Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 231 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

231 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

231 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
176
4 stars
40
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 stars
4
1-20 of 194 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 194 total reviews
1-20 of 194 reviews
Love them
7/1/2008

Customer review by alisonb129

5.0 stars 7/1/2008 by alisonb129
by alisonb129

I recently purchased these plates and love them! They are attractive, easy to clean, and fit perfectly in my small cabinets (a problem I was having with some larger round plates). The only problem I have had is that the large dinner plates don't fit inside a medium sized microwave if the turntable is turning.

Was this review helpful? (48) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
alisonb129
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Practical but Beautiful Dinnerware
1/8/2009

Customer review by MAGN50

5.0 stars 1/8/2009 by MAGN50
by MAGN50

This bright white, heavy weight porcelain in the square shape compares with dinnerware sometimes used on television to display HGTV cooking competitions. The contrast of food color on the square white plate displays the food beautifully and really does pop. Because of the square shape the plates have more space for food than round plates of the same diameter. The points on the large dinner plates do prevent them from turning around on the turntable in my microwave but that is not a problem for me because I can turn off my turntable. I actually use the lunch plates more often anyway because of their roomier size than most lunch plates are, and they turn just fine on the turntable. The very good looking square bowls are roomy and could double as attractive serving bowls. I like the cup's roomy square handle which gives you a ledge for your thumb to easily balance the cup and makes these a good choice for arthritic hands. All in all an excellent choice for dinnerware. I bought this set for every day but, if I had more serving plates, would not hesitate to use them for guests in place of bringing out my more expensive china. For that reason, I may buy another set.

Was this review helpful? (29) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MAGN50
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Sweet Set - just a bit on the heavy side
4/30/2011

Customer review by WBNSB

5.0 stars 4/30/2011 by WBNSB
by WBNSB

Newly remarried, my wife and I went shopping for "our" new dinner plates. We were intrigued by square designs, and she wanted white. All the major stores have offerings in this space, but Walmart was the only one with dinner plates that fit into our dishwasher [and then, only barely], salad plates that are not almost as big as the dinner plates, bowls that are deep enough for soup, cereal, and desserts, and cups that are not huge and wide. Voila!. The cup handles are maybe the best ergonomic design I've ever seen. If you alternate them up-down-up-down on your shelf, they store remarkably compactly, too. Nice work by the designer!!! The only thing is that the plates are just a tad heavy. This did not even occur to me, but my wife pointed it out [how's THAT for a gender stereotype! :-) ] I guess they'd be better if they were a bit lighter, but at the end of the day, they are just fine. We love 'em.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WBNSB
Santa Barbara, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love the square dishes
5/27/2008

Customer review by ShopperinReno

4.0 stars 5/27/2008 by ShopperinReno
by ShopperinReno

They are durable and pretty. I am loving putting them on my table. I get compliments every time I use them.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ShopperinReno
Reno,NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
very dissapointed
9/9/2009

Customer review by rachelo

1.0 stars 9/9/2009 by rachelo
by rachelo

i got three sets of these dishes at walmart this morning and i was really excited about them because they were so cute and got good reviews but when i got them home and started putting them in my cubboards i was really dissapointed. i only looked through two boxes but of the dinnerware that was in there only 4 large plates 6 appetizer plates 2 bowls and 6 mugs are in good shape. all of the rest of them have defects. there are black spots or they are uneven or have scratches. im not looking forward to having to rebox them all and lug them back to walmart only to continue my search for nice dinnerware.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rachelo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
beautiful but not practical
9/30/2011

Customer review by MomOfTwoAngelBabies

4.0 stars 9/30/2011 by MomOfTwoAngelBabies
by MomOfTwoAngelBabies

I loved these plates from the moment I saw them!!! I unfortunately cannot use them... I have a 10 and a 7 year old and the plates are quite heavy, theya are getting to the ages that they are preparing lunch for themselves and these plates (even the lunch ones) are heavy. Also these plates do not fit in my microwave properly with the carousel in place. The plates hit the sides of the microwave and the carousel then makes terrible noises, like it is still trying to turn and won't. I also felt like I was over-filling my plate due to the large size of the eating surface. Although these plates are very beautiful, they are not practical for me and my family. I hope this helps!

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MomOfTwoAngelBabies
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
These have got to be factory seconds
12/6/2010

Customer review by BoSkeezer

1.0 stars 12/6/2010 by BoSkeezer
by BoSkeezer

I am baffled by the number of positive reviews this dinnerware has received. I started by purchasing two boxes to make a service for eight. There were so many manufacturing flaws in the product, such as scratches, pitting, runs in the glaze, and uneven bottoms, that I went to another Walmart and purchased two more boxes hoping I could find enough good pieces. After purchasing service for sixteen, so far I have found 3 satisfactory dinner plates, 2 salad plates, 5 cereal bowls, and 8 mugs. I will return part of what I've purchased and buy two more boxes hoping I can eventually cobble together a service for eight. I know this is crazy, but I'm determined to get my wife the square plates she has been longing for.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BoSkeezer
Carson City, NV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Wonderful set of dishes
11/15/2010

Customer review by RJHsieh

5.0 stars 11/15/2010 by RJHsieh
by RJHsieh

We have owned the dishes for a little over 7 months and so far they have held up quite nicely with no chips or cracks. They fit well into our dishwasher, cabinets and microwave. The quality seems to be pretty good and they are on the heavy side. An excellent value compared to similar sets. Food always stands out and looks beautiful on these plates. We purchased 3 boxes and there were no differences or irregularities between the dishes. I am very pleased with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RJHsieh
FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
PERFECT
12/4/2010

