Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1222 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

1222 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

1222 reviews | 4 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
595
4 stars
320
3 stars
120
2 stars
76
1 stars
111
1-20 of 1103 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1103 total reviews
1-20 of 1103 reviews
Was not what I expected
3/20/2009

Customer review by jkmen5

3.0 stars 3/20/2009 by jkmen5
by jkmen5

I did not like this product. I had very high hopes for it and I see my search still remains, because I intend to take this gate back to the store. The gate came advertised as "Fits 29"-52" doorways", my doorway that I was wanting blocked was 49" wide... apparently NOT one of the 2 advertised. This gate comes fitting to 3 exact entry sizes: 29", 34" and 52". Not what I ws expecting. The gate comes with a 6" extender and a 12" extender. If I used both then the gate was too big, if I used one or the other then it was too small. My husband ended up having to put some 2x4's on our walls on both sides just to make it fit. And even still, its not worth it. Because after all that, my 4 y/o twins figured out how to open the gate within the 1st 24 hours!!! Walls tore up for no reason-Very disappointing.

Was this review helpful? (485) (58)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jkmen5
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice Gate
9/10/2010

Customer review by tkleblanc

4.0 stars 9/10/2010 by tkleblanc
by tkleblanc

I bought two of these gates. They were easy to instal and didn't take long at all. I used one on a 34 1/2 inch doorway without any extensions. The spindle rods had to be extended pretty far so the gate seems a little unstable. I think if I use the wall cups it will fix that problem. The other gate is being used for a 36in doorway. I did use the 6in extension and had to almost tighten the spindle rods all the way and squeeze it into the door way. It was a tight fit, but its not going any where. The gates are not very easy to open. I was hoping my 4yr old would be able to open the gate but she isn't strong enfough to pull back the lever and lift the gate at the same time. I like that the door swings both ways, but i wish it would close on its own. I also like the height of the gate. The doorway opening is not very large but it is not an issue for us. Over all it is a nice product at an affordable price.

Was this review helpful? (30) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tkleblanc
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
You get what you pay for.
7/1/2012

Customer review by ShannonMarie

3.0 stars 7/1/2012 by ShannonMarie
by ShannonMarie

When I kept tripping over my old gate (a walk over), I got really fed up and returned it to Walmart. Unfortunately they didn't carry any walk through gates and recommended I looked online. When I found this gate, I was pleasantly surprised to see that it was the same price as my other one and went ahead and bought it. Chose rush delivery (need a gate for a busy toddler!) and waited. Bought Thursday, shipped Friday, received Saturday. I was extremely pleased with shipping. As for the gate itself, I had no idea what to expect. The reviews are very up and down but decided to keep an open mind. When I received the box and opened it, it was exactly what I expected. Assembly was a breeze EXCEPT for ONE of the anchors. You are supposed to be able to slide it straight in, no resistance whatsoever. Well, that was the case for 3 but on the 4th, nope. Didn't want to go in and was stuck. Ended up having to take a hammer to it. Installing it on the wall isn't hard but you have to tighten it JUST perfectly otherwise you CANNOT open/close the gate. It fit well for my 42" hallway though. After I got the exact measurements, the gate is a bit wobbly but sturdy enough, I guess. But it's what you get for $35! Here's my video review where I show what I'm talking about more: www.youtube.com/watch?v=KCXy4K0tc_M

Was this review helpful? (38) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShannonMarie
Parker, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
much better than the wooden kind
1/3/2009

Customer review by mathewsmom

5.0 stars 1/3/2009 by mathewsmom
by mathewsmom

We bought this after we bumped into our wooden baby gate so many times that it had splits in it. Our hallway is very wide so the standard gates don't fit, and we were really in need of something we could use frequently without tripping on it. (we were stepping over our old wooden gate because it didn't have a hinged door) We love this gate; it's durable and has withstood a 19 month old hitting on it. The only thing we needed to modify was that there is a gap on the end that our cat was able to squeeze through so my husband had to put a strip of wood against the wall to narrow that gap. To be fair, our cat is long and skinny, but he can no longer get through since the modification. lol All in all, this is a great product that we would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mathewsmom
Flint, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works Great!
11/1/2008

Customer review by Beachy4200

5.0 stars 11/1/2008 by Beachy4200
by Beachy4200

This is a great gate. We had no trouble installing it as a pressure mounted gate. It is very sturdy and keeps our 12 month old son out of daddy's office. He is very strong and he has not been able to budge the gate at all. It installed easily and we are able to have our double doors shut when complete quiet is needed. We even put both extensions on one side of the door so that we could have one door shut and still access the gate with the other door. The gate swings open in either direction and the latch is secure enough so that our older daughter can not figure it out. Very good design. I can not tell you how happy we are with the gate. It is a very sturdy gate and an excellent price.

