Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 156 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

156 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

156 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
80
4 stars
54
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 stars
11
1-20 of 147 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 147 total reviews
1-20 of 147 reviews
Not a bad product at all..
10/28/2007

Customer review by DelSur

4.0 stars 10/28/2007 by DelSur
by DelSur

I bought the elliptical Gold Gym 510 about a month ago. It wasnt bad to put together at all.. I assembled it in a couple of hours. My wife and I both use it on a daily basis and gives me a very good workout. The different one touch programs (20, 30 and 40 minute workout) are really good. This machine does not have the nice ride that other's might have.. but for the price, you definetely get the workout, no doubt. Also is a pretty compact machine and does not take a lot of room. I did look at the Nordiktrack AudioStrider 600 at Sears, and i love the ride it has.. and this is what i mean about the nicer ride.. it seems is easier to ride with less resistance at level 1.. the 510 seems to require more of your effort.. but hey.. that is part of the work out.. right ? (and the difference is the wheels that cause extra friction) but the norditrack has so many bad reviews i didnt take chances, and at the time it was 800 bucks vs 500. . Now.. weight wise, my wife and I are not big persons.. and i did read reviews that because of that extra effort, if you are a big person, it will take you a while to catch up with the programs and complete them... but no pain.. no gain.. I also read that if you are a big person, it wont last as long.. but since we are not big, i didnt research this any further... In conclusion, I think overall is a good unit, and does what it suppose to do : give you a good workout. I dont think you will be dissapointed.. good luck.!

Was this review helpful? (69) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DelSur
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Machine, Great Workout
3/29/2008

Customer review by beaverbaby

5.0 stars 3/29/2008 by beaverbaby
by beaverbaby

I researched ellipticals before deciding on this one. I was hesistant to spend the money without knowing what kind of machine it would be. I am very satisfied with this elliptical! I am a personal trainer and I would recommend this machine to any of my clients to workout on at home! You get a great workout with it! It's smooth and quiet! I really have enjoyed it. I've used it just about everyday since I bought it! The assembly wasn't all that bad, my husband and I put it together in a little over 2 hours. Everything is nicely labeled for you and the instructions are easy to understand. My only wish would be that the optional power supply cord be included in with the machine. I had to call the customer service number on the manual to order it directly from them, but it did only take a couple of days for it to arrive. Now I don't have to worry about the batteries for the console. Overall, it's a wonderful machine with an awesome workout, I would recommend it to anyone looking for an elliptical for home use that wants to get a good machine for the amount of money!

Was this review helpful? (33) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
beaverbaby
Salisbury, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Feel the burn using this hot product!
2/22/2008

Customer review by hootstuff

5.0 stars 2/22/2008 by hootstuff
by hootstuff

I did a lot of research before making this purchase--I wasn't about to spend a load of cash in this manner if it appeared that one of those cheaper steppers would end up doing just as well. However, after owning my machine for about a month and using it regularly, I have to say I'm impressed! First of all, I will admit it took a couple hours to put together. The small parts (bolts, washers, etc) were extremely organized and labeled. The larger parts can more or less be distinguished from the pictures, but you need to be a careful reader. I wouldn't attempt assembly alone if I were you. Also, when it came time to attach the electric console to the base, I rummaged and found slightly smaller screws because the ones included for it were a bit too long and large in circumference (and I triple checked, they were the intended screws). After proper full assembly, all the parts roll and glide smoothly--no grinding, nothing is loose (although with ANY product, regular maintenance should be kept up to avoid future squeaks, etc). I haven't had to tighten or adjust anything yet and I've used it 4 days a week for 20-30 minutes each. So far so good. You have the option of using a regular programmed workout, a programmed workout with voice recording, or just hop on it and go. The regular programs vary the resistance and have a variety of lengths from which to choose. As you are working, you can adjust the resistance very easily by pressing a button right in front of you, even if it is a pre-programmed workout. I don't use the fan on the console much, but it is right there and easy to adjust should you need it--also there is a cup holder for that water bottle during your hot workout! The voice on the crosstrainer "coach" is a smooth female voice, not a digital-sounding universal voice as I had feared I would be getting. You can adjust the volume of the voice as well--you just need to look in the manual to see what key sequence to use. As you're working out, the console shows you your resistance level and an image that looks like a bar graph to show you when it will change. On the programmed workouts, it measures in minutes and the levels of resistance will have a bar for each minute--the one you're on flashes, then when it's getting ready to change, it beeps to let you know. The display will also rotate calories burned, distance (measured in revolutions), time, and your pace.. the machine lets you know if you need to step a bit faster or slow down to maintain your ideal heart rate as well. I had been uncertain as to whether any of these would be worth it, or really would be quality enough to be useful--after using the product, I believe that it was well worth the money! Anything more expensive will have some bells and whistles that are unnecessary, while this one has just enough features to be more smooth and enjoyable than a regular cheap stepper/elliptical. The resistance adjustment was a big thing for me--I was determined to be able to easily change it in the middle of a workout, and that is definitely easy to do. I quickly felt the burn in parts of my leg that I hadn't worked in a while--I certainly recommend this product to anyone looking for an elliptical machine workout at home!

