Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 270 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

270 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

270 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
116
4 stars
69
3 stars
28
2 stars
20
1 stars
37
1-20 of 257 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 257 total reviews
1-20 of 257 reviews
a good value
2/6/2009

Customer review by auctioncardriver

4.0 stars 2/6/2009 by auctioncardriver
by auctioncardriver

bike was in perfect shape out of the box. i assembled it alone in about an hour. it works great-no noise-no broken parts. monitor screen is a little difficult to read. forget the batteries-wal-mart carries a 600ma ac to dc converter with multiple tips- one fits perfectly. set to 6 volts positive tip and you're in business! price is $12.98!

Was this review helpful? (183) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
auctioncardriver
wheeling wv
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Met my expectation
12/7/2009

Customer review by Soloeagle1

5.0 stars 12/7/2009 by Soloeagle1
by Soloeagle1

Determined to have a home gym, I went with a well-known name, (Gold's) in fitness equipment. I read all the reviews and made my decision. Went to the store and bought it on BlackFriday; no it wasn't on sale, but hey, I am determined and the price was okay anyway. The bike stands up to it's maker's reputation (I am 5/3 and 300# and need to lose weight for health and this is a wonderful start. My son put it together in no time flat. I am pleased with the heart monitor display as well. Make sure you place a lamp by your bike for enough light to see your display easier. Overall, I have no complaints. Doesn't squeak and the seat is good and large enough for me. I would recommend it to anyone. By the way, I got on the Gold's elliptical machine ($297) in the store and used it for a few mintues and I must say, that is next on my purchase! It didn't wobble or anything, very sturdy, just like the bike. Worth the buy.

Was this review helpful? (39) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Soloeagle1
Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A mixed review
2/8/2008

Customer review by CrossfireLTD

3.0 stars 2/8/2008 by CrossfireLTD
by CrossfireLTD

Ordered this product for health reasons, and in the beginning was very happy when received. Assembly was easy, very good instructions and all nuts, bolts and parts were there. After assembly is when the headache started, unfortunately there is no way of checking the bike until it is completely assembled. Once the bike was assembled it did not work, all the electronics were working but the resistance could not be set. Upon removing the housing I found the components to be quality, but the factory preassmbling was was extremely poor. The "tension/spring" assembly that controls the magnet for resistant was not set properly and would cause the magnent to slam onto the metal resistance wheel. All the screw tabs that hold the housing together were cracked and ready to break or already broken, and the interior was full of plastic and metal shavings (not good when the main mechanism is magnetic). Being a DIY guy I was able to fix all the issues and the bike now works great. I contacted Icon/Golds Gym customer service and the were very pleasant and cared about the issues and made things right. They sent me new housings to replace the broken ones. All in all its a excercise bike for under $200.00 (I guess the old addage "you get what you pay for" is true). If you do purchase this bike examine and inspect it well before you invest time in assembling it, I hope this review helps other when making thier decision on purchasing this product.

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CrossfireLTD
Richmond, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great piece of equipment for the money
1/22/2008

Customer review by shop07

5.0 stars 1/22/2008 by shop07
by shop07

this bike has all the frills without the high price. assembly was easy and the bike is easy to adjust for different size users.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shop07
dubuque, ia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
so frustrated! (batteries!)
4/26/2009

Customer review by Bacarla

3.0 stars 4/26/2009 by Bacarla
by Bacarla

I received this bike in 4 days after ordering. It looks sturdy and was not hard to put together. I was proud to find such a great deal when these machines normally cost a couple of hundred to a $1000 more. The first time i rode the bike for 10 joyous moments..... then the batteries fell out! and i havent been able to get them back in since. It seems as though the weight of the batteries is too much for the case to hold and now I cant ride my bike without first purchasing a power cord. So, really you dont have an option because the inconvenient upside down location of the battery portion of the bike forces you to buy an adapter due to the fact that it cant handle this many batteries. Sooooo if you are going to order this bike you need to also put into your cart the Jensen Universal Ac Adapter, 500 MAh (set to 6v positive tip).

