Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 157 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

157 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

157 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
80
4 stars
54
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 stars
11
1-20 of 146 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 146 total reviews
1-20 of 146 reviews
Huge Disappointment
12/28/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 12/28/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I was so eager to get my new treadmill home and assembled so I can work out at home and lose all of my baby weight while my husband is deployed. The assembly went fine, my husband and I were able to put it together in about an hour. While tightning the walking belt is where we ran into trouble. The directions state to contunue tightening the belt 1/4 of a turn until it is properly tightened. We could not get the belt to run smoothly while I was walking on it. So my husband kept turning the rear roller adjustment bolts like the directions said and the right side sheared off!!! The rear roller bracket broke! Of course it's the weekend and the customer service line is closed until Monday. I'm crushed because my husband leaves this next weekend and I'm stuck with an assembled, non-working $500 treadmill. I should have went to a place that refurbishes actual gym equipment.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Newport News VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Good bang for the buck
10/19/2009

Customer review by korsondo

5.0 stars 10/19/2009 by korsondo
by korsondo

I was a bit apprehensive about buying this treadmill upon reading the reviews that it was difficult to put together. It was not easy and you definitely need two people to put this thing together. But, the instructions were well laid out, simple to understand. The only downside was that several of the screws I needed were missing in the box. I just went to Home Depot and got what I needed. The Gold Gym treadmill is a dream! I had an old Weslo that had served me well. But, it was woefully outdated. This new Gold Gym treadmill has an output for an Ipod or MP3 player, a fan that generates more breeze than I expected. The operation is very quiet. That surprised me since my old treadmill was so noisy. It has a very attractive blue screen where you can see how fast you are going, distance, different workout programs you can choose from or just go manually. Overall, a well built treadmill that will provide years of great service if properly cared for. I am very pleased with it thus far after a month of operation.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
korsondo
Mobile, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
NICE!!
3/20/2008

Customer review by volsunga

5.0 stars 3/20/2008 by volsunga
by volsunga

Product was easily assembled. instructions easy to read and follow. The workout this product gives is unbelievable. more than i expected!!

Was this review helpful? (46) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
volsunga
warroad, mn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Lovin' this!!!!
1/10/2010

Customer review by runninrn

5.0 stars 1/10/2010 by runninrn
by runninrn

Santa bought me my treadmill this year, to replace the one I wore out after 20+ years of faithful service. I researched treadmills online and knew precisely what I wanted and how much I, umm Santa, should have to spend. This product works great, gives exactly what it offered, and was the best value for the money spent. I've used it every day since I got it and haven't repeated workouts yet. I love the pre-programmed workouts (and the fact that I can manually override when necessary) and the manual operation is so easy!!! Just push a button and the change is made. Wonderful!! My teenage son and I put it together in just over an hour with no problems whatsoever. Reviews showed some people had difficulty with missing screws or mismatched holes (not mine), and some satisfaction issues with speaker volumes or fan efficiency (I have not found problems with either of these). I'm looking forward to decades of use with this treadmill. Thanks again, Santa!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
runninrn
Millington, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Worked well until...
3/31/2010

Customer review by madhts

3.0 stars 3/31/2010 by madhts
by madhts

This treadmill was great for a few weeks. Now it will only operate at one speed, the slowest, and none of the controls will work, save for the fan. I e-mailed customer service. A very considerate rep e-mailed me back, wanted to know where it was stored. I naively sent back a lot of info, in the hopes that this would lead to a diagnoses of the problem. In no way was I asking for warranty service, but among the things I honestly mentioned was the fact that it was used in a garage, one in which the temperature routinely in the winter is about 15 or so degrees warmer than the outside. The next e-mail I received informed me that I had voided the warranty, since the treadmill was used in a garage, that the treadmill was to be used in a temperature-contolled environment. Yes, I had failed to read this in the manual, and no, on the Walmart site it is not mentioned that there are limitations on where the treadmill can be used. I now am faced with an additional expense of getting the treadmill fixed. I doubt I would have bought a treadmill if I had known that it couldn't be used in our garage, as I didn't want to take up space in a bedroom. I'll get over it, but I'm not pleased.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
madhts
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Happy with treadmill
7/22/2009