Was this review helpful? (21) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Beachy4200
West Palm Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
2/10/2011

Customer review by thistookwaytoomuchtime

5.0 stars 2/10/2011 by thistookwaytoomuchtime
by thistookwaytoomuchtime

Great gate. I had to take the adjusting screws off to make it fit securely but it works nicely. Will be buying a second one shortly.

Was this review helpful? (9) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
thistookwaytoomuchtime
Mesa AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Arrived damaged
8/5/2016

Customer review by niecy

1.0 stars 8/5/2016 by niecy
by niecy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Although I read reviews prior to purchase it decided to buy the gate after all. Poor decision on my behalf this gate arrived damaged the supposed locking mechanism was bent, the two extentions were useless. I purchased this gate for a 47 inch opening neither extention was useful. We returned the product. I do not recommended and I will not purchase a Regalo product again!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
niecy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great gate for puppy
7/17/2009

Customer review by bzgDelaware

4.0 stars 7/17/2009 by bzgDelaware
by bzgDelaware

I purchased this gate to fit a large opening from my kitchen to family room. The opening was an inch larger than the greatest size listed. The gate still works, but I ordered another so I can use the 12 inch extension in place of the 6 inch extension provided. This enabled the gate to fit this very large opening and gave me another gate for a smaller doorway in my kitchen. Easy to open, lightweight, and a great value.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bzgDelaware
Hockessin, DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Exactly what I needed
3/7/2012

Customer review by ShutterbugLisa

4.0 stars 3/7/2012 by ShutterbugLisa
by ShutterbugLisa

This gate isn't the most attractive thing ever (so I had to detract a star), but it is the most affordable for what it is. I couldn't find anything that performed the same function for less anywhere. I needed a semi-permanent gate to put up for my dog. I learned quickly that the same exact gates sold as dog gates instantly adds about $50 to the price. This gate fit my 48" opening perfectly. My dog is small, about 15 pounds, and he can't get through it. He's a jumper but he can't get over it either. I used all 3 pieces that came with the main gate piece to fill my 48 inch space in a walk way so I could keep my dog contained when necessary. When connected one piece measures 8", the other 12 3/4", and the main piece with the gate is 24 3/4". It comes with 4 tension feet with screws coming out of them to screw into the sides of the gate. Those a a minimum of 1" to the width on each side when attached. With all of that I think you could make it fit most halls or doors. I found a great tip online for people who don't need the added child proofing...you can attach a zip tie in front of the slider on top of the gate so that you don't have to slide that piece over to open it anymore. Instead you just lift it to open it. If you're using it for a dog, this makes it easier to open and close. Also the fact that you can leave the gate open in either direction, and it doesn't close shut on it's own is a big help. I can't imagine having to open it every time you wanted to walk through.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShutterbugLisa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Perfect for our use for a small pet
2/24/2014

Customer review by jkglad

5.0 stars 2/24/2014 by jkglad
by jkglad
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We decided to get this gate to keep a new puppy within a certain area that had no carpeting while we house break her. But the area included a computer room, bathroom and kitchen as well as the front entry hallway. So, we needed something that can allow people to get through easily. We set it up within a 48" space and it is working beautifully. Have been using it for over a week.

Was this review helpful? (18) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jkglad
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Too wobbly in our opening
6/3/2013

Customer review by motleysmom

2.0 stars 6/3/2013 by motleysmom
by motleysmom
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The gate "attaches" by pressure against the doorway. The screw-in adjustment rods are not very stable. They need something more solid on the inside of the tubing to screw into. The rods end in attached round rubber pads which push against the sides of the doorway. The pads can fit into the 4 solid plastic "cups" which are supplied, to be screwed into the doorway and this helps to make it more secure. This might fit more securely in some doorway widths.?? Our opening is approx. 46".

