zune web site to figure out a resolution to the installation issues I encountered. The software hassles are why I give an overall rating of four out of five stars. The hardware is very nice - almost shockingly small. The display is very good - very legible, even though it's smaller than a business card. My wife likes the Zune, and now I need to go get a small belt clip carrying case for it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BobInFWB
Fort Walton Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
THE IPOD SMASHERS
4/19/2008

Customer review by Lowery02

5.0 stars 4/19/2008 by Lowery02
by Lowery02
Top 250 contributor

I will start off by letting you guys know that I work at a Walmart in the electronics dept and that I have an 80gb zune, and my girlfriend just bought an 8gb zune. We love our zunes. YOU DO NOT HAVE TO KEEP THE MUSIC ON YOUR COMPUTER. I have music and vidoes on my zune from several different computers, and I have never had a problem with content "dissapearing" from my zune. I get to hear from customers which products they like or dislike and get too see which products get returned. The zune is a great product, and in my opinion, a little nicer than the equivilant ipods. GREAT BUY!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lowery02
Ashtabula, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 250 contributor
Not as good as the iPod
11/27/2007

Customer review by Share13

2.0 stars 11/27/2007 by Share13
by Share13

I just purchased a new zune and it has its positives and negatives. One good thing I like is the new touchpad. You can now scroll up and down and left and right, which is a big improvement over the old zune. I was expecting the wifi to be a great social experience, but it drains the battery a ton and often doesn't work. Compared to the new ipod nano, it again falls behind. The video is ok, but the resolution isn't as great as the nano. I like the new thinner design, but again the iPod has had that for a while. I expected a bit more than I got with the Zune. I think the Zune is a good mp3 player, but compared with the super-popular iPod it isn't the best.

Was this review helpful? (3) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Share13
Tacoma, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Great Player...minor flaws
7/24/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 7/24/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought the Zune to use when running and it has done a very great job in that department! After the numerous problems I had with the fruit companies player, I decided I would never buy anything of their's again and I went with the Zune. The radio is awesome and so are the visual effects. I have had no problem with the software either. My only complaint is that it doesn't come with a wall charger, so I have to plug it into my computer to charge or spend an extra $30 getting a wall charger. However, I highly reccomend it!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Device
2/18/2009

Customer review by Gariaan

5.0 stars 2/18/2009 by Gariaan
by Gariaan

I waivered between the Zune and the iPod for a few months. Due to the popularity of the iPod it took a while to find someone I trust who actually owned a Zune. After speaking with them for quite a while and then speaking with others who were iPod users, I have to say that I am really happy with the Zune. Even though I only have the 8GB model, I already have 2 full length movies and almost 100 songs with over 5.5GB of storage left on the device. The only downside was that I purchased a program that converts my movies into one of the various formats supported by the Zune. It was an additional $30, but I feel worth the money. BTW, I have "played" with the iPod and feel that the Zune is easier to operate and I like the fact that I do not have to have iTunes to download any items. I can do it all from Windows media.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gariaan
Houston, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent
6/10/2008

Customer review by RickyNY09

5.0 stars 6/10/2008 by RickyNY09
by RickyNY09

I got the Zune as a Anniversary gift from my wife, and let me tell you I've been enjoying it from day one. Before I started using it I had to go to the Zune website and download the software and after that everything was so easy. I was sorprise how small it is and the pad is unique, is great not to be pressing buttons all the time, just rub your finger on the pad and it scrolls up and down. I will recommend the Zune to all my friends.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RickyNY09
Buffalo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Zune Rocks
12/8/2007

Customer review by Mauler5000

5.0 stars 12/8/2007 by Mauler5000
by Mauler5000

I have had a few other mp3 players and this is by far the best. Easily sync's to your computer. Using microsoft points is the easiest way ive ever seen to buy music. The touch Pad works very nicely. Very awesome battery life. Would definately buy this over an ipod.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mauler5000
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent
5/24/2008

Customer review by JosieNBensmom

5.0 stars 5/24/2008 by JosieNBensmom
by JosieNBensmom

Have had this for about a month. Easy software, super sleek, excellent design. Like it better than the ipod. Easy to use--didn't take too long to figure it out. LOVE LOVE LOVE it!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JosieNBensmom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
a Better choice
1/13/2008

Customer review by motorsport

5.0 stars 1/13/2008 by motorsport
by motorsport

The included documentation is poor however this is a great product with better than ipod battery life and a really nice fm radio........grab one today

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
motorsport
Sarasota, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Only For Eating Space On Your Computer
2/10/2008

Customer review by lilscorpie

4.0 stars 2/10/2008 by lilscorpie
by lilscorpie

Decided a few days ago to purchase my first mp3 player. Got tons of rave reviews on the Zune, and since it held 2000 songs I figured it was a good deal, and it is except for one problem. In order to put songs on your Zune you have to use the Zune software which is sketchy at best, and only the Zune software. Also if you want to keep the music on your Zune you have to keep the music you download from wherever on your computer. If you delete the music from your computer, the music disappears from your Zune and you have to redownload it all over again. Great LCD Display and great features except for this one. Don't buy unless you want to suck up all the space in your computer.