Customer review by dmm76

4.0 stars 7/22/2009 by dmm76
by dmm76

The treadmill was easy to put together, it took me about 3 hours. I've only used it for 2 weeks now so it's too soon to tell if there will be any problems. When I jog/run it squeeks but I'm not too concerned about that. The fan is useless, you can barely feel the air! I love the workout selections and the incline. I like that it has speakers for music. Seems like a pretty sturdy treadmill and worth the price I paid. Make sure you read the manual and get the correct adapter to plug it in. It was difficult to find one with all the specifications they said to get but I think they want you to buy the "gold's gym" brand. I bought one similar at my local hardware store. I would recommend this treadmill.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dmm76
Buffalo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
good treadmill
11/16/2008

Customer review by animalsheltervolunteer

5.0 stars 11/16/2008 by animalsheltervolunteer
by animalsheltervolunteer

Easy to assemble. Easy to use. We are still learning all we can do with this treadmill.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
animalsheltervolunteer
Atkinson, Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
All-Around Great, Even After 3 Months
7/4/2008

Customer review by CelestialStarburst

5.0 stars 7/4/2008 by CelestialStarburst
by CelestialStarburst

Just a few months ago I found myself looking at this very page, skimming through all of the reviews. I have to say that I am honestly very pleased with this treadmill. After wanting one for several years, my husband and I decided on this one. A bit more expensive than the cheaper brands, but still cost-efficient for us. And with quite a few of the bells and whistles that some of the higher-end treadmills have too. Well worth the money. Things I love about this treadmill are: *Ability to plug in your mp3 player - - although you do not have a volume control on the actual treadmill, the volume is controlled by your mp3 player. Turn up the volume on your mp3 unit, and you're set. If it's still too low, if you have iTunes, right-click on the individual song that is too soft, and check the volume there. More times than not, the volume is set to low--jack it up to 100% more, and that should do it. I've ran myself ragged on this treadmill and still have been able to hear the music just fine. *Built-In Fan: It may not look like it will help much, but trust me when I say that both my husband and I were pleasantly surprised with this feature. It really does help quite a bit with helping cool down as you're working out, especially since there is both a Low setting and a High setting. *Being able to set my weight on the treadmill so that I can see how many calories I've burned. This is helpful considering my husband and I both use this, knowing that we each burn calories at different rates. *Quick Speed changes: Being able to simply press a particular numbered button to go that speed in an instant is nice. If you choose to go gradually, you can also use the arrow buttons to change the speed in 0.1 increments. Sometimes that gets to be a little time-consuming, so the ability to use the numbers for the speed is very helpful. (The incline also works in this same manner) *Easy to Read Display: The display has a wealth of information including time elapsed, speed, burned calories, and distance. The distance is shown in two ways. At all times, you are also shown what looks to be a quarter-mile racetrack, and it shows you where you would be if you'd be on one. **I have used this treadmill about 2-4 times per week every week for the past 3+ months. I work out on it mostly by racewalking, but with bursts of running lasting 1-2 minutes in length in between. The longest time period I've used it was for 1 hour and 40 minutes, and it ran great. My husband usually runs on it, and has had no problems. The only thing that was a slight bummer was that once you hit 99 minutes and 59 seconds, the treadmill shuts off because the display will not reflect 100 minutes. But I haven't worked out for longer for quite some time, so it's not a huge deal. ***Overall, I am recommending this treadmill to everyone I know who wants to purchase one.

Was this review helpful? (24) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CelestialStarburst
Cedar Rapids, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Pretty good product (so far)
1/21/2009