Was this review helpful? (26) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hootstuff
Saint Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good Crosstrainer, Buy 6V Ac Adapter
1/22/2010

Customer review by WebTechGeek

5.0 stars 1/22/2010 by WebTechGeek
by WebTechGeek

Very good Crosstrainer for the money, under $500. About 4 Hrs to setup, very heavy. You will need two people to carry the box. After it's assembled it's easy to move, it has two wheels in front. Easy to use, comfortable. Batteries: it takes 4 D's. Power supply: you can buy a Universal AC Adapter 6V DC at WalMart, Fry's, K-Mart and RadioShack for about $10. or order one from Gold's Gym for $25.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WebTechGeek
Cyberspace, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Terrible Service. Terrible Machine.
1/28/2010

Customer review by SBSB914

1.0 stars 1/28/2010 by SBSB914
by SBSB914

I bought this machine because of the great reviews I read here on Walmart.com. What a huge mistake. After spending 3 hours assembling the unit I got on it for a "test drive" only to find out that it made a terrible thump and creaked like crazy. Icon Fitness sent out a tech who said it is not fixable and needs to be replaced. Bummer. I called Walmart to have the unit exchanged and the person I spoke with told me that I would have to deassemble the machine, repackage it, have it picked up, I would then get a refund and I would need to re purchase it. There is no way I am going to take this thing apart after spending 3 hours building it. Even if I did, I am sure I would not be able to package it back into the box. I called Icon seeking assistance to deal with their defective product. THE WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE I HAVE EVER HAD!. I was told it is not there policy to help out in the return of defective merchandise. After some back and forth I said fine, can you please cover the cost of installation once I get the replacement unit? No. No was the answer. When I asked for a supervisor I was told, "I'm not going to waste their time because they'll tell you the same thing I just told you. No". So not only will Icon not stand by their faulty product, they will certainly not do what it takes to make the customer happy. Stay away from this and all Icon Home Fitness products.

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SBSB914
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
I absolutely love this elliptical!!
5/8/2009

Customer review by Meg141

5.0 stars 5/8/2009 by Meg141
by Meg141

I purchased this elliptical almost 2 years ago, I didn't want to write a review until the elliptical had some good use. I have to say, I absolutely love this elliptical. I get just as good of a workout on this elliptical then I do on the large commercial ellipticals at the gym, and in the comfort of my own home. Best of all, 2 years later and it is still just as good ( I use this for 30 mins. 5 days a week!). I love it, I'm so happy I found it & I definitely recommend it!!

