Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 234 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

234 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

234 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
162
4 stars
53
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 stars
10
1-20 of 212 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 212 total reviews
1-20 of 212 reviews
Great Treadmill (If You Get Good Parts)
4/15/2009

Customer review by RyanP

3.0 stars 4/15/2009 by RyanP
by RyanP

Now that the treadmill is put together and working (3 weeks after bringing it home) it seems to be a good product. Just hope that you don't have to call their customer service center to get anything fixed! I just expected that a $600 treadmill would at least come with quality parts that were manufactured correctly so that it could be assembled when I took it out of the box (I would expect some things to not fit quite right on my old, cheap $200 treadmill, but I never had any problems with it). In short, the right upright that goes from the platform up to the control panel had the holes drilled incorrectly and put everything in a bind when trying to install it. I tried calling the 800 number in the manual and kept getting a message "We are currently experiencing high call volumes, please try back later" and then it would hang up on me. Frustrated after several attempts, I instead went to the website listed in the manual that was for product registration (which is not the manufacturer's website, but a website that sells workout equipment). I found a phone number on their website and called them and explained that I didn't buy the treadmill from them, but I did register it with them since they were listed in the product manual. While I was explaining this, right in the middle of my sentence I hear music being played as I was being transferred (no "hold on and I'll transfer you to customer service" or any other warning). When I the new person picks up it is someone from ICON fitness customer service (so this is an ICON treadmill re-branded for Gold's Gym). I explain the problem and then the first thing the customer service rep asks me is if I have purchased the extended protection plan for this treadmill. I said no, and she went on to tell me that they are currently doing a quality check in there warehouse on the part I'm having a problem with, and it will be two weeks before the will be able to ship one out. I'm thinking, "great, a $600 non-working waste of space sitting here partially assembled for two weeks". Then she proceeds to tell me that she will graciously waive the $9.99 handling fee for the new part and that if I had the purchased the extended protection plan that I wouldn't have to pay the handling fee on any future warranty repairs or service call fees for a technician. At this point I can't believe that someone would even thing of charging me for a warranty part because the manufacturer can't make a quality product and put it in the box. I paid $600 for something that they screwed up and they would normally charge me to fix their problem, plus I have to wait 2 weeks? That's just not acceptable. I did finally receive the part, and it did fit (although it had machining burs and metal filings all over it like they didn't clean it out). If you get a good one that works right out of the box, great! If you get one that doesn't, you may be better off exchanging it for another one instead of trying to get the original one fixed.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RyanP
Wamego, KS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
treadmill
3/6/2009

Customer review by swftjwl

5.0 stars 3/6/2009 by swftjwl
by swftjwl

The audio coaching is fabulous as a motivator. The treadmill is smooth, cushioned and offers great variety. I am thrilled with my purchase. I looked at price of this unit at other places and online and this is by far the best deal. If you want a total body workout, this piece of equipment is a great choice and will help keep you from getting bored.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
swftjwl
Southern Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
EXCELLENT WE LOVE IT!!!
5/10/2008

Customer review by Danae6666

5.0 stars 5/10/2008 by Danae6666
by Danae6666

This is the best thing we could have got... Worth the price all the way. My son is 15 and has been using it everyday also. weight limit is 350 pounds, Easy to put together... took my dad and son about 2 hours too do.. I would buy this one over all of them on the Walmart site...

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Danae6666
KEYSTONE HEIGHTS FLORIDA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Icon Service: Lack of It...
2/2/2009