Customer review by RunnerInFL

4.0 stars 1/21/2009 by RunnerInFL
by RunnerInFL

I've had the treadmill for about two weeks now. It is a pretty good product for the price. Pros: 1) It is fairly easy assemble/set up for one person. You need two to carry it to where you are going to set it up. 2) It does what a treadmill is suppose to do. It is consistent and smooth and not too noisy when running. 3) The fan is a nice feature and helps keep you cooler. Cons: 1) Watch what type of flooring you set the machine on. I set it on a tiled floor and the belt has thrown off a good deal of oil on the floor directly underneath the belt. 2) The belt is noisy. After about 10-15 minutes, the best sounds like it is slapping the bottom as it goes around. Not slipping...slapping. Checked the tension on the belt and it seems fine and the belt is centered on the rollers. My size, 6'4" 199 lbs, may be pushing the product to its limit though. Time will tell. 3) As others have already stated, the speakers cannot be heard well with the MP3 player plugged in, but I didn't expect them to be loud to begin with.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RunnerInFL
Panama City, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Seeing Results
3/15/2008

Customer review by NPToddlerMom

5.0 stars 3/15/2008 by NPToddlerMom
by NPToddlerMom

I am LOVING! this treadmill. I've been using it almost every day. This is my first "home" equipment and the convenience is well worth it. Especially being a mom to a toddler. The features are AMAZING and what you get for the money!!! Wow, this is actually nicer than the Rec Center's equipment that I used.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NPToddlerMom
North Platte,NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not bad
5/29/2009

Customer review by ilangrl26

4.0 stars 5/29/2009 by ilangrl26
by ilangrl26

I like the feel of the treadmill. The belt is very well cushioned to give a smooth walk/run. The fan is not very powerful but a nice feature to have. Assemble was time consuming but the instructions were easy to follow. All in all a good buy for the buck.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ilangrl26
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Does the job for me
3/4/2009

Customer review by Herky

5.0 stars 3/4/2009 by Herky
by Herky

Bought the treadmill for Xmas 08. Had no problems with the assembly. Takes 2 people for part of the time bacause of the weight of the motor & belt unit. Other than that, just follow the instructions. After using it for about 6 weeks (30 minutes every other day), it started to squeek. After talking to the support center, and rejecting their offer of a service contract and $30 lubrication kit, I reviewed the assembly manual. I "assumed" that the belt would be properly adjusted from the factory. Wrong. The books says I should be able to lift the belt, in the center, between 2 & 3 inches. This belt was so tight It would only lift about 1/2 inch. I loosened the belt tension (2 adjusting screws) so it would lift 2 3/4 inches and what do you know, the squeek went away. The only thing I do not like, except it is not a big deal, is that the horizontal bar you grip on the head, is too far forward. If I grip this bar I either have to lean forward slightly or fully extend my arms to avoid bumping the motor housing with my feet when I walk. So, I clamped a home made bar to the 2 arms that stick out on either side, and grip that. Makes it easier for me at least. Try it, you'll like it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Herky
Prescott AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Not Impressed
1/11/2010

Customer review by Hawkeye94

1.0 stars 1/11/2010 by Hawkeye94
by Hawkeye94

I got this treadmill home and it was missing the back portion of the heart rate grips, and also the speed was calorbrated incorrectly. If I would hit the 4 MPH button the belt would go 4 MPH but the screen would read as 6.4 MPH, so if you where wanting to go a certain distance and see how long it would take all the readings would be off. I took the hood off the motor like the booklet said and tried to get the magnet and the reader as close as possible but that never helped with the speed reading. If you are going to spend this kind of money I would go for one that is of higher quality, also when running on the belt the "cushion deck" looked like it was going to snap in half more than it looked like it was giving under weight and the weight of the person running on it was 210 lbs.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hawkeye94
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
Good and Bad
3/29/2010

Customer review by FrugalShopper72

3.0 stars 3/29/2010 by FrugalShopper72
by FrugalShopper72

I'm beside myself on how to rate this product. So I chose middle ground. Shipping was great. Assembly took about an hour. However, when I did my first run on it, it stuttered a lot and I nearly found myself flying over the front of it on a few instances. But for my wife it seems to work fine. I workout regularly and am in good shape, so it appears that this machine doesn't support the weight of an average adult male. I'm investigating to see if this can be adjusted and will update my review should I find anything.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FrugalShopper72
Pittsburg, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Gold's Gym Treadmill 550
4/29/2008

