Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 566 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

566 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

566 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
391
4 stars
137
3 stars
13
2 stars
10
1 stars
15
1-20 of 519 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 519 total reviews
1-20 of 519 reviews
Excellent Value
2/9/2009

Customer review by tlspencer

4.0 stars 2/9/2009 by tlspencer
by tlspencer

After getting tired of a charcoal smoker, and deciding against a propane smoker due to the amount of gas it would eat up every time we wanted to use it, we started looking around at electric ones. The biggest complaint seemed to be getting them to heat up properly and maintain the temperature. However, if you read the descriptions of most of the reasonably priced models, you will notice they are NOT INSULATED! This Masterbuilt Smoker IS insulated and that makes all the difference in how well this value priced smoker works. Unless you really need something much larger, or just have money to throw around, this is the smoker you want and will love! The one thing that kept me from giving it 5 stars all around is the fact that the digital thermostat reads low and as others have noted, you REALLY MUST use a separate thermometer. You can either get one to hang off a rack inside, or, as I did, use one you can stick down into the smoke vent on top, making sure it's not touching anything inside. Mine consistently read 15 to 20 degrees low on the digital; however, once you know that, and keep track of the temp with another thermometer, you will have no problems. I will be setting my thermostat on the lower side of where I want it from now on, knowing it's reading low, and keeping track of it with the manual thermometer. The first time we used it we smoked 3 large racks of ribs and a small brisket. They came out a little dry but that was due to now realizing the temp issue. This past weekend we did a 16 pound turkey and it was wonderful. I highly recommend this smoker if you are looking for a well made product at a good price. I have read there are sometimes issues with shipping damage however ours arrived in perfect condition.

Was this review helpful? (339) (37)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tlspencer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Beyond my expectations.
8/1/2011

Customer review by MikeInOhio

5.0 stars 8/1/2011 by MikeInOhio
by MikeInOhio

There was some minor assembly required. Plugging in and mounting the digital control panel, one way plug and one screw. VERY simple. The packaging had some damage but the contents were not damaged in the least. The directions tell you to season the smoker by letting it run at 275 degrees for 3 hours, adding wood chips for the last 15 minutes. However I would recommend a few additional cycles at 275 and lower, adding wood the entire time as needed to maintain a constant smoke. This will give you a better feel for the timing of adding wood chips to maintain your smoke, better familiarize yourself with the controls, and the more the smoker is used the better the food tastes! So far I have smoked Salmon, Beef Ribs, Pork Ribs, Chicken Leg Quarters, and a Pork Shoulder. All turned out excellent! I have been smoking meats for years using real wood for the fire and water soaked chunks to generate the smoke. I would go thru 50 to 75 pounds of wood for my fire to keep a supply of coals to feed the smoker. Adding coals as needed to maintain my desired temperature. A "normal" smoke would take 12 to 16 hours of constant tending of the fire, watching the temp in the smoker, opening or closing vents adding chunks for smoke, lather rinse repeat......... This smoker has put an end to all of that hard work. Pick the temperature that you desire, from 100 degrees to 275 degrees, pick the time that you wish to smoke, up to 24 hours, and let the smoker do the work. It is NOT completely "set it and forget it". You are still required to add dry wood for smoke generation as needed. The intervals between adding chips is dependent upon your chosen temperature, the higher the temp the faster the wood smokes out and the sooner you will need to add more chips. The all day smoke of the pork shoulder at 225 degrees required additional wood every 45 minutes to an hour. I say chips but you can use whatever form of wood that you prefer....... twigs, chips, chunks, pellets (food grade)..... As long as they are small enough to fit into the loading mechanism. You load your chips into the barrel loader, insert barrel thru the right hand side of the unit until it stops, rotate 360 degrees to dump chips into the chip pan, and wait for the smoke to start. A note of caution, the handle of the barrel remains cool but the rest of the barrel WILL BE HOT! I use dropped and trimmed limbs from the trees in my yard cut into pieces about the size of your thumb. They are Oak and Maple. To Smoke the shoulder all day took about half of a gallon pitcher filled with thumb size and smaller chunks of wood. Compared to burning 50 to 75 pounds of wood before to attain the same results is terrific! This unit is also very well insulated. After several hours with the temperature set to 275 degrees the outer shell is barely warm to the touch! There are four cooking racks inside. With the eleven pound shoulder I could only use three racks since the shoulder was taller than the spacing for the racks. It was a very thick shoulder. If you have smoked meats before with charcoal or wood fires and you are used to seeing billowing white smoke from your soaked chunks of wood, don't be alarmed when you only see wisps of Thin Blue Smoke exiting the vent on the top. The smoke being generated is "just enough" smoke and no more. When you open the door to mop your ribs or spritz with apple juice you will be met with a cloud of smoke in the cabinet. The vent on top is the only place that you will see smoke escaping since the door has a gasket seal and an adjustable latch..... no smoke thru the door unless you open it. The temperature recovery after opening the door is very quick. Within a matter of minutes it will return from 140 to 225. Over all I would highly recommend this smoker to anyone wanting to smoke foods. Anyone from novice to pro can easily create great food in this unit! Also with the ability to control the temperature down to 100 degrees you can smoke cheeses, nuts, and most anything else that you can think of including making fantastic jerky!