Customer review by RocketsFan

1.0 stars 2/2/2009 by RocketsFan
by RocketsFan

Picked it up from WalMart using Site 2 Store. This box is huge. I estimate 7 foot. It is very heavy as well around 200lbs. My problem is that I was given a defective part. The panel could not mount on the right leg. Anyways, I called Icon Fitness (Gold's Gym is just a TM used by Icon). Was on hold for 45 minutes in my multiple call attempts. They wanted to charge me $6 for shipping the part. I balked at that, and they said they will give me a 1 time waiver on that. Then she leveled the bad news that the part was not available. She advised me that I should wait till next week and call again to see if the part is available. I am so frustrated with the lack of professionalism from Icon that I want to just return the machine. The unfortunate thing is that Icon makes all the common brands: Gold's Gym, NordicTrak, ProForm, and Welso. So if you want a treadmill you are stuck with them. The product looks solid, but the service would actually kill the deal for me.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RocketsFan
Queens, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
D.O.A....
4/28/2009

Customer review by Number1WalmartShopper2009

1.0 stars 4/28/2009 by Number1WalmartShopper2009
by Number1WalmartShopper2009

This product was non working. The display comes on, but the belt does not move. After calling customer service it was determined that the controller board was bad. In order to fix the product I would have to purchase a new board and pay for shipping. However, on the box and in the manual it states for 1 year the product is covered for parts and labor. When I told this to the customer service representative she stated the only way to override the fees is to purchase an extended warranty. This is rediculous and this treadmill is going back to Walmart... Also, this product is promoted and warrantied through Icon Health and Fitness. On the Better Business Bureaus' website this company's rating is an 'F', with a huge number of various complaints received. I hope this helps and if anyone does purchase this treadmill I wish them better luck than I had...

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Number1WalmartShopper2009
Mesa, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Excellent Buy
11/23/2009

Customer review by Soliasi

5.0 stars 11/23/2009 by Soliasi
by Soliasi

When we were in the market for a treadmill, don't ask me why but we didn't start our window shopping at Walmart. We went to EVERY exercise and fitness store within a 30 mile radius to try and find the best deal. Lo-and-behold, .5 miles away was this puppy just waiting for us. We couldn't believe the price, for the features that came with it (especially the powerful motor) no one else could touch it! Hands down this has been the best investment into our health that we have made. The assembly process was more involved than expected, it required two very able people to carry the bulk of the machine into the home from the car (it comes in a rather large and akward box, be sure to have a big...BIG trunk). After assembly it folds up and rolls nicely on the built in wheels. My wife uses the machine everyday for 2 hours M - F. I use the machine on the weekends for 2 hours total. Combined, this thing is operating every day of the week. It is one solid trooper! Don't be fooled, this is not as high of caliber as your local membership-only gyms. However, for a home gym, this is a fine peice of machinery. It is quiet, compact if need be, and budget friendly. I would absolutely recommend this to anyone that wants to add a treadmill to their home fitness collection.

Was this review helpful? (25) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Soliasi
Salt Lake City, Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Bang For Your Buck
12/26/2007

Customer review by MOHunter

5.0 stars 12/26/2007 by MOHunter
by MOHunter

This treadmill has more "Bang for the Buck" than any treadmill out there. The features on this model are awesome. Several pre-programed workouts, built-in heart rate monitor, Adjustable resistance upper body arms, MP3 plug in with speakers even a fan to cool you. The machine is very heavy, feels sturdy. I assembled it in about 2 hours by myself although you really need two people for assembly. The deck flips up to save space too. Comes with a 25 yr warranty on the motor and Lifetime warranty on the frame. I am very satisfied with the purchase.

Was this review helpful? (45) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MOHunter
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very nice treadmill
3/12/2008

