Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 234 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

234 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

234 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
162
4 stars
53
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 stars
10
1-20 of 212 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 212 total reviews
1-20 of 212 reviews
Very nice treadmill
3/12/2008

Customer review by KimberlyS

5.0 stars 3/12/2008 by KimberlyS
by KimberlyS

I was having issues finding the 600 in stock so I went to buy the 650 knowing that I am close to 300lbs but it says it has a weight capacity of 275. When we got there the box said it had a weight capacity of 350 which made me very happy. For the money this is an excellent treadmill. It is huge, great for my very tall, long legged husband and wide so it is great for me. It seems to work perfectly. It works well with my husbands and my heavy weights. Both of us are over 270. The fan has a high and low setting. The ipod hook up is included so we were able to hook up everything from an am/fm radio to a ms zune and a shaker mp3 player. It just uses the earphone plug and includes 2 sets of hardware and mp3 plugins. You control the volume from your mp3 player. You definately need two people to put it together and it took about an hour or slightly more to assemble. I have been using it for the last three days and I absolutely love it. It feels like a high quality product, very sturdy and well made. I feel like it was worth more than I paid for it. It feels like a high quality gym treadmill. Very easy to fold up however a bit heavy so maybe an elderly person or small person might struggle with the weight of it. Better to leave it down. It has a nice display and there are so many options from manual use to programs you can do plus the cross trainer bars are fun to use but quickly bring your heart rate up so I only do them for a bit. I can feel the cross trainer bars working my sides, belly and back. I also love the fact that it tells you everything from how far you have gone, minutes walked/ran, miles gone, calories burned, and heart rate. The side arms are strong and have a nice soft feel to them and they are pleasant to hold on to if need be. It does have an acrylic book, mag holder above the display. I wish it was larger and didnt cover the fan area but in general the design is good. Be aware this thing is very large. This thing is professional grade. A fantastic purchase! A+++

Was this review helpful? (54) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KimberlyS
Virginia Beach
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Bang For Your Buck
12/26/2007

Customer review by MOHunter

5.0 stars 12/26/2007 by MOHunter
by MOHunter

This treadmill has more "Bang for the Buck" than any treadmill out there. The features on this model are awesome. Several pre-programed workouts, built-in heart rate monitor, Adjustable resistance upper body arms, MP3 plug in with speakers even a fan to cool you. The machine is very heavy, feels sturdy. I assembled it in about 2 hours by myself although you really need two people for assembly. The deck flips up to save space too. Comes with a 25 yr warranty on the motor and Lifetime warranty on the frame. I am very satisfied with the purchase.

Was this review helpful? (45) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MOHunter
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Buy
11/23/2009

Customer review by Soliasi

5.0 stars 11/23/2009 by Soliasi
by Soliasi

When we were in the market for a treadmill, don't ask me why but we didn't start our window shopping at Walmart. We went to EVERY exercise and fitness store within a 30 mile radius to try and find the best deal. Lo-and-behold, .5 miles away was this puppy just waiting for us. We couldn't believe the price, for the features that came with it (especially the powerful motor) no one else could touch it! Hands down this has been the best investment into our health that we have made. The assembly process was more involved than expected, it required two very able people to carry the bulk of the machine into the home from the car (it comes in a rather large and akward box, be sure to have a big...BIG trunk). After assembly it folds up and rolls nicely on the built in wheels. My wife uses the machine everyday for 2 hours M - F. I use the machine on the weekends for 2 hours total. Combined, this thing is operating every day of the week. It is one solid trooper! Don't be fooled, this is not as high of caliber as your local membership-only gyms. However, for a home gym, this is a fine peice of machinery. It is quiet, compact if need be, and budget friendly. I would absolutely recommend this to anyone that wants to add a treadmill to their home fitness collection.

Was this review helpful? (25) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Soliasi
Salt Lake City, Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
D.O.A....
4/28/2009

Customer review by Number1WalmartShopper2009

1.0 stars 4/28/2009 by Number1WalmartShopper2009
by Number1WalmartShopper2009

This product was non working. The display comes on, but the belt does not move. After calling customer service it was determined that the controller board was bad. In order to fix the product I would have to purchase a new board and pay for shipping. However, on the box and in the manual it states for 1 year the product is covered for parts and labor. When I told this to the customer service representative she stated the only way to override the fees is to purchase an extended warranty. This is rediculous and this treadmill is going back to Walmart... Also, this product is promoted and warrantied through Icon Health and Fitness. On the Better Business Bureaus' website this company's rating is an 'F', with a huge number of various complaints received. I hope this helps and if anyone does purchase this treadmill I wish them better luck than I had...

