Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 648 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

648 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

648 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
457
4 stars
147
3 stars
13
2 stars
14
1 stars
17
1-20 of 601 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 601 total reviews
1-20 of 601 reviews
Great smoker
2/2/2011

Customer review by DanTheMan111

5.0 stars 2/2/2011 by DanTheMan111
by DanTheMan111

I recently got into smoking...maybe 2 moths ago. After reviewing a ton of different smokers, reading the pros/cons of electric smokers...and all the positive reviews about this unit I decided to give it a try. I am very happy I did. First, the ease of use is incredible. The digital controls are very user-friendly, adding wood is very easy using the side tray, and all the parts are easy to access and clean. Most importantly...this unit produces really good BBQ. The temps hold steady, even in a very stiff, cold breeze. The seal is really tight, so the smoke doesn't escape easily. I've done ribs, smoked chuck roasts, and a few briskets...all of which have been excellent.

Was this review helpful? (74) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DanTheMan111
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good value-works great
9/26/2008

Customer review by CountryLivingsGreat

5.0 stars 9/26/2008 by CountryLivingsGreat
by CountryLivingsGreat

This smoker is easy to use and food has been delicious every time. Do a little or fill every shelf. Get it started and walk away. Simple to clean up too. Even if you have never used a smoker before, the directions are thorough & easy to follow. This model doesn't use much electricity and plugs into any household outlet. No shipping charge to pick up at any Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (214) (42)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CountryLivingsGreat
Sunset, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Beyond my expectations.
8/1/2011

Customer review by MikeInOhio

5.0 stars 8/1/2011 by MikeInOhio
by MikeInOhio

There was some minor assembly required. Plugging in and mounting the digital control panel, one way plug and one screw. VERY simple. The packaging had some damage but the contents were not damaged in the least. The directions tell you to season the smoker by letting it run at 275 degrees for 3 hours, adding wood chips for the last 15 minutes. However I would recommend a few additional cycles at 275 and lower, adding wood the entire time as needed to maintain a constant smoke. This will give you a better feel for the timing of adding wood chips to maintain your smoke, better familiarize yourself with the controls, and the more the smoker is used the better the food tastes! So far I have smoked Salmon, Beef Ribs, Pork Ribs, Chicken Leg Quarters, and a Pork Shoulder. All turned out excellent! I have been smoking meats for years using real wood for the fire and water soaked chunks to generate the smoke. I would go thru 50 to 75 pounds of wood for my fire to keep a supply of coals to feed the smoker. Adding coals as needed to maintain my desired temperature. A "normal" smoke would take 12 to 16 hours of constant tending of the fire, watching the temp in the smoker, opening or closing vents adding chunks for smoke, lather rinse repeat......... This smoker has put an end to all of that hard work. Pick the temperature that you desire, from 100 degrees to 275 degrees, pick the time that you wish to smoke, up to 24 hours, and let the smoker do the work. It is NOT completely "set it and forget it". You are still required to add dry wood for smoke generation as needed. The intervals between adding chips is dependent upon your chosen temperature, the higher the temp the faster the wood smokes out and the sooner you will need to add more chips. The all day smoke of the pork shoulder at 225 degrees required additional wood every 45 minutes to an hour. I say chips but you can use whatever form of wood that you prefer....... twigs, chips, chunks, pellets (food grade)..... As long as they are small enough to fit into the loading mechanism. You load your chips into the barrel loader, insert barrel thru the right hand side of the unit until it stops, rotate 360 degrees to dump chips into the chip pan, and wait for the smoke to start. A note of caution, the handle of the barrel remains cool but the rest of the barrel WILL BE HOT! I use dropped and trimmed limbs from the trees in my yard cut into pieces about the size of your thumb. They are Oak and Maple. To Smoke the shoulder all day took about half of a gallon pitcher filled with thumb size and smaller chunks of wood. Compared to burning 50 to 75 pounds of wood before to attain the same results is terrific! This unit is also very well insulated. After several hours with the temperature set to 275 degrees the outer shell is barely warm to the touch! There are four cooking racks inside. With the eleven pound shoulder I could only use three racks since the shoulder was taller than the spacing for the racks. It was a very thick shoulder. If you have smoked meats before with charcoal or wood fires and you are used to seeing billowing white smoke from your soaked chunks of wood, don't be alarmed when you only see wisps of Thin Blue Smoke exiting the vent on the top. The smoke being generated is "just enough" smoke and no more. When you open the door to mop your ribs or spritz with apple juice you will be met with a cloud of smoke in the cabinet. The vent on top is the only place that you will see smoke escaping since the door has a gasket seal and an adjustable latch..... no smoke thru the door unless you open it. The temperature recovery after opening the door is very quick. Within a matter of minutes it will return from 140 to 225. Over all I would highly recommend this smoker to anyone wanting to smoke foods. Anyone from novice to pro can easily create great food in this unit! Also with the ability to control the temperature down to 100 degrees you can smoke cheeses, nuts, and most anything else that you can think of including making fantastic jerky!