Customer review by Eyeforbargain

5.0 stars 12/4/2010 by Eyeforbargain
by Eyeforbargain

I bought 2 sets last Christmas and have been using them almost every day since. They are very nice, durable, do not chip easily, food looks very nice in these. They look stunning on the table, I use them both as my everyday and formal dinnerware, modern but not "cold", as their corners are rounded and that softens the design. They are a modern touch without being too much. The only feature I do not like is that they are heavy, especially the dinner ones, and that they are quite big, which means you have to "rearrange" the food so the plate does not look half empty! I use a runner and placemats on my table, instead of a tablecloth, and the table always looks beautiful, with white against the dark wood, exactly like the pix on the site. The price is unbelievable (similar ones run far more expensive at Pottery Barn), I do wish though they put it on sale like they did last year, b/c I'd like to get an extra set!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Eyeforbargain
Sunnyside, New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
wonderful value
5/31/2010

Customer review by superjulie1

5.0 stars 5/31/2010 by superjulie1
by superjulie1

We love our dishes. They are heavy, durable, and look very sophisticated. We get nice comments on them when visitors are over. I very much recommend them.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
superjulie1
Provo, Ut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
very contemporary
1/22/2009

Customer review by Melanie37

4.0 stars 1/22/2009 by Melanie37
by Melanie37

i love the overall look/design of this set. i am going for a very modern, clean, contemporary look in my new apartment and these plates fit very nicely with that theme. i especially love the bowls and mugs.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Melanie37
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
White Square Canopy Dinnerware
9/24/2010

Customer review by KatieDarling

5.0 stars 9/24/2010 by KatieDarling
by KatieDarling

I've never purchased white dishes before, but these are so elegant I just had to buy them. The square shape makes them look sophisticated. They can be used for dinner parties and for every day use. They are very durable and the price beat any other store I looked at. I would wholeheartedly recommend these!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KatieDarling
Cameron Park, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
11/1/2011

Customer review by khonda8

4.0 stars 11/1/2011 by khonda8
by khonda8

Love these dishes! I feel like they are something you would get at a trendy restaurant. They are heavy, durable and look great on my table. I think they are the perfect size and everyone compliments them and asks where I got them. If you buy the walmart online bundle, you save money too! So glad I went with these dishes!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
khonda8
Long Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Fabulous!
10/9/2011

Customer review by NONE2Munch

5.0 stars 10/9/2011 by NONE2Munch
by NONE2Munch

I am a guy that loves to cook and do fancy "chef" type presentations - These dishes are beautiful. I bought 2 of the 16 piece sets and numerous other pieces available at stores and on line. They are really nice and make a wonderful base for food presentation and set an absolutely "Knock-out" table or bar setting whether you are doing a regular dinner with the very large dinner plates or somthing more intimate using a "small plate" (salad plate) set up. Buy them - you will like them.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NONE2Munch
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
the bomb diggity
2/27/2009

Customer review by Neek3

5.0 stars 2/27/2009 by Neek3
by Neek3

These are the BOMB DIGGITY!! I have shopped at CB2, IKEA, Pottery Barn, Crate & Barrel, and Williams Sonma, NO ONE has the value and the design that this dishware has. I have been to the resturant RUBY TUESDAY and they use the exact same dishes. They are soild, heavy, generously sized, and did I mention.. the BOMB DIGGITY! Not all Walmart stores carry them, you may have to order on line. TRUST you will not be disapointed.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Neek3
Gainesville, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
These plates make every dish look good!
3/5/2009

Customer review by KissimeeMom

5.0 stars 3/5/2009 by KissimeeMom
by KissimeeMom

I love these plates! In fact, ever since I bought them, I am on a cooking mission. I love making dinners (or other meals) and using these plates. Everything I make looks so artistic and looks just like a restaurant meal. I especially like the white color, since it inspires me to create meals that include lots of vegetables and really vibrant colors. The plates are heavy, but I still love them. And they are so cheap! I feel like if I happen to break one, I can just easily buy a replacement. But I've had them several months now and they are still in perfect condition and I use them everyday...for elegant meals in the dining room and everyday breakfasts in the kitchen.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KissimeeMom
Chapel Hill, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Modern for a good price
4/6/2011

Customer review by SMlora

4.0 stars 4/6/2011 by SMlora
by SMlora

I've been wanting square plates like these for a while. I thought it was a very good price. Not a huge fan of the cups, but overall great buy.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SMlora
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
very disappointed in Texas
12/7/2012

Customer review by mval2

1.0 stars 12/7/2012 by mval2
by mval2

I bought this product about a year ago and began using it about 6 mos. ago. in the last 6 mos i have lost a dinner plate to "less than one minute in the microwave" and one salad plate to dishwasher cleaning. I lifted the plate up and seen the insciption that it is suppose to be even "oven proof" up to a certain degrees, I don't think so !!! I am very disappointed and of course no longer have the receipt. what a waste of money - i also gave away my old dishes since i had new and now can't even serve a 4 guest meal!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mval2
mesquite, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Square dishes
5/1/2008

Customer review by JacJ

3.0 stars 5/1/2008 by JacJ
by JacJ

I am concerned how long this product will last - the glaze on the dishes is pitted.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JacJ
Easton,PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good looks - heavy
11/26/2012

Customer review by asolis68

5.0 stars 11/26/2012 by asolis68
by asolis68

These dishes are very classy. Like them a lot, but they are very heavy. We already chipped one large dish on one corner because it was dropped in the sink. Need to be very careful. Seen many in different places, these are much nicer.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
asolis68
La Joya, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 194 total reviews
1-20 of 194 reviews