Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1306 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

1306 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

1306 reviews | 4 out of 5

80%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
639
4 stars
334
3 stars
127
2 stars
86
1 stars
120
1-20 of 1187 total reviews
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1187 total reviews
1-20 of 1187 reviews
great purchase
1/2/2017

Customer review by Chris

5.0 stars 1/2/2017 by Chris
by Chris
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

great buy, fits like a glove. thank you Walmart

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chris
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great gate for the price!
1/26/2009

Customer review by RougeRose

5.0 stars 1/26/2009 by RougeRose
by RougeRose

We needed this gate for an awkward area between our kitchen and dinning room and it worked out great! We were a little skeptical at first because of the price, but the gate is very sturdy. My daughter loves hanging off of it (22 pounds). It only took 10 minutes to mount because we had to use the mounting cups because of the uneven area the gate would not stay up pressure mounted alone. Very easy to open and close, but definitely too difficult for our 2 year old to figure out. For added height we mounted it 4 inches higher.

Was this review helpful? (79) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RougeRose
Valrico, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Okay for price
9/15/2008

Customer review by BabyDaddyLA

3.0 stars 9/15/2008 by BabyDaddyLA
by BabyDaddyLA

I needed a wide gate (52") and wanted one that did not have to screw into the wall. This is a pressure installed gate, so it fit the bill. While it does stretch to 52" with the included extenders, it is really only about 48" wide. The remaining length is made up by the long bolts on the ends that are what you extend to hold the gate in place. After a couple days, I am still a little nervous when our son (nine months) stands up on the gate because it seems a little flimsy. I can make the pressure bolds a little tighter, but then the gate itself won't open. Opening the gate is easy but, like others, we find it very difficult to close because the latch at the top of the gate doesn't seem to ever be properly aligned with the 'catch' at the bottom. This is a lift and open gate, so the stabilizer at the bottom has to properly align. Just nowhere near as easy as a narrower Evenflo gate that we also have.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BabyDaddyLA
Los ANgeles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:35 - 44
Misleading info / Good luck
3/10/2017

Customer review by Gate

2.0 stars 3/10/2017 by Gate
by Gate
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The info regarding this gate says it fits openings from 29"-50". The problem is there is only 3 set measurements this gate will fill. There is a 6": extension and a 12 " extension along with the portion of gate that includes the swinging door. If you don't have the exact opening measurement for the gate to accommodate with it's 3 sections, you're out of luck. The construction is fine and it is pressure mounted but good luck getting it to fit the opening you need to gate. I bought 2 and had to return which was easily done thanks to Walmart's simple return procedure.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gate
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice Gate
9/10/2010

Customer review by tkleblanc

4.0 stars 9/10/2010 by tkleblanc
by tkleblanc

I bought two of these gates. They were easy to instal and didn't take long at all. I used one on a 34 1/2 inch doorway without any extensions. The spindle rods had to be extended pretty far so the gate seems a little unstable. I think if I use the wall cups it will fix that problem. The other gate is being used for a 36in doorway. I did use the 6in extension and had to almost tighten the spindle rods all the way and squeeze it into the door way. It was a tight fit, but its not going any where. The gates are not very easy to open. I was hoping my 4yr old would be able to open the gate but she isn't strong enfough to pull back the lever and lift the gate at the same time. I like that the door swings both ways, but i wish it would close on its own. I also like the height of the gate. The doorway opening is not very large but it is not an issue for us. Over all it is a nice product at an affordable price.

Was this review helpful? (34) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tkleblanc
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:18 - 24
wonderful gate!
5/7/2010

Customer review by avonmomof3

5.0 stars 5/7/2010 by avonmomof3
by avonmomof3

This is a great gate, much cheaper than all the others like it. I had a 46" opening and it fit perfectly, which someone else said it wouldn't fit that size but I had no problem. Extremely easy to set up and can easily be opened with one hand. So glad I didn't buy a more expensive gate, this will definitely keep my one year old out of my kitchen, yea!!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
avonmomof3
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So far, So good!
1/20/2010

Customer review by kh211

5.0 stars 1/20/2010 by kh211
by kh211

Have only been using these gates (purchased 3 of them) for about a week, but so far so good! I read many reviews on various gates before deciding to purchase this one. It seems the biggest complaint of gates with swing doors was the latch mechanism giving out after awhile. The latch on these gates seems to be a simple design which should be trouble free. The latch is definitely simple to open, so would not recommend if your goal is to keep a 3 or 4 year old out of a certain area. My four year old son was able to figure out how to open it right away. The reason I purchased was to keep our puppy confined to a certain area of our house. For this, it works just great. However, some minor modifications to each gate was necessary to make the gap where the gate meets the wall a little smaller. Initially, our 5 month old Cavachon pup just slipped right through the sides of this gate. I would recommend this product. Seems sturdy and the price is great!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kh211
Riverside, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
You get what you pay for.
7/1/2012

Customer review by ShannonMarie

3.0 stars 7/1/2012 by ShannonMarie
by ShannonMarie

When I kept tripping over my old gate (a walk over), I got really fed up and returned it to Walmart. Unfortunately they didn't carry any walk through gates and recommended I looked online. When I found this gate, I was pleasantly surprised to see that it was the same price as my other one and went ahead and bought it. Chose rush delivery (need a gate for a busy toddler!) and waited. Bought Thursday, shipped Friday, received Saturday. I was extremely pleased with shipping. As for the gate itself, I had no idea what to expect. The reviews are very up and down but decided to keep an open mind. When I received the box and opened it, it was exactly what I expected. Assembly was a breeze EXCEPT for ONE of the anchors. You are supposed to be able to slide it straight in, no resistance whatsoever. Well, that was the case for 3 but on the 4th, nope. Didn't want to go in and was stuck. Ended up having to take a hammer to it. Installing it on the wall isn't hard but you have to tighten it JUST perfectly otherwise you CANNOT open/close the gate. It fit well for my 42" hallway though. After I got the exact measurements, the gate is a bit wobbly but sturdy enough, I guess. But it's what you get for $35! Here's my video review where I show what I'm talking about more: www.youtube.com/watch?v=KCXy4K0tc_M