Was this review helpful? (241) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MikeInOhio
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good value-works great
9/26/2008

Customer review by CountryLivingsGreat

5.0 stars 9/26/2008 by CountryLivingsGreat
by CountryLivingsGreat

This smoker is easy to use and food has been delicious every time. Do a little or fill every shelf. Get it started and walk away. Simple to clean up too. Even if you have never used a smoker before, the directions are thorough & easy to follow. This model doesn't use much electricity and plugs into any household outlet. No shipping charge to pick up at any Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (156) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CountryLivingsGreat
Sunset, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
No hassle smoking
1/19/2008

Customer review by smoknkaty

4.0 stars 1/19/2008 by smoknkaty
by smoknkaty

Digital controls make it a breeze to use. Add water, set the temp, add chips and forget about it. Insulated body lets you smoke all year long.

Was this review helpful? (163) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
smoknkaty
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Used to own a BBQ joint- now use this at home
11/1/2013

Customer review by Brette

5.0 stars 11/1/2013 by Brette
by Brette

I still miss my commercial smoker that held 800lbs, but this is absolutely a suitable replacement. I built a cement block stand so it is at the right height and I do not have to lean down for meat movement, but this little machine packs a punch. In fact, I still cater for up to 300 folks and have smoked for those events in this smoker. I can fit 4 large pork butts at a time, close to 150 wings, have done ribs, salmon, smoke turkeys for my old customers for the holidays. So easy. Only a few short comings: Wish there were rib racks as I prefer to smoke ribs on their side as opposed to flat. 'Drip pan removeable for easy cleanup": when you load this puppy up (as I do), this silly tray runs over and it is still a hot mess. I suggest bringing an empty dog food bag over to the smoker and carefully lifting the tray out and then just dump the extra juices in the bag. I wish the liquid container had a lid with a small side opening so steam still came out but my drippings didn't all fall into the pan. No problem- wrap most of it in foil and just have small areas for the steam to escape. Easier clean up. I unplug her, move her onto a concrete cleaning pad I built off to the side and hose her out just like I did the commercial smoker. Also, once the inside is clean, do yourself a favor (especially if you live in the south where it is humid AND hot) and put a Damprid container inside when it is closed. Resist the urge to overfill the wood- it doesn't need much. I soak mine in apple cider before I put it in the smoker. Love using this smoker- virtually anyone with a good rub and the right meat and wood can look like a championship smoker.

Was this review helpful? (142) (41)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Brette
GNV FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Junk...Do not buy!
12/5/2009

Customer review by Barkbuster

1.0 stars 12/5/2009 by Barkbuster
by Barkbuster

This smoker works great...when it works. Mine died after 6 uses, the heating element burned out. I called Masterbuilt, and they no longer sell the replacement element. They did offer to sell me a refurbished smoker for more than I paid for mine. I will not be buying any more Masterbuilt products.

