Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 125 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

125 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

125 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
77
4 stars
22
3 stars
11
2 stars
6
1 stars
9
1-20 of 101 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 101 total reviews
1-20 of 101 reviews
Great Price, Horrible Quality.
1/5/2012

Customer review by TheSnakeDoc

1.0 stars 1/5/2012 by TheSnakeDoc
by TheSnakeDoc

To start the packaging is terrible. Most if not all of the 54 discs were damaged to some degree. Some were scratched, some appeared to have been scuffed up before shipping, while a few had what I can only guess was some sort of organic material stuck to them. Besides that the quality of the discs is horrible to begin with. Some play just fine, some discs won't even boot while others just stutter and lag. I didn't get to a completely non playable episode until season 5. Several of the discs are also misprinted. The quality of these discs make me wonder why Walmart would even sell them. If you are considering this set please don't. I made the mistake of buying it and now I get to return it. Just from my own experience and that there's 54 discs to go through, I doubt there's even a fully working set of these ever sold. This is such a great show, but avoid this set and just buy the individual seasons.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheSnakeDoc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great tv show!...but don't like the packaging
9/4/2009

Customer review by ActionFanCatchingUp

4.0 stars 9/4/2009 by ActionFanCatchingUp
by ActionFanCatchingUp

This is a very interesting show to watch. I'm watching the 5th season and still enjoying it. However, I had to give this a less than excellent review because of the packaging. The dvds are stored in pockets in two accordian style cardboard cases inside the outer box. The cases are very thick and awkward to handle and I'm always afraid I'm going to scratch the dvd when I'm trying to get it back into the pocket! I like the commemorative booklet and the outside box is very nice looking....but if I'd known how the dvds were packaged, I probably would have found a way to buy the seasons individually. (Then they would have fit inside my dvd cabinet too!)

Was this review helpful? (18) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ActionFanCatchingUp
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
Wonderfully Entertaining
1/3/2008

Customer review by StarGateQueen

5.0 stars 1/3/2008 by StarGateQueen
by StarGateQueen

For those who truly love the Stargate series, this is a must have item. You can watch at your leisure and not miss a single episode!!! You can also skip around in the seasons and not worry about whether or not a particular episode will be re-run for you to see. My husband LOVES this gift!!!!

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
StarGateQueen
Gilmer, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
BAD PRODUCT
9/6/2011

Customer review by sewforfun

1.0 stars 9/6/2011 by sewforfun
by sewforfun

I purchased this because it was cheaper than buying seperately. Some of the discs were scratched but they played ok. The ones that had not been scratched were not formated. I tried them in more than one player but they still would not play. I do not recommend them.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sewforfun
Alton, Mo.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
bad buy
11/23/2010

Customer review by myhp

2.0 stars 11/23/2010 by myhp
by myhp

DVD's are all scratched because of the cardboard sleeves. I tried to make one of them work but I just scratched it more. Could not take it back. They may be badly copied too

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
myhp
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good Deal Terrible Manufacturing
2/29/2012

Customer review by reaper420

1.0 stars 2/29/2012 by reaper420
by reaper420

My Suggestion to anybody considering buying this product dont. When I purchased it over 8 discs were scratched beyond repair. i returned it the next day and did not order another one. Do not do what I did and overlook these reviews. it is on about 70 dollars more on walmart.com to buy the individual seasons.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
reaper420
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great
1/29/2010

Customer review by JLil

5.0 stars 1/29/2010 by JLil
by JLil

It is great to have this collection in one boxset. All other sites besides amazon, are selling this sg1 boxset for $250. plus. The only thing I would change is the way the DVDs are sitting in the boxset, to something more sturdy.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JLil
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Buy 2, Return 1
11/14/2011

Customer review by MoJoSmartyPants

2.0 stars 11/14/2011 by MoJoSmartyPants
by MoJoSmartyPants

These discs are so poorly made we are on our 3rd set. My husband and I love this series and were so happy to find it so inexpencive. The first set atleast 5 of the 50+ discs were unplayable. We hoped rather than believed that this was just a glitch. We returned, and bought a new one, this one also had discs that would not play. We almost would have have kept it but of course the worthless discs contained a good number of our favorite episodes, sooooo we returned that set too. We almost didn't buy a third one until my husband had a genious idea, buy 2, take the bad discs from one and replace them with good discs from the other and return the one with ALL of the bad discs in it. The downfall is that you need a bigger innitial investment, the upside is you get the entire series for a dirt cheep price. Aaaaannnnnddddd pray that both sets don't have the same defective discs (so far out of the four we have bought none of the bad discs have been repeated so your chances are good). Buy 2. Watch. Find the bad discs in set 1. Replace with good discs from set 2 Return set 2 (containing all the bad discs) Keep set 1 (containing only good dics) for your cheep and greedy self :) That's what we did!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MoJoSmartyPants
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Poor quality
5/3/2010

Customer review by hisnameisdre

1.0 stars 5/3/2010 by hisnameisdre
by hisnameisdre

The show itself is really good, but the DVD set is pretty bad. Some of the discs came in bad shape and for the price, its unacceptable. I've read reviews of other people experiencing the same problem, so my case wasn't the only one. Some people mentioned its because the sleeves don't hold the discs securely and you have to be careful when handling it...but I was very careful when handling it, and the discs were still scratched. So I recommend the show, but not this DVD set. I ended up returning it...hopefully a good quality set will eventually be released.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hisnameisdre
Would recommend to a friend? No
10/10/2011