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Number1WalmartShopper2009
Mesa, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
GREAT product
1/28/2008

Customer review by Getinshapegirl

5.0 stars 1/28/2008 by Getinshapegirl
by Getinshapegirl

My husband and I have both had gym memberships in the past, three kids later, we have to work out at the mercy of our children, work and life in general! We purchased the tread mill after the New Year, we both LOVE it! It is smooth, easy to set up, and is a great work out! The fan actually has enough power to keep you cool, the arm work out is amazing...we couldn't be happier...stores great in upright mode as well!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Getinshapegirl
Ankeny, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great machine for the price!
1/28/2008

Customer review by Reluctant

5.0 stars 1/28/2008 by Reluctant
by Reluctant

I have to say that I was a little reluctant to make this purchase after one of the reviews was very negative. Boy am I glad I bought it anyway! This machine is heavy, sturdy, and has features that other treadmills don't have, and if they do, cost a lot more than this one. The length and width of the belt was the first thing that I liked about this machine. Then the fact that it has a fan and input for my ipod was even more impressive. I really like the machine. We took advantage of the Site-to-Store shipping method and that went smoothly, too. It took my husband and me about 1-1/2 hours to put together. Not bad. I totally recommend this treadmill!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Reluctant
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Icon Service: Lack of It...
2/2/2009

Customer review by RocketsFan

1.0 stars 2/2/2009 by RocketsFan
by RocketsFan

Picked it up from WalMart using Site 2 Store. This box is huge. I estimate 7 foot. It is very heavy as well around 200lbs. My problem is that I was given a defective part. The panel could not mount on the right leg. Anyways, I called Icon Fitness (Gold's Gym is just a TM used by Icon). Was on hold for 45 minutes in my multiple call attempts. They wanted to charge me $6 for shipping the part. I balked at that, and they said they will give me a 1 time waiver on that. Then she leveled the bad news that the part was not available. She advised me that I should wait till next week and call again to see if the part is available. I am so frustrated with the lack of professionalism from Icon that I want to just return the machine. The unfortunate thing is that Icon makes all the common brands: Gold's Gym, NordicTrak, ProForm, and Welso. So if you want a treadmill you are stuck with them. The product looks solid, but the service would actually kill the deal for me.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RocketsFan
Queens, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Poor Customer Service
5/8/2008

Customer review by exinva

3.0 stars 5/8/2008 by exinva
by exinva

Don't recommend this treadmill. Liked it when we first got it but after about 60 days, the belt started slowing down or stopping, following the directions to help with this problem but it didn't work. The customer service is the worst ever, the number on the book is for another company and the website forwards you to a retail outlet to buy the treadmill you are having problems with. Tried for four days to contact someone at their customer service, finally got a person and was told that they were having technical difficulties to call back in about three (3) hours MT time. I just took the thing back to the store. Not worth the hassle or money if it doesn't work.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
exinva
VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
NOT WORTH IT
12/26/2007

Customer review by JJBB

1.0 stars 12/26/2007 by JJBB
by JJBB

We purchased this treadmill & after 2 hours of putting it together- the belt did not move! We called the toll free help line & they told us the "controller" was probably burnt out!!!NO help from Gold's Gym- We are returning this treadmill & will be purchasing a different brand! This is a big machine & not easy to pack up & return- we are VERY DISAPPOINTED!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JJBB
Spring Hill, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
DO NOT BUY
4/30/2009

Customer review by MSWalker

1.0 stars 4/30/2009 by MSWalker
by MSWalker

Do Not Buy A Gold's Gym Treadmill !!! I purchased a Crosswalk 650 from Wal-Mart in 2008. Within about 7 months it was inoperable (belt was apparently skipping). They sent a tech out who basically told me he didn't know how to fix it. The warranty people at Icon Fitness (the company you contact for these issues), after I called several times trying to solve the problem, told me there was nothing more they could do because there was no other technician in the area to fix it. I found a technician myself who had worked for Icon before, and they came out twice and finally got it running again. It was about a three months from the time it broke to the time it was fixed. It ran about 4 months after that and now I am without a treadmill again. The same thing is happening and the extended warranty people said that Icon couldn't find any of the notes from the first time it broke. So, we are starting over again with this talking to warranty reps, sending of parts, and trying to find time to be at home for the tech. I strongly recommend that buyers not purchase anything serviced by Icon fitness, Gold's Gym products included. I am out a lot of money and I have a useless piece of very heavy equipment in my home.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MSWalker
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
very good
4/11/2008

