Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 95 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

95 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

95 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
77
4 stars
14
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 stars
1
1-20 of 85 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 85 total reviews
1-20 of 85 reviews
12/22/2012

Customer review by Hooverite

5.0 stars 12/22/2012 by Hooverite
by Hooverite
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have had one of these for several years. My Son had this on his Christmass wish list after using mine this summer. So I got it for him. It can heat a big pot of water for corn in a few minutes next to the grill.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hooverite
Camarillo, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A solid stove for sure!
8/25/2010

Customer review by FISHGRILLER

5.0 stars 8/25/2010 by FISHGRILLER
by FISHGRILLER

This is not a cheap camp stove it is part of a system for camping that can be expanded as you need to ramp up your cooking. Since so much of the products in the market are "use and throw away" it is nice to see something built for use and "add on" as needed. The best accessory is the griddle and cover in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FISHGRILLER
REDMOND, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
great stove/grill
5/20/2008

Customer review by outdoorcook

5.0 stars 5/20/2008 by outdoorcook
by outdoorcook

This is a great item for the money. It has 90,000 BTUs. and the stove top grill works great. I've cooked for a small group of people (6-8) and had no problem grilling and steaming a side dish at the same time. This was the best price I could find online AND free shiping to the store. I give this a AA++.

Was this review helpful? (42) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
outdoorcook
Long Beach, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great Customer Service
7/11/2009

Customer review by TeaLoverRI

4.0 stars 7/11/2009 by TeaLoverRI
by TeaLoverRI

When we got the grill, we excitedly unpacked our grill to inspect it for our upcoming camping trip. When my husband went to put on the knobs, the first one broke. We called the customer service number that was listed in the users manual and without ANY hassel, they shipped not only one but three new knobs the next day. Wow, talk about good customer service....refreshing. This Big Gass Grill performed wonderfully. We were camping with 25 friends and most of them came to our site to cook. I love that the grill box attachment is included. Without it, it would be just 3 big burners (which could also be great for a lobster bake!) We only removed the grill attachment once to cook a large skillet breakfast for everyone but it was easy to remove and put back once we were done. It would be nice if a cover or carry bag was included but there is the option to purchase the customized carrier with wheels from the manufactuer. We may just order it. The manf. also offers many other cooking supplies that fit the BGG perfectly. Overall, it was a huge hit with it's large cooking surface and incredibly efficient grilling box.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TeaLoverRI
Cranston, RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
9/24/2009

Customer review by azsnowman

5.0 stars 9/24/2009 by azsnowman
by azsnowman

Arrived slightly damaged but not enought to worry about. assembled easily in about 15 to 20 minutes. Great for camping, entertaining and just cooking outdoors in general. We live full time in an rv working at a national park and entertaining fellow employees for weekly dinner parties is a breeze when you don't have cook on the small 3 burner rv stove. I would highly recommened this product to anyone

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
azsnowman
North Rim, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent Value, Excellent Grill!!!
3/2/2008

Customer review by DenLeader5

5.0 stars 3/2/2008 by DenLeader5
by DenLeader5

Our Cub Scout Pack purchased this grill for use on a pack campout. It performed flawlessly. We priced many units before settling on this one, most higher priced, some lower priced, but this one offered us the three burners, the grill box and more cooking power than other units. We were able to cook chicken, baked beans, corn, and mac-n-cheese all for about forty people with no problem at all. I would highly recommend this unit to anyone who needs such power and functionality and versatility without spending an absolute fortune. Also, shipping is free, to the store!!!!

Was this review helpful? (20) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DenLeader5
Palm Coast, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Quick Cooking
1/3/2009

Customer review by CampAway

5.0 stars 1/3/2009 by CampAway
by CampAway

I know several people that have used this same machine and it is a great stove for Camping, Get together and family events. You can use the 3 Burners for boiling pots of water, Making Hot Chocolate and cooking. You can use the Cooker box for making burgers, Steaks and what ever you would do on a BBQ. The only thing that is missing on the Walmart page is the Caring Bags and Large Griddle. But that is not the products fault...

