Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 171 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

171 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

171 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
85
4 stars
54
3 stars
9
2 stars
4
1 stars
19
1-20 of 132 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 132 total reviews
1-20 of 132 reviews
Alot more than I expected
12/30/2007

Customer review by zdogy

4.0 stars 12/30/2007 by zdogy
by zdogy

I got this TV for christmas ,I waited a days or so to open the box because i had my heart set on A samsung or toshiba because of the picture and high contrast ratio compered to the polariod When I hooked up the TV I watch my local cable first and was surprised at how good even local cable looked beeing that this isn't my first HD TV I have A 51" toshiba prodjection TV.I then watched A movie on my very expensive denon upsonversion DVD player which i was never able to get too look great on my toshiba rear prodgection tv wich got excellent reviewa when i bought it 3 years ago so it seems high definition eeven though it is digital is still evoling the technoligie that is I know my rear prodjection never looked this good and it looks great Another good point is my reaserch told me to buy a tv with a high contrast ratio like atleast 3000-1 the polariod only has 1000-1 while high contrast ratio is no gaurentee you will have a great picture my research told me you couldnt get one without it my point is this TV has made me wonder if it as important as the websites like cnet and magazines say it is I went back to wal-mart and did a side by side of the samsung with high contrast ratio and the polariod im reviewing here and noticed that it almost seemed as if it had to much contrast atleast in this comparason was acualy makeing the samsung have more pixelation in dark seens and exposing defects in the picture more dont get me wrong samsung makes agreat tv so i would say if you can do without PIP,a seperate input for over the air tv ,dont need a compinent or s-video input in the front of your tv this one has A composite in the front and dont need any advanced adjustment in the menu although so far ive seen no need for it on this polariod LCD asumming you dont get a lemon you cant go wrong with this high quality well built LCD unlike what another reviewer said this TV is built solid youl enjoy the alomost phtographic looking picture on this tv

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
zdogy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Caveat Emptor Y'all!
12/13/2007

Customer review by OutrageousWoman

1.0 stars 12/13/2007 by OutrageousWoman
by OutrageousWoman

What a nightmare this item has become! We purchased this TV in June. We thought we had made quite a smart purchase. Good price and lots of whistles and bells. We were unable to discern the difference between high def and regular programming, but could have handled that and written a fairly happy review. Then, by August, we noticed that it was taking longer and longer for the set to come on. We finally called Polaroid Customer Service in October to report the problem. They seemed to know exactly what my problem was and I was assured that within 10 business days a new part would be sent to our home, and that 48 hours later, a tech would be sent to our home to install the new part. After 1 month the part still had not arrived. We learned after a follow-up call that the part is on backorder and should arrive in about 2 more weeks. Well, here we are 12 days before Christmas, and still no part. (Three months wait... and counting.) The TV will not warm up at all now. It is a mass of jumbled and unwatchable lines and there is hardly any sound. Polaroid assures me that the part they are sending will cure all of the set's problems. I asked if we could just get a refund. I was told no, but they would be able to exchange the TV if they had one, which they didn't. They also said that a refund would not be forthcoming unless at least 3 attempts to repair the TV were made. We figure that at the rate we are going, that process could take up to a year. What a disappointment. How infuriating! Save yourselves heartache and look elsewhere for your new flat screen TV. This one is a disaster!!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OutrageousWoman
Dallas TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
So Good So Far
11/29/2007

Customer review by debp

4.0 stars 11/29/2007 by debp
by debp

I've been doing my homework for my first purchase of an HDTV. The 32" with the built in DVD isn't getting good reviews but when I saw the price at 6:30 AM on "Black Friday", I decided to take the risk and opted for the 32" without the built in DVD. My daughter and I had the universal remote, cable, DVD/VCR and Surround Sound stereo plugged in programmed and sat down to watch a new DVD within about 90 minutes. It's only been a week but so far we're pretty darn happy with the whole experience. Unfortunately Polaroid HDTV's don't have a reputation for working very long. We're at one week and counting. Look for my nickname. I'll be checking in periodically to keep you posted.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
debp
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
11/24/2007

