Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 38 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

38 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

38 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
32
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
0
1-20 of 30 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 30 total reviews
1-20 of 30 reviews
Excellent Dutch Oven for Camping and Home
7/14/2008

Customer review by JayinSD

5.0 stars 7/14/2008 by JayinSD
by JayinSD

A great product for a low price and I got it quick. I ordered this product using the ship-to-store service. I only camp a few times a year but this is a versatile product to cook scrambled eggs or pancakes (on the inside of the lid), and other stews and soups. The 3-legs make it perfect for wood or charcoal fires. The product came already seasoned. I did another seasoning by applying a light coat of vegetable oil all over the dutch oven, then oven bake it at 350 degrees for 1 hour. Use this when camping instead of taking a few pots. It can do it all. Lots of camping or backyard recipes are available by searching the internet. Though I have not done so, this can also be used on your patio (in your charcoal grill) or on your stove/oven. I am very satisfied not only with the product, but with Wal-Mart for finding great values for their customers! ;-) - Thanks

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JayinSD
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
1st usage
5/26/2009

Customer review by lanfear5ofus

5.0 stars 5/26/2009 by lanfear5ofus
by lanfear5ofus

We made biscuits the first time in this dutch oven and they were wonderful. It was great to have biscuits with breakfast at our campsite. Recommend this product. We put foil in between to make two rows and then had to switch places halfway through so the bottom didn't burn. They were good. Yum yum

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lanfear5ofus
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Great oven!
8/2/2010

Customer review by Readytocamp

5.0 stars 8/2/2010 by Readytocamp
by Readytocamp

Just got into dutch oven cooking and it's great! This oven has worked great so far. I made peach cobbler and pineapple upside down cake at camp last week and the campers next to us wanted to know what smelled so good. There's lots of recipes on the net. Go find them and start cooking! Now I need another oven to cook a meal while the desert is baking.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Readytocamp
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
Excellent!
5/15/2009

Customer review by Anderson2plus2

5.0 stars 5/15/2009 by Anderson2plus2
by Anderson2plus2

Bought this for a camping trip. LOVED IT! Very versatile. Extremely happy with our purchase. Recommend it HIGHLY!

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Anderson2plus2
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Just as Good as Lodge Logic
11/29/2010

Customer review by MultiModality

5.0 stars 11/29/2010 by MultiModality
by MultiModality

I bought this Camp Chef 6-Quart Classic dutch oven and a Lodge Logic Deep bigger dutch oven (I forget which size). While I'm no metalurgist, I honestly can't tell the difference. I cook in both, at the same time, and get terrific results. My wife and I cook cornbread in the CC while it sits atop our LL filled with bbq ribs. Perfect every time. I don't need to spend more cash on a brand name. I'll stick with Camp Chef. (pic shows ribs in the Lodge and homemade cornbread in the smaller Camp Chef)

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MultiModality
Mesa, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
great cheap camping dutch oven
6/6/2011

Customer review by NCBikerDude

5.0 stars 6/6/2011 by NCBikerDude
by NCBikerDude

it's not a lodge, which seems to be the benchmark for these things, but it works wonderfully. the legs are taller than most cheaper brands so the coals fit under perfectly, the lip on the lid is fairly high helping to keep the ash out of the food. the handle does NOT have the little bump in it that makes hanging the oven over a fire easier, but that is a low level inconvenience. DO NOT TRUST THE PRESEASONING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! it says you can open teh box and cook in it, but it's going to smoke like a banshee the 1st time you add heat, I can only imagine what that would taste like, I burned the oven off, even took the lid off and let the inside smoke out as well, once it stopped smoking I then oiled the oven down and used it as normal. you are hard pressed to find anything this cheep at this quality out there, there is one site that does lodge pretty cheap, but even there you will be spending another $15 on the oven then $50 for shipping.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NCBikerDude
Rocky Mount, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
It's not a Lodge
4/13/2011

Customer review by TravelingEHO

3.0 stars 4/13/2011 by TravelingEHO
by TravelingEHO

We purchased the Camp Chef 12" camp oven from Walmart.com for our recent trip to South Carolina. I was looking at a replacement lid for an old 10" dutch oven and wanted a camp oven lid to use while camping. Looking at prices, it was cheaper to buy a new Camp Chef 12" camp oven instead of a replacement lid for the 10". It is cast iron, preseasoned and ready to use from the box. We used it to roast some chicken, make some beer bread, and sweet rolls. We are planning on using it to cook some lamb for Easter.. Only complaints I should mention is the lid did not twist smoothly the first couple of cookings and the round lid hook (on the lid) is smaller than Lodge so make sure you have the hook lid lifter. Also the site to site was delayed so we did not get to take it with us. For the price, it is great as a starter camp oven. You can find great recipies and tips on line to get the most out of this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TravelingEHO
Stone Mountain, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great Purchase
9/12/2011