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Meg141
Phila, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I love this Crosstrainer!!
12/28/2007

Customer review by beckyrf

5.0 stars 12/28/2007 by beckyrf
by beckyrf

I love this crosstrainer, because it has alot of features. It took a while for my husband to put it together, but it was worth it. It was scatched up on one side, but so far it works great. I hope to use it for a long time.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
beckyrf
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Buyer Beware
2/5/2008

Customer review by SoDisapointed

1.0 stars 2/5/2008 by SoDisapointed
by SoDisapointed

Short Summary. Purchased online 1-20-08 (was so excited, couldn't stand the wait); product available at store 1-29-08 (it was a little early - YEA! Couldn't wait to use it). Put about 2 hours into product and had to order first replacement part from Gold's Gym next day (only open 6a-6p MST) The representative was extremely rude too. Recieved 1st replacement part 2-4-08 (2 weeks after original order), Boyfriend continued assembly for about 30 minutes working on the same problems, broke again, more pieces broke. Had to order 19 more replacement parts from Gold's Gym. The GG Representative (a lot nicer and more understanding this time) said most would come in about 7-10 more days, but 1 key piece was out of stock and would no come in until the 3rd week in February; the other key piece would not come until the 4th week of MARCH! Again...I bought this in January and still have yet to use it. EXTREMELY DISAPOINTED! Going to take it all back to store and be done with it. Boyfriend is very handy with assembly, but this product was a nightmare for both of us. Even the frame that holds the Console leaned to the left and was never straight. Really wanted this product, but I am terribly upset about what we have been through and not wasting $500 on something that is subpar. Now, we have to box the junk back up and take BACK to the store. what a waste and pain.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SoDisapointed
Jonesboro, AR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Awesome
5/15/2009

Customer review by TLLOTODAY

5.0 stars 5/15/2009 by TLLOTODAY
by TLLOTODAY

I love this eliptical. I am 40 yrs old and was 30 pounds overweight when I first started using this machine. 5 months later I have lost 25 pounds and feel great! I use the machine 3-5 times a week for 20-30 minutes. You can change the resistance and select from several different pre-programmed workouts. These options really help to mix it up and keep my workouts challenging. I look forward to using it everyday. I had wanted to put it in my finished basement but my husband was too tall to use it with the basement's lower ceiling height. So now it is in the garage. So please measure to be sure you have enough head room before purchasing! Otherwise, I highly reccomend this unit! I did have problems with the delivery and it took them over 2 months to get it to me - but I am sure glad I was patient and persistent - it really has been the best purchase I've made in a long time! Well worth the $$$ and aggravation. My husband was even able to put it together in less than two hours. This unit is very sturdy - there are wheels on the front so you can lift it from the back and move it if you need to. It is not wobbly or squeaky at all. Just be sure to keep it well lubricated and have spare D batteries available because you'll need to change them every 2 months or so.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TLLOTODAY
Boston, Ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Machine
12/10/2007

Customer review by alkysr012

5.0 stars 12/10/2007 by alkysr012
by alkysr012

This machine was easy to put together. I put it together in about 3 hours. After putting the machine together i thought id put it to use. This gives a great workout. I started to work up a sweet within minutes. Does the job for a great price.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
alkysr012
York PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
GREAT PIECE OF GEAR
6/3/2009

Customer review by BIGGDAWG33

5.0 stars 6/3/2009 by BIGGDAWG33
by BIGGDAWG33

Bought this last year, Fathers Day. Wanted to give it some extensive use before writing a review. I am very happy to have bought this elliptical. Two man assembly, nothing too difficult, took little more than an hour. I have been using it 3x per week with no maintenance problems. The workout levels are challenging! I am a retired Marine in pretty good shape and get serious workouts. The only problem I have is with the display being battery operated. If you using the audio commands, fan and MP3 regularly, you will go through some batteries. Other than that, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BIGGDAWG33
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I LOVE THIS MACHINE
3/25/2008

Customer review by HD08

5.0 stars 3/25/2008 by HD08
by HD08

It took me about three months or more of researching different ellipticals for me to finally choose this one. I didn't want to buy a cheap one because I thought it wouldn't be very sturdy and it would be noisy. I read all of the reviews on this one and some of them were great and some of them scared me. I am SO happy with this machine; it did not take long at all to install (about an hour) and it runs great. It is not noisy and it is very sturdy. I recommend this product to anyone who wants to get fit and lose weight easily. I work up a sweat in just 15 minutes of using this machine. It doesn't hurt my joints to use it either. This machine is very addicting when you are working out on it; it is very hard to stop working out. I will never go back to treadmills!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HD08
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
You'll Spend Hours Only to Return
10/2/2008

Customer review by DrEducation

1.0 stars 10/2/2008 by DrEducation
by DrEducation

This product couldn't have come in more pieces if it had been blown up. After spending a few hours assembling the product, I decided to return the product. The part that is hard to see is this product actually runs on rollers underneath the foot rests. When running on this product, it is incredibly noisy. The rollers slightly rise off the track making a loud thumping noise as you run. Also, none of the Gold's Gym products come with a power supply. They make you order it separately. The frustrating part is that this is not stated on the box or on-line.