Customer review by wwswaw

4.0 stars 11/24/2007 by wwswaw
by wwswaw

I bought this tv on Black Friday. As one of the special buys, it was on sale for a very good price. I was a little concerned before buying. Although I had heard of the brand, I did not know how well they made lcd tvs. Beforehand, I went to Walmart and compared brands. I could see very little difference in the Polariod vs what I considered to be the best tvs there. The difference in quality wasn't worth the $400-$500 difference in price. In my opinion, this TV performed better than many of the other brands, but at a better price.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wwswaw
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not Bad for Cost
12/22/2007

Customer review by StrangeCloud

3.0 stars 12/22/2007 by StrangeCloud
by StrangeCloud

I've had the tv about a year. Bought it for my office as a second tv and use it for cable and dvds. For the low cost of the tv it is a good buy. I didn't expect it to be the same as an expensive Sony or other top brand, and got what I paid for. The picture is fine, and especially with the HDTV channels. Everything works fine except the sound. It's cheap and tinny and does not get very loud at all. Works fine for my office but would definitely need a home theater setup for a larger room.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
StrangeCloud
Edmond, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Product....Great Value!!!!
12/1/2007

Customer review by heyrc

5.0 stars 12/1/2007 by heyrc
by heyrc

I have always done extensive research on a product that I’m going to spend a lot of money on before I purchase it. This product however, I purchased on a whim at a black Friday sale because of it‘s price. I am very happy and satisfied with the televisions appearance and performance. With all that said, here’s my contribution to rating the TV. First of all, if you don’t currently own a video device that outputs a HD signal (DVD player, satellite receiver, cable box, gaming console) don’t expect this or most other HD TV’s to perform a visual miracle of converting a 480 signal line signal (normal video output from standard definition devices) to the 720signal lines capability that this television displays (We do however, have several local television stations that do broadcast HD over the air, I put a splitter on my satellite cable and attached a small rabbit ear antenna and the HD channels come in great). I have an Xbox 360 that is capable of sending a 480p,720p or 1080i signal to the TV. The visual gaming on the Polaroid with Xbox360 at 720p is phenomenally out of this world. The HD over the air signal on the Polaroid is also really great. Watching DVDs on the Polaroid using the Xbox360 as the player is ok. The Picture quality is not as good as my old 25” Magnavox, but that’s because the Xbox360 only outputs a 480p signal when it comes to DVDs. ( I am looking at purchasing a DVD player with up scaling feature that makes the picture look near HD quality, but that’s another review for another day). I have downloaded theatrical previews of movies in HD Format from xbox live to my 360’s hard drive, and am amazed at the quality of the sound and picture. I also have Dish Network(regular package, not HD) that is hooked up to the TV. Watching the satellite channels on this TV is not impressive, once again it’s because of the 480p signal. Bottom line, for the price, If you have HD video components and are looking for a great television a even better deal, this is the TV for you.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
heyrc
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Hissssssssssssssing
12/19/2007

Customer review by souls

2.0 stars 12/19/2007 by souls
by souls

IF you want a deal on a 32 inch that you can pay for today this is it! If a constant HISSSSSSSSSSING bothers you then either don't buy it or have a fan on to distract you hearing!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
souls
tampa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
GREAT TV....GREAT PRICE!!
12/25/2007

Customer review by timgeri

5.0 stars 12/25/2007 by timgeri
by timgeri

This is such a great tv which is very easy to hook up and the picture and sound quality are awesome!! Great price and great tv! I highly recommend this tv :o)

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
timgeri
Thief River Falls, Mn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Buy this tv, Brad pitts never looked better!!
1/30/2008

Customer review by sih80

5.0 stars 1/30/2008 by sih80
by sih80

I love this tv. its sleek and very beautiful. Its super easy to put together and get running. Cost me $20.00 to ship, and wasnt heavy at all. I had a bit of a problem with stripes in the picture, but i have no idea how the shipping went. It looks like it cost tons of money, but yall know my secret, it didnt. I would totally buy this again if i had too. Im glad i shopped around and picked this tv. Now, im not a high tech person, but this tv is perfect for me, and my husband is still very happy with it. I would recomend this tv to anyone who needs a nice looking new tv. Buy it you cant go wrong, walmart has a great returns online policy. sarah

