Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 37 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

37 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

37 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

59%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
13
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 stars
11
1-20 of 33 total reviews
59%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 33 total reviews
1-20 of 33 reviews
Bare Bones - But Functional
1/19/2008

Customer review by BroncoFanatic

4.0 stars 1/19/2008 by BroncoFanatic
by BroncoFanatic

First, as in previous reviews, the remote is WAY TO SMALL! I have to turn on the light every time I use it and hunt for the correct button. The labels on the remote are extremely tiny. It's the smallest remote I have ever seen in an electronic component; even when compared my kids' portable DVD players. But, putting aside the remote issue, I have a Sony 1080p 46" HDTV, and the picture through the HDMI cable is beautiful. You can select which upconversion resolution you desire (720p, 1080i, 1080p). All in all, I was more concerned with low price so the result of paying less was getting less of a remote. I would buy this again if I was budget constrained, but I would pay a few xtra dollars for a better remote if I could find another 1080p upconverting unit at a reasonable price. Bottom line: if you don't like dealing with a small remote, don't buy this product. However, it doesn't bother me enough to take the item back to my local Wal-Mart store only 3 miles away.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BroncoFanatic
Falcon, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Get this
2/2/2008

Customer review by BooBooBoomer

4.0 stars 2/2/2008 by BooBooBoomer
by BooBooBoomer

I've had RCA Dvd players for a couple of years now. The last one failed after 18 months. But it was the best at playing DVD-R, DVD+R, etc. and was used every other day. But for less than 50$ this one is even better. They've stripped off SD card slots, and the SPDIF optical connection. Leaving the Coaxial audio out, which has very comparable quality to the optical and the HDMI video out, and it has connectors for older tvs as well. If you are using HDMI, remember to use the SETUP button on the remote at the bottom right. There you can choose what size monitor you have, the resolution level and the quality of sound. If you don't review these settings, you will have awkward results. The manual is short, more of a poster; read it, too. The video is good and the sound is, too. While the remote is a little small (it takes a hearing-aid battery to operate, but one comes in the package) overall this is a quality product, for the price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BooBooBoomer
TEXAS!
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Returned
1/13/2008

Customer review by HiDef2

2.0 stars 1/13/2008 by HiDef2
by HiDef2

I bought this for a 47" 1080p LCD, as an upgrade from a progressive-scan non-upconverting player that had component-vid connection. I returned it for three reasons: 1. HDMI connection of upconverted 1080p signal gave same (no better) video quality as my prior setup. If you already have a progressive-scan player, there is no reason to upgrade now to HDMI connector or upconverter player. Digital vs analog is irrelevant at slow 480-pixel data rate. Wait for BluRay players to get cheaper. 2. This RCA player has a design defect. When playing a DVD recorded in usual 4:3 TV format, this player always stretches the image to 16:9 dimensions, distorting peoples heads etc. (The player deals okay with DVDs recorded in widescreen formats.) When upconverting is instead handled by the TV itself, TV has easy options for stretching, letterboxing, or clipping the 4:3 image. I expect any upconverting DVD player to have similar options. 3. The tiny remote with tiny buttons and tiner marks can only be used in bright light, and all buttons feel the same so you can't find the right ones by feel.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HiDef2
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Very Satisfied!
11/12/2007

Customer review by GadgetGuy32

5.0 stars 11/12/2007 by GadgetGuy32
by GadgetGuy32

Purchased product a few days ago and has been working perfectly so far. Noticeably good difference in picture and sound when using a HDMI to HDMI connection cable. You just need to turn the (HDMI) feed to (ON) in the dvd setup screen when using the HDMI cable and you're good to go! Not exactly the quality of a Blue-ray or true Hd dvd player, but a much cheaper way to make use of your existing dvd library.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GadgetGuy32
Roanoke, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
JUNK!!!!
1/31/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 1/31/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Picture quality was fair with HDMI, but very grainy with Component. The remote is way to small, and it doesn't work well. I have a logitech programmable remote that works perfectly with everything in my house, but just like the factory remote, the player was slow to respond if even at all. The unit comes with the HDMI turned off, so you don't even get a picture when you first plug it in without hooking up the component output. It overheated very easily. It got to where if you got it to turn off by remote it would not turn on without re-plugging the unit in. I returned it a week after of buying it, simply because I did not have the time to return it sooner. I would not recommend this unit, spend the extra hundred bucks and get an HD DVD with up convert for you old DVD's. It is well worth the money, and you will be forever thankful you did.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
OKC, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
OK for the Price
4/8/2008