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bacarla
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
A great value
2/20/2010

Customer review by wriggs423

5.0 stars 2/20/2010 by wriggs423
by wriggs423

My husband and I decided it was time to get moving for our health. We are on our feet all day so we thought this would be the perfect way to get in exercise no excuses because you are sitting and it doesn't hurt your knees. We were right!! It is wonderful and it is very sturdy we are both overweight (250)+ and it supports us both great. Easy to put together only trouble we had was with the pedals we could not get it to screw in it just took a little extra work but overall a great buy!!!

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wriggs423
fort wayne, in
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Best bike I have ever owned.
12/5/2009

Customer review by threewhales

5.0 stars 12/5/2009 by threewhales
by threewhales

Purchased this bike a week ago. I have used it everyday but one. Love this machine. It is so Quiet. It has 8 intensity workouts: 2-20 minutes and 6-30 minute workouts and you will sweat, but you will not be overexhausted on this bike. There are pacing lights on the display so you can be sure that you are getting a good aerobic workout. You can also just choose to ride without the preset workouts. Each lap around the track is 1/4 mile. You can always choose to up or lower the intensity level no matter what workout you are doing. The seat is so comfortable and the ride is so smooth, the workout is over before you know it! The fan is a nice feature that enables you to go longer in comfort. And there is a water bottle holder. The plug for an MP3 player is awesome and makes the bike worth the money. My favorite feature is the small ledge that will hold a book, my DS or my MP3 player. The only con I have for this bike is the display is blue which makes it hard to see. I would recommend this bike to anyone. So much better than a regular stationary bike.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
threewhales
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Comfortable Ride
7/8/2009

Customer review by Squire29

5.0 stars 7/8/2009 by Squire29
by Squire29

I haven't used it yet but it is comfortable to sit in compared to my regular exercise bike which hurts my butt. Cons: only one speaker though it looks like it has two. Barely hear music with my thumb MP3 device all the way up. Adapter not included($24 to get 6VDC 2000mA on sale from manuf) I worry the screws that hold the display are not strong enough. I skinned my knuckle tightening the slide. I think I will drill a hole through it the size of the included allen wrench for leverage. As is doesn't hold tight enough, tech support said to not push the pedals too hard, duh! Pros: price, even $239 seems a good price(I wish I only paid $197 though). I like how the display looks like you're riding on an oval track. It took all of 1.5 hours to assemble using wrenches and hex sockets. To do the bottom seat I had to lay the bike on its side. I sweated more putting it together than riding it probably. I am 300lbs (100 lbs overweight) and it supports me fine. I am 6 ft and I have the slide at No 5 to get so my legs never lock open at the knee. I reccommend you buy it and use it, it's a nice looking and well designed bike.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Squire29
Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Bang For Your Buck
9/13/2009

Customer review by TrainDude

5.0 stars 9/13/2009 by TrainDude
by TrainDude

This bike is a real bargain for what I paid for it. I shopped around and felt this bike had what the real expensive bikes had but at a cost that is reasonable. It think it is well worth the price. It operates super quietly and it's pretty comfortable. The screen has all the info I need and the fan is a bonus........ I have not used the MP3 thing because I don't have the connection for my I Pod. But that's not why I bought the bike. I'll listen to my radio. Set up was real easy, it took about 1/2 an hour and all parts were in good shape. There are a few points that make a minor down side to this bike. They were not a big deal for me, but could annoy others. The battery pack should have come with the bike. Gold's Gym knew batteries don't last long and the design is a bit cheesy. They offered to sell you one in a flyer that was in the kit. I say add a few bucks to the price and include it. I bought one for $ 18.00 and it works like a charm. The red LED is a bit annoying. It shines right in my eyes. I used a tiny piece of blue masking tape to cover the red light only. When its on I can see it, but it's not to bright. My seat did come loose a few times. I scuffed the contact point with sand paper. It seems OK now. I really recommend this for anyone who wants a good bike at a bargain price.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TrainDude
The Jersey Shore
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Save your Money
8/26/2009