Customer review by KimberlyS

5.0 stars 3/12/2008 by KimberlyS
by KimberlyS

I was having issues finding the 600 in stock so I went to buy the 650 knowing that I am close to 300lbs but it says it has a weight capacity of 275. When we got there the box said it had a weight capacity of 350 which made me very happy. For the money this is an excellent treadmill. It is huge, great for my very tall, long legged husband and wide so it is great for me. It seems to work perfectly. It works well with my husbands and my heavy weights. Both of us are over 270. The fan has a high and low setting. The ipod hook up is included so we were able to hook up everything from an am/fm radio to a ms zune and a shaker mp3 player. It just uses the earphone plug and includes 2 sets of hardware and mp3 plugins. You control the volume from your mp3 player. You definately need two people to put it together and it took about an hour or slightly more to assemble. I have been using it for the last three days and I absolutely love it. It feels like a high quality product, very sturdy and well made. I feel like it was worth more than I paid for it. It feels like a high quality gym treadmill. Very easy to fold up however a bit heavy so maybe an elderly person or small person might struggle with the weight of it. Better to leave it down. It has a nice display and there are so many options from manual use to programs you can do plus the cross trainer bars are fun to use but quickly bring your heart rate up so I only do them for a bit. I can feel the cross trainer bars working my sides, belly and back. I also love the fact that it tells you everything from how far you have gone, minutes walked/ran, miles gone, calories burned, and heart rate. The side arms are strong and have a nice soft feel to them and they are pleasant to hold on to if need be. It does have an acrylic book, mag holder above the display. I wish it was larger and didnt cover the fan area but in general the design is good. Be aware this thing is very large. This thing is professional grade. A fantastic purchase! A+++

Was this review helpful? (54) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KimberlyS
Virginia Beach
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great machine for the price!
1/28/2008

Customer review by Reluctant

5.0 stars 1/28/2008 by Reluctant
by Reluctant

I have to say that I was a little reluctant to make this purchase after one of the reviews was very negative. Boy am I glad I bought it anyway! This machine is heavy, sturdy, and has features that other treadmills don't have, and if they do, cost a lot more than this one. The length and width of the belt was the first thing that I liked about this machine. Then the fact that it has a fan and input for my ipod was even more impressive. I really like the machine. We took advantage of the Site-to-Store shipping method and that went smoothly, too. It took my husband and me about 1-1/2 hours to put together. Not bad. I totally recommend this treadmill!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Reluctant
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
enough bells, whistles
1/18/2009

Customer review by ratingswatcher

4.0 stars 1/18/2009 by ratingswatcher
by ratingswatcher

I have only used the treadmill a couple of times so far, but really like it and feel it will get a lot of use. Pros: price, incline and speed options, safety feature (magnetic key which disconnects automatically), programs (which I'm not sure I will use but nice to have anyway), fan. Cons: ops manual says use only grounded outlets, and not compatible with GFC, but my old house does not have grounded outlets. Electrician says can't change a single outlet to grounded. My only other option is to use what their manual calls a temporary solution of using an adaptor along with the single-outlet surge protector. Other cons: requires two people to assemble, and if you do not have a second person, you may not get it aligned right; also product is a little noisy (but in fairness I have nothing to compare it to); also manual recommends a very large clearance behind the machine, which is not going to happen in most small rooms... Still, I like and will get a lot of use out of it, and am far from sorry I bought it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ratingswatcher
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Treadmill
4/22/2009

Customer review by DrummerGirl12

5.0 stars 4/22/2009 by DrummerGirl12
by DrummerGirl12

I had been looking for a replacement for my old treadmill when I found this one. I love this treadmill! It has all the bells and whisltes that I need, and more than most at this price. Being able to work your upper body while working your lower body just seemed smart to me. I love the fact that it auto inclines. No more getting off the machine in the middle of a workout. The programmed personal trainer is not annoying, and some of the exercises even take place off of the treadmill. I was suprised by that. It has a fan with two speed and a hookup for audio devices. If you are not able to lift heavy objects you will want to get someone to help get it in your home. The box is not only heavy, but big. My dad and I got it into my house with the help of a dolly and put it on a blanket to slide it across the hardwood floor. It only took about an hour for us to set up, but we have experience at putting things together. The directions however, are not the best I have ever seen.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DrummerGirl12
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GREAT product
1/28/2008