Customer review by MissouriMan

4.0 stars 4/8/2008 by MissouriMan
by MissouriMan

I just bought this DVD player and watched 3 movies over the weekend. Using an HDMI cable, I was impressed with the sound and video. I saw and heard things I had missed before. Word of advice: the player is not pre-set to HD or 5.1, you have to go into the menu and pick these options. The unit itself is light and slides around on the shelf and the remote is tiny. Overall I am happy with this player untill Blu-Ray becomes affortable. I am curious to see how long it lasts for the price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MissouriMan
Mid Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
11/19/2007

Customer review by TAMARHA

5.0 stars 11/19/2007 by TAMARHA
by TAMARHA

The price is great. The dvd player & remote is small and compact & very light weight. I don't currently have the HDMI cable hooked up from the T.V. to the dvd player however; I do own a HDTV and without the HDMI cable, the picture is excellent very detailed (watched Open Season & Shark Tales it looked great) ***The only con so far is that it's a bit noisy when it starts spinning the dvd's.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TAMARHA
Kansas City, Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
good value
2/25/2008

Customer review by evansdad

4.0 stars 2/25/2008 by evansdad
by evansdad

I bought this in store last night for 45.00. I also picked up an hdmi cable on clearance for 15.00 which I already bought the identivcal cable a weak earlier at same price for my xbox360. So for a total of 60.00 this thing works great, I watched the transformers movie and was amazed. Picture and sound was great. the one problem i found was when using it in 1080p the movie was glitchy, it went away in dodgeball but transformers kept doing it. but in 1080i it was fine. i didnt notice a difference in picture quality anyway so not a big deal. please rember to hit the hdmi button on the remote to turn on the upconverting function or you will not get any picture or sound when first connecting via hdmi. overall a nice second option untill blue-ray gets a decent price drop.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
evansdad
fall river,ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Worth the money...
5/1/2008

Customer review by JonThePianist

4.0 stars 5/1/2008 by JonThePianist
by JonThePianist

I bought this DVD player with low expectations of HD quality. I plugged it in the first time, and played Sweeney Todd. It looked great hooked up w/ the HDMI cable. Very satisfied with the picture, and the remote is not as miniscule as some of the other reviewers would have you believe. I did have a glitch where it wouldn't progress past the loading screen, when I turned it on, however the problem was fixed when I unplugged it, and it reset. It worked after that. It's only happened twice, where the problem was solved the same way. Not a big deal to me, unless later on it just totally stops working. But you better believe, I have the reciept, if that happens, it is going back to the store. But other than that, picture is great w/ HDMI hookup. ~Thanks, Jon.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JonThePianist
San Antonio, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Buy another
11/15/2007

Customer review by Glennhd

1.0 stars 11/15/2007 by Glennhd
by Glennhd

I purchased this DVD palyer and returned it the same day. It had several problems. The first problem was the sound would not work unless you changed it to 2 channel. The it would change back and not work when you changed the DVD. That is if the tray would even open. I had to unplug the it and plug it back in to get the tray open. Next the subtitles would just start for no apparent reason. Last and not least it would just lock up. My friend purchased the same DVD player at the same time with me. He had the same problems as me. Needless to say we both went back the same day to return them.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Glennhd
Florence, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Pay me to take it
3/22/2008

Customer review by Annoyed1

1.0 stars 3/22/2008 by Annoyed1
by Annoyed1

I purchased the RCA 2 nights ago. I purchased it because they where out of stock of all the other ones in the same price range. I was kind of excited to get it. brought it home, the HDMI upconvert was noneffective, the dvd player lasted 2.5 movies. I have tried playing 15 different dics (yes all store bought). It tells me that none of the discs are actually in the drive, also it is so loud you can hear it over the surround sound, every time it changes speeds it gets louder and louder, the remote is horribly small. I feel that I should be given a free dvd player in the same price range, just for the trouble of taking this one home. Now after owning one, I have read the reviews on line and this is a horrible product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Annoyed1
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
cheap, looks good when working
2/19/2008

Customer review by ubuibi

1.0 stars 2/19/2008 by ubuibi
by ubuibi

I purchased this dvd upconverter about 3 months ago. It was one of the cheaper ones, and it figures it broke. It was always glitchy, the subtitles would occationally have a line through them as if their was a data error in its reading or processing. That I could deal with because the picture did look better than my regular player, but when the left speaker started crackling I through in the towel. I figured it had to be the cable or something but all I did (after trouble shooting cable combinations) was swap the cable to my old player and used it. Plus it has to actually be turned on to open the door, I know this seems trivial, but that is a common "ease of use" you get on almost any product. The remote was not user friendly at all, using slow speed usually ends up in fast forward and the track buttons are more logically placed were the fast forward and rewind should be. Pay close attention to button configuration, if you plan on using it for more than basic playback, or just want user friendly remotes. Over all I'd say the picture is the only good thing on this poor quality non user friendly entry level time bomb. Is it broke yet? Wait mine is. I was going to give it more for value, but thats about $15 a month, A PS3 would be cheaper than that over a long enough time line.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ubuibi
milwaukee, wi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Do Not Buy!!!
1/8/2008

