Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 78 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

78 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

78 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

67%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
23
4 stars
20
3 stars
15
2 stars
9
1 stars
11
1-20 of 76 total reviews
67%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 76 total reviews
1-20 of 76 reviews
Low quality and takes forever to put together.
12/26/2012

Customer review by CourtneyBags

2.0 stars 12/26/2012 by CourtneyBags
by CourtneyBags

I would not recommend this piece of furniture to anyone. I did research for a white dresser/changing table combo that would fit in our small apartment. We are Ikea lovers and have been very happy with everything I have purchased from there, so we are well acquainted with putting furniture together. This took us over 5 hours to put together and once we were 3 hours in, began discovering many nicks in the paint, but were too far along to call it quits. In the end, it will do it's job, but the drawers have gaps around them and the drawer glides are made out of plastic. This quality doesn't even compare to Ikea's, but we couldn't find anything there that was the right size for us. Also, we've purchased other furniture from Walmart (our bedroom set is the from the Canopy collection: http://www.walmart.com/ip/Canopy-6-Drawer-Dresser-Chestnut-Finish/15184188) and that is great quality.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CourtneyBags
Hoboken, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
South Shore Cotton Candy Changing Table
8/4/2016

Customer review by oljeda

1.0 stars 8/4/2016 by oljeda
by oljeda
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The table was damaged in several areas. I believe the handling of this item is very poor in their warehouse and therefore become damage. So sad since it's a very nice item.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
oljeda
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Overpriced for what you get, even with a low cost-
3/11/2012

Customer review by SFL12

1.0 stars 3/11/2012 by SFL12
by SFL12

I bought this dresser two years ago and for the price I knew I was not getting top quality, but I thought it would be an item to last at least this long. Initially after putting it together, there was a big ding in it and we still kept it after all the time it took to put together. Since that time, it has significantly gone downhill. The paint has already worn down on all of the edges and the side door repeatedly comes off due to use (we use it for diapers and pajamas). I wish we had taken it back and spent a little more for much better quality- but still for $300 at the time, we should of had better quality. I am very disappointed in the product and in Walmart for carrying such a low quality product. The amount of time we have spent on this item reattching the door and trying to touch up the edges was not worth it and it still looks cheap. The removable top does not matter, because with the very little space of the drawers and the overall low quality, your child will not be able to grow with this product. Cons- Drawers are tiny and not deep at all Cheap paint- comes off easily and quickly Cheap Door- If you actually plan to use this, it will not last. We use without the door now and nice baskets instead after trying to reattach MULTIPLE times and ways It takes a while to put together- not worth the time Your child will not be able to grow with it due to the above Positive- The side shelves pull out Free shipping to store

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SFL12
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Comes in a Million Pieces!
3/27/2009

Customer review by lazaradi

4.0 stars 3/27/2009 by lazaradi
by lazaradi

I was so excited to receive this product. I couldnt wait to put it together! I had done SO MUCH research on changing tables and was very confident when choosing this particular one. When it came I was a litte concerned with the shape of the box...it was a little flat. I didnt realize how many pieces it would come in. It took my husband and I close to 8 hours of putting together all the pieces. The directions are sometimes unclear. Definately put it together on a carpet or blanket of some kind, as I had some issues when standing it up after it was complete and noticed some dings. All in all, i think it will be a good product, however, had I known the time it would take to put together, i would not have purchased. It definately takes 2 people and I didnt feel very helpful being 7.5 months pregnant and getting up and down constantly. It says no power tools but i wouldnt even bother with it unless you use an electric screwdriver!

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lazaradi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Read reviews before buying
3/10/2016

Customer review by ADPE

1.0 stars 3/10/2016 by ADPE
by ADPE

My husband wanted me to write a review on it and put: "Don't buy it". If you don't have more than 5 hours to put together a piece of furniture don't buy it. I don't really understand why is it rated with 4 or 5 stars, if it is so complicated to put it all together, and you need to put pieces on a carpet so they don't get damaged. The only good thing about it, is that South Shore has amazing customer services reps, that answers to your questions quick, and replace parts that come damage soon. It took us about 3 weeks to put everything together, about 8 hours total to assemble it, One of the pieces came broken, eventhough it was shipped fast, we had to wait 3 days to get it. More pieces could come pre assembled so steps are reduced. There are 42 steps. -Sometimes you have to screw the furniture and it does not have a previuos hole, so you are not sure if you are screwing it correctly. -Steps 27 and 28 are unclear, and we still can't get the door straight. We don't understand the drawings on both instructions Spanish translations are not well written. In the other hand you don't want to return the product for all the time you have invested on it, and you don't want to un assemble it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ADPE
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good but a pain
3/25/2012