Customer review by kycoltsfan

1.0 stars 8/26/2009 by kycoltsfan
by kycoltsfan

Wished I had read all the reviews before purchasing. I have had the same problems as several others with the seat adjustment. As you pedal the seat moves further away and will not stay tightened. After emailing the company I was told a new knob would not do any good just take the knob I have and rough it up with sandpaper to help it "catch" properly. Still will not stay tightened! Seems the company knows this is a problem. Do not waste your money. Is it easy to put together just impossible to use!

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kycoltsfan
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
some good some bad
1/22/2010

Customer review by jas65

3.0 stars 1/22/2010 by jas65
by jas65

the bike was easy to put together, the bike is easy to use, the bike didn't come with batteries, or an ac adapter, i had to order the adapter, took 2 days to get, batteries are hard to put in , they keep falling out, and they don't last long, you can't read the panel it looks like all 8 when you are on the bike, they need to figure out a better way to display the numbers on the panel so you can read it, if you read the other reviews, it's pretty much the same complaint on all of them, so why doesn't the company do anything about it

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jas65
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
As Expected
2/1/2010

Customer review by PapaSchop

4.0 stars 2/1/2010 by PapaSchop
by PapaSchop

After reading all the reviews of the product we did purchase this bike. Many other reviewers explained the pro's and con's very well. We fully agree that the product is excellent for the price but it would have taken pennies to correct the three main faults. The battery pack should be rear loaded as the cover wouldn't even stay on without batteries weighing it down, so we bought the plug adapter when we purchased the bike ($14.88). I still need to tape the battery compartment shut as it easily falls off. The red light indicator is extremely bright even with 3 post it notes covering it up. My wife is only 5'-2" and I am 6' tall so frequent adjustment is necessary. My wife has a very difficult time in trying to adjust the seat and this is due to the bike "sagging" just where the adjustment screw is located. By simply placing a sock under the frame at this location, the bar slides freely. A permanent support at this location would solve that problem. I would have thought that someone in their research and development department would have at least tried this machine out before mass producing as it would have been very obvious on these three flaws in the matter of minutes and all three could have been corrected for probably no additional cost. Seeing that I only needed to use some electrical tape to keep the battery compartment closed (only used electrical tape because it was black to match the compartment), a small piece of tape over the bright red light and a sock to support the frame for adjustments, the pro's far outweigh the con's and we are very pleased with our purchase. It is very quiet and very stable and will give us our much needed exercise while watching our favorite TV shows.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PapaSchop
Bradenton, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love this bike
2/11/2008

Customer review by gettinfit

5.0 stars 2/11/2008 by gettinfit
by gettinfit

I have read the reviews. I had this problem the first time I rode it of it sliding back. You just have to put a little muscle into tightening where you want it. I set mine on line 3 and my son sets it on line 5. I have no problem as long as you get it tight, it stays put. I love this bike cause I don't get back pain when I ride. My daughter in law is going to go buy one cause she likes it so much. Put a little muscle into tightening it where you want it and ride away!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gettinfit
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for it's price, but....
10/6/2010

Customer review by Butlerfamily04330

4.0 stars 10/6/2010 by Butlerfamily04330
by Butlerfamily04330

I bought this bike on WalMart.com using Site-To-Store as it was $10 cheaper then buying at the store directly. The bike was easy to assemble as I put it together with my 6 year old daughter. It took about an hour to assemble. The bike is great, but.... The "sound system" is only 1 single speaker. When you look at the console it looks like it has two speakers. When I orignally connected it to my MP3 I thought that 1 speaker was bad. I called the Company and told them that only the right speaker was working. They aplogized and sent me a new console (a $150 value they told me) for free to replace the one I had. About a week later the new console came it and I installed it. Again only the right speaker worked, so I removed the screws and open up the console. You can see that two speakers could be installed, but it only comes with 1 speaker. So now I have a replacement console it 1 goes bad. The sound quality is very "tinny" so I connect my MP3 to a different sound system . The bike is very study and does not rock or sway which is a plus. Also, remember this is a magnetic resistance bike so when you ride on the higher levels (above 6) the peddling becomes "choppy" as the magnet tries to act as the resistance. Overall it's a nice bike for the money you pay.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Butlerfamily04330
Augusta, Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Not Worth The Investment
1/20/2010