Customer review by Getinshapegirl

5.0 stars 1/28/2008 by Getinshapegirl
by Getinshapegirl

My husband and I have both had gym memberships in the past, three kids later, we have to work out at the mercy of our children, work and life in general! We purchased the tread mill after the New Year, we both LOVE it! It is smooth, easy to set up, and is a great work out! The fan actually has enough power to keep you cool, the arm work out is amazing...we couldn't be happier...stores great in upright mode as well!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Getinshapegirl
Ankeny, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Poor Customer Service
5/8/2008

Customer review by exinva

3.0 stars 5/8/2008 by exinva
by exinva

Don't recommend this treadmill. Liked it when we first got it but after about 60 days, the belt started slowing down or stopping, following the directions to help with this problem but it didn't work. The customer service is the worst ever, the number on the book is for another company and the website forwards you to a retail outlet to buy the treadmill you are having problems with. Tried for four days to contact someone at their customer service, finally got a person and was told that they were having technical difficulties to call back in about three (3) hours MT time. I just took the thing back to the store. Not worth the hassle or money if it doesn't work.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
exinva
VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not a bad product
10/15/2008

Customer review by Deputy8609

5.0 stars 10/15/2008 by Deputy8609
by Deputy8609

I purchased this treadmill around three weeks ago. I needed help getting it from the bed of my truck to the house, but with one other person this was done with no problem. I wouldn't recommend showing up with a small compact car to get this thing home as it is quite large. Once I got it to the basement, I was able to get it put together with minimal problems in around an hour, though I think two people would have made assembly much quicker. As far as the machine goes. I like it. It is just what I was looking for in a treadmill. There are enough preset workouts to keep me occupied and I like the 5K and 10K option for running though I am afraid to run on it too much for fear of burning the motor out. The only thing I don't like about this treadmill is the pulse rate monitor. It has not worked right since day one. But being an avid runner I know how fast I need to be going to have my heart rate where it needs to be for exercise. Overall not a bad product but we will see what happens in the next 6 months to a year.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Deputy8609
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great yet moving from store to home
12/19/2008

Customer review by Tennisdoc1

4.0 stars 12/19/2008 by Tennisdoc1
by Tennisdoc1

I had to deduct 1 star simply due to the bruising to my body from attempting to move it. Its weight of 200 pounds and lack of any male friends at the time. Forced me to unload from the box to my car with help of 2 associates (male) Once home 1 heck of a time getting it to my front door even with the help of my roommate (Female). We struggled mightily even with help of a hand cart due to the folding part of the machine having the greatest weight distribution. After getting up to the front door and knowing 2 flights of stairs in the townhouse. We gave up when I remembered a neighbor home in the day time. With the help of his room mate-these 2 men literally struggled as well but got to the floor. You definitely need 2 people to help with putting it together. I would give a solid 2 hours to get it ready. Finally, after following proper usage i.e.,.. single surge protector being bought. We tried it out and terrific! No problems less the mat slipping to one side . Noise is not bad at all. If I could would rate 4.5 stars.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tennisdoc1
Manassas Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very Impressed
7/6/2008

Customer review by AnHonestShopper

5.0 stars 7/6/2008 by AnHonestShopper
by AnHonestShopper

I had been looking at this treadmill for awhile. I am very impressed with it. The display is beautiful and it is very comfortable while I am walking. You will need at least one other person to help you flip it around during assembly. It took me about 1 1/2 hours to put it together. I highly recommend this product. I also recommend getting the treadmill accessory kit because it has a surge suppressor/protector and the owner's manual states that you need that particular surge suppressor. I looked all around town at sporting good stores and noone else carried them. You are only able to order them through Wal-Mart.com in the accessory kit or the icon company. I feel that Wal-Mart.com will give you more for your money with the kit as opposed to ordering just the suppressor through icon. I recommend ordering them together so you won't have to wait to use your treadmill. Again, I highly recommend this treadmill. Oh yeah, the maximum weight capacity really is 350 pounds instead of 275 pounds and the treadmill is heavy, 200 pounds.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AnHonestShopper
Wichita Falls, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Gold's Gym Maxx 650 User
2/7/2009