Customer review by sweetydoll4

5.0 stars 4/11/2008 by sweetydoll4
by sweetydoll4

I have owned this treadmill for alittle over a month , my kids and my husband use it also. Its very good a sturdy , i didnt try to set it up i had it shiped site to store and the store put it together for us all we had to do is go pick it up , so it was ready to use by the time we got it home. I can tell you this it will give you a very good work out and for heavy people this is really good its reliable and you feel like your walking on air tell your legs start to hurt hahah, but for this price its a very good treadmill. This is my 1st treadmill so i cant really compare it to others but so far its been good for my whole family.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sweetydoll4
princeton indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Treadmill (If You Get Good Parts)
4/15/2009

Customer review by RyanP

3.0 stars 4/15/2009 by RyanP
by RyanP

Now that the treadmill is put together and working (3 weeks after bringing it home) it seems to be a good product. Just hope that you don't have to call their customer service center to get anything fixed! I just expected that a $600 treadmill would at least come with quality parts that were manufactured correctly so that it could be assembled when I took it out of the box (I would expect some things to not fit quite right on my old, cheap $200 treadmill, but I never had any problems with it). In short, the right upright that goes from the platform up to the control panel had the holes drilled incorrectly and put everything in a bind when trying to install it. I tried calling the 800 number in the manual and kept getting a message "We are currently experiencing high call volumes, please try back later" and then it would hang up on me. Frustrated after several attempts, I instead went to the website listed in the manual that was for product registration (which is not the manufacturer's website, but a website that sells workout equipment). I found a phone number on their website and called them and explained that I didn't buy the treadmill from them, but I did register it with them since they were listed in the product manual. While I was explaining this, right in the middle of my sentence I hear music being played as I was being transferred (no "hold on and I'll transfer you to customer service" or any other warning). When I the new person picks up it is someone from ICON fitness customer service (so this is an ICON treadmill re-branded for Gold's Gym). I explain the problem and then the first thing the customer service rep asks me is if I have purchased the extended protection plan for this treadmill. I said no, and she went on to tell me that they are currently doing a quality check in there warehouse on the part I'm having a problem with, and it will be two weeks before the will be able to ship one out. I'm thinking, "great, a $600 non-working waste of space sitting here partially assembled for two weeks". Then she proceeds to tell me that she will graciously waive the $9.99 handling fee for the new part and that if I had the purchased the extended protection plan that I wouldn't have to pay the handling fee on any future warranty repairs or service call fees for a technician. At this point I can't believe that someone would even thing of charging me for a warranty part because the manufacturer can't make a quality product and put it in the box. I paid $600 for something that they screwed up and they would normally charge me to fix their problem, plus I have to wait 2 weeks? That's just not acceptable. I did finally receive the part, and it did fit (although it had machining burs and metal filings all over it like they didn't clean it out). If you get a good one that works right out of the box, great! If you get one that doesn't, you may be better off exchanging it for another one instead of trying to get the original one fixed.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RyanP
Wamego, KS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Issues with Treadmill
2/19/2008

Customer review by ExerciseKat

2.0 stars 2/19/2008 by ExerciseKat
by ExerciseKat

My husband and I bought this treadmill a couple of days ago. Our local Walmart store had a sale on it for $400.00. We read all the wonderful reviews here and were excited about this product. Here are our observations: NEGATIVES: 1) No volume control. The audible beeps for the controls are very loud and cannot be adjusted. 2) The audio speakers for the MP3 plug are very poor quality. They sound hollow. 3) BodyPulse Heart Rate Monitor sensor/s is not accurate. The readings vary depending on how you hold the sensor bars. 4) The front panel design is poor and the built-in magazine book rack/holder blocks the built-in cooling fan. Large maganizes/books do not fit. 5) Motor/treadmill belt occasionally slips/hesitates even at a moderate 2-3 mph. 6) CrossWalk Upper-Body Arms are not adjustable so a shorter/taller person may have difficulty with range of motion. 7) Cannot customize work-out programs. 8) Very, very heavy box. I still have bruises when my husband and I were struggling to go up the stairs. We even took it out of the box and carries all the lose parts separately. POSITIVES: 1) Strong/heavy piece of equipment. Comfortably supports my 225lb husband at a fast jog. It feels like our local health club treadmill (LifeFitness). 2) The ClearView Backlit LCD Display is simply awesome. It is easy to read and very bright. 3) Great price! 4) Fast and responsive speed, incline controls.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ExerciseKat
Washington D.C.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
it beeps alot
7/20/2008

Customer review by kellydbdb

1.0 stars 7/20/2008 by kellydbdb
by kellydbdb

the treadmill starts to beep very loudly when in use and won't stop till it feels like it and you can't turn down the volume to the beeps. i thought i was getting the best for the money but boy was i wrong, i would not buy this one again if i had to do over again.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kellydbdb
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Most frustrating purchase from Wal-Mart
6/4/2008

