Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1079 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

1079 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

1079 reviews | 4 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
535
4 stars
279
3 stars
101
2 stars
65
1 stars
99
1-20 of 961 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 961 total reviews
1-20 of 961 reviews
Was not what I expected
3/20/2009

Customer review by jkmen5

3.0 stars 3/20/2009 by jkmen5
by jkmen5

I did not like this product. I had very high hopes for it and I see my search still remains, because I intend to take this gate back to the store. The gate came advertised as "Fits 29"-52" doorways", my doorway that I was wanting blocked was 49" wide... apparently NOT one of the 2 advertised. This gate comes fitting to 3 exact entry sizes: 29", 34" and 52". Not what I ws expecting. The gate comes with a 6" extender and a 12" extender. If I used both then the gate was too big, if I used one or the other then it was too small. My husband ended up having to put some 2x4's on our walls on both sides just to make it fit. And even still, its not worth it. Because after all that, my 4 y/o twins figured out how to open the gate within the 1st 24 hours!!! Walls tore up for no reason-Very disappointing.

Was this review helpful? (385) (32)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jkmen5
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The quick and dirty
6/6/2010

Customer review by cinciohmom

3.0 stars 6/6/2010 by cinciohmom
by cinciohmom

First time mom. We got this gate for the kitchen doorway(33" wide) and the top of the stairs (35" wide). We had some problems. The gate its self is 29" and you get a 6" extension. So for the kitchen the gate+extension doesnt fit. We had to extend the pressure feet really far out on both sides (with the mounting cap its sturdy). The stairs JUST fit. Remember to add the inch to each side for the width of the pressure feet. BOTTOM LINE: buy the regalo extra wide. Its the same gate but it comes with a 4" and 6" extension piece for the same price. Had we gotten that one the gate+4" extension would have been perfect. Otherwise gate is strudy and easy to use. The walk through section in a bit narrow and you have to remember to step over the bottom bar. But whats parenting without sacrafice.

Was this review helpful? (73) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cinciohmom
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Great gate for the price!
1/26/2009

Customer review by RougeRose

5.0 stars 1/26/2009 by RougeRose
by RougeRose

We needed this gate for an awkward area between our kitchen and dinning room and it worked out great! We were a little skeptical at first because of the price, but the gate is very sturdy. My daughter loves hanging off of it (22 pounds). It only took 10 minutes to mount because we had to use the mounting cups because of the uneven area the gate would not stay up pressure mounted alone. Very easy to open and close, but definitely too difficult for our 2 year old to figure out. For added height we mounted it 4 inches higher.

Was this review helpful? (68) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RougeRose
Valrico, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Easy to Install and Operate
9/27/2009

Customer review by vista9

5.0 stars 9/27/2009 by vista9
by vista9

I purchased this gate for my chihuahua. He is 7 lbs. He cannot get through the bars of the gate, but can fit where the gate meets the wall and the gate itself. The space is wider there. You can get a piece of stiff plastic or even cardboard to fix this issue. The gate is easy to open and is held in place by a mechanism similar to a tension rod. It is attractive and can be easily moved. All in all a good value and I am very happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (53) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vista9
Sedona, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
For home daycare and works great
6/29/2010

Customer review by 4MomsLittleGirl

5.0 stars 6/29/2010 by 4MomsLittleGirl
by 4MomsLittleGirl

I run a daycare in my home and was worried about young children coming into my kitchen when I was getting meals ready. After about 2 months of having children at my feet I decided I was going to order a gate. I don't want my home to look like I run a daycare but when I came across this gate I was pleased with how it looked online. The gate arrived fast with free standard shipping to my home and we put the gate up and it keeps the children out of the kitchen. It has stayed up with just the tension cups with 30 pound toddlers hanging on it. I think this is a GREAT gate and would recommend it to everyone looking for a great gate.

Was this review helpful? (34) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
4MomsLittleGirl
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not for "in-between" door sizes!
3/17/2010

Customer review by Jeninpa76

2.0 stars 3/17/2010 by Jeninpa76
by Jeninpa76

My doorway is 46", the gate was too small without the extra piece. We tried twisting the pressure things on the ends as far as they would go but it wouldn't hold the gate up, the door wouldn't open due to the pressure being too much (haha) & the gap between the wall and the gate was over 6"! With the extra piece on we couldn't even fit the ends on the bars! I would say this is best for a doorway under 42" or over 49".