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sih80
norfolk, va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very good choice
12/29/2007

Customer review by NanaLorraine

5.0 stars 12/29/2007 by NanaLorraine
by NanaLorraine

I read all the opinions on this TV before I bought it. The price and Wal Mart service sold me first. Then when I opened it up and had a look for myself I found it to be a great deal! This is a gift for my mother For Christmas and she loves it. If there are any low marks, remember this is what it is. If you compare it to s higher end product the quality is going to come up short. But for the price it's a very nice choice.This is the second HGTV I have purchased from Wal Mart and I am very pleased.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NanaLorraine
Sammamish, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
32 in LCD bargain price
1/1/2008

Customer review by abqnm

5.0 stars 1/1/2008 by abqnm
by abqnm

I bought this tv from Walmart on Black Friday. I actually was doing some research to buy an LCD and have decided to buy an Emerson 32 in. for around $550. But when I reached Walmart I could not find an Emerson and luckily got this one at $100 less. I was not sure about the reviews for Polaroid LCD TVs and as soon I got back home, I searched for reviews. Those were bad, really bad. It appears that Polaroid is now sold to new owners after loosing the digital photography race. Their products are made by different manufacturers who purchase Polaroid name. They are selling their famous brand name. This particular model is made by a company in China that is one of the biggest computer monitor manufacturers (Proview Technology). They also make and sell LCD monitors and are doing it for a long time. That increased my confidence. However, still I decided to buy a 2-yr warrantee from Walmart as most of the earlier reviews recommended. This tv is hooked to Dish and a local indoor antenna and I am very happy with the results. Actually for about one month , I just used this to see Dish channels but recently programmed to see local channels using an indoor antenna. The digital channels and HD are excellent and make me wonder why I waited almost a whole month to read the operating manual. My Dish remote can also control this TV after programming for most common functions. However, not all fucntions are covered (which is ok). Due to earlier reviews of Polaroid LCD TV that I saw before November 30 or so, I am still very cautious and afraid that this may malfunction but I think this is a new/different product from different manufcaturer. I am giving it a 5-star because of the price and good picture quality. Although this is my first LCD TV but I think I could not be more pleased had I spent $200-$300 more on a famous brand. Just keeping my fingers crossed that it survives next two -three years without any problems.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
abqnm
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
So far, great
12/20/2007

Customer review by preech

4.0 stars 12/20/2007 by preech
by preech

I bought this TV black Fri and so far I love it. My digital cable (w/o HD) looked so much better on it than my old analog TV that I decided not to switch to Dish to get HD. Hook up a decent progressive scan DVD player and WOW it's great! Just 480p is wonderful. Yeah, the sound is just average - but still better than others i've seen/heard. But come on - if you're gonna spend this much on a TV - spend $150 like I did and buy just a rudimentary surround sound system. Component cables from the TV and optical out from the DVD player to the surround... picture and sound you can't beat. Love it. Yeah, it's only been a few weeks, but don't you want to go ahead and spend $20-some anyway for the extended warranty? Again you're spending this much... cover yourself for 3 years and rest easy. Yeah, with every product, there'll be some bad ones come thru. If you're like me and don't have the big bucks... take a chance on this. I think you'll like it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
preech
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great value for the money
12/30/2007

Customer review by ejohnstown

4.0 stars 12/30/2007 by ejohnstown
by ejohnstown

Really great tv for the money. Nice sleek slim design. all the features found on more expensive models. I do wish it had one more zoom in feature tho. As with all the lcd and plasma hdtv's out there they do get pretty hot, so I do recommed that you put a small fan in back of it to prevent heat damage and extend the life of the tv.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ejohnstown
Johnstown pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/9/2007

Customer review by woodsman1934

4.0 stars 12/9/2007 by woodsman1934
by woodsman1934

We have had this tv for almost a year. The only bad thing that really bothers me is the sound quality. We bought a seperate amplifier to overcome this problem. The wide screen mode is very stretched, but noticing this in the stores, seem they are all this way. Overall the picture clairty is fantastic. I was in the electronics field most of my adult life so I really know what to look for. When shopping for a tv, it was the sharpest picture of all on display.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
woodsman1934
Jacksonville, Fl.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Remote Stopped working after 5 days
11/29/2007

