Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 11 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

11 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

11 reviews | 4 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
3
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
0
1-10 of 10 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Inherent Problem with Mini Fast Draw
3/15/2008

Customer review by okonoid

2.0 stars 3/15/2008 by okonoid
by okonoid

When I bought my copy, I thought Gerber nailed the perfect small pocket knife -- but I soon discovered a fatal (manufacturing?) flaw in the Mini. This neat little knife will not hold an edge. Here's why. Although other operational features are outstanding, the Mini's cutting edge bottoms out on the plastic back when closed. The blade is held tightly when extended and locked, but is not held tightly in the folded position (typical of many folding designs). This means that as the folded Mini is jostled within a pocket, the sharpened edge can scuff laterally across this surface, rapidly dulling a perfectly homed edge. Sadly, I confirmed this condition with Gerber at the 2008 S.H.O.T. show. Although the Gerber rep. claimed to know nothing of this shortfall, every example of the Mini he could produce demonstrated the exact same problem. Fortunately, the full-sized Fast Draw does NOT have this auto-dulling "feature," and I can recommend it highly... but not the Mini.

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
okonoid
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Never
Great little assisted opener for the price
7/13/2009

Customer review by 80sDweeb

5.0 stars 7/13/2009 by 80sDweeb
by 80sDweeb

I did a lot of searching for a little knife that was small enough and convenient enough to keep with me at all times, and I found it in this little Gerber. It's easy to carry, with an almost flat profile and a clip that lets it sit low in my pocket. I've heard the comments about the "mystery steel" Gerber uses, and that it won't keep its edge like a higher quality blade. I suppose if someone plans to be opening boxes all day every day this would matter to them, but to me, for under $20 I didn't see anything else like it, particularly with the fun of the assisted opening. Flick! The Site-to-Store option got the Mini to me for less than any place I saw, including used knives on an auction site. I'm VERY satisfied with this little Gerber. If it ever does break on me (lifetime guarantee) it will be because I open it hundreds of times a day - it's just fun to play with. And unlike a big, bulky "combat knife", it's ALWAYS with me.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
80sDweeb
Penfield NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1/28/2008

Customer review by docmcr

4.0 stars 1/28/2008 by docmcr
by docmcr

If you are looking for a smaller "pocket" knife that is easy to operate and holds an edge well; this is a very good choice. I have carried this knife's bigger brother for almost a year, but find the larger version too large for most of my daily needs. You don't need a machtet to cut open a box. This smaller version meets my daily use/needs. If I know I will be out in the woods or working where a larger blade is useful I will carry big brother, but around home/town this smaller version is the better one for me.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
docmcr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Fast Draw Mini
6/9/2016

Customer review by DoubtingThomas52

4.0 stars 6/9/2016 by DoubtingThomas52
by DoubtingThomas52
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a nice knife. It opened easier when I put oil on part where it folds and opened and closed it 50 times. Also the safety button becomes hard to move into position when the knife has been used ( this doesn't happen when the blade has not had pressure applied) I put some oil on this too and it seems to move easier than before. I don't mind working on this since I hope to own the knife a long time.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DoubtingThomas52
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Gerber Mini
8/25/2009

Customer review by runningcloud

4.0 stars 8/25/2009 by runningcloud
by runningcloud

I must agreee with okonoid on this product: 2 out of 5 Inherent Problem with Mini Fast Draw, 03/15/2008 When I bought my copy, I thought Gerber nailed the perfect small pocket knife -- but I soon discovered a fatal (manufacturing?) flaw in the Mini. This neat little knife will not hold an edge. Here's why. Although other operational features are outstanding, the Mini's cutting edge bottoms out on the plastic back when closed. The blade is held tightly when extended and locked, but is not held tightly in the folded position (typical of many folding designs). This means that as the folded Mini is jostled within a pocket, the sharpened edge can scuff laterally across this surface, rapidly dulling a perfectly homed edge. Sadly, I confirmed this condition with Gerber at the 2008 S.H.O.T. show. Although the Gerber rep. claimed to know nothing of this shortfall, every example of the Mini he could produce demonstrated the exact same problem. Fortunately, the full-sized Fast Draw does NOT have this auto-dulling "feature," and I can recommend it highly... but not the Mini. I really like the size of this knife and its reliablity and for the price, its a great knife...I just keep sharpening the knife as needed!! I do recommend this knife for its size and durability!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
runningcloud
Katy, tX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great little pocket tool
9/30/2008

Customer review by UncleMark

5.0 stars 9/30/2008 by UncleMark
by UncleMark

I like the assisted opening mechanism and the size. I have always had great luck with Gerber blades and this one is no different. This is actually my second one. I recently lost the first. I tried a couple of other knives (already owned) and they were just not the same quality of tool.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
UncleMark
Madison, Wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works
6/1/2008

Customer review by HoboKobi

4.0 stars 6/1/2008 by HoboKobi
by HoboKobi

The Gerber FAST is a handy little knife especially when you need it and only have one hand. Only draw back is that the blade doesn't hold an edge very well and I wouldn't use it to pry on anything.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HoboKobi
Livermore, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good knife
9/12/2009

Customer review by KnifeLover7

3.0 stars 9/12/2009 by KnifeLover7
by KnifeLover7

Very fast deployment. The only thing I do not like about this knife is that it can NOT hold the sharpness of the blade. Only good for cutting packages.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KnifeLover7
Chandler, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
very good knife
1/30/2008

Customer review by ludah

5.0 stars 1/30/2008 by ludah
by ludah

I like the F.A.S.T option with this knife. Its dosent do it to fast so that you can't cut yourself but it does what it is supposed to do!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ludah
schaumburg, il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
3/25/2008

Customer review by Markswatch

4.0 stars 3/25/2008 by Markswatch
by Markswatch

Knife was a good deal for the money and easy to carry around for work purposes.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Markswatch
nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day