Was this review helpful? (335) (37)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MikeInOhio
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
ES 30"
7/24/2013

Customer review by JKSTL

5.0 stars 7/24/2013 by JKSTL
by JKSTL
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I highly recommend this smoker. Clean and season it as directed to burn off any chemicals/glue residue. I was a little put off the the amount of fumes that it produces during the cleaning process but could not taste it on my first smoke. I would recommend smoking something cheap with a short cook time the first time you use it (chicken thighs, fatty, etc) just in case there is some residual odor. The second day I had it, I smoked a 6.5 lb boston butt for 12 hours and it turned out excellent pulled pork with a good bark. The smoker performed flawlessly and held temperature like a champ. I highly recommend a separate thermometer, I use the Maverick ET-732, to monitor meat and grate temps without opening the door. My smoker seems to run about 10 degrees F cooler than the readout according to my thermometer. I also got the 3 year protection plan putting it at a clean $200 delivered to my door. Shipping was quick and easy to track. I have used it for jerky several times with great results. This is a popular electric smoker with a lot of recipes and advice on various forums. I bought this after using my friends MES in stainless with a glass door and meat probe. The glass smoked up and the probe was inaccurate. I suggest buying this one, investing in a good thermometer you can trust, and doing lot of research. Google MES 30 and watch some youtube videos and read the forums. The digital controls are effortless and take the guess work out of temperature setting, especially compare to the dial version.

Was this review helpful? (88) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JKSTL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Used to own a BBQ joint- now use this at home
11/1/2013

Customer review by Brette

5.0 stars 11/1/2013 by Brette
by Brette

I still miss my commercial smoker that held 800lbs, but this is absolutely a suitable replacement. I built a cement block stand so it is at the right height and I do not have to lean down for meat movement, but this little machine packs a punch. In fact, I still cater for up to 300 folks and have smoked for those events in this smoker. I can fit 4 large pork butts at a time, close to 150 wings, have done ribs, salmon, smoke turkeys for my old customers for the holidays. So easy. Only a few short comings: Wish there were rib racks as I prefer to smoke ribs on their side as opposed to flat. 'Drip pan removeable for easy cleanup": when you load this puppy up (as I do), this silly tray runs over and it is still a hot mess. I suggest bringing an empty dog food bag over to the smoker and carefully lifting the tray out and then just dump the extra juices in the bag. I wish the liquid container had a lid with a small side opening so steam still came out but my drippings didn't all fall into the pan. No problem- wrap most of it in foil and just have small areas for the steam to escape. Easier clean up. I unplug her, move her onto a concrete cleaning pad I built off to the side and hose her out just like I did the commercial smoker. Also, once the inside is clean, do yourself a favor (especially if you live in the south where it is humid AND hot) and put a Damprid container inside when it is closed. Resist the urge to overfill the wood- it doesn't need much. I soak mine in apple cider before I put it in the smoker. Love using this smoker- virtually anyone with a good rub and the right meat and wood can look like a championship smoker.