Customer review by amwall18

3.0 stars 3/25/2012 by amwall18
by amwall18

Searched long and hard for a changing table and finally decided on this one becuase it converts to a dresser after you take the changing table top off. And the color is a pure white like I wanted. After getting it put together it is good, but the process was madenning. The instructions are very vague and even sometimes incorrect, telling you to put the wrong piece in the wrong place. It came with all the appropriate pieces exept it was short about 1/2 of the nails to put the back on. And some of the pieces aren't labeled at all. It took my husband and I 3 1/2 hours to put this together, and we put a crib together in 30 minutes and a dresser in 1 hour. He's good at this kind of stuff. I am 23 weeks pregnant, so i haven't had the chance to use it yet. In the end, it is what I wanted and it feels sturdy enough to last a long while, but for the trouble it took putting it together, I wish it was a little bit cheaper. By the way I paired this with the Graco Charleston crib in white and the "Your zone ZZZ place to be 5 drawer chest" in white and it all looks great together in our nursery!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
amwall18
Millersburg, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Budget friendly
5/6/2016

Customer review by hawkins252

3.0 stars 5/6/2016 by hawkins252
by hawkins252

You get what you pay for. I read reviews before purchasing so like many before me I knew what we were getting into and decided to take a chance because of the price. With 2 men that should consider assembling a dresser an easy task still took approximately 4 hours. This dresser consist of a lot of thin particle board for the backing and also the bottom of the dresser drawers. We used liquid nail to reinforce the drawers, or else I could see these not holding up well after much use. It did come with all the parts. Lots and lots of parts. Tools used: hammer and screw driver. We also used liquid nail as mentioned above. There was no visible damage to the dresser upon arrival. Shipped the exact date estimated. Completed assembly is pretty. If I were to have spent much more on this I would have returned due to lack of quality however, after taxes it was less than $300 and I did shop other dressers of better quality, solid wood, and we would have spent much more. I haven't used it yet, just getting nursery ready! I think it will do the job and maybe outlast our expectations with gentle care. I was unable to upload photos for some unknown reason...

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hawkins252
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I like it!!
12/31/2015

Customer review by Amber

4.0 stars 12/31/2015 by Amber
by Amber

We read all the reviews before purchasing it so we knew what we were getting in to. Like other, my husband was ready to kill someone by the time he finally got it together. It really doesn't make sense for it to be that difficult. However we really really liked it after it was done. We were missing a piece like many of the reviews mentioned but the customer service team for South Shore was outstanding. Called in, no wait, spoke to someone with great English, no issues at all and the part send out right away. Received email confirmation within the hour! If you can get past the difficult assembly....its definitely worth it for the price!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Amber
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
broken parts twice
4/12/2013

Customer review by Lolasmom12

2.0 stars 4/12/2013 by Lolasmom12
by Lolasmom12

When we opened the package for the dresser the legs were broken off. We called and they shipped out new parts quickly. When we received them the legs were broken again. The customer service was great but the product was not so great. Also the drawers and cabinet have a gap from the top of the drawer/cabinet to the dresser which kind of drives me crazy, since it looks like the drawers/cabinet are open.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lolasmom12
Chicago, Il
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Looks nice in photos, but in reality....
11/2/2014

Customer review by Thatbad

2.0 stars 11/2/2014 by Thatbad
by Thatbad
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I ordered and received the changing table faster than I expected. The box was EXTREMELY heavy, something which I couldn't carry myself and my not so strong wife wasn't very helpful. Opened the box, took everything out, and noticed the top of the table was cracked on the edge. A call to South Shore customer service was pleasant and quick, within a few days, had the replacement top, in perfect condition. So far so sorta good. And then I started to put it together. Not complicated, but a LOT of little pieces. I'm a pro at IKEA building, and have purchased many things from there. I wouldn't call the quality of IKEA top notch, but it's not bad by any means. The quality of this changing table on the other hand? Terrible. It oozes "cheap" in every way, shape or form. I keep trying to convince myself to trust this flimsy piece of furniture to hold my baby, but am having a hard time grasping it. I just may get rid of it and get something better...that's how disappointed I am with the quality of this changing table. Lesson learned, the next time I try to save money and buy a piece of furniture without seeing it in person.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Thatbad
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Product!
2/5/2010

Customer review by Raegen

5.0 stars 2/5/2010 by Raegen
by Raegen

I didn't expect much from this product, as with any other cheaper furniture things tend not to be very good quality, however, it's very different with this changing table. The quality is great, the drawers are spacious and slide very nicely (I used for clothing and other items, the door w/ shelves is great for diapers and other miscellaneous (I put baskets on the shelves to hold them), and the extra space at the top is great to hold wipes, lotion, and etc. The only bad thing about it is that the assembly is very difficult...my husband is in construction, had all the tools, and it still took us 4.5 hours. After it's been completed though, you should be very satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Raegen
Waterloo, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
3/16/2008