Customer review by jleue

1.0 stars 1/8/2008 by jleue
by jleue

I guess I should have learned by now that you will get what you pay for. I thought with having a recognizable name like RCA it would have to be a decent product. WRONG.... The problems started as soon as product was turned on. I had problems with getting the screen to even come up but I finally figured it out. The biggest problem is that tunning it to 1080P and the screen has little green squares everywhere. This happend on everything setting but 480i. It was not due to DVD cause I tried a few different ones. My suggestion to you is spend a few extra bucks and get a better system.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jleue
Phoenix,AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Great Product
12/8/2007

Customer review by maricopaman

5.0 stars 12/8/2007 by maricopaman
by maricopaman

I bought this product with some caution after reading some very negative reviews, however I got it home and hooked it up and it works great! I sprung for the hdmi cable and tried hooking it up both ways, the picture is great either way. Mine is hooked up to a tube type Sony Wega HD and I cannot fault the picture at all. The only thing I was disappointed with was the remote, it is the size of a credit card and the buttons are very small and closly spaced and the writing on it is impossible to decipher in dim light.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
maricopaman
rural Maricopa, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great product
12/1/2007

Customer review by wrestler133

5.0 stars 12/1/2007 by wrestler133
by wrestler133

at first i was a bit skeptical about his product with having bad experiences with RCA products in the past so i figured shelling out 40 bucks shouldnt be that bad and i could return it if it was faulty, when i got home i plugged it into my HDTV and it looked GREAT compared to my old regular dvd player. The movie quality was really noticeably better and it was even better once i got an HDMI cable to hook it up. The sound is great, the picture is great and overall a great product i really recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wrestler133
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
BUYER BEWARE
6/17/2008

Customer review by MEINWALMART

1.0 stars 6/17/2008 by MEINWALMART
by MEINWALMART

I BOUGHT THIS PRODUCT ABOUT 2 MOS AGO. I THOUGHT IT WAS RCA, THAT'S A GOOD BRAND. LAST NIGHT I WAS DUSTING THE CHESTER DRAWERS IT SITS UPON AND NOTICED WHAT LOOKED LIKE BURN MARKS. UPON INVESTIGATING THE ONLY THING I COULD FIUGURE WAS THAT THE DVD PLAYER WSA GETTING EXTREMELY HOT AND CAUSING THE RUBBER FEET TO MELT AND BURN THE WOODEN DRESSER. I AM VERY UPSET TO DAY THE LEAST. I HAVE E-MAILED RCA CUSTOMER SERVICE AND EVEN TOOK PICTURES; I HAVE YET TO HEAR A RESPONSE.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MEINWALMART
ROANOKE, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Nice DVD player
12/27/2007

Customer review by reviewguru

5.0 stars 12/27/2007 by reviewguru
by reviewguru

I bought this DVD player for the upconversion feature. I was worried it might not perform too well due to the low price. It turned out my fears were unfounded. It was a snap to hook up (I used a 3ft. HDMI cable) and took only seconds to set up. I popped in a movie and was very happy with the results. This is a nice DVD player that produces a great picture! The remote uses a "watch" type battery and could be a little bigger though.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
reviewguru
Georgetown, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Lots of bang for your buck!
12/11/2007

Customer review by WeezieHD

5.0 stars 12/11/2007 by WeezieHD
by WeezieHD

Before watching dvds with our old dvd player on our 1080p hdtv was almost unbearable, but with this unit and a HDMI cable they look almost as good as our over the air hd broadcast stations. I noticed no noise from this unit while watching movies and the sound is great. Its just what I expected if not more. However the remote control is very small and its response time is painfully slow, but its $350 cheaper than BLU-RAY.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WeezieHD
Buchanan, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Read the reviews
1/31/2008

Customer review by David10101010

1.0 stars 1/31/2008 by David10101010
by David10101010

It appears as though a few consumers have received a decent player. Look at my review and a few of the reviews of those that have not. Similar problems encountered. This player freezes up sometimes and the tray will not open. Other times the remote keys will not work the player. To fix these problems you have to unplug the unit for 10 minutes for the player to reset. Picture is nice when it's working.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
David10101010
Would recommend to a friend? No
Worthless Garbage
2/11/2008

Customer review by Nevarre

1.0 stars 2/11/2008 by Nevarre
by Nevarre

This unit is terrible. The first one I had failed after about 1/2 hour of use. The second one had functional component out, but the HDMI out never worked properly (audio) . It doesn't properly read table of content information for most compilation discs and the image quality is fairly poor. Steer clear. I'll be returning the second one and I've had it for less than a day.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nevarre
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
1-20 of 33 total reviews
1-20 of 33 reviews