Was this review helpful? (24) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jeninpa76
Lock Haven,PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
You get what you pay for.
7/1/2012

Customer review by ShannonMarie

3.0 stars 7/1/2012 by ShannonMarie
by ShannonMarie

When I kept tripping over my old gate (a walk over), I got really fed up and returned it to Walmart. Unfortunately they didn't carry any walk through gates and recommended I looked online. When I found this gate, I was pleasantly surprised to see that it was the same price as my other one and went ahead and bought it. Chose rush delivery (need a gate for a busy toddler!) and waited. Bought Thursday, shipped Friday, received Saturday. I was extremely pleased with shipping. As for the gate itself, I had no idea what to expect. The reviews are very up and down but decided to keep an open mind. When I received the box and opened it, it was exactly what I expected. Assembly was a breeze EXCEPT for ONE of the anchors. You are supposed to be able to slide it straight in, no resistance whatsoever. Well, that was the case for 3 but on the 4th, nope. Didn't want to go in and was stuck. Ended up having to take a hammer to it. Installing it on the wall isn't hard but you have to tighten it JUST perfectly otherwise you CANNOT open/close the gate. It fit well for my 42" hallway though. After I got the exact measurements, the gate is a bit wobbly but sturdy enough, I guess. But it's what you get for $35! Here's my video review where I show what I'm talking about more: www.youtube.com/watch?v=KCXy4K0tc_M

Was this review helpful? (21) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ShannonMarie
Parker, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works great for me!
2/9/2009

Customer review by DarthVaderLovesBabies

5.0 stars 2/9/2009 by DarthVaderLovesBabies
by DarthVaderLovesBabies

I am very happy with this gate. We have an oddly-shaped entryway to the living room and this gate was able to fit in there just right. There was a little luck involved - you have to pay attention to the dimensions that are given in the product description. Every gate will not fit every opening! Every extension will not accommodate every measurement! If installed correctly in an appropriate space, this gate is great.

Was this review helpful? (17) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DarthVaderLovesBabies
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great for our puppies
12/21/2007

Customer review by caspersmom

5.0 stars 12/21/2007 by caspersmom
by caspersmom

Bought for our 2 puppies who have now grown considerably and this gate still contains them exceptionally well. Have been using it for about 2 months now. A little tricky to set up at first but once installed it works fine. It just needs to be adjusted a little at fiirst.

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
caspersmom
Merritt Island, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice Gate
9/10/2010

Customer review by tkleblanc

4.0 stars 9/10/2010 by tkleblanc
by tkleblanc

I bought two of these gates. They were easy to instal and didn't take long at all. I used one on a 34 1/2 inch doorway without any extensions. The spindle rods had to be extended pretty far so the gate seems a little unstable. I think if I use the wall cups it will fix that problem. The other gate is being used for a 36in doorway. I did use the 6in extension and had to almost tighten the spindle rods all the way and squeeze it into the door way. It was a tight fit, but its not going any where. The gates are not very easy to open. I was hoping my 4yr old would be able to open the gate but she isn't strong enfough to pull back the lever and lift the gate at the same time. I like that the door swings both ways, but i wish it would close on its own. I also like the height of the gate. The doorway opening is not very large but it is not an issue for us. Over all it is a nice product at an affordable price.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tkleblanc
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works Great!
11/1/2008

Customer review by Beachy4200

5.0 stars 11/1/2008 by Beachy4200
by Beachy4200

This is a great gate. We had no trouble installing it as a pressure mounted gate. It is very sturdy and keeps our 12 month old son out of daddy's office. He is very strong and he has not been able to budge the gate at all. It installed easily and we are able to have our double doors shut when complete quiet is needed. We even put both extensions on one side of the door so that we could have one door shut and still access the gate with the other door. The gate swings open in either direction and the latch is secure enough so that our older daughter can not figure it out. Very good design. I can not tell you how happy we are with the gate. It is a very sturdy gate and an excellent price.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Beachy4200
West Palm Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Perfect for our use for a small pet
2/24/2014

Customer review by jkglad

5.0 stars 2/24/2014 by jkglad
by jkglad

We decided to get this gate to keep a new puppy within a certain area that had no carpeting while we house break her. But the area included a computer room, bathroom and kitchen as well as the front entry hallway. So, we needed something that can allow people to get through easily. We set it up within a 48" space and it is working beautifully. Have been using it for over a week.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jkglad
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Product was great, description NOT!
9/17/2010

