Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4out of 5 stars
4 out of 5 | 1321 reviews
5 stars
649
4 stars
336
3 stars
129
2 stars
86
1 stars
121
Sort by: 
1-20 of 1202 reviews
1-20 of 1202 reviews
Need to buy another one
12/19/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Works great. keeps dog and cats away from baby.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
two gates
9/22/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I really like the smaller gate. It is what I expected. The large gate was not big enough so I could not use it where I had planned. I will have to see whatelse you have.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Fabulous!!
11/16/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
These gates will help to keep the baby safe and the 7yr old can operate them too!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Was not what I expected
3/20/2009
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I did not like this product. I had very high hopes for it and I see my search still remains, because I intend to take this gate back to the store. The gate came advertised as "Fits 29"-52" doorways", my doorway that I was wanting blocked was 49" wide... apparently NOT one of the 2 advertised. This gate comes fitting to 3 exact entry sizes: 29", 34" and 52". Not what I ws expecting. The gate comes with a 6" extender and a 12" extender. If I used both then the gate was too big, if I used one or the other then it was too small. My husband ended up having to put some 2x4's on our walls on both sides just to make it fit. And even still, its not worth it. Because after all that, my 4 y/o twins figured out how to open the gate within the 1st 24 hours!!! Walls tore up for no reason-Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (534)No (60)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Nice Gate
9/10/2010
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought two of these gates. They were easy to instal and didn't take long at all. I used one on a 34 1/2 inch doorway without any extensions. The spindle rods had to be extended pretty far so the gate seems a little unstable. I think if I use the wall cups it will fix that problem. The other gate is being used for a 36in doorway. I did use the 6in extension and had to almost tighten the spindle rods all the way and squeeze it into the door way. It was a tight fit, but its not going any where. The gates are not very easy to open. I was hoping my 4yr old would be able to open the gate but she isn't strong enfough to pull back the lever and lift the gate at the same time. I like that the door swings both ways, but i wish it would close on its own. I also like the height of the gate. The doorway opening is not very large but it is not an issue for us. Over all it is a nice product at an affordable price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (36)No (11)
Report
Was this review helpful?
You get what you pay for.
7/1/2012
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
When I kept tripping over my old gate (a walk over), I got really fed up and returned it to Walmart. Unfortunately they didn't carry any walk through gates and recommended I looked online. When I found this gate, I was pleasantly surprised to see that it was the same price as my other one and went ahead and bought it. Chose rush delivery (need a gate for a busy toddler!) and waited. Bought Thursday, shipped Friday, received Saturday. I was extremely pleased with shipping. As for the gate itself, I had no idea what to expect. The reviews are very up and down but decided to keep an open mind. When I received the box and opened it, it was exactly what I expected. Assembly was a breeze EXCEPT for ONE of the anchors. You are supposed to be able to slide it straight in, no resistance whatsoever. Well, that was the case for 3 but on the 4th, nope. Didn't want to go in and was stuck. Ended up having to take a hammer to it. Installing it on the wall isn't hard but you have to tighten it JUST perfectly otherwise you CANNOT open/close the gate. It fit well for my 42" hallway though. After I got the exact measurements, the gate is a bit wobbly but sturdy enough, I guess. But it's what you get for $35! Here's my video review where I show what I'm talking about more: www.youtube.com/watch?v=KCXy4K0tc_M
Was this review helpful?
Yes (49)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
much better than the wooden kind
1/3/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We bought this after we bumped into our wooden baby gate so many times that it had splits in it. Our hallway is very wide so the standard gates don't fit, and we were really in need of something we could use frequently without tripping on it. (we were stepping over our old wooden gate because it didn't have a hinged door) We love this gate; it's durable and has withstood a 19 month old hitting on it. The only thing we needed to modify was that there is a gap on the end that our cat was able to squeeze through so my husband had to put a strip of wood against the wall to narrow that gap. To be fair, our cat is long and skinny, but he can no longer get through since the modification. lol All in all, this is a great product that we would highly recommend.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (20)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Works Great!