Customer review by IslandGirl37

1.0 stars 6/4/2008 by IslandGirl37
by IslandGirl37

Upon arrival of product the bag of assembly hardware was not included. I called Gold Gym customer service and they mailed me the assembly hardware via USPS which took over a week and upon arrival was missing 5 pertinent bolts. So, I had to call again and request the missing bolts. The plastic console had large white stress points that looked like something very heavy was sitting on top of the product boxed. It has been almost 4 weeks since I ordered the product and still cannot use it because all of necessary hardware has not arrived and the console is damaged. I do not recommend purchasing this product to anyone !!!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IslandGirl37
Norman, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Useful Info
1/26/2008

Customer review by DonZ

5.0 stars 1/26/2008 by DonZ
by DonZ

First, unless you are very experienced with putting things together, don't even try. Spend the cash to have it done by a pro. Oh and don't forget to buy additional warranty. It is worth it. I bought the product to help get me in shape and am satisfied with my purchase. This model has plenty of toots and whistles but not over priced.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DonZ
Ontario, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love this treadmill
4/1/2008

Customer review by aprilbride2003

5.0 stars 4/1/2008 by aprilbride2003
by aprilbride2003

The treadmill was very easy to setup, only took about an hour for my husband and I to assemble. Another hour later (after reading how to use) we were up and running, literally! Only have had unit a few days but it is very easy to use even for my 6' 6" husband.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aprilbride2003
Lytle, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
A GREAT Product!
6/14/2008

Customer review by ClassyDiva4U

5.0 stars 6/14/2008 by ClassyDiva4U
by ClassyDiva4U

This is a GREAT product for the cost! Professional quality without the cost! Built to last. A couple of tips: It is EXTREMELY heavy! (A sign of its quality & durability) It is worth the extra $$ to pay for delivery & set-up! Before opening/unpacking the box, make sure that you have the treadmill positioned in the location where it will be used. It is extremely difficult to move once set up. The programmed work-outs are great!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ClassyDiva4U
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great value
2/4/2008

Customer review by tsquare8

5.0 stars 2/4/2008 by tsquare8
by tsquare8

While I have purchased several fitness products in the past and have been satisfied with the value/ price ratio, the new treadmill is the best value I have ever purchased. The quality is outstanding. The features are what you expect in a professional fitness center model. But the price is way below the $2,000 or $3,000 you could spend on a comparable product. I look forward to my daily workout.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tsquare8
Arnold, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A Great All-Around Home Treadmill
12/8/2009

Customer review by AZNative1957

5.0 stars 12/8/2009 by AZNative1957
by AZNative1957

I’ve had this treadmill for almost 2 months and I walk/run about 4 miles on it every day. I love it. While it’s not quite as quiet as I’d like, it’s not bad. It’s an exceptional home treadmill. The incline and speed shift very smoothly and the arm poles come in really handy – I’m glad I got a treadmill with that feature, I use the poles off and on while walking and can really feel the difference. The only drawbacks I’ve noticed so far are that first of all, while the fan is a real plus, it would be nice if there was a way to adjust it: it hits too high up. If I were over 6’ tall (I’m not, I’m more like 5’6”) and ran as far forward as possible I would probably get some air. As it is it goes way over my head, so I just turn my ceiling fan on full blast instead. I like that the cup holders are nice and deep, I can keep my water bottle in one and my cell phone and tv remote in the other without fear of anything falling out. The display is nice and bright (actually, a way to dim that down a bit might be nice) and easy to understand. Overall, the treadmill is easy to figure out the first time you use it. I do wish Walmart would offer ship-to-store with this treadmill like they do many others. The shipping weight (199 lbs.) is the same as some of the ship-to-store treadmills, so I don’t understand why they don’t offer that option. It was a pain to have to pay the extra shipping to have it delivered to my house but in the end I’m glad I made the extra investment. I don’t think I’d have been happy with a lesser model, especially since I intend to use it daily. I’m an average sized, middle-aged woman who is not very mechanically inclined, yet I assembled the treadmill myself in a little less than 2 hours – except for the very last step where you have to flip the treadmill over to tighten the bolts. No way was I going to get this baby to “flip over” on my own. I called my son, he came to the rescue and I was off and running in no time. I’ve been in the market for a treadmill for a very long time and I have to say I’m very happy with this purchase. I would recommend the Gold’s Gym 650 to anyone who wants a quality home treadmill. Oh, one last thing, assemble it where you’re going to use it – while it’s got wheels, you won’t be scooting it all around your house. It does fold up easily though, so you can get it out of the way while still keeping it handy.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AZNative1957
Tucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 212 total reviews
1-20 of 212 reviews