Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.4out of 5 stars
3.4 out of 5 | 90 reviews
5 stars
27
4 stars
23
3 stars
16
2 stars
11
1 stars
13
Sort by: 
1-20 of 88 reviews
1-20 of 88 reviews
Low quality and takes forever to put together.
12/26/2012
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I would not recommend this piece of furniture to anyone. I did research for a white dresser/changing table combo that would fit in our small apartment. We are Ikea lovers and have been very happy with everything I have purchased from there, so we are well acquainted with putting furniture together. This took us over 5 hours to put together and once we were 3 hours in, began discovering many nicks in the paint, but were too far along to call it quits. In the end, it will do it's job, but the drawers have gaps around them and the drawer glides are made out of plastic. This quality doesn't even compare to Ikea's, but we couldn't find anything there that was the right size for us. Also, we've purchased other furniture from Walmart (our bedroom set is the from the Canopy collection: http://www.walmart.com/ip/Canopy-6-Drawer-Dresser-Chestnut-Finish/15184188) and that is great quality.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Overpriced for what you get, even with a low cost-
3/11/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this dresser two years ago and for the price I knew I was not getting top quality, but I thought it would be an item to last at least this long. Initially after putting it together, there was a big ding in it and we still kept it after all the time it took to put together. Since that time, it has significantly gone downhill. The paint has already worn down on all of the edges and the side door repeatedly comes off due to use (we use it for diapers and pajamas). I wish we had taken it back and spent a little more for much better quality- but still for $300 at the time, we should of had better quality. I am very disappointed in the product and in Walmart for carrying such a low quality product. The amount of time we have spent on this item reattching the door and trying to touch up the edges was not worth it and it still looks cheap. The removable top does not matter, because with the very little space of the drawers and the overall low quality, your child will not be able to grow with this product. Cons- Drawers are tiny and not deep at all Cheap paint- comes off easily and quickly Cheap Door- If you actually plan to use this, it will not last. We use without the door now and nice baskets instead after trying to reattach MULTIPLE times and ways It takes a while to put together- not worth the time Your child will not be able to grow with it due to the above Positive- The side shelves pull out Free shipping to store
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Just like pucture
2/5/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I bought this for my daughter and son in law. Their baby is due in April. They don't live nearby so I had it shipped to them. It arrived in record time! Not even a whole week. They said nothing was preassembled. It wasn't difficult to put together.... just time consuming. Took them about 3 hours. Very happy with finished product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
South Shore Cotton Candy Changing Table
8/4/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The table was damaged in several areas. I believe the handling of this item is very poor in their warehouse and therefore become damage. So sad since it's a very nice item.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Comes in a Million Pieces!
3/27/2009
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was so excited to receive this product. I couldnt wait to put it together! I had done SO MUCH research on changing tables and was very confident when choosing this particular one. When it came I was a litte concerned with the shape of the box...it was a little flat. I didnt realize how many pieces it would come in. It took my husband and I close to 8 hours of putting together all the pieces. The directions are sometimes unclear. Definately put it together on a carpet or blanket of some kind, as I had some issues when standing it up after it was complete and noticed some dings. All in all, i think it will be a good product, however, had I known the time it would take to put together, i would not have purchased. It definately takes 2 people and I didnt feel very helpful being 7.5 months pregnant and getting up and down constantly. It says no power tools but i wouldnt even bother with it unless you use an electric screwdriver!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good but a pain
3/25/2012
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Searched long and hard for a changing table and finally decided on this one becuase it converts to a dresser after you take the changing table top off. And the color is a pure white like I wanted. After getting it put together it is good, but the process was madenning. The instructions are very vague and even sometimes incorrect, telling you to put the wrong piece in the wrong place. It came with all the appropriate pieces exept it was short about 1/2 of the nails to put the back on. And some of the pieces aren't labeled at all. It took my husband and I 3 1/2 hours to put this together, and we put a crib together in 30 minutes and a dresser in 1 hour. He's good at this kind of stuff. I am 23 weeks pregnant, so i haven't had the chance to use it yet. In the end, it is what I wanted and it feels sturdy enough to last a long while, but for the trouble it took putting it together, I wish it was a little bit cheaper. By the way I paired this with the Graco Charleston crib in white and the "Your zone ZZZ place to be 5 drawer chest" in white and it all looks great together in our nursery!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Read reviews before buying
3/10/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My husband wanted me to write a review on it and put: "Don't buy it". If you don't have more than 5 hours to put together a piece of furniture don't buy it. I don't really understand why is it rated with 4 or 5 stars, if it is so complicated to put it all together, and you need to put pieces on a carpet so they don't get damaged. The only good thing about it, is that South Shore has amazing customer services reps, that answers to your questions quick, and replace parts that come damage soon. It took us about 3 weeks to put everything together, about 8 hours total to assemble it, One of the pieces came broken, eventhough it was shipped fast, we had to wait 3 days to get it. More pieces could come pre assembled so steps are reduced. There are 42 steps. -Sometimes you have to screw the furniture and it does not have a previuos hole, so you are not sure if you are screwing it correctly. -Steps 27 and 28 are unclear, and we still can't get the door straight. We don't understand the drawings on both instructions Spanish translations are not well written. In the other hand you don't want to return the product for all the time you have invested on it, and you don't want to un assemble it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
broken parts twice
4/12/2013
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
When we opened the package for the dresser the legs were broken off. We called and they shipped out new parts quickly. When we received them the legs were broken again. The customer service was great but the product was not so great. Also the drawers and cabinet have a gap from the top of the drawer/cabinet to the dresser which kind of drives me crazy, since it looks like the drawers/cabinet are open.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Looks nice in photos, but in reality....