Was this review helpful? (215) (78)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Brette
GNV FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Husband loves it!
6/22/2014

Customer review by jennj88

5.0 stars 6/22/2014 by jennj88
by jennj88
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

MY husband made the best ribs ever. . He loves this smoker. . Best fathers day gift ever

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jennj88
United States Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great smoker. Smoking everything in sight.
7/25/2013

Customer review by Firepapa

5.0 stars 7/25/2013 by Firepapa
by Firepapa
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Easy to assembly & pretty straight forward on how to use. A better guide for temperature & times world be a plus. Our teenage grandson's are lovin it too.

Was this review helpful? (9) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Firepapa
New Baltimore, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Smoker
4/1/2012

Customer review by AZBackCountry

5.0 stars 4/1/2012 by AZBackCountry
by AZBackCountry

The Masterbuilt 30" electric smoker is fantastic. I've been smoking for 45+ years. It is way easier with better results than my wood or gas smokers. It has digital controls for temp and timer. It has a water pan for ultimate in tenderizing while you smoke. You can turn the air flow off to hold the moisture in. There is no need for foil. It has a bayonet tray so you can add wood chips without opening the door. No wetting the wood chips. It cost $3 for a 9 hour smoke Vs. $12 propane for same. The whole smoker is insulated. I bought a cheap dolly drilled holes through the plate leaving 1” gap at smoker side, feet bolts in holes and a strap at the top door hinge. I also bought the Backyard Grill Wireless Thermometer meat probe that I put in the meat 2-3 hours before it is expected to be done. The cord goes through the front door seal. No more fuss with wood temp swings, wind, dry meat and gas taste. No need to buy expensive wood pellets or disks. Masterbuilt electric 30” black with no smoked up glass is the way to go.

Was this review helpful? (27) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AZBackCountry
Northern Rural Ranch, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Does exactly what is supposed to do
5/28/2016

Customer review by LoveSmokin

5.0 stars 5/28/2016 by LoveSmokin
by LoveSmokin
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've used it 5 times so far. The meat turns out perfectly tender, juicy, and full of smokey flavor. The smoker works great. I saw some reviews say smoke leaked out of the door, but I haven't experienced that. The instructions say to wipe the seal of the door clean both before use and after use, and I've done that, and it hasn't been a problem. Love it. I'll post a picture of my recent brisket so you can see the payoff.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LoveSmokin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Saving money,... eating better!
1/27/2010

Customer review by IrishMike2

5.0 stars 1/27/2010 by IrishMike2
by IrishMike2

Great product. So far, 2 Briskets, a Turkey and 2 Chickens. Easy to clean and use. Use in 14 degree and 23 degree weather so far. I had no trouble with the digital temp controls. I do recommend an internal thermometer as I found that the temp is a bit higher than actually shown on the digital unit. I am thinking due to the extreme cold. Also buy a meat thermometer and follow directions. You will love this smoker. My first run with a Brisket was good but not as tender as I expected. Mainly because I rushed it a bit. However, my second Brisket was purchased at WalMart,... "Steakhouse" brand. I didn't rush and it was the same weight as my first, but a nicer cut with a great taste after being inthe Smoker. Simply put, you can't go wrong here. I also bought the "Jim Beam" Oak wood for starters. WOW,.... what a great taste! If you are debating this Smoker,.... DON'T! Best purchase I ever made food wise.

Was this review helpful? (17) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IrishMike2
Weirton, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Awesome smoker
6/25/2016

Customer review by steak6978

5.0 stars 6/25/2016 by steak6978
by steak6978
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very well priced, works great!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
steak6978
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very good product
2/20/2011

Customer review by wash98841

5.0 stars 2/20/2011 by wash98841
by wash98841

Easy to use. Stable temps. The new upgrades have removed the faults the older units had. Check out Smoking Meats using a search engine for recipe ideas for using your smoker.

