Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 45 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

45 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

45 reviews | 3 out of 5

58%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
9
4 stars
15
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
16
1-20 of 43 total reviews
58%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 43 total reviews
1-20 of 43 reviews
Good but you need to grease this...
3/7/2009

Customer review by daninsurreallife

4.0 stars 3/7/2009 by daninsurreallife
by daninsurreallife

…product! I am an avid physical trainer and sometimes elliptical machines at the gym are a three-deep wait. So, I wanted one at home to finish my workout. True, this is no PROFORM $3000 machine but it worked just fine with a bit of TLC. I heard the squeaks common to these reviews, I have a mechanical background so I identified the sound as metal-on-metal (the grease the machine comes with is not adequate). For a $2.85 investment at Walmart in the auto section I picked up some high temperature auto grease. In about 20 minutes I generously applied the lubricant to all of the moving joints and a small amount of Pam cooking oil on the wheel tracks. My machine is almost completely silent and works perfectly even for hour plus workouts.

Was this review helpful? (54) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
daninsurreallife
Washington DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Purchase
4/12/2009

Customer review by poohsldy

4.0 stars 4/12/2009 by poohsldy
by poohsldy

My husband bought this about a month ago and loves it. He uses it every other day and loves it. It fits his needs and gives him a great workout. When we got it home it took my husband just over an hour to put it together and that was with the help of several kittens and watching tv. We have not had any problems with this elliptical at all. We did buy the ac adapter, but that was only to save on batteries. For those that had problems within the 90 day return period I don't understand why you didn't just return the product instead of giving it a bad review. As I said we have had no problems the price was great and the elliptical is everything we expected of it. We have not had one regret with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
poohsldy
North Eastern PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Very Disappointing
6/19/2009

Customer review by Victoria71

1.0 stars 6/19/2009 by Victoria71
by Victoria71

Real axle broke while using after not even 2 months of use!!! We were within the weight limits, very disappointing. Now I have to figure out how I am going to get my money back - I dont even want a replacement for this one.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Victoria71
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
not worth the time it took to bring it home
2/26/2009

Customer review by itzonlyme8876

1.0 stars 2/26/2009 by itzonlyme8876
by itzonlyme8876

we had the product for about a month then it started to squeak and grind, hubby checked nuts and bolts all was fine, then mid stride, snap the rear axle snapped right in half...i have read other reviews too little too late..same problem all around.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
itzonlyme8876
charlestown wv
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great, Sweaty Workout
2/9/2009

Customer review by smitty76

5.0 stars 2/9/2009 by smitty76
by smitty76

We just purchased the Gold's Gym 500 Elliptical today. It took a couple hours to assemble it, but it wasn't difficult. The children extended the time a bit I suppose. I have given it about a 20-minute test workout, and it functions quite nicely. I don't like that I have to buy a separate power adapter for it, but that's not a deciding factor in my eyes. The fan is nice, not strong, but strong enough to just help. I haven't tried out the speakers with an mp3 player yet. Overall, I would say it was money well spent and recommend it to others.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
smitty76
Goldsboro, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Buy for Less Money
3/11/2010

Customer review by BigCity37

5.0 stars 3/11/2010 by BigCity37
by BigCity37

We did extensive research and found this buy to be the best value. What you probably didn't know is that about 80% of elliptical equipment is manufactured by ICONN (believe is the name, out of China). Anyway, purchase a product that is backed when considering the costs more than $500. Other stores did not back there elliptical's the way Walmart does. Walmart offers a service plan for very little - thinking about 30$ or so. The machine is very sturdy. After using it for about 3 days started to get the 'squeak'. It is very annoying. Went to Lowe's purchased rubber washers/grommets -- installed them on each side of bolt on the legs. Prevents the plastic from rubbing. Also, it offers a little more cushion to prevent the frame from breaking. Assembly was pretty easy. Took about an hour. Great workout - accurate calorie count - a plus! CONS - if your tall and half blind like I am - the screen is super small which is a disadvantage. Also, power plug sold separately. Purchased one at Radio Shack instead of special ordering -- correct DC adapter sold separate of that. Should be included with the product. Screen is dark - hard to see the numbers in poor lighting.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BigCity37
Middle Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great value
3/15/2010

Customer review by Mark72

5.0 stars 3/15/2010 by Mark72
by Mark72

Purchased two weeks ago and use it every day. Assembly, by myself, was not a problem. Had to stop running due to back problems and this worked out great. Used a high quality automotive grease during assembly. Still started sqeaking a little, just recently, but sprayed a little lithium grease on the pivot points and cleared it up. Don't think I'm burning the amount of calories it says I am but still a good workout. Batteries still fine after two weeks but purchased an A/C power adapter on amazon.com for $15, so I don't have to keep buying batteries when the time comes. I am 5'7" and weigh about 215 and have had no issues. I would highly recommend this machine. Will post later if anything significant comes up...