11/2/2014
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I ordered and received the changing table faster than I expected. The box was EXTREMELY heavy, something which I couldn't carry myself and my not so strong wife wasn't very helpful. Opened the box, took everything out, and noticed the top of the table was cracked on the edge. A call to South Shore customer service was pleasant and quick, within a few days, had the replacement top, in perfect condition. So far so sorta good. And then I started to put it together. Not complicated, but a LOT of little pieces. I'm a pro at IKEA building, and have purchased many things from there. I wouldn't call the quality of IKEA top notch, but it's not bad by any means. The quality of this changing table on the other hand? Terrible. It oozes "cheap" in every way, shape or form. I keep trying to convince myself to trust this flimsy piece of furniture to hold my baby, but am having a hard time grasping it. I just may get rid of it and get something better...that's how disappointed I am with the quality of this changing table. Lesson learned, the next time I try to save money and buy a piece of furniture without seeing it in person.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
WHAT A NIGHTMARE
7/17/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is the worst piece of furniture I have ever bought. Save yourself the headache and buy another brand or pay the extra hundred bucks to get it out together professionally. The inside drawers are made of cheap cardboard so unsure if it will even hold my stuff. I wish I could throw it out the window.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Product!
2/5/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I didn't expect much from this product, as with any other cheaper furniture things tend not to be very good quality, however, it's very different with this changing table. The quality is great, the drawers are spacious and slide very nicely (I used for clothing and other items, the door w/ shelves is great for diapers and other miscellaneous (I put baskets on the shelves to hold them), and the extra space at the top is great to hold wipes, lotion, and etc. The only bad thing about it is that the assembly is very difficult...my husband is in construction, had all the tools, and it still took us 4.5 hours. After it's been completed though, you should be very satisfied.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
3/16/2008
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Although this took a few hours for my husband and I to put together, we love it! It is great quality for the price. It seems very sturdy and our drawers and door line up almost perfectly. The drawers also slide in and out very smoothly. We can't wait to use this for our baby boy. My husband's only complaint was that they did not pre-drill some holes that should have been pre-drilled. He just had to do it himself.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I like it!!
12/31/2015
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We read all the reviews before purchasing it so we knew what we were getting in to. Like other, my husband was ready to kill someone by the time he finally got it together. It really doesn't make sense for it to be that difficult. However we really really liked it after it was done. We were missing a piece like many of the reviews mentioned but the customer service team for South Shore was outstanding. Called in, no wait, spoke to someone with great English, no issues at all and the part send out right away. Received email confirmation within the hour! If you can get past the difficult assembly....its definitely worth it for the price!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Difficult!!!
8/19/2009
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The changing table is beautiful and very sturdy!! It's very solid, and very nice quality for an RTA. The only problem is that the directions on how to put it together are very, very confusing, and I had to constantly go back and check the hardware to make sure I had the right thing. I would have liked it better if they would have had something where you match up the screws and things to picture that shows the actual size. Also, one of the screws had a head that my husband has never seen. We had to go through all of my dad's tools (which are quite a few) to find something that even fit into the top. I would recommend it because of how sturdy and beautiful it is, but I would also warn anybody that buys it to be prepared to spend about 6 hours (literally) putting it together.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Fits needs
11/10/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This changing table/dresser serves its' purpose. It takes two people to put it together and also to get it through the door of your house. It's heavy! Make sure you put it together in the room where it will be residing. You will need a hammer, screw driver, and a square driver to put it together. A few nails were missing in the box, but we had extras at our house so it wasn't a big deal. This product has A LOT of steps. It took us about 6 hours to put together (we did it over 4 days). It's worth all the steps though. We love it!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
We love it
10/3/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Very happy with this changer. We love it. It took us a while to put together (about 4 hrs), but not as bad as other reviewers said. Be careful not to slam and bang pieces together, they do tend to dent somewhat easily.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Adorable & sturdy
5/19/2015
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This changing table and dresser combo is sturdy and adorable! Very happy with the purchase. A few things to note... It does require quite a bit of time for assembly, and requires a very specific tool (which we just so happened to have). Very satisfied.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
cheap, cheap, cheap
6/7/2013
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This took for-EVER to put together and now that we've been using it for only 5 months, the door has come off twice and the middle drawer wont stay on it's tracks! I wish we would have just paid a little more for a quality piece. Ugg. Regret this purchase.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Terrible delivery service
10/23/2015
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
As other reviewers have mentioned, the table comes in a million pieces and takes hours to construct. We were prepared for that. But the issue we had was the top piece (which we didn't realize until very late in the assembly process) was damaged. Walmart customer service was helpful in sending a replacement, however, the replacement was in even worst condition. I think what is happening the box is so heavy that the delivery company tosses it and ends up damaging the top piece (which is the largest piece in box). Knowing this, I would have avoided all the headaches with constantly calling Walmart and being disappointed.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
decent for the price
2/6/2008
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
For the price, this is a decent dresser/changing station combo. Assembly was time consuming and when it initially arrived, an entire bag of parts was missing - which delayed our assembly by about 1 week. Definitely not a piece we will keep for a long period of time - but we figured as much given the price point. In a few places, the paint was chipped, revealing the particle board beneath. And the drawers don't line up perfectly but we're probably the only ones studying hard enough to notice. Bottome line: if you're looking for an inexpensive piece to compliment your nursery, this is a good option. Just don't expect it to look perfect and don't expect it to last for years.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641756, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-