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
motleysmom
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wise Purchase
5/1/2016

Customer review by MrsJBonds

5.0 stars 5/1/2016 by MrsJBonds
by MrsJBonds

We are preparing for our first indoor animal. A small dog of some kind. We need to be able to contain it in certain area while we are away. There are two entrances that need to be blocked. My husband was planning on building a gate for each one. We looked online for some just to see what the prices would be. Some are really expensive! When we came across these and saw the price we couldn't resist. They were inexpensive ($30) and looked pretty nice as well. Purchasing them from Wal-Mart online with free shipping! If when they came we didn't like them we could return them to our local store no problem. They came in two separate shipments two days apart within a week and a half of purchasing them. They are perfect for our need. Oh and if we need to move them to another area of our home, just loosen the screws and move. 1-Easy setup - 5 minutes 2-Sturdy 3-Doorway is easy to open and plenty of space to walk through. 4-Three piece design. Doorway, a small section and a medium section. Use with or without the sections depending on space needing to block. We used small section on one and medium section on the other. It doesn't tell you that there are resting cups intended to be screwed into the wall for pressure screws to rest in. We didn't use them and it works fine. (See photo) So glad hubby didn't have to do this project. He does enough already.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrsJBonds
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
product
5/8/2016

Customer review by childmad

4.0 stars 5/8/2016 by childmad
by childmad

The product is great it got recommended to me but I will not order anything on WalMart.com again for it came in a day later then it should have

Was this review helpful? (0) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
childmad
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Lightweight
4/29/2016

Customer review by Daddydaycare

4.0 stars 4/29/2016 by Daddydaycare
by Daddydaycare

Easy to install but noisy operation

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Daddydaycare
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great gate
1/27/2009

Customer review by jamesinponca

5.0 stars 1/27/2009 by jamesinponca
by jamesinponca

we have a pit bull not a mean or agressive one but a big o lap dog that we let stay in the house durring the winter and we got new furniture this month this gate stops her and actually our little miniture dachsund cant even get threw it or over it its awesome AND FIT OR ENTRY WAY THATS 49 OR 50 INCHES WIDE its a great gate seams to be well built and sturdy

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jamesinponca
ponca city oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GREAT!
9/1/2009

Customer review by meee611

5.0 stars 9/1/2009 by meee611
by meee611

I looked all over for a pressure mount, extra wide, gate. Cheapest I found was $90! This one is great! Only one tiny flaw (reason for only 4 stars on features) It locks but I think it would be easy for kids to figure out.. They could make that feature much better. Great gate for the money!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
meee611
AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product!!
8/13/2009

Customer review by iNeedtosavemoney

5.0 stars 8/13/2009 by iNeedtosavemoney
by iNeedtosavemoney

This gate was perfect for my strange uneven & wide entry way. The gate does a really good job preventing the baby and the dogs from running upstairs unsupervised. Another thing I love about this gate is that it was so affordable. It's a GREAT wide gate with a door that doesn't break the piggy-bank (since most parents know how expensive babies can get).

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
iNeedtosavemoney
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
good study gate
8/15/2014

Customer review by 44leejr

5.0 stars 8/15/2014 by 44leejr
by 44leejr
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

great gate takes a few mintures to pull up very studly gate fit my door and i have a very wide door 52 inchs wide one thing my dogs are small dogs and they can go bequin bars but on the whole it keeps them out good value

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
44leejr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
LOVE these gates!
12/26/2007

Customer review by byns

5.0 stars 12/26/2007 by byns
by byns

This gate is the best! No steppind over gates, just open the gate door. We started with one and now own 4. Theh are durable and can be secured in the wall with the brackets (for use by stairs) or just secure them by tightening the gray ends to the wall. Wonderful and I need at least one more!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
byns
Cincinnati, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Garbage
8/23/2016

Customer review by xchairitycasex

1.0 stars 8/23/2016 by xchairitycasex
by xchairitycasex

This is total garbage! It's not pressure mounted because the pressure mounts do not even connect to the gate you slide them into loose fitting holes so it is physically impossible to tighten them into the wall unless you have a door way just barely big enough to wedge the gate into using a hammer otherwise, walk past this gate a little too hard it falls over which is what has been happening to me all day since installed. No parts missing, followed directions EXACTLY and sad to see I wasn't missing parts or to have a defective gate, the design is just...well garbage. For this price, you would be better off buying one of those wooden slider gates without the door, at least those wont fall apart each time your husband shuts a door in the hall way, you also wont have 4 pointless screw holes in your door frame either.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
xchairitycasex
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 1103 total reviews
1-20 of 1103 reviews