Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 37 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

37 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

37 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

59%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
13
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 stars
11
1-20 of 33 total reviews
59%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 33 total reviews
1-20 of 33 reviews
Very Satisfied!
11/12/2007

Customer review by GadgetGuy32

5.0 stars 11/12/2007 by GadgetGuy32
by GadgetGuy32

Purchased product a few days ago and has been working perfectly so far. Noticeably good difference in picture and sound when using a HDMI to HDMI connection cable. You just need to turn the (HDMI) feed to (ON) in the dvd setup screen when using the HDMI cable and you're good to go! Not exactly the quality of a Blue-ray or true Hd dvd player, but a much cheaper way to make use of your existing dvd library.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GadgetGuy32
Roanoke, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
11/19/2007

Customer review by TAMARHA

5.0 stars 11/19/2007 by TAMARHA
by TAMARHA

The price is great. The dvd player & remote is small and compact & very light weight. I don't currently have the HDMI cable hooked up from the T.V. to the dvd player however; I do own a HDTV and without the HDMI cable, the picture is excellent very detailed (watched Open Season & Shark Tales it looked great) ***The only con so far is that it's a bit noisy when it starts spinning the dvd's.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TAMARHA
Kansas City, Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
OK for the Price
4/8/2008

Customer review by MissouriMan

4.0 stars 4/8/2008 by MissouriMan
by MissouriMan

I just bought this DVD player and watched 3 movies over the weekend. Using an HDMI cable, I was impressed with the sound and video. I saw and heard things I had missed before. Word of advice: the player is not pre-set to HD or 5.1, you have to go into the menu and pick these options. The unit itself is light and slides around on the shelf and the remote is tiny. Overall I am happy with this player untill Blu-Ray becomes affortable. I am curious to see how long it lasts for the price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MissouriMan
Mid Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Buy another
11/15/2007

Customer review by Glennhd

1.0 stars 11/15/2007 by Glennhd
by Glennhd

I purchased this DVD palyer and returned it the same day. It had several problems. The first problem was the sound would not work unless you changed it to 2 channel. The it would change back and not work when you changed the DVD. That is if the tray would even open. I had to unplug the it and plug it back in to get the tray open. Next the subtitles would just start for no apparent reason. Last and not least it would just lock up. My friend purchased the same DVD player at the same time with me. He had the same problems as me. Needless to say we both went back the same day to return them.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Glennhd
Florence, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
OUTSTANDING!!!
12/15/2007

Customer review by willyboi

5.0 stars 12/15/2007 by willyboi
by willyboi

I love this product i use it every day. I got RCA because i have never had problems with there company. And i still haven't. PLEASE get this product if you need a dvd player!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
willyboi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Nice DVD player
12/27/2007

Customer review by reviewguru

5.0 stars 12/27/2007 by reviewguru
by reviewguru

I bought this DVD player for the upconversion feature. I was worried it might not perform too well due to the low price. It turned out my fears were unfounded. It was a snap to hook up (I used a 3ft. HDMI cable) and took only seconds to set up. I popped in a movie and was very happy with the results. This is a nice DVD player that produces a great picture! The remote uses a "watch" type battery and could be a little bigger though.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
reviewguru
Georgetown, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
clearest i've seen
2/21/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 2/21/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

this dvd player brings that quality of the big screen to my home theater system. value is just as good as picture.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
colton, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1/7/2008

Customer review by xdrummer

5.0 stars 1/7/2008 by xdrummer
by xdrummer

I recieved this for christmas 2007 and it works great ! Big improvement in picture have no problems at all.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
xdrummer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
great product
12/1/2007

Customer review by wrestler133

5.0 stars 12/1/2007 by wrestler133
by wrestler133

at first i was a bit skeptical about his product with having bad experiences with RCA products in the past so i figured shelling out 40 bucks shouldnt be that bad and i could return it if it was faulty, when i got home i plugged it into my HDTV and it looked GREAT compared to my old regular dvd player. The movie quality was really noticeably better and it was even better once i got an HDMI cable to hook it up. The sound is great, the picture is great and overall a great product i really recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wrestler133
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Greatness!!!
5/23/2008

Customer review by Modestwoman

5.0 stars 5/23/2008 by Modestwoman
by Modestwoman

I love this player. I am always looking for a good deal, and though many are right, this has the smallest remote, I love the quality and features of this player. It is well worth the money. I compared many players and reviews before buying this product and I truly believe that is it well worth its price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Modestwoman
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Product
12/8/2007

Customer review by maricopaman

5.0 stars 12/8/2007 by maricopaman
by maricopaman

I bought this product with some caution after reading some very negative reviews, however I got it home and hooked it up and it works great! I sprung for the hdmi cable and tried hooking it up both ways, the picture is great either way. Mine is hooked up to a tube type Sony Wega HD and I cannot fault the picture at all. The only thing I was disappointed with was the remote, it is the size of a credit card and the buttons are very small and closly spaced and the writing on it is impossible to decipher in dim light.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
maricopaman
rural Maricopa, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Lots of bang for your buck!
12/11/2007