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CampAway
Vancouver BC Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Burner is awesome
10/29/2010

Customer review by zgriller

5.0 stars 10/29/2010 by zgriller
by zgriller

I used this grill/burner setup twice now. It has more than enough power even with all three burners going. I had the grill on the two burners cooking hamburgers, hot dogs and brats and was frying french fries and onion rings on the third burner. It worked perfectly. My only complaint is the bag that the legs come in. It will be shot on the next use. It is pretty cheaply constructed.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
zgriller
Kansas City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Simply Excellent Grill
9/19/2009

Customer review by Poohbear63

5.0 stars 9/19/2009 by Poohbear63
by Poohbear63

There is no other word for this grill besides.. GREAT We bought it to use when we went camping , we was gone for 16 days and needless to tell you I have no use the stove in my camper since I got this grill.. There is no need to . This grill does it all, With the grill box we cooked chicken, rack of ribs, corn on the cob everything you can think of for about 15 of us. Take the grill box off and you can do anything you can do on a regular stove. The 90,000 Btu's is awesome, if you can't cook it on this grill you need to quit. Easy to set up , easy to store. and simply great Even cleanup was great . I use to let me husband to the cooking on the grill but, forget that I took this one over.. even if he did like it as much as I did... It is just great . Everyone needs one of these grills...especially when you go camping .. Buy, one you won't regret it...

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Poohbear63
Frankfort, Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
a true need
11/10/2009

Customer review by 2g2btrue

5.0 stars 11/10/2009 by 2g2btrue
by 2g2btrue

when you go camping every one will want your stove with griddle sold separately great investment

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
2g2btrue
fresno ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Big Gas Grill III
10/4/2012

Customer review by rocky52

4.0 stars 10/4/2012 by rocky52
by rocky52

I love the grill, but the bbq box drips grease on the ground and all over the burners. I can't believe that Camp Chef did not put a catch pan for the grease on the bbq box or around the burners. It makes a huge mess with chicken and burgers. Other than that it is great.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rocky52
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Outdoor Cooking
4/4/2012

Customer review by BigJimA

5.0 stars 4/4/2012 by BigJimA
by BigJimA

I have been using a Camp Chef Big Gas Grill for the last 5 years. I leave it set up on the back deck and grill all year on it. I just bought a second one. The older unit will go with my travel trailer to be set up for camp cooking duty. The high output burners are great. I use the barbeque box for grilling steaks, burgers and pork tenderloins etc. and the side burner is perfect for boiling/steaming corn or sides. The side burner and a big black iron skillet are made for each other. With the heat cranked up you can blacken meat or fish without smelling up the house. These burners really put out some heat! You can also turn it down and use it for everyday frying chores like bacon and eggs. A very versatile unit...

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BigJimA
S. E. Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Even better grill/stove-top than I had hoped for.
10/28/2011

Customer review by BeLOWME

5.0 stars 10/28/2011 by BeLOWME
by BeLOWME

I had bought this figuring on using it for camping, as some of the Boy Scout groups around here use them or similar stoves. I do not think we will bother with a new BBQ for the patio as this one works, and works better than other patio grills we have had in the past. We used it for cooking when the power went out from the last hurricane. Heats up water faster than the stove top in the house. 5 days without power and 6 people feeding off of this. Only knock on it is that the BBQ is small and you will not be putting a chicken/roast on there and closing it up to cook. Won't fit because the top is so low. But that is to be expected as it is a camp stove. And the cast iron cooking grates on the BBQ take a few minutes of extra time to take care of cleaning this... But the cooking results are well worth the effort. I'd recommend this for family camping, cub scouts or boy scouts, tailgating and a heck of an emergency stove. And good enough as a grill that we just have it set up as our home grill forever. Paid about $205 for ours but I would pay a lot more.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BeLOWME
New Milford, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
HOME AND CHURCH EVENTS
5/21/2011

Customer review by BOYSCAMPOUTAWANA

5.0 stars 5/21/2011 by BOYSCAMPOUTAWANA
by BOYSCAMPOUTAWANA

3 BURNERS GREAT! Barbecue Grill Box is great on steaks keep eye on hamburgers, hot heat that you need to get use to not setting high but save gas and set low. Buy the 37 x 16 inch Deluxe Fry Griddle. Great for cooking up 30 lbs. of fried potatoes. Used as main cooker for feeding hot dogs, pan cakes, bacon, sausage, for group of 60 men/boys. Very efficient on gas usage.

