Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 580 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

580 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

580 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
424
4 stars
113
3 stars
20
2 stars
11
1 stars
12
1-20 of 522 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 522 total reviews
1-20 of 522 reviews
A must have!!!
2/7/2009

Customer review by p1neapple

5.0 stars 2/7/2009 by p1neapple
by p1neapple

We have 2 small dogs that have been able to get through or over every baracade we have ever set up. We had originally bought the basic child gate to keep them from going upstairs or into rooms they were not suppose to be, but some how they were still able to jump over that. We then decided to get this gate based on it's hieght and price and found it to be more than we could hope for. It is easy to set up, looks great, and the bars are close enough together that my 8lbs dogs can't squeeze through. Also with be being in property managment I have recommended it to all my residents because it doesn't require screws to mount so it doesn't damage the walls, and it is tall enough that small children cannot climb over it. You also don't have to worry about it fitting in your extra wide entry ways because it comes with extra extentions too! You MUST buy this today!

Was this review helpful? (50) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
p1neapple
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Easy to install and sturdy (well built)
8/30/2013

Customer review by hitdwight

4.0 stars 8/30/2013 by hitdwight
by hitdwight
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I generally don't write reviews because I am downright lazy. I do benefit from other peoples reviews and thought that this product warranted one. I had to purchase two gates for two staircases in my home. I first bought two Munchkin gates from Target and one did not fit the span so I returned it. The other was difficult to assemble and is not very sturdy (see picture). Subsequently, I purchased the Summer Infant gate and am very satisfied with it. The assembly and install was seamless and it feels much sturdier that the Munchkin gate. If it wasn't for the hefty price tag of the gates, I would discard the Munchkin (I threw out the box and additional parts after installing it) and buy another Summer Infant. Good luck

Was this review helpful? (43) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hitdwight
Bergen County, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Solid construction, durable metal
6/23/2013

Customer review by tyler026

5.0 stars 6/23/2013 by tyler026
by tyler026
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Purchased this gate for the office of Nwplaza Antique Coin Buyers. The height of this gate was the original appeal, however the hardware and material used are durable and certainly designed to last.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tyler026
Portland OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I like this gate, but had some problems
2/3/2014

Customer review by OmaMW

4.0 stars 2/3/2014 by OmaMW
by OmaMW
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great gate, now that it's installed. Installation was a problem--not because of the gate but because I live in an older home with uneven floors and door frame--even tho it didn't look uneven. I had to add a 1 x 2 board on each side of the molding to make it fit. Once installed, it is great. Easy to operate once you remember to first push the thumb release, then lift the gate, then push one direction only. You can remove the stopper that keeps the gate from swinging both ways, but we left it on. Sometimes takes me 2 hands to open. Would be hard to open if carrying a baby or basket of wash. Also, it is a narrow opening. Many of my friends have to go a little sideways to get in (actual opening is only 18" wide). Attractive color and shape.

Was this review helpful? (10) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OmaMW
El Paso, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Gate! Not what we expected!
3/23/2009

Customer review by Johnsonfamily3

5.0 stars 3/23/2009 by Johnsonfamily3
by Johnsonfamily3

This is a great gate! We got the gate to keep our 9 1/2 month old in our living room and kitchen area during the day. It works great for that, but it also keeps our dogs out of the kitchen too! Great product for your moneys worth. It's nice too that is comes with extra extensions! Some of the other gates you had to buy the extensions. The gate does come warped, but it's made to be that way! It tells you right on the gate. Once it is properly installed the gate is straight. Also the latch will work depending on if the gate has too much tension or not. Adjust and it works great! The gate does swing closed on its own as long as you open it wide enough. If you don't open it wide enough it wont shut and lock all the way every time. Very strong too! Our daughter climbs on it, bangs on it, and hangs on it and it doesn't budge! I would recommend this gate to everyone who is looking for a great baby gate for a decent price.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Johnsonfamily3
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice solid gate.
3/6/2012

Customer review by Inspector45

5.0 stars 3/6/2012 by Inspector45
by Inspector45

For the price, I was expecting something more flimsy like the last gate I had put at the top of the stairs and the gate door broke. This seems more solid and more stable. The gate is a light brown color, which goes better with our stair railings than the white gate we had previously. Relatively easy to set up; you have to make sure the gate is aligned exactly to make the gate door shuts tight after you open it. It springs back to the shut/locked position if aligned correctly. Keeps both kids and dogs contained, and I like the tall gate height. This spans wide spaces with the extra extensions. We used all three extensions to expand to a space of 45-inches. So far we are a fan; we'll see how long this one will last; I hope longer than the 3 months that my old one lasted.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Inspector45
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great gates
11/18/2009