Was this review helpful? (19) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wash98841
Washington State
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great smoker for the family
9/29/2014

Customer review by smokingmeat

5.0 stars 9/29/2014 by smokingmeat
by smokingmeat
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is my second one, nothing wrong with the old one just needed new racks and they cost more than a whole brand new smoker....just like buying prints it's cheaper to buy a new one than it is to buy ink cartridges.lol But the bottom line is this is the best smoker for the money than any other I've seen, most of my friends have smokers, we smoke something every weekend and by far mine is the best. The Masterbuilt Electric Smoker rocks! I put mine in the garage to keep it out of the weather and made a smoke pipe that goes out of the garage so it's never in the weather and it work perfectly.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
smokingmeat
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Smoker
3/9/2009

Customer review by carr1on

5.0 stars 3/9/2009 by carr1on
by carr1on

I'm a big BBQ food fan, but I've always been nervous about learning to smoke meats. It almost seems more art than science. However, with a lot of research I decided to to give the Masterbuilt Electric Smokehouse a try. The Electric Smoker is great. It was very easy to setup and use, with easy controls. Basically you just set the temp and time (it has a timer), put in the meat, and monitor the wood chips. My first attempt at brisket was awesome. The second day I smoked whole chickens and a pork shoulder. The smoke from the unit caused all my neighbors to stop by for "samples". My standing in the neighborhood Guy League has gone up considerably. LOL. Be sure to follow indtructions. Season the unit before using. Soak the wood chips for at least 30 minutes. Try different kinds of wood like apple or alder or pecan. I am still learning about different sizes of wood chips: small shavings ignite fast but dont last long; whereas larger chunks take a while to get going but last longer. I've been mixing both sizes in an attempt to minimize the number of times I have to open the door. Dryness can be an issue, and one that I'm still learning to solve. I will attempt wrapping the brisket in foil next time about two hours before they are finished cooking. As I said in the beginning, there is a lot to learn, but it's a fun and delicious food hobby!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
carr1on
Grapevine, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
8/2/2011

Customer review by MiketheSmoker

5.0 stars 8/2/2011 by MiketheSmoker
by MiketheSmoker

I have done BBQ for a bunch of years, But within the last year I moved to an active senior community. Left the big (450 pounds) smoker behind and just recentlyl bought this propane powerd smoker. I swore that I would never cook with gas, but here I am. I have only cooked on it for two dinners. So, really to new to rate, Both the meals turned out really well. I think I over cooked the turkey, in that it was a bit dry. But the Tri-Tips, the chicken breasts, the ribs and the sausages turned out well. Just a matter of knowing how long and at what temp you wish to cook. I guess my only complaint is the fact that the built in thermometer does not read correctly. I would suggest an remote instant read to know where your smoker temp is all the time. But, if you are looking for a good way to smoke some small meals (up to maybe 6 folks.), this is the way to go, IMHO. Mike in Sacramento.

Was this review helpful? (0) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MiketheSmoker
Sacramento, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best smoker
1/22/2010

Customer review by smokinRandy75

5.0 stars 1/22/2010 by smokinRandy75
by smokinRandy75

This smoker is great have smoked the following: stuffed pork loin, brisket, whole ham, and rib and all came out GREAT!!! the only problem is temp is off by 10* and if its below 32 * you have to warm the probe inside on the back wall not a big issue just hold with fingers for a few sec. or use lighter for a sec. I give this smoker a A++++++

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
smokinRandy75
Lake Mill Wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Best reasonally priced electric
8/21/2012