Customer review by WeezieHD

5.0 stars 12/11/2007 by WeezieHD
by WeezieHD

Before watching dvds with our old dvd player on our 1080p hdtv was almost unbearable, but with this unit and a HDMI cable they look almost as good as our over the air hd broadcast stations. I noticed no noise from this unit while watching movies and the sound is great. Its just what I expected if not more. However the remote control is very small and its response time is painfully slow, but its $350 cheaper than BLU-RAY.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WeezieHD
Buchanan, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
OUTSTANDING!!!!
12/11/2007

Customer review by dawgy

5.0 stars 12/11/2007 by dawgy
by dawgy

I love this dvd player it is a lot better than i thought it would be. I have neverhad problems with RCA and i hope i never will. I do not have a HDMI cable even though i'am going to get one soon but the picture is still great! I think if you need a dvd player you should get this one.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dawgy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Get this
2/2/2008

Customer review by BooBooBoomer

4.0 stars 2/2/2008 by BooBooBoomer
by BooBooBoomer

I've had RCA Dvd players for a couple of years now. The last one failed after 18 months. But it was the best at playing DVD-R, DVD+R, etc. and was used every other day. But for less than 50$ this one is even better. They've stripped off SD card slots, and the SPDIF optical connection. Leaving the Coaxial audio out, which has very comparable quality to the optical and the HDMI video out, and it has connectors for older tvs as well. If you are using HDMI, remember to use the SETUP button on the remote at the bottom right. There you can choose what size monitor you have, the resolution level and the quality of sound. If you don't review these settings, you will have awkward results. The manual is short, more of a poster; read it, too. The video is good and the sound is, too. While the remote is a little small (it takes a hearing-aid battery to operate, but one comes in the package) overall this is a quality product, for the price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BooBooBoomer
TEXAS!
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
good value
2/25/2008

Customer review by evansdad

4.0 stars 2/25/2008 by evansdad
by evansdad

I bought this in store last night for 45.00. I also picked up an hdmi cable on clearance for 15.00 which I already bought the identivcal cable a weak earlier at same price for my xbox360. So for a total of 60.00 this thing works great, I watched the transformers movie and was amazed. Picture and sound was great. the one problem i found was when using it in 1080p the movie was glitchy, it went away in dodgeball but transformers kept doing it. but in 1080i it was fine. i didnt notice a difference in picture quality anyway so not a big deal. please rember to hit the hdmi button on the remote to turn on the upconverting function or you will not get any picture or sound when first connecting via hdmi. overall a nice second option untill blue-ray gets a decent price drop.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
evansdad
fall river,ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Worth the money...
5/1/2008

Customer review by JonThePianist

4.0 stars 5/1/2008 by JonThePianist
by JonThePianist

I bought this DVD player with low expectations of HD quality. I plugged it in the first time, and played Sweeney Todd. It looked great hooked up w/ the HDMI cable. Very satisfied with the picture, and the remote is not as miniscule as some of the other reviewers would have you believe. I did have a glitch where it wouldn't progress past the loading screen, when I turned it on, however the problem was fixed when I unplugged it, and it reset. It worked after that. It's only happened twice, where the problem was solved the same way. Not a big deal to me, unless later on it just totally stops working. But you better believe, I have the reciept, if that happens, it is going back to the store. But other than that, picture is great w/ HDMI hookup. ~Thanks, Jon.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JonThePianist
San Antonio, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
So far so Good
5/14/2008

Customer review by Dvskid124

4.0 stars 5/14/2008 by Dvskid124
by Dvskid124

The unit itself is pretty flimsy. It feels like a toy to the touch but it works well and does everything I need it to do. So for the price I recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dvskid124
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Item
12/9/2007

Customer review by tropics

4.0 stars 12/9/2007 by tropics
by tropics

I was skeptical about buying this product after reading some of the problems. However, I purchased this DVD and could not be happier. The operation is easy and the picture is great. The sound could be better as volume seems low. But, for the price and ease of operation, this is a great product and an economical purchase.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tropics
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Bare Bones - But Functional
1/19/2008

Customer review by BroncoFanatic

4.0 stars 1/19/2008 by BroncoFanatic
by BroncoFanatic

First, as in previous reviews, the remote is WAY TO SMALL! I have to turn on the light every time I use it and hunt for the correct button. The labels on the remote are extremely tiny. It's the smallest remote I have ever seen in an electronic component; even when compared my kids' portable DVD players. But, putting aside the remote issue, I have a Sony 1080p 46" HDTV, and the picture through the HDMI cable is beautiful. You can select which upconversion resolution you desire (720p, 1080i, 1080p). All in all, I was more concerned with low price so the result of paying less was getting less of a remote. I would buy this again if I was budget constrained, but I would pay a few xtra dollars for a better remote if I could find another 1080p upconverting unit at a reasonable price. Bottom line: if you don't like dealing with a small remote, don't buy this product. However, it doesn't bother me enough to take the item back to my local Wal-Mart store only 3 miles away.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BroncoFanatic
Falcon, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good DVD Player - Tiny Remote
1/29/2008

Customer review by nine8102

3.0 stars 1/29/2008 by nine8102
by nine8102

decent dvd player, will probably play anything you throw at it (DVD, VCD, AVI, Divx, MPG), but the remote is so annoyingly tiny that I had to return it and upgrade to the DRC279 5-changer for $20 more.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nine8102
Sacramento, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 33 total reviews
1-20 of 33 reviews