11/1/2008
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is a great gate. We had no trouble installing it as a pressure mounted gate. It is very sturdy and keeps our 12 month old son out of daddy's office. He is very strong and he has not been able to budge the gate at all. It installed easily and we are able to have our double doors shut when complete quiet is needed. We even put both extensions on one side of the door so that we could have one door shut and still access the gate with the other door. The gate swings open in either direction and the latch is secure enough so that our older daughter can not figure it out. Very good design. I can not tell you how happy we are with the gate. It is a very sturdy gate and an excellent price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (25)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
2/10/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Great gate. I had to take the adjusting screws off to make it fit securely but it works nicely. Will be buying a second one shortly.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great gate for puppy
7/17/2009
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased this gate to fit a large opening from my kitchen to family room. The opening was an inch larger than the greatest size listed. The gate still works, but I ordered another so I can use the 12 inch extension in place of the 6 inch extension provided. This enabled the gate to fit this very large opening and gave me another gate for a smaller doorway in my kitchen. Easy to open, lightweight, and a great value.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Perfect for our use for a small pet
2/24/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
We decided to get this gate to keep a new puppy within a certain area that had no carpeting while we house break her. But the area included a computer room, bathroom and kitchen as well as the front entry hallway. So, we needed something that can allow people to get through easily. We set it up within a 48" space and it is working beautifully. Have been using it for over a week.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (21)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Exactly what I needed
3/7/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This gate isn't the most attractive thing ever (so I had to detract a star), but it is the most affordable for what it is. I couldn't find anything that performed the same function for less anywhere. I needed a semi-permanent gate to put up for my dog. I learned quickly that the same exact gates sold as dog gates instantly adds about $50 to the price. This gate fit my 48" opening perfectly. My dog is small, about 15 pounds, and he can't get through it. He's a jumper but he can't get over it either. I used all 3 pieces that came with the main gate piece to fill my 48 inch space in a walk way so I could keep my dog contained when necessary. When connected one piece measures 8", the other 12 3/4", and the main piece with the gate is 24 3/4". It comes with 4 tension feet with screws coming out of them to screw into the sides of the gate. Those a a minimum of 1" to the width on each side when attached. With all of that I think you could make it fit most halls or doors. I found a great tip online for people who don't need the added child proofing...you can attach a zip tie in front of the slider on top of the gate so that you don't have to slide that piece over to open it anymore. Instead you just lift it to open it. If you're using it for a dog, this makes it easier to open and close. Also the fact that you can leave the gate open in either direction, and it doesn't close shut on it's own is a big help. I can't imagine having to open it every time you wanted to walk through.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (20)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good for what’s needed.
9/23/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Had to be tweaked. Overall good buy.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Too wobbly in our opening
6/3/2013
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The gate "attaches" by pressure against the doorway. The screw-in adjustment rods are not very stable. They need something more solid on the inside of the tubing to screw into. The rods end in attached round rubber pads which push against the sides of the doorway. The pads can fit into the 4 solid plastic "cups" which are supplied, to be screwed into the doorway and this helps to make it more secure. This might fit more securely in some doorway widths.?? Our opening is approx. 46".
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great product!!
8/13/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This gate was perfect for my strange uneven & wide entry way. The gate does a really good job preventing the baby and the dogs from running upstairs unsupervised. Another thing I love about this gate is that it was so affordable. It's a GREAT wide gate with a door that doesn't break the piggy-bank (since most parents know how expensive babies can get).
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Arrived damaged
8/5/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Although I read reviews prior to purchase it decided to buy the gate after all. Poor decision on my behalf this gate arrived damaged the supposed locking mechanism was bent, the two extentions were useless. I purchased this gate for a 47 inch opening neither extention was useful. We returned the product. I do not recommended and I will not purchase a Regalo product again!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
good study gate
8/15/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
great gate takes a few mintures to pull up very studly gate fit my door and i have a very wide door 52 inchs wide one thing my dogs are small dogs and they can go bequin bars but on the whole it keeps them out good value
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Amazing investment
5/6/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We need a gate that would fit the wide doorway to our living room. This gate is perfect. It is very sturdy even when my two year old tries to hang off it. It has a hip height construction with gate that I love. I do not have to put my child down, or reach down, in order to open the gate. One of the best investments we made! I would highly recommend this product to other parents struggling with conventional gates.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
GREAT!
9/1/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I looked all over for a pressure mount, extra wide, gate. Cheapest I found was $90! This one is great! Only one tiny flaw (reason for only 4 stars on features) It locks but I think it would be easy for kids to figure out.. They could make that feature much better. Great gate for the money!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
great purchase
1/2/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
great buy, fits like a glove. thank you Walmart
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184643940, DC-prod-dal4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-10.1.1, SHA-cd91c60c037ec69024941e99664518ad4edafe94, CID-