Was this review helpful? (125) (35)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Barkbuster
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
AWESOME SMOKER!
3/28/2010

Customer review by ShopsOnline08

5.0 stars 3/28/2010 by ShopsOnline08
by ShopsOnline08

Decided as a beginner I should start with an electric smoker. This has not disappointed so far! Since receiving earlier this month I have used it 3 weekends in a row. So far everything has turned out AMAZING! Whole Chicken, Hot Wings, Brisket ... you name it and it has been good. Did have to learn to use hickory chips instead of mesquite (too strong) but other than that this has been a fabulous purchase!

Was this review helpful? (44) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ShopsOnline08
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
ES 30"
7/24/2013

Customer review by JKSTL

5.0 stars 7/24/2013 by JKSTL
by JKSTL

I highly recommend this smoker. Clean and season it as directed to burn off any chemicals/glue residue. I was a little put off the the amount of fumes that it produces during the cleaning process but could not taste it on my first smoke. I would recommend smoking something cheap with a short cook time the first time you use it (chicken thighs, fatty, etc) just in case there is some residual odor. The second day I had it, I smoked a 6.5 lb boston butt for 12 hours and it turned out excellent pulled pork with a good bark. The smoker performed flawlessly and held temperature like a champ. I highly recommend a separate thermometer, I use the Maverick ET-732, to monitor meat and grate temps without opening the door. My smoker seems to run about 10 degrees F cooler than the readout according to my thermometer. I also got the 3 year protection plan putting it at a clean $200 delivered to my door. Shipping was quick and easy to track. I have used it for jerky several times with great results. This is a popular electric smoker with a lot of recipes and advice on various forums. I bought this after using my friends MES in stainless with a glass door and meat probe. The glass smoked up and the probe was inaccurate. I suggest buying this one, investing in a good thermometer you can trust, and doing lot of research. Google MES 30 and watch some youtube videos and read the forums. The digital controls are effortless and take the guess work out of temperature setting, especially compare to the dial version.

Was this review helpful? (63) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JKSTL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Smoker and Great Price
3/7/2008

Customer review by BBQnBrew

4.0 stars 3/7/2008 by BBQnBrew
by BBQnBrew

The Masterbuilt Smoker has been developing a real strong following amongst both novice smokers who want an easier entry to quality smoking and experienced smokers who don't always want to fiddle with monitoring temperatures. It has a good amount of space, is easy to tend, is well insulated, and perhaps best of all if something does go wrong has the best customer service I've experienced in a long time. The plastic grip on my door was cracked by Walmart in shipping I suspect. I called Masterbuilt. They checked the smoker model #, took my address and shipped me out a whole new door. Wow. The food I've made has also gotten wow reviews. Chickens, briskets, sausages, goat, pork shoulders. Get yourself a nice digital probe thermometer set your temperature, and other than adding wood to keep a constant smoke, you're set. You really can't go wrong with this one unless you want to do cold smoking (< 90 degrees) or want to cook at high temps (>300). But since most smoking is done between 210-250, it should really be all you need. Now the only thing better is if Walmart carried to larger size that their cousin Sams Clubs do as well.

Was this review helpful? (40) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BBQnBrew
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great Product but some issues...
5/1/2010

Customer review by JimandPatti

3.0 stars 5/1/2010 by JimandPatti
by JimandPatti

Ok so I've now had this smaoker for almost a year. I've loved it. Easy to use and tasty BBQ. Digital controls work great. I had a charcoal smoker before and this blows it away with it's consistency and ease. Now for the issues. It's been less than a year since I bought it and the digital controls have gone on it. I tried turning the device on and the controls started some wierd beeping and the display wasn't working right. I tried disconnecting and reconnecting it all. Nothing works now. And I checked my manual and it only has a 90 day warranty. Dissappointing, I love the smoker but now I question it's weather durability and warranty.