Was this review helpful? (1) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lilscorpie
OKC, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A great media player choice
1/18/2009

Customer review by Flognard

5.0 stars 1/18/2009 by Flognard
by Flognard

I got a Zune over Christmas, and I've really enjoyed it. I bought it wanting a player that could hold my music, play radio, play podcasts, and show video with the additions of games and pictures. The Zune has come through on all counts. The player has plenty of space for my songs, since I only have around 500 or so. In addition, I have four podcasts that I keep updated, as well as pictures, and a television pilot, and I still have a lot of space. If you don't have a lot of music, it'll be fine. In addition, the podcast support is amazingly easy. You merely give the link to the podcast, or you pick it from the marketplace, and the next thing you do is pick how many episodes you want on the Zune. After that, it will download them automatically and keep them up to date, and even delete ones you have listened to (and keep track of how much you have listened to). Finally, there are lots of neat little touches. The navigation is extremely versatile. You can go up and down in menues, as well as horizontally. Need to find another album by the same artist? You don't have to go up to the artist level, but you can instead go left and right on the wheel to see other albums. Other nifty things include the way it automatically pauses when your earphones are unplugged. Things like this are nice touches, but make the Zune a great player.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Flognard
West Lafayette, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good player
6/11/2009

Customer review by Andy28379

5.0 stars 6/11/2009 by Andy28379
by Andy28379

I really like this player and only have one complaint and that is that it only picks up one station, and that is the gosphel station that is in my town. Other than that, it is everything that Microsoft said it was. It came in a bundle with a car charger/FM transmitter that when i hooked it up to this Zune, said that it needed updating. It said that it had updated, turned off, and never turned back on. Walmart is in the process of shipping me a new one, but made me return the player and charger/transmitter to do so, but I'm okay with that, because now I'm getting it in red.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Andy28379
Rockingham, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
THE GREATEST INVENTION!!!
4/18/2009

Customer review by TellieFelly

5.0 stars 4/18/2009 by TellieFelly
by TellieFelly

Oh my gosh If I could give the zune higher rating than 5 stars I would. I just bought the Zune 8gig in black yesterday and it is the greatest mp3 player available!! So much better than an Ipod. It took me a while to figure out the software but after speaking to the Zune techs they were extremly nice and I understood EVERYTHING! all the features on the zune are great! Just the same as an Ipod only 10x BETTER!!! This is the greatest thing you can buy! I love the soft toch pad. All I have to say Is the ZUNE IS FREAKIN AWESOME!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TellieFelly
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
MP3 THAT ROCKS!
12/22/2008

Customer review by ALWAYSCASA

5.0 stars 12/22/2008 by ALWAYSCASA
by ALWAYSCASA

The Zune offers everything you would expect from an mp3 plus a FM tuner. I like the versatility of being able to use workout playlists, relaxing playlists, hiking playlists, etc. and when I am tired of listening to my mixes and don't have time to change them out- I just turn to a favorite radio station. I also like to check in now and then to get local news, happenings, Griz games, etc. I am in college and can download podcasts for online classes and learn on the run. FANTASTIC!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ALWAYSCASA
Missoula, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
DONT BUY THIS!!!!
11/23/2008

Customer review by fan1701

1.0 stars 11/23/2008 by fan1701
by fan1701

Don't buy this . Pile up your money and burn it instead!!! This device will not allow you to use it at all without proprietary software . You cannot use it without a 130 megabyte download!!! No software comes with it. If you are on dialup internet it will take you HOURS to download the software before it can be used. DO THE RESEARCH and buy a different product!!!!!!!! I am going to return mine as soon as possible. Microsoft wasted their time and mine with this , it is garbage.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fan1701
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Worth every cent!
8/23/2008

Customer review by GoPghSports

5.0 stars 8/23/2008 by GoPghSports
by GoPghSports

This product has been incredible. It it combines a small compact size with enough space to hold a ton (about 2000) of songs. It screen is very large and allows for easy viewing of album art. The battery lasts for a pretty long time, although I have no idea actually how long. I would also recommend buying the special package that comes with the premium headphones because they are much better than the out of the box headphones. Overall, much better than an ipod.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GoPghSports
Monroeville, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
DO NOT BUY!!!
7/28/2008

Customer review by Customer199

1.0 stars 7/28/2008 by Customer199
by Customer199

Do not make the same mistake I did. I bought this product without researching enough and now it's too late and I'm paying for it. I only have one chief complaint, but it is very important and that is battery life. It is terrible on the Zune. It seems like it loses power even when it is turned off. I can't run and listen to it more than two times before it runs out of battery. DO NOT BUY because you will spend more time charging it than listening to it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Customer199
Oklahoma City, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A Very Satisfied Customer
5/14/2008

Customer review by moreforthemoney7

5.0 stars 5/14/2008 by moreforthemoney7
by moreforthemoney7

I liked this one so much I returned it for the 80GB. Now I can share family pictures with relatives in other states (It holds 20,000 pictures), view my favorite music videos on the airplane, and never be bored when I am early to a personal appointment. I also downloaded pictures of some of the most picturesque places in the world. Love the product. Now, if it would accommodate GIF pictures, my world would be complete. (Just kidding.)

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
moreforthemoney7
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Zune Better Than Ipod
2/16/2009

Customer review by KDBUG

5.0 stars 2/16/2009 by KDBUG
by KDBUG

My nephews wanted IPODs for Xmas... I was just about to buy them IPODs when my mother told me about the Zunes. I was nervous because my brother had told me the IPODs are so much better... but I went with my gut and purchased the Zunes... well my brother now wants to get rid of his IPOD and get a ZUNE... he says they are WAY better, you can do more with them... the boys (my nephews) love them!!! I am going to go get one for myself!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KDBUG
Clinton, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 55 total reviews
1-20 of 55 reviews