Was this review helpful? (45) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShannonMarie
Parker, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:18 - 24
much better than the wooden kind
1/3/2009

Customer review by mathewsmom

5.0 stars 1/3/2009 by mathewsmom
by mathewsmom

We bought this after we bumped into our wooden baby gate so many times that it had splits in it. Our hallway is very wide so the standard gates don't fit, and we were really in need of something we could use frequently without tripping on it. (we were stepping over our old wooden gate because it didn't have a hinged door) We love this gate; it's durable and has withstood a 19 month old hitting on it. The only thing we needed to modify was that there is a gap on the end that our cat was able to squeeze through so my husband had to put a strip of wood against the wall to narrow that gap. To be fair, our cat is long and skinny, but he can no longer get through since the modification. lol All in all, this is a great product that we would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (18) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mathewsmom
Flint, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
Was not what I expected
3/20/2009

Customer review by jkmen5

3.0 stars 3/20/2009 by jkmen5
by jkmen5

I did not like this product. I had very high hopes for it and I see my search still remains, because I intend to take this gate back to the store. The gate came advertised as "Fits 29"-52" doorways", my doorway that I was wanting blocked was 49" wide... apparently NOT one of the 2 advertised. This gate comes fitting to 3 exact entry sizes: 29", 34" and 52". Not what I ws expecting. The gate comes with a 6" extender and a 12" extender. If I used both then the gate was too big, if I used one or the other then it was too small. My husband ended up having to put some 2x4's on our walls on both sides just to make it fit. And even still, its not worth it. Because after all that, my 4 y/o twins figured out how to open the gate within the 1st 24 hours!!! Walls tore up for no reason-Very disappointing.

Was this review helpful? (523) (59)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jkmen5
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Baby Gate
1/9/2017

Customer review by english

2.0 stars 1/9/2017 by english
by english
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The biggest problem with this product is that it bent easily. It was bought to keep small dogs off of the carpet, which it has done, but it easily unscrews itself from the wall (the part that goes to the door jamb) from the movement of the gate part being opened.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
english
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Baby gate
3/6/2017

Customer review by tmesa1953

5.0 stars 3/6/2017 by tmesa1953
by tmesa1953
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

a must have if you have baby, built strong safety latch, this the one that I had years ago, best gate that money could by, great price, when a bought the first one was over $50.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tmesa1953
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
you get what you pay for
8/27/2008

Customer review by Mom2Trips

3.0 stars 8/27/2008 by Mom2Trips
by Mom2Trips

We decided to buy this gate because of the cost. I thought the price was good compared to other gates I looked at. We wanted a gate that didn't need to be screwed into our kitchen/living room walkway but had a hard time finding one big enough. This one was the right size and amount. After my husband set this gate up, my 11 mo. old son was able to unscrew the bottom pieces. You are not able to tighten up the gate a lot because then the door won't latch. Since it's not real tight, my son can move it a little when he stands at the gate and shakes it. The gates does come with screws for extra support so we may have to screw it into the walls. For now, we just have to keep an eye on him. I don't know what's going to happen when he gets older though.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mom2Trips
Moline, il
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
great doggy gate
3/6/2017

Customer review by gardener

5.0 stars 3/6/2017 by gardener
by gardener
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It's a great gate to use to keep a small dog contained. Love the door!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gardener
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good
3/7/2017

Customer review by Pstarbuck

4.0 stars 3/7/2017 by Pstarbuck
by Pstarbuck
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I would tell everyone

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pstarbuck
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Baby gate
3/6/2017

Customer review by Linda

3.0 stars 3/6/2017 by Linda
by Linda
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Looked great in the picture but very difficult to put together.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Linda
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works Great!
11/1/2008

Customer review by Beachy4200

5.0 stars 11/1/2008 by Beachy4200
by Beachy4200

This is a great gate. We had no trouble installing it as a pressure mounted gate. It is very sturdy and keeps our 12 month old son out of daddy's office. He is very strong and he has not been able to budge the gate at all. It installed easily and we are able to have our double doors shut when complete quiet is needed. We even put both extensions on one side of the door so that we could have one door shut and still access the gate with the other door. The gate swings open in either direction and the latch is secure enough so that our older daughter can not figure it out. Very good design. I can not tell you how happy we are with the gate. It is a very sturdy gate and an excellent price.

Was this review helpful? (24) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Beachy4200
West Palm Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
Flimsy
2/28/2017

Customer review by caturner

2.0 stars 2/28/2017 by caturner
by caturner

The gate is cheaply made and flimsy. The assembly instructions were not very clear.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
caturner
Would recommend to a friend? No
2/10/2011

Customer review by thistookwaytoomuchtime

5.0 stars 2/10/2011 by thistookwaytoomuchtime
by thistookwaytoomuchtime

Great gate. I had to take the adjusting screws off to make it fit securely but it works nicely. Will be buying a second one shortly.

Was this review helpful? (12) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
thistookwaytoomuchtime
Mesa AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
Good gate
1/24/2017

Customer review by Boris

4.0 stars 1/24/2017 by Boris
by Boris
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Can be install to any please that have different size on top and battom

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Boris
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 1187 total reviews
1-20 of 1187 reviews