Was this review helpful? (46) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JimandPatti
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Masterbuilt Digital Meat Smoker
4/11/2011

Customer review by Huey832

1.0 stars 4/11/2011 by Huey832
by Huey832

This product was a great buy and I have wanted a smoker for a long time. I used this smoker three days after I received it and it gave us a good tasting product. A week later, I had venison loins that I wanted to smoke and this smoker would not work any longer. I called Masterbuilt and they said that I needed to recalibrate this product by disassembling the electronics, wait for 30 minutes and reassemble it again. I asked if this works and then does this again, do I have to take it apart each time this happens, the lady said yes you would. This, my batting average for me is not very good so I returned it for credit. I would not recomend this Masterbuilt smoker line to anyone else. Other reviews that I have read about this product, 21% have had problems with this same smoker and different type of problems. If you are loking for a smoker, check out Brinkmann, that is what I now own without any problems.

Was this review helpful? (38) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Huey832
Bloomington, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
1/11/2012

Customer review by MOOTZY55

5.0 stars 1/11/2012 by MOOTZY55
by MOOTZY55

WE'VE HAD OURS FOR OVER A YEAR {BOUGHT DEC 2010}SMOKED JUST ABOUT EVERY KIND OF MEAT. HERE'S SOME TIPS I FOUND THAT HOPEFULLY WILL HELP CUSTOMERS HAVING DIFFICULTY. FIRST UNIT WILL NOT TURN ON WHEN TEMPS ARE AROUND 30-35 DEG. WARM UP INSIDE A LTTTLE. IF YOU HAVE MOISTURE SEAPING AT BOTTOM OF SMOKER, OPEN UP THE VENT MORE, THE MOISTURE HAS TO GO SOMEWHERE, ALSO FRONT LEGS ARE ADJUSTABLE. UNSCREW THEM SO IT TIPS SMOKER BACK A BIT. BE VERY CAEFULL ON CLEANING THE GRATES ,DONT USE A SCOTCHPAD ON THEM. I FOUND JUST SOAKING THEM IN HOT WATER&DAWN WORKS GREAT--OR DISHWASHER. I READ A REVIEW FROM A CUSTOMER THAT COULD NOT GET A REPLACEMENT ELEMENT, 2 THINGS HERE,ONE I KNOW THEY STILL MAKE THESE SMOKERS SO THERE HAS TO BE PARTS AVAILABLE AT SOME POINT. TWO REMEMBER WHERE THESE ARE MADE AND ACCEPT THAT. IN THE LAST THREE YEARS OR SO SO THERE HAVE BEEN GOOD IMPROVMENTS ON THIS APPLIANCE

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MOOTZY55
WISCONSIN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Master Built Smoker Review Pros and Cons
6/7/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 6/7/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Pros: 1. Plug and play operation makes for easy operation, no need to add coals or adjust heat. Digital thermostat 2. Very easy clean up and has the accessories needed to effectively operate and make for ease of use. Drain pan, Stainless Steel Trays, water pan and aluminum liner. 3. easy to store; does not have an awkward shape and is relatively light weight Cons: 1. Once the smoker is heated up, the thermostat will not smoke chips if at a low temp ( 225 and below). Once the smoker heats up, the element will only heat up for enough time to heat the inside of the box and now allow the chips to smoke. I feel that this is a design flaw because I had the same version a couple years ago and updated my smoker with a new one. Ultimately what I saw was that they used an additional piece of steel between the element and the smoke pan ( for a total of two, not just one) and the heat is not transferring. Verdict: There is a fix; I usually crank the heat to 250 degrees + for ten minutes for every hour for the smoke and that gets the chips going. Even at this temp, you're not going to over cook anything. hope this helps... and don't forget to brine your smoked meat, its the difference between night and day

Was this review helpful? (24) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Quantico, Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Best reasonally priced electric
8/21/2012

Customer review by HemiD

4.0 stars 8/21/2012 by HemiD
by HemiD

I spent weeks researching electric smokers because of ease of use and convenience. I chose the Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smokehouse and have not been sorry. This is one of two units I found that are insulated. I have smoked ribs, chicken, brisket with great success. If you enjoy melt in your mouth smoked meats without the work and frustration, this is the one. I purchased this model because who needs a window that covers with smoke and requires additional cleaning. The reason I didn't give it five stars is that at 33" tall you have to stoop a little unless you put it on a stand. A few tips are 1. Cover the water pan and drip pan in foil and spray grates with Pam, makes for easy cleanup. 2, Order the Masterbuilt remote meat probe Model 20100111, you can keep it with you as you do other things and will sound an alarm when meat reaches desired internal temp. Do not buy the available Masterbuilt cover, instead get the Masterforge 0360134 cover. Better quality and less expensive.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HemiD
Independence, Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Product
12/19/2007