Customer review by CGDMom

5.0 stars 9/17/2010 by CGDMom
by CGDMom

The actual gate is nice and exactly what I wanted...However, Walmart's description of how wide this gate goes is wrong. Yes, this gate can go to 52", but you have to buy more extenders that DO NOT come with it!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CGDMom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
much better than the wooden kind
1/3/2009

Customer review by mathewsmom

5.0 stars 1/3/2009 by mathewsmom
by mathewsmom

We bought this after we bumped into our wooden baby gate so many times that it had splits in it. Our hallway is very wide so the standard gates don't fit, and we were really in need of something we could use frequently without tripping on it. (we were stepping over our old wooden gate because it didn't have a hinged door) We love this gate; it's durable and has withstood a 19 month old hitting on it. The only thing we needed to modify was that there is a gap on the end that our cat was able to squeeze through so my husband had to put a strip of wood against the wall to narrow that gap. To be fair, our cat is long and skinny, but he can no longer get through since the modification. lol All in all, this is a great product that we would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mathewsmom
Flint, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1/21/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 1/21/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

It does exactly what it is supposed to but at the 47" width it is extremely tight to install

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Exactly what I needed
3/7/2012

Customer review by ShutterbugLisa

4.0 stars 3/7/2012 by ShutterbugLisa
by ShutterbugLisa

This gate isn't the most attractive thing ever (so I had to detract a star), but it is the most affordable for what it is. I couldn't find anything that performed the same function for less anywhere. I needed a semi-permanent gate to put up for my dog. I learned quickly that the same exact gates sold as dog gates instantly adds about $50 to the price. This gate fit my 48" opening perfectly. My dog is small, about 15 pounds, and he can't get through it. He's a jumper but he can't get over it either. I used all 3 pieces that came with the main gate piece to fill my 48 inch space in a walk way so I could keep my dog contained when necessary. When connected one piece measures 8", the other 12 3/4", and the main piece with the gate is 24 3/4". It comes with 4 tension feet with screws coming out of them to screw into the sides of the gate. Those a a minimum of 1" to the width on each side when attached. With all of that I think you could make it fit most halls or doors. I found a great tip online for people who don't need the added child proofing...you can attach a zip tie in front of the slider on top of the gate so that you don't have to slide that piece over to open it anymore. Instead you just lift it to open it. If you're using it for a dog, this makes it easier to open and close. Also the fact that you can leave the gate open in either direction, and it doesn't close shut on it's own is a big help. I can't imagine having to open it every time you wanted to walk through.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ShutterbugLisa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
2/10/2011

Customer review by thistookwaytoomuchtime

5.0 stars 2/10/2011 by thistookwaytoomuchtime
by thistookwaytoomuchtime

Great gate. I had to take the adjusting screws off to make it fit securely but it works nicely. Will be buying a second one shortly.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thistookwaytoomuchtime
Mesa AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
wonderful gate!
5/7/2010

Customer review by avonmomof3

5.0 stars 5/7/2010 by avonmomof3
by avonmomof3

This is a great gate, much cheaper than all the others like it. I had a 46" opening and it fit perfectly, which someone else said it wouldn't fit that size but I had no problem. Extremely easy to set up and can easily be opened with one hand. So glad I didn't buy a more expensive gate, this will definitely keep my one year old out of my kitchen, yea!!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
avonmomof3
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Walk thru with EASE???
9/19/2014

Customer review by rhedhead

1.0 stars 9/19/2014 by rhedhead
by rhedhead

The walk thru opening is only about 16" wide. A small girl might be able to walk thru straight on, but a juicy girl has to turn sideways to get through. Why in the heck did they make the opening so small? Look at your arm. 16" is about from your fingertips to your elbow. Do you wanna try to walk thru that opening carrying a baby? Make sure your hips are way smaller than that, or you have to turn sideways to get thru - and then your butt will catch on the latch. Good luck.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rhedhead
Would recommend to a friend? No
Economical & Attractive Safety Pet/Child Gate
4/23/2010

Customer review by BudgetDecorator

5.0 stars 4/23/2010 by BudgetDecorator
by BudgetDecorator

I bought this gate based on the size, price and function to confine my two small terriers to the kitchen area when they are indoors. It was delivered to my home address quickly and for a very small charge. It fit my 44" opening just fine without using the included extension section and was easy to assemble and install. I like the fact that the gate will swing either way. The only feature I am not 100% happy with is that the tension hardware is a grey color, I would have preferred it to be white like the rest of the gate. The dogs cannot knock it down, squeeze through or jump over it. I would recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BudgetDecorator
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 961 total reviews
1-20 of 961 reviews