Customer review by TheTroubleWithTreadmill

3.0 stars 2/7/2009 by TheTroubleWithTreadmill
by TheTroubleWithTreadmill

I picked up this treadmill on a Tuesday and by that Friday the speed control had lost control. The speed was going up and down and finally it would not run at all. I called support and they walked me through some trouble shooting steps. The conclusion was that the controller board was bad. They sent me a new controller board and instructions. I installed the board and recalibrated the unit. At this time, some two weeks after picking it up it is working fine. I'm keeping my fingers crossed. The treadmill when working, works quite well. I think with a product like this that has electronics and moving parts you can expect some issues. It might be more trouble than its worth for some that may not be able to do your own repair work. To have to do that repair work just three or four days after bringing it home is a bit much. Now that the treadmill is working again, I’m happy with it. I just hope it continues to work. Both my wife and I use it daily and are getting in some good workouts. Would I recommend this treadmill? That’s hard to say. Give me 6 months and maybe I would. Good luck!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheTroubleWithTreadmill
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Bang for the Buck!
1/1/2009

Customer review by salukistyle

4.0 stars 1/1/2009 by salukistyle
by salukistyle

This treadmill is a great product for the price. If you are an average runner/walker (a few miles a day) and want to get into or back into shape then you cannot go wrong. If you are an avid, marathon type runner then you may want to look into more expensive models. But, for what I use it for I cannot be any more pleased. I try to run 3-5 miles 3-5 days a week and this is perfect. How it holds up over thime run is yet to be seen. I was worried that since it wasn't a high-end model that it would be cheaply built. But it is extremely sturdy! I've run on pro-gym type models before and it compares nicely. The speakers are a little weak, but I wasn't expecting Bose quality sound from them either. The fan is a nice option as well. The workout programs are a little weak which is my only complaint. They don't automatically adjust from the beginning of the work out to your level. You can change each sequence manually, but is a little tedious when your in the middle of your work out. Over-all, great product and would buy another one.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
salukistyle
Southern, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
DO NOT BUY
4/30/2009

Customer review by MSWalker

1.0 stars 4/30/2009 by MSWalker
by MSWalker

Do Not Buy A Gold's Gym Treadmill !!! I purchased a Crosswalk 650 from Wal-Mart in 2008. Within about 7 months it was inoperable (belt was apparently skipping). They sent a tech out who basically told me he didn't know how to fix it. The warranty people at Icon Fitness (the company you contact for these issues), after I called several times trying to solve the problem, told me there was nothing more they could do because there was no other technician in the area to fix it. I found a technician myself who had worked for Icon before, and they came out twice and finally got it running again. It was about a three months from the time it broke to the time it was fixed. It ran about 4 months after that and now I am without a treadmill again. The same thing is happening and the extended warranty people said that Icon couldn't find any of the notes from the first time it broke. So, we are starting over again with this talking to warranty reps, sending of parts, and trying to find time to be at home for the tech. I strongly recommend that buyers not purchase anything serviced by Icon fitness, Gold's Gym products included. I am out a lot of money and I have a useless piece of very heavy equipment in my home.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MSWalker
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great machine
1/30/2010

Customer review by Informedconsume

4.0 stars 1/30/2010 by Informedconsume
by Informedconsume

I have owned this treadmill for two weeks now. It has great preprogramed exercises. I've only used three of them. I had a good workout with all three. I didn't know much about treadmills when I started shopping for one. I read online reviews about every treadmill I was interested in. I just didn't read the reviews provided by the carrier of the treadmill I also googled more information in order to make the right choice for me. After a lot of what I considered to be good research I decided that the Gold's Gym Maxx Crosswalk 650 Treadmill was the best choice for me and it was within my price range. I can't tell you if it was difficult to assemble because I purchased it site to store and Walmart did the assembly for me. I just picked it up, brought it home, and started using it. You can't go wrong with this machine. I like it and I know you will too.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Informedconsume
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 212 total reviews
1-20 of 212 reviews