Was this review helpful? (14) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BOYSCAMPOUTAWANA
FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Very functional
2/23/2012

Customer review by motocraft

4.0 stars 2/23/2012 by motocraft
by motocraft

I purchased the PRO 90 5-6 years ago. I have the BBQ box and the griddle that covers two of the burners. I also purchased the zip up covers for each item. The comlaint I have is the burners have to much output to operate the griddle properly. You have to be really careful to not over heat the griddle because of the 30,000 BTU per burners. I understand how to cook on it but if you are not aware of the excessive heat you will burn what you are cooking - cook to fast to control bacon - sausage etc and I am afraid it will warp the griddle. I have the Coleman coffee maker and the burners are a bit hot for that appliance. I am really pleased for the rest of the "jobs" around camp. I am considering another griddle that has 2-3 burners that are rated at 18,000 BTU's to add to our camp cooking. We have the pop up work table with a sink and prep area. We camp in the wilderness with no water and electrical. We typically set up a week at a time and use a 10 x 20 enclosed canopy for our cook shack. works for us - of sourse we are always looking to make improvements. We also use it July 4th and other cook outs.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
motocraft
Miss Delta
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Impossible to clean
11/23/2009

Customer review by elcocal

2.0 stars 11/23/2009 by elcocal
by elcocal

Cooks great even in wind, but the cast iron grate is impossible to clean, (The food gets stuck in the holes)therefore, you are always cooking on left over food! If you take the time (hours) to clean it, then the grates rust and you're cooking your food on rust. The bottom of the cooking case rusted out so now the flames come thru and burn the food. The wind guard on the bottom of the frame rusted thru as well. (The grill has always been under an awning so I feel it should not have rusted as quickly as it has)

Was this review helpful? (13) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
elcocal
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
12/29/2010

Customer review by TANKSLV

5.0 stars 12/29/2010 by TANKSLV
by TANKSLV

I have owned one for 5 years, and have given as gifts to my kids. the grill is the best for camping and cooking anywhere.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TANKSLV
Victorville, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
A great BBQ !
6/21/2014

Customer review by Willu

5.0 stars 6/21/2014 by Willu
by Willu
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I wanted a BBQ that is versatile, compact and powerful. This is it!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Willu
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
RVers use CampChef almost everyday!
2/16/2012

Customer review by SOMARE

5.0 stars 2/16/2012 by SOMARE
by SOMARE

Have use my CampChef for about 3 weeks, cooked steaks, boiled water for pasta, baked pitza, cooked smokies, chicken and baked buns. Works great, lots of heat, but also lots of control. Can turn the burner down and it remains lit in the wind. The thermometer sticks down inside so I had to remove it to bake potatoes and pitza, but it easily removes. Wish the BBQ box was a lot taller, cooking a ham, turkey or roast won't be happening. It replaces our old BBQ and our old campstove all in one, and it works great for us. Setup was easy, WalMart pickup went smoothly. I will order site to store again in the future.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SOMARE
Mercedes, TX and Okotoks, AB Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Mac Daddy Camping Grill
6/14/2010

Customer review by jamesatplay

5.0 stars 6/14/2010 by jamesatplay
by jamesatplay

This thing is big, heavy and storage is a pain. HOWEVER its a breeze to set up and tear down. The burners put out some serious heat and the grill works beautifully. And with the third burner there is plenty of room to throw a skillet on the end. For what we use it for its perfect. For this price you're not going to find better. Happy Campin!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jamesatplay
Spokane, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 85 total reviews
1-20 of 85 reviews