Customer review by JuneMommy2Be

5.0 stars 3/16/2008 by JuneMommy2Be
by JuneMommy2Be

Although this took a few hours for my husband and I to put together, we love it! It is great quality for the price. It seems very sturdy and our drawers and door line up almost perfectly. The drawers also slide in and out very smoothly. We can't wait to use this for our baby boy. My husband's only complaint was that they did not pre-drill some holes that should have been pre-drilled. He just had to do it himself.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JuneMommy2Be
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very solid, but a few draw backs
4/13/2016

Customer review by oldtelephoneman

4.0 stars 4/13/2016 by oldtelephoneman
by oldtelephoneman

Once I put it together the unit is very solid and doesn't wobble at all. I love the storage and the ease of the sliders on the drawers and shelves. Drawbacks? Nothing was broken but as I put it together I noticed that 3 of my pieces had marks that looks like they came from the factory. At first I thought it may have been from my assembling it but I don't have anything in my house to make these marks, nor did I let any of the prices bang around. The second draw back is that it took forever for it to be put together! But I know that comment is in different reviews as well. The customer service of the manufacturer was very helpful and prompt about getting the information needed to replace the dented materials.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
oldtelephoneman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fits needs
11/10/2014

Customer review by SPort87

4.0 stars 11/10/2014 by SPort87
by SPort87

This changing table/dresser serves its' purpose. It takes two people to put it together and also to get it through the door of your house. It's heavy! Make sure you put it together in the room where it will be residing. You will need a hammer, screw driver, and a square driver to put it together. A few nails were missing in the box, but we had extras at our house so it wasn't a big deal. This product has A LOT of steps. It took us about 6 hours to put together (we did it over 4 days). It's worth all the steps though. We love it!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SPort87
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Difficult!!!
8/19/2009

Customer review by JolieH

3.0 stars 8/19/2009 by JolieH
by JolieH

The changing table is beautiful and very sturdy!! It's very solid, and very nice quality for an RTA. The only problem is that the directions on how to put it together are very, very confusing, and I had to constantly go back and check the hardware to make sure I had the right thing. I would have liked it better if they would have had something where you match up the screws and things to picture that shows the actual size. Also, one of the screws had a head that my husband has never seen. We had to go through all of my dad's tools (which are quite a few) to find something that even fit into the top. I would recommend it because of how sturdy and beautiful it is, but I would also warn anybody that buys it to be prepared to spend about 6 hours (literally) putting it together.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JolieH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Adorable & sturdy
5/19/2015

Customer review by Baby

4.0 stars 5/19/2015 by Baby
by Baby

This changing table and dresser combo is sturdy and adorable! Very happy with the purchase. A few things to note... It does require quite a bit of time for assembly, and requires a very specific tool (which we just so happened to have). Very satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Baby
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
cheap, cheap, cheap
6/7/2013

Customer review by nwamomma

2.0 stars 6/7/2013 by nwamomma
by nwamomma

This took for-EVER to put together and now that we've been using it for only 5 months, the door has come off twice and the middle drawer wont stay on it's tracks! I wish we would have just paid a little more for a quality piece. Ugg. Regret this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nwamomma
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
decent for the price
2/6/2008

Customer review by ATLmomma

3.0 stars 2/6/2008 by ATLmomma
by ATLmomma

For the price, this is a decent dresser/changing station combo. Assembly was time consuming and when it initially arrived, an entire bag of parts was missing - which delayed our assembly by about 1 week. Definitely not a piece we will keep for a long period of time - but we figured as much given the price point. In a few places, the paint was chipped, revealing the particle board beneath. And the drawers don't line up perfectly but we're probably the only ones studying hard enough to notice. Bottome line: if you're looking for an inexpensive piece to compliment your nursery, this is a good option. Just don't expect it to look perfect and don't expect it to last for years.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ATLmomma
atlanta, ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Terrible delivery service
10/23/2015

Customer review by Joanne

1.0 stars 10/23/2015 by Joanne
by Joanne

As other reviewers have mentioned, the table comes in a million pieces and takes hours to construct. We were prepared for that. But the issue we had was the top piece (which we didn't realize until very late in the assembly process) was damaged. Walmart customer service was helpful in sending a replacement, however, the replacement was in even worst condition. I think what is happening the box is so heavy that the delivery company tosses it and ends up damaging the top piece (which is the largest piece in box). Knowing this, I would have avoided all the headaches with constantly calling Walmart and being disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Joanne
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great and what I expected!
5/19/2010

Customer review by Saraann6

5.0 stars 5/19/2010 by Saraann6
by Saraann6

My husband just put this dresser/changing table together this weekend and I have to say so far it's meeting our expectations. It did take him awhile (around 4.5 hours) and has a TON of parts, but it is well worth it. The dresser is sturdy and I am impressed with the quality for the money. There was one TINY little nick in the top part of the changing attachment, but nothing we can't live with. I see this dresser being a good investment because the changing attachment will come off for later use in our child's room.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Saraann6
Boise, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
1-20 of 76 total reviews
1-20 of 76 reviews