Customer review by stargrazer12

1.0 stars 10/10/2011 by stargrazer12
by stargrazer12

It was awful.First off when opened they all fell out.Then checking each cd,they all was damaged.I played a few just to see and each one stalled or was broken up pixels.I was very disappointed and returned the all set with no intention of getting another one.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stargrazer12
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Full Series Set
10/7/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 10/7/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

So far, About half of the DVD's have scratches on the discs. They are installed in a cardboard box sets for all of the 54 discs, in 2 sets of the disc containers where the discs are scratched on the installation of the box. Most of them are running normal, but so far 1/5th of them have issues on the operations from a regular DVD player.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
ElDorado, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
STARGATE
11/10/2010

Customer review by USMC151

2.0 stars 11/10/2010 by USMC151
by USMC151

DISK HAVE A LOT OF RUB MARKS DO TO POOR PACKAGING

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
USMC151
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Discs are poor quality.
4/29/2010

Customer review by submariner4now

1.0 stars 4/29/2010 by submariner4now
by submariner4now

The quality of the actual discs themselves seems low. They are not smooth on the edges and make a terrible noise when I put them in my iMac. They work fine in a regular DVD player, but in the slot-load drives on my iMac and MacBook they are very noisy and I worry about damage to the drive.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
submariner4now
Honolulu, HI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Horrible packaging; awesome series
7/9/2012

Customer review by MonkeyBuyer

1.0 stars 7/9/2012 by MonkeyBuyer
by MonkeyBuyer

You would think that after two years of complaints, that they would have fixed the packaging. They have not. Out of 54 discs, 36 were scuffed up. The box is beautiful, but I am going to have to return it, which breaks my heart, because I love this series. What got me even more was they lowered the price by about $60 more dollars a week after I ordered it!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MonkeyBuyer
Columbus, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Stargate SG1 Fan
2/29/2008

Customer review by Deana

5.0 stars 2/29/2008 by Deana
by Deana

During my working years I missed a lot of the Stargate episodes. This product is great. I am able to see those episodes missed and to review those seen years ago. They are wonderful. Richard Dean Anderson is a favorite. I would recommend his MacGyver series also. Deana

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Deana
East Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
4/29/2012

Customer review by RedDogOwner

4.0 stars 4/29/2012 by RedDogOwner
by RedDogOwner

We enjoyed viewing this series. We had difficulty with one disc, but it was viewable. This was the only disc that was visibly scratched. As previously stated by other reviewers, care is needed when removing and reinserting the disc in the cardboard sleeves.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RedDogOwner
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Everything plays well...
5/26/2011

Customer review by GOBO007

5.0 stars 5/26/2011 by GOBO007
by GOBO007

There were 14 discs that were scratched, 10 of them slightly, and 4 had major scratches. However, we play these on a (Sony) blue-ray player, and have not had any problems - no skips, etc. Don't know if the blue-ray makes a difference, as I do not have a regular DVD player anymore.. Following advice from others, I did put all the discs in paper sleeves, and then into a small box that allow you to flip through the 54 discs to find the one you want (kinda like an old "card file" system). There is a pamphlet that gives a summary of all the episodes which is quite handy. As others have said, the discs for the early seasons do not have a "play all" feature, and if you "jump" past the beginning theme music, you will jump too far and miss about 15 seconds of the show. This is corrected on later seasons (so you can play all, and "jump" past the title to the point that the show resumes. I am very glad I got this, and am surprised by how many episodes there are that I have never seen.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GOBO007
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Stargate SG-1
10/1/2011

Customer review by BlondiNativeAme3

5.0 stars 10/1/2011 by BlondiNativeAme3
by BlondiNativeAme3

I read all the reviews before purchasing this collection. I was aprehensive after reading about pooly packaged DVD's or scratced DVD's from falling out of accordian style cardboard sleves. I picked up my order at my local Walmart and... every DVD was in it's own slot and none were scratched or fell out as others mentioned. I did however, get plastic envelopes for each DVD to prevent scratching. After I watched a DVD I put it in the envelope but.... you have to fold the bottom corners to get DVD back in cardboard slot and it doesn't fit all the way down but... better than getting scratches on the DVD's. I was thinking of purchasing each Season separately after reading reviews but... decided to take a chance on complete set as all 10 Seasons would have been close to $300 if bought separately. So far, I'm half way through watching the 1st part of the set and haven't run into any problems. If you're careful removing a DVD, you shouldn't have a problem. If I had to order the 10 seasons all over again, I would still purchase the entire set. Also compared prices with Best Buy and Walmart is the best so far.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BlondiNativeAme3
Southampton, Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Minor scratching
8/28/2010

Customer review by EclecticBibleGuy

4.0 stars 8/28/2010 by EclecticBibleGuy
by EclecticBibleGuy

A few of the disks had some minor scratching. Using the Skip Doctor disk repairer has fixed the problem in every case so far. The scratching is directly related to the method of packaging the disks in the box. Poor design on the part of MGM. The series itself is outstanding and an excellent value at less than $2 a disk.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EclecticBibleGuy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
produ
3/25/2013

Customer review by shaunstephanie

5.0 stars 3/25/2013 by shaunstephanie
by shaunstephanie

Item received within the week. We are enjoying every episode

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shaunstephanie
yerington, nevada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 101 total reviews
1-20 of 101 reviews