Customer review by FitnessForever

5.0 stars 4/29/2008 by FitnessForever
by FitnessForever

Well, I shopped around and nearly collapsed looking at the prices of treadmills at Dicks and other specialty stores. Bottom end - too cheap. Average cost - $1000 and up - way too expensive. Found this Gold's Gym model on the Wal-Mart website and researched it. Now, I couldn't see it in the store cuz it was only an online site-to-store order item. WOW! Talk about value packed, decent warrantee, great reviews. It also has a built-in audio jack/speakers for MP3, Ipod, Zune, etc. I ordered it and picked it up locally. I've used it 3-4 times in the 2 weeks I've had it (part of a larger fitness program I do). My daughters also use it. Not a single complaint. I put it together myself in about 2 hours (taking my time). I'm pretty finicky about quality, but I try to balance frugality with value and quality. This is it. No doubt. Buy it and have fun - but USE it. Calories don't disappear on their own!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FitnessForever
Dayton area, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
great product
2/10/2010

Customer review by luvvegas

4.0 stars 2/10/2010 by luvvegas
by luvvegas

This is a great product for the money. It did take a couple hours to assemble. All part were included, even had a few extra nuts/bolts. I had to adjust the belt- it was running a little to the left, but the instructions on how to do it were very clear and easy. The fan works great. I plug my ipod in and I feel the speakers work great. If you run at higher speeds, it tends to be a little loud and can drown out the speakers though. If you go into your itunes you can adjust the volume to accomodate. Overall very happy with the product, would recommend to anyone. In fact, my parents purchased the product after I had it a couple weeks. They had an older treadmill that was on its last leg. They say the difference between this and their last treadmill is amazing.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
luvvegas
kc, mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wimpy!
5/17/2009

Customer review by MamaKiwi

3.0 stars 5/17/2009 by MamaKiwi
by MamaKiwi

We bought this product online via site to store. We picked it up and brought it home ourselves and were careful in handling. When we put it together 3 parts were broken (one plastic and two metal!). The company sent replacement parts, but after putting it together with the replacement parts it still didn't work. Finally, after talking to the company we were able to get further instructions (Yes, we read the manual first) on how to get it going. Now that it works it is still sort of jerky while walking on it. Neither my husband or I are large people, but the motor seems to have trouble handling the weight of a person on it. I am nervous to try running on it. It is disappointing because when you buy something (particularly at this price) you expect it to come out of the box working and be able to live up to the standards advertised.

Was this review helpful? (2) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MamaKiwi
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wow!
2/5/2010

Customer review by RunningChick13

3.0 stars 2/5/2010 by RunningChick13
by RunningChick13

I was always convinced that buying a home treadmill was wasting perfectly good money. But this treadmill is such a good quality for the cost. It's easy to use, doesn't take up much space, is relatively quiet, and operates well. That is, once you get it put together, which was not as easy as I had hoped. A couple of screws were missing from the package, which I didn't notice until the crucial moment when I needed them. I suggest checking ALL the hardware and reading ALL the directions BEFORE starting the assembly. I have only two complaints about the way that it works: the incline does not adjust to a flat zero percent, and the MP3 speakers are not great. Happy running!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RunningChick13
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
gold gym 550 treadmill
7/5/2009

Customer review by midwestfan

4.0 stars 7/5/2009 by midwestfan
by midwestfan

If you dont have big bucks to spend, then the 550 for the price is excellent. A little over 500 dollars you get alot. I have used the product for over five months with few complaints. Keep in mind if you are a hardcore runner, this treadmill is not for you. The average jog or fast walk, you cant go wrong here. A few complaints. A bit noisy at times, speakers are not that loud, not meant for fast running. Two months in LCD backlight flickers at times. Thats really about all, I have put over 300 miles on it with few complaints. For the money spent it is a good investment, only made better with walmart's two year extended warranty I purchased.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
midwestfan
Indianapolis IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Wonderful Product
12/8/2009

Customer review by Lovemyhub

4.0 stars 12/8/2009 by Lovemyhub
by Lovemyhub

I love this treadmill! I am planning to train for a marathon and this has all the program settings that I would need to assist in doing that. It was fairly easy to put together. It is the perfect size for what I wanted it for. I would recommend this treadmill or brand of treadmill to anyone! LOVE IT!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lovemyhub
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 146 total reviews
1-20 of 146 reviews