Was this review helpful? (5) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DrEducation
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Great for me
12/13/2008

Customer review by KansasMarathonGirl

5.0 stars 12/13/2008 by KansasMarathonGirl
by KansasMarathonGirl

I purchased this product after reading several reviews online (walmart.com and several other sites). I wanted a good machine, but didn't want to spend a ton of money. One phrase stands out in my mind and I agree: I wouldn't spend any less than this on an elliptical machine. I'm a marathon runner and I am sidelined with a stress fracture. I've used the elliptical at the gym before when I've had stress fractures, and the no impact running motion is perfect. Right now I don't belong to a gym because I run nearly every day (when I'm not injured), and I have access to a lot of workout equipment and a pool at work, but there is no elliptical machine. The reason I decided to purchase a machine instead of joining a gym for awhile was that all of the gyms in my (small) town have 30 minute time limits on cardio equipment. I'm used to running 15-20 miles on Saturdays, and wanted to be able to stay on the machine for 2-3 hours once a week to maintain my fitness level. I also wanted to get something through a store we had in town (limited selection) b/c the shipping on anything else would be astronomical and I didn't have the means to transport a large machine very far (by the way, we did get the box from the store into my 2-door Honda Civic - not easily, but it can be done). I've only owned this machine for a week, so I can't yet comment on the durability of longevity of it. I have used it every day, for 1 hour most days and 2 hours today. It works great and I'm happy with my purchase! It does make some noise (kind of a banging/clanking when going forward), but it is quiet enough that I can hear my laptop when I watch TV or movies on it while working out. It doesn't go that loud and I cannot hear it while I run on the treadmill. The room where it is in is in the opposite end of the house from the bedrooms, so early morning workouts aren't a problem. But, if you live in an apartment, duplex, or a small house with others I would not recommend getting this machine. I am 5'7" and 128 pounds, and the machine is a perfect fit for me. However, I would not recommend it for anyone who is much taller than me. My boyfriend is 6'3"/210 and tried it out just for fun after he helped me assemble it, and it was much too small for him. The motion and stride of the machine feel natural for me, but it felt very awkward for him. Weight-wise it was okay for him though. It wasn't that hard to assemble. There were many parts and it was time-consuming (around 2 hours), but the instructions lay everything out very well. I am very non-mechanical, and I assembled part of the machine by myself (I could have done the entire thing, but it would have taken me a lot longer!), so if I can do it anyone can. :) I have no complaints about the product at this time. For my situation it's great, but like I said there may be some situations or people that it does not work for. I didn't expect it to be like the $2000+ machines at the gym, but I didn't want to spend $2000 for something I'll mainly use when injured. I will also say that it does give you a good workout. I was running 60 miles a week and racing regularly when I got hurt, so I was in good shape when I started using it, but the advanced workouts are still a challenge and get my heart rate up. The workouts range from 20 min. to 45 min., so although I wish there was a longer workout, I know that most people are not using this machine to simulate a 8-20 mile run. I just use it on manual resistance or do 2 workouts when I use it. If you're buying an elliptical machine, do your research...the internet makes it so easy. Also, ask to try it out. The Wal-Mart associate was a little leery about letting me, but I told him I wasn't going to spend that much without trying it. I tried this machine as well as the others they had on display, and this was by far the smoothest.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KansasMarathonGirl
Pittsburg, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
What I was looking for
7/24/2009