Customer review by appsandreins

5.0 stars 9/12/2011 by appsandreins
by appsandreins

I have been wanting a dutch oven for camping and fire pits but did not want to pay the price for the more expensive ones. I got this one and for the price I love it. I only used it once but can't wait to use it again. It was ready to use right out of the box. I cooked a whole chicken in it without any trouble. The meat fell off the bones and the vegetables were perfect. With the leftover veggies and broth I made soup the next day for lunch. It was easy to clean. In my research I read that after the use mineral oil was used on it instead of regular vegetable oil. It helps it keep a shine and looking new. The lid lifter is a must. I got the 9 inch lifter without realizing it. I wish I had gotten the longer one but it still works good. I used wood coals instead of charcoal and it worked just fine. We have a burn pit and lots of wood to burn so I see a lot of use out of this oven. I am looking forward to it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
appsandreins
Mountain Home, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great outdoor cooking
4/7/2009

Customer review by Stealhunt

5.0 stars 4/7/2009 by Stealhunt
by Stealhunt

Once a year about 20 of us get together for our early spring campout in the North Georgia Mountains. I bought this oven for this years camp out. It was a HIT !!! There is nothing like the smell of fresh baked bisquits early in the morning at camp. I plan to buy another one, so I can combine more meal items and have them all ready at the same time. Oven cleans easy. I would like to see more accessories for this on walmart's web site.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Stealhunt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
A Must Need Piece of Camping Equipment
2/10/2011

Customer review by ibmj

5.0 stars 2/10/2011 by ibmj
by ibmj

I have been camping for 40 years, This dutch oven is a must, Price, quality, is just as good as a High name Brand, Have made everything under the sun in this dutch Oven, Biscuits are the best. I perfer to use it as a oven, place 3 small rocks same size in bottom and use a biscuit pan, put coals under dutch, put pan in side, put lid on it and coals on top, takes about 10 mins and golden brown.. fixing to but 2nd one

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ibmj
Dallas, tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
AWESOME!!!
3/24/2009

Customer review by EllieM

5.0 stars 3/24/2009 by EllieM
by EllieM

And I haven't even taken it camping yet. Tested it out on my gas burner, even though it has legs, and it baked a loaf of bread, made great pot roast, chicken, potatoes, etc. It's not ideal for bread without coals on the top since it didn't brown very well but in an emergency, it will do very nicely.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EllieM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
Well seasoned dutch oven
7/27/2010

Customer review by lacsap

5.0 stars 7/27/2010 by lacsap
by lacsap

Out of the box this dutch oven was ready to go! They pre-seasoned it correctly so food does not stick. We made pizzas and cobbler on camping trip - it was really easy to clean up after.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lacsap
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Meets and exceeds expectations!
5/18/2012

Customer review by scouterdude101

5.0 stars 5/18/2012 by scouterdude101
by scouterdude101

After always using the dutch ovens from our Boy Scout troop, I decided to purchase one for myself and also for use when camping with my Cub Scout pack camping trips. This was the best quality item for the best practical price. I don't see how the more expensive ones could be any better. Walls are thick and handle is strong....practially bullet proof. Even though it came pre-seasoned out of the box I gave it a once over with Crisco @ 350 for 30 and it was like a glass coating. I know I will get a lifetime of use out of this item.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
scouterdude101
Central NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
10/10/2011

Customer review by Irishlas

5.0 stars 10/10/2011 by Irishlas
by Irishlas

Great cooking pot! Quality product and Very Good value! It is perfect for cooking on our campfire!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Irishlas
western NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Not what I expected
6/10/2009

Customer review by momten

2.0 stars 6/10/2009 by momten
by momten

Unfortunately I had to return this product it was flawed and smelled rancid. I then purchased a different brand which was practically perfect. No rancid smell was a plus.

Was this review helpful? (1) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
momten
Southern AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Dutch Oven For a Convenient Price
6/18/2009

Customer review by CurtisinTemecula

5.0 stars 6/18/2009 by CurtisinTemecula
by CurtisinTemecula

12 Inch Dutch Ovens are roughly $69, and the Walmart pruduct is $30 Cheaper! Good Value! Used this Dutch Oven in Yosemite National Park, and it was a huge hit!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CurtisinTemecula
Temecula, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Ready for Camping!
5/31/2010

Customer review by P4P4

5.0 stars 5/31/2010 by P4P4
by P4P4

This dutch oven is a great value and arrived pre-conditioned as described. We are practicing with it at home so we can take it camping soon!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
P4P4
TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Great Value!!!
8/23/2009

Customer review by WaleMartinez

5.0 stars 8/23/2009 by WaleMartinez
by WaleMartinez

Great product at a GREAT price. Dutch ovens are fun to use if you like cooking outdoors. There are other brands like Lodge, but this one is the least expensive and is 99% the same. Enjoy...

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WaleMartinez
Corpus Christi, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Just as as expected
3/23/2013

Customer review by oreo126

5.0 stars 3/23/2013 by oreo126
by oreo126

Great product heavy duty Cast Iron good product. Wish the lid lifter was included with product. Burn the first thing I tried due to my fault secound time came out great.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
oreo126
indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great dutch oven
6/9/2012

Customer review by believelovelive

5.0 stars 6/9/2012 by believelovelive
by believelovelive

What I liked is that it got to me in good time and just what I wanted. Thanks

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
believelovelive
Roosevelt, Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
1-20 of 30 total reviews
1-20 of 30 reviews