Customer review by CrystalG

5.0 stars 12/19/2007 by CrystalG
by CrystalG

HUGE Space to smoke in. Have smoked a ham, turkey and steaks. ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL flavor!! Chips last a LONG time too! No need to check frequently. Glad I bought it!

Was this review helpful? (30) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CrystalG
KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great Idea, Bad Implementation
7/9/2009

Customer review by itookitback

1.0 stars 7/9/2009 by itookitback
by itookitback

The termostat is a great idea but the case and seal is not capable of handeling the moderate temps where the smoker operates. They need better quality control in their design implementation. The front door warped after the first use and would no longer hold the seal for a stable temperature during the smoking cycle.

Was this review helpful? (23) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
itookitback
Memphis TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Great smoker
2/2/2011

Customer review by DanTheMan111

5.0 stars 2/2/2011 by DanTheMan111
by DanTheMan111

I recently got into smoking...maybe 2 moths ago. After reviewing a ton of different smokers, reading the pros/cons of electric smokers...and all the positive reviews about this unit I decided to give it a try. I am very happy I did. First, the ease of use is incredible. The digital controls are very user-friendly, adding wood is very easy using the side tray, and all the parts are easy to access and clean. Most importantly...this unit produces really good BBQ. The temps hold steady, even in a very stiff, cold breeze. The seal is really tight, so the smoke doesn't escape easily. I've done ribs, smoked chuck roasts, and a few briskets...all of which have been excellent.

Was this review helpful? (22) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DanTheMan111
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Smoker
4/1/2012

Customer review by AZBackCountry

5.0 stars 4/1/2012 by AZBackCountry
by AZBackCountry

The Masterbuilt 30" electric smoker is fantastic. I've been smoking for 45+ years. It is way easier with better results than my wood or gas smokers. It has digital controls for temp and timer. It has a water pan for ultimate in tenderizing while you smoke. You can turn the air flow off to hold the moisture in. There is no need for foil. It has a bayonet tray so you can add wood chips without opening the door. No wetting the wood chips. It cost $3 for a 9 hour smoke Vs. $12 propane for same. The whole smoker is insulated. I bought a cheap dolly drilled holes through the plate leaving 1” gap at smoker side, feet bolts in holes and a strap at the top door hinge. I also bought the Backyard Grill Wireless Thermometer meat probe that I put in the meat 2-3 hours before it is expected to be done. The cord goes through the front door seal. No more fuss with wood temp swings, wind, dry meat and gas taste. No need to buy expensive wood pellets or disks. Masterbuilt electric 30” black with no smoked up glass is the way to go.

Was this review helpful? (18) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AZBackCountry
Northern Rural Ranch, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Very good product
2/20/2011

Customer review by wash98841

5.0 stars 2/20/2011 by wash98841
by wash98841

Easy to use. Stable temps. The new upgrades have removed the faults the older units had. Check out Smoking Meats using a search engine for recipe ideas for using your smoker.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wash98841
Washington State
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Awesome
10/30/2008

Customer review by Barbar42662

5.0 stars 10/30/2008 by Barbar42662
by Barbar42662

I was sceptical at first but bought it anyway 2 weeks ago. Just smoked some chips in it after a good warm water cleaning to season it a bit before I tried any meats. Last weekend I smoked a brisket, some salmon and baby back ribs, all at the same time. The salmon came out after about an hour and a half, then the ribs and after 5 hrs, the brisket. I could not be more impressed with a smoker than this. Everthing was moist, tender and the taste, I could have won a contest. This smoker is easy to use, easy to clean and makes the best meats possible. Go get one, you will love it.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Barbar42662
Aurora, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 519 total reviews
1-20 of 519 reviews