Customer review by blessedmomoftwins

5.0 stars 11/18/2009 by blessedmomoftwins
by blessedmomoftwins

I didn't want the normal wooden or plastic gates you see everywhere. I saw these and had to have them. They match the deocr of my home and they are very sturdy. I would have even paid a little more for them if I had seen them in person next to the cheaper plastic gates. I must say though, the babies weren't as excited as me. :-)

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
blessedmomoftwins
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome Gate
11/6/2013

Customer review by hopper1982

5.0 stars 11/6/2013 by hopper1982
by hopper1982
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This gate was easy to install. I bought it to keep my small dog from going upstairs. It works well for my 3 year old as well. It opens easily with one hand and swings shut behind you. We currently have it only pressure mounted and my son can not knock it down. This gate is a great buy an well worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (28) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hopper1982
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A great gate!
3/19/2009

Customer review by LuvRPins

5.0 stars 3/19/2009 by LuvRPins
by LuvRPins

I purchased this gate to keep our two 5lb miniature pinschers enclosed in our outer kitchen. I had previously purchased a higher priced gate at Petsmart, but returned it because they could escape at the ends and it looked horrible. This gate is wonderful! Not only does it keep our dogs safe while we are at work, but it is very stylish (I have received many compliments about it). It was very easy to put together & it stands up to our grandsons pulling/trying to climb on it when they come to visit. I would highly recommend this product to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LuvRPins
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome gate!!
10/8/2013

Customer review by Tjdcj

5.0 stars 10/8/2013 by Tjdcj
by Tjdcj
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was completely impressed when I put this gate up. I thought it was going to be a pain when I first took the gate out of the box and seen all of the parts, but it was very easy to assemble. The directions were a little unclear, but it was more common sense. I love this gate. It looks great against our log stairs. It doesn't stand out. I use for the bottom of the stairs and love how I don't have to screw it into the wall. I would definitely buy another one if I needed a permanent gate. Most importantly my daughter will never be able to figure out how to open it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tjdcj
House Springs, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
LOVE IT!!!!!
1/6/2012

Customer review by Jenimommyof5

5.0 stars 1/6/2012 by Jenimommyof5
by Jenimommyof5

Just came in the mail today. Only got 1 and I love it that I want another one! extremely east to put together/up. looks very nice. Using it between our kitchen and playroom which is 47" Works great! I was able to cook unintrupted FINALLY! Took the stopper out for the stairs. Now I just need another one for our stairs as you can adjust each tension and i have tried over 4 other gates and b/c of how our stairs are they don't work and we don't want screws in our walls or spindles for the stairs. I did notice when I was tightening the tension screws that if you do them too tight you cannot open the gate...easily fixed just untighten a little bit! I am not a big or little person and i fit through the opening just fine...but i can see how this could cause issues with bigger people. Can't wait to get another one!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jenimommyof5
Madison, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not worth the extra money
3/15/2011

Customer review by leahsd

2.0 stars 3/15/2011 by leahsd
by leahsd

We bought two of these gates for our kitchen entries to keep the pets out of the kitchen and were hoping to use them to keep our future baby out when that time came (I'm 7 months pregnant). At first they were great; stylish, tall enough that the cat can't jump over, easy to operate... but then after about 4 weeks of high traffic use the "auto close" feature quit working and the gate would just hit the side and bounce back open, which stinks, but you can just close it by hand, so no big deal. Well about 2 weeks after that the sliding piece on the top that you are supposed to slide over before lifting the gate to open doesn't work... you don't have to even touch it to open the gate, just lift and the gate swings open. Even the gate on the other side of the kitchen that doesn't get nearly as much use did the same thing after a couple more weeks. Not worth the extra money if it's not going to even last more than 2 months! If we had kept the boxes, these would be going back to the store!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
leahsd
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A Lucky Find
7/4/2009

Customer review by mogamom

5.0 stars 7/4/2009 by mogamom
by mogamom

This is by far the BEST gate I have come across. It far exceeded my exptectations and was such a great price for what you get. I had already been through the plastic gates that have to be pryed open with a handle and then crammed back into the door frame as well as the wooden accordian gates; neither of which held up against children or pets. I searched for weeks and thought there has got be a 'REAL' gate out there and after reading the reviews for this one, I just had to try it. This gate is made of heavy duty steel with an auto latching behind you. The walk through and style is the highlight. I have this at the top of my steps and feel very safe that it is not going anywhere. Skip the others. This was so worth the money. BTW I set this up myself as a permanent (with the nail options provided) gate since it would be at the top of the steps while my husband was at work. Very easy..