Customer review by SilenyJizda

2.0 stars 1/20/2010 by SilenyJizda
by SilenyJizda

We originally purchased this item with the goal of getting in shape. We both have difficulty with our knees and a recumbent bike was a great choice do to the low impact. After a few months this particular bike, like many others, developed a problem with the main console board that controls the entire bike. After looking online for other reviews we found out that others were having the same exact problems. Unfortunately, the only real solution is to replace the main control panel completely. A replacement part will run you approximately $300 not including shipping. That is over $60 for the cost of a new bike. You would be best served not purchasing this brand as the issue seems to stem form the way the console is manufactured and the circuitry is made. It is our opinion that the only thing Gold Gym about this product is in fact the colored name printed on the side. Presently, it resides in our enclosed screen room collecting dust as it is useless without being able to change the settings.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SilenyJizda
Millersburg, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Exercise opinion for this product
6/1/2009

Customer review by jow0319

5.0 stars 6/1/2009 by jow0319
by jow0319

I ordered this bike and chose the shp to site option. I thought that the value was great and the product is awesome. It is recommended that two people are needed to put the bike together but I was able to do it myself with relative ease. I was disappointed that the cup holder was broken in transit and rather than wait for another one I krazy glued it and its fine. also to put one of the bolts in the neck of the bike to the base its virtually impossible and truly not necessary since the other two are sufficient. I think the bike is really quiet and the presets it comes with are perfect. The fan is a wonderful addition and the seat is sized for many body types. The bike is great for anyone who wants to work out in the comfort of their own home.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jow0319
Milton, DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Not all it's cracked up to be
9/15/2009

Customer review by tschurer

2.0 stars 9/15/2009 by tschurer
by tschurer

I purchased this bike after knee replacement surgery, thinking that it would be beneficial for rehab. I was so disappointed. The bike sits "weird" for me. The seat was too far from the peddles and when adjusted, my knees hit the control panel. For the money, I suppose it's an OK bike, but sadly, mine is going back to the store. I wasn't comfortable to sit on and the only benefit of it was using it as a clothes rack!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tschurer
Wilson, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Gold's Gym Power Spin 230 Recumbent Bike
9/20/2010

Customer review by CMerback

5.0 stars 9/20/2010 by CMerback
by CMerback

I was a little overwhelmed with all the parts once I opened the box. Once I got going, it turned out to be very easy to put together. I only needed a extra hand once. Once on the bike, it was very smooth and quiet. I guess I did a preetty good job of tightening all the bolts and screws. The seat is very comfortable. I love the option of the different programs. Fan works great. I have my IPOD so I haven't tried or going to try the MP3 Player. Some reviews have come back that the cover for the batteries doesn't stay shut. I have not had that problem. I went ahead and purchased the AC adaptor for when my first and last batteries die. The bike has been great and the price was right. Go for it.!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CMerback
Park City, Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
defective
1/22/2010

Customer review by GreatStore10

1.0 stars 1/22/2010 by GreatStore10
by GreatStore10

Unfortunately wheel would start to grind and lockup. returned it the same day. Walmart great store, these things happen.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GreatStore10
Panama City, Fl.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
3/7/2010

Customer review by adreamer68

1.0 stars 3/7/2010 by adreamer68
by adreamer68

very disapointed in this product called for help and it took over a hour and no help will never buy from gold gym again goes though batteries like hot cakes u need a adapter but u have to buy from them plus battiers keep falling out

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
adreamer68
ny
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 257 total reviews
1-20 of 257 reviews