Customer review by Stride2fit

5.0 stars 7/24/2009 by Stride2fit
by Stride2fit

So I did a lot of research before I decided to by this machine. Two months to be exact. After all my reaserch this is the one that kept coming up on top. For the price you cant beat it and it really is the best for this price range! The assebly for this took me about 2 hours which in the end was weel worth it. In other reviews it said to by your own grease so i spent 2 dollars at Walmart to by the lithium grease and lubed it up in ever way an place i could plus the instructions tell you were if you dont know. And i have used it now for 3 weeks and doesnt make a sound! The instructions are so easy to ready and have every part you need to assebly but a screw driver so have that in handy. The machine was a bit wobbly but that is bc it was on a carpet so I did by a matt for it and now doesnt. Be prepared to get a good work out with this, i have been going to a gym for about 4 years now and when i had my first work out with this one it felt like i hadnt worked out at all i started all the way on a resistance of 1 instead of 8. This machine def does everything it should and more then happy with this by! i would recommend it to anyone and it doesnt take up much space at all i have it in my bed room.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Stride2fit
Moorhead, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Big workout
12/17/2007

Customer review by momzof3

5.0 stars 12/17/2007 by momzof3
by momzof3

This machine is a GREAT WORKOUT !! after 4 mins I was feeling it I'm in good shape but this thing really works all your muscles... I'm very happy with this purchase. putting it togetther is probably 1.5 hrs but not bad at all..

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
momzof3
Downriver,Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good Value
4/26/2009

Customer review by LetItRide223

4.0 stars 4/26/2009 by LetItRide223
by LetItRide223

I have been using this machine for about 2 months now. In my opinion it is very well built. I did not have any of the problems putting it together like others have mentioned. It did take me about 2 hours to do it though. After about 2 weeks of using it every day, it started to make noises at the joints. I ended up adding a little bit more grease to all the moving parts...problem solved. The only dislike I have about this machine is that it takes batteries, 4 D sized. I emailed the manufacturer to find out what power cord it uses, but they did not respond to my email. I haven't had to replace them yet. I also use a Body Bugg, and there is a huge discrepancy on the on board calorie counter. For me, I have found that it says I burn about 50% more calories that I actually do.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LetItRide223
Salt Lake, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
Not easy to assemble!
11/5/2008

Customer review by kameleon

4.0 stars 11/5/2008 by kameleon
by kameleon

I have put together a lot of things in my day including exercise equipment. The biggest problem is that not all the axles fit in the holes and required hammering them in. I told myself I will never assemble anything like this again. After the headache of the assembly, the crosstrainer worked very well and my wife was very happy. My advice is to have this pre assembled!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kameleon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
If only it weren't for the noise ...
3/9/2009

Customer review by notthe1foryou

4.0 stars 3/9/2009 by notthe1foryou
by notthe1foryou

As many others, I had did alot of research before deciding on a new machine. I was upgrading from a very old Image elliptical that I thought was doing fine but just wanted something new and a little smaller. After purchasing this Gold's Gym Crosstrainer, I realized that I wasn't getting much of a workout on my old Image machine. I sweat like a pig and my body feels the effects MUCH MORE. I've been working out consistently over the past 2 years but I'm pleasantly pleased with my "upgrade". Now the downfall ... the assembly wasn't nearly as bad as I was thinking it was going to be. Yes, it took me almost 2 hours (taking my sweet time) but I completed it by myself with no problems. My only complaint on this machine so far is that I get a squeaky/plastic (can't think of another way to describe it) when I go forward and use the hand bars. I haven't been able to figure out exactly where this sound is coming from and it's not constant but it's enough to not workout at night when my daughter's sleeping.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
notthe1foryou
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Gold's Gym Crosstrainer Elliptical
1/22/2009

Customer review by LoveUWalmart

4.0 stars 1/22/2009 by LoveUWalmart
by LoveUWalmart

I bought this machine early this new year, and my husband didn't spend too too much assembling it. I love the size of this machine because it's not so bulky as the ones in the gym, so it's perfect for my home garage. All the features are good, espcially the fan - perfect feature. My only question to the others who have had this for a while now, is that do you know how to stop the knocking sound when peddling? Also, I've noticed that your heel has to come off the pedal a bit, and on the big ones at the gym, I have noticed that your heel is completely flat on the pedal. Do you know if this is normal on this elliptical? Any comments would be helpful.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LoveUWalmart
Whittier, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 147 total reviews
1-20 of 147 reviews