Was this review helpful? (109) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mogamom
Mogadore, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
What a Awesome product
2/27/2009

Customer review by hommie93710

5.0 stars 2/27/2009 by hommie93710
by hommie93710

my 2 boys are very curious boys and keeping them out the kitchen was a task definitly with those flimsy wood gates this strong looks like steel gate was an awesome choice not only can they not open the gate and my sons are a 2 and 3 year old but they still havent figured out how to open the gate with the gate shutting without me closing it is awesome but remember you have to align it right and evenly to make it do that but after trial and error i got it working perfectly i bought a second gate after 5 days to make sure that they wernt gonna figure it out and i'm so excited to get it so i can put it on the stairs so i dont have to lock all the bedrooms so the kids wont get in lol yeah it was that serious lol. This is an awesome price right now cant beat that forsure a wonderful beautiful gate that i think will last for ever i can probably sell it after i'm done using it with my kids cause it stays in perfect condition with just a simple whip down with water i love this product

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hommie93710
oak harbor ,wa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
better than expected
1/8/2011

Customer review by demv

5.0 stars 1/8/2011 by demv
by demv

I usually don't take the time to write product reviews, but I was so impressed with this product that I decided to write.We have 2 large dogs and one small one and needed a gate to keep them out of certain rooms. I wanted a pressure mounted gate with a door so we could leave it in place yet move it easily to another location. I also needed something that could expand to various sizes and looked stylish. This particular gate fit the bill, but when I saw the $54.00 price I thought it must be poorly made or not look as well as pictured. I was desperate for something so I ordered it anyway. Not only does this gate work great I actually get compliments on it by everyone that comes to my house.It is easy to install and remove and the door in the gate can actually swing both ways which is great. I even imediately bought a second one. Unfortunatley the price went up after Christmas to $64.00 but it is still well worth the price

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
demv
Tampa,Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The "hardware mount" it a joke
8/19/2011

Customer review by Kiger01

1.0 stars 8/19/2011 by Kiger01
by Kiger01

It is a nice looking gate, and the metal seems very sturdy. I was looking for a hardware mounted gate and the description of this gate stated "pressure or hardware mounted". When picking it up at the store, the box only stated "pressure mounted". I left it at the store and checked the description on the website again. So back to the store. At home, I unpacked the gate. The "hardware mounted" means that you have little flimsy plastic cups that are supposed to hold the pressure mounts in place. After having tried this already numerous times with various gates I have to say, it does not work. I bought the gate not only for my grandkids, but also to keep the dogs away from the stairs. Have you ever seen a flimsy plastic cup compete with a European Great Dane. The plastic cup will definitely loose, as already proven a few times. I will have to return this and hunt the internet for a real "hardware mounted" gate that will fit the large opening at the top of the stairs.

Was this review helpful? (5) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kiger01
Cedar Grove, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I love this gate!
8/26/2009

Customer review by Mom2Two

5.0 stars 8/26/2009 by Mom2Two
by Mom2Two

I'm using this gate to keep my 4 large dogs out of my kitchen and living room. It's tall enough that they can't jump over it, but not so tall that it looks like it belongs in a jail. Easy to open with one hand. Springs closed every time, but it took a while to get the adjustments just right. You can use it with or without the hardware to mount it to the side walls (you have to use the hardware on top of stairs for safety reasons.) I'm using it without the hardware and the dogs haven't knocked it over yet. Very easy to set up and comes with three additional panels to use on large openings. I highly recommend this gate. (I just wish that it cost less.)

Was this review helpful? (66) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mom2Two
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Gate as described
9/19/2016

Customer review by Jackie

4.0 stars 9/19/2016 by Jackie
by Jackie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Gate was as described.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jackie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not Exactly...
7/28/2009

Customer review by SkyWlf77

4.0 stars 7/28/2009 by SkyWlf77
by SkyWlf77

We have a LOT of children in our group of friends. We also have a lot of pride in where we live, so keeping the children out of where they are not supposed to be while at the same time going along with our decor was important. This gate is beautiful and matches the rest of our home perfectly. It was nice and tall which was important to me with several toddlers who visit and one of my own. Setting this gate up was a cinch, which excited me. It's durability, however, leaves a lot to be desired. It has an internal spring that auto-closes the gate when you walk through, which is a fantastic feature, however, it broke less than a month into owning the gate, which is pathetic for the cost of this unit. It also has a VERY narrow opening - about 15 inches. If you are even slightly heavyset, DO NOT consider this gate an option. My wife has to go through it sideways and even that is a tight fit for her and not comfortable. Using this at the top of the stairs was impossible because of this problem. Considering it's issues, I would not consider this a very good value nor would I recommend this gate unless you are really skinny and don't mind shutting the gate on your own instead of relying on the automatic closing feature.

Was this review helpful? (57) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SkyWlf77
Carlinville, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Gate
9/18/2016

Customer review by Sasha

4.0 stars 9/18/2016 by Sasha
by Sasha
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very good durable product. Easy to assemble

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sasha
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 522 total reviews
1-20 of 522 reviews