Customer review by duman

3.0 stars 11/29/2007 by duman
by duman

I bought this product after thanksgiving on friday early morning sale. I was very excited about this LCD TV which came at an affordable price and served the purpose as compared to other high end brands. Picture Quality is good though the wide mode feels too wide and stretched. After using it for 5 days the REMOTE stopped working. I tried to operate by changing the batteries but that didn't help me either. Finally contacted the polaroid customer service and they are about to ship me out another remote.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
duman
austin, tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Television
12/26/2007

Customer review by Justfrfun

1.0 stars 12/26/2007 by Justfrfun
by Justfrfun

It is a throw away tv. Nothing but problems. Pay a few extra bucks and get something worth the money. So you don't throw your money away after just a few months!!! PS Warrenty takes forever! Not worth it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Justfrfun
wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
note a good TV
11/25/2007

Customer review by ryan1234656

1.0 stars 11/25/2007 by ryan1234656
by ryan1234656

My wife and I purchased this set the day after thanksgiving. When I set it up later that night everything went good except for the stand it came with. The screws are to long casing the stand no to be tight to the TV. When I turned on the TV my first thoughts where of how bad the pic was. I tried playing around with the settings but nothing seemed to work. We watched a moving that night. The pic was better, but still not up to par. The color’s would blur together everything in the back ground was fuzzy. I had a hard time telling what was what in parts of the movie. I am going to try and take this set back and see if a new one is any better. I read the reviews on the Polaroid 32” with the built in DVD player and nearly half were bad, saying that it went out in the first two weeks. Then they would call Polaroid to get help. Polaroid would say it was a part that was on back order, that it would take 4-5 weeks to get it in and then they would ship it out. Some people where out of a TV for over two months. My advice is to invest in a better TV!!!!!!!!! I wish I read the reviews before I bought this one.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ryan1234656
Ogden, UT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Compressed picture height.
11/26/2007

Customer review by airamerica

1.0 stars 11/26/2007 by airamerica
by airamerica

I had one of these bought early Friday AM, and the letterbox film I tried to view was 2.20 times as wide as its height. In other words, a 16:7.25. I called and was told this would change when I hooked into an HD source. I used the composite on my Philips DVR to play a film and the same thing. Sad, because it had one of the best hookup panels I've seen with VGA for the computer, etc. Also, the manual said it was supposed to have a format selection "zoom." Not on mine. It would have been a nice rendition if the format could have been right.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
airamerica
Mulvane, Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Disappointed consumer
12/2/2007

Customer review by Jrryldna

1.0 stars 12/2/2007 by Jrryldna
by Jrryldna

We purchased this TV in the mad rush the day after Thanksgiving thinking that it was a good value. Not only was it not a good value, it is little better than junk, although it does have some good menu features and ease of set-up. The picture, while acceptable, had a white line across the screen when displaying certain colors. Most disappointing is the audio qualtiy of the thing. The sound is as poor as a $5 portable radio! We have ordered a Sanyo from Wal Mart.com and will return this one just a soon as the Sanyo arrives.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jrryldna
Scottsbluff, NE
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not built to last
12/11/2007

Customer review by goldrx7

1.0 stars 12/11/2007 by goldrx7
by goldrx7

I have owned the 32" Polaroid LCD HDTV for one year and two weeks. I was quite pleased with it. However, the audio simply quit working just slightly past the 1 year warranty. Polaroid told me that there was nothing they could do. I've bought many TVs during my lifetime and this was the first, and most expensive of them, not to last trouble free for at least a few years. My searching of other Polaroid TV customer experiences on the Internet reveals that audio system failure is not uncommon, along with other failures. Though Walmart's line of Polaroid LCD TVs are feature rich for the price, based on my user experience, the low price comes from low quality production, resulting in an unreliable product.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
goldrx7
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 132 total reviews
1-20 of 132 reviews