Customer review by HemiD

4.0 stars 8/21/2012 by HemiD
by HemiD

I spent weeks researching electric smokers because of ease of use and convenience. I chose the Masterbuilt 30" Electric Smokehouse and have not been sorry. This is one of two units I found that are insulated. I have smoked ribs, chicken, brisket with great success. If you enjoy melt in your mouth smoked meats without the work and frustration, this is the one. I purchased this model because who needs a window that covers with smoke and requires additional cleaning. The reason I didn't give it five stars is that at 33" tall you have to stoop a little unless you put it on a stand. A few tips are 1. Cover the water pan and drip pan in foil and spray grates with Pam, makes for easy cleanup. 2, Order the Masterbuilt remote meat probe Model 20100111, you can keep it with you as you do other things and will sound an alarm when meat reaches desired internal temp. Do not buy the available Masterbuilt cover, instead get the Masterforge 0360134 cover. Better quality and less expensive.

Was this review helpful? (31) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HemiD
Independence, Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
smoker
5/17/2012

Customer review by hunter61

5.0 stars 5/17/2012 by hunter61
by hunter61

this masterbuilt smoker works great for me even when using a extension cord. but if using one it be must be able to handle the power the smoker requires. I used a regular outdoor cord and it took my smoker forever to heat up. I ended up buying a heavy duty 25' 12/3 15A contractor extension cord and smoker heated up quick & worked it the way it was meant to work. this smoker is very easy to use and puts out good smoke although it does not put out smoke with temps under 200F not sure if that's because I use wet chips I haven't tried using dry chips yet. I'm very happy with this smoker so far I've only smoked ribs & chicken and turned out very good. there has been a lot of reviews about getting parts for this smoker & dealing with Masterbuilt customer service. I haven't dealt with C/S so I don't know about that as far as finding parts I found a web site that sells parts for model# 20070106 & model# 200709010 the site is http://www.appliancefactoryparts.com/gasgrillparts/brands/masterbuilt/

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hunter61
sanborn,mn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
food smoker's rejoice
11/28/2009

Customer review by BigD1975

4.0 stars 11/28/2009 by BigD1975
by BigD1975

Do you want an inexpensive, insulated, oversized, electric smoker that's easy to use and works well? Then this is the product for you! I live in a town where there's a company that makes an electric insulated smoker very similar to this model, but it's built like a brike house, the price, $500.00 and it's half the size. The construction of this smoker is good and the price is right at 200.00, but wouldn't recommend leaving it out in the weather without a nice cover. So far I have smoked 2 turkeys and pork steaks, the pork didn't fair so well, should've put them in a brine first. The turkeys came out great! I put a 22lb turkey upright in this smoker using it's legs and a 24oz can of beer. The wood gun is awesome! It allows you to add your wood without opening the door to the smoker. The digital readout is easy to see and use. It's great to see the temperature and time as the meat is cooking. I've cooked with coal fired smoker's but never again after the ease of use of this electric smoker.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BigD1975
Ponca City, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Good Electric smoker for the price
4/24/2013

Customer review by JAYHAWKJAY

5.0 stars 4/24/2013 by JAYHAWKJAY
by JAYHAWKJAY

Great smoker for a change of pace, I been old school charcoal for years and there comes a point when your tired of baby sitting the coals and fire and walking around smelling like smoke, this smoker is nice, set the temp, toss in the food and add wood chips once every few hours or so, when you buy this you will be happy, I hear about the burners and controls going out on these so I bought the Walmart 3 year warranty for piece of mind 19 bucks, it is big enough for a turkey and everything seems to turn out great on this, ribs/ pulled pork/chicken, best BBQ you ever had,buy it and the warranty, when your cooking only foil the bottom drip tray and a small piece of foil on top of the smoker box for easy clean up, don't foil the racks because it will not allow for the air to flow right, this smoker has no trouble holding temperature, I hear people complain about it not getting to temp if you foil the cooking racks it can't circulate air right or hold temp, leave the cooking racks alone and the temp will always be dead on.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JAYHAWKJAY
WICHITA, KANSAS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 601 total reviews
1-20 of 601 reviews