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mark72
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
10/15/2008

Customer review by Kayden

4.0 stars 10/15/2008 by Kayden
by Kayden

I like the eliptical and it works great. The only problem I had was when I got it the side cover was broke. Wal-mart was very helpful and willing to pick up immediately. The manufacturer not so much. They were willing to send me the replacement part but wanted to charge me a handling fee to do so. Not good customer service from them.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kayden
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
junk
2/19/2009

Customer review by lamigra

1.0 stars 2/19/2009 by lamigra
by lamigra

The machine worked well for about 1 month except for an occasional grinding sound in the rear. After that residue from the belt appeared on the floor, followed by the belt falling off. I removed the sides and put the belt back on and tightened it according to directions in manual. While screwing the side back on, the connector in the rear of the machine broke off. I finally got it back together and it continued to make a grinding sound. Then the axle broke in two rendering the machine useless. I would not buy another nor would I take a new one free. An absolute piece of junk.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lamigra
clarksville, tn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
get what you pay for
7/14/2008

Customer review by maximus686

1.0 stars 7/14/2008 by maximus686
by maximus686

This product is built very poorly. The unit is stable and wont rock, but the quality of internal components is terrible. I used this machine for 2 months. for 3 weeks it was great. a little bit of noise from the rear drive components after that. almost 2 months in a scraping sound from rear then the shaft snapped. When this happened I was able to actually see how this was made. The belt housing is vinyl, no guards to keep the belt on and no stablizing bars to keep it aligned. I was working out 5 times a week for 30-45 minutes for 2 months and the shaft broke. Im 5'10 240lbs and this unit is supposed to handle 275lbs. There is no way this unit will last. I guarantee it wont. Buyer beware spend more like $1000.00 and get asole product. I love saving money but the time and aggrevation of putting together and returning is way to much.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
maximus686
massachuesetts
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Poor Workmanship
11/16/2008

Customer review by jarmstrong20

1.0 stars 11/16/2008 by jarmstrong20
by jarmstrong20

I shopped around and decided to purchase this unit. After spending a couple hours getting it assembled I found myself very upset because the console unit had been smashed and does not work. Now, I have to spend $250 to replace the console. My advise is to look to better units, and not settle for cheap workmanship and packaging.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jarmstrong20
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Know what you want.
3/30/2009

Customer review by sports5

5.0 stars 3/30/2009 by sports5
by sports5

I did a lot of research before making my purchase. I gave this unit high markings because it fits my needs and didn't cost thousands. If you are addicted to working out, you will want something a little heavier. If you just trying to stay in shape 3-5 days a week, this is worth your money. Installation was easy, it slides very smoothly and the computer programs are more than the average person will use. Only complaint is the arm pulls are a little wobbly. Compared to a tredmill, I feel I get a much better work out in less time. Golds Gym is made by Proform who is made by Nordictrac, so the base knowledge is there. Good luck!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sports5
Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
8/16/2008

Customer review by owner77777888

1.0 stars 8/16/2008 by owner77777888
by owner77777888

i bought this and now it makes squeeky sounds. and the motar is loud. it runs on batteries , and speakers are not as loud as u want it . overall, its not worth it, and i dont think its helping me loose weight, i dont have ache afterwards but i feeel its not really showing the accurate calories. 489 dollars wit tax.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
owner77777888
new york
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
never worked!!! 05
4/25/2009

Customer review by denisec05

1.0 stars 4/25/2009 by denisec05
by denisec05

It took three hours to put together, which you can do by yourself. Once it was assembled, the machine never worked. The console would turn on but nothing would happen the time would not start nor would a program. Eventually it would shut off. I called the manufactor and getting someone on the phone was the hardest thing ever. Their solution was to send me another console, once i got the new console it still did not work. They than told me to try fixing the turning wheel which is not east at all, by the time i got the cover off I still could not fix it. I returned the machince and bought one from sports authority. Also it does not come with a power cord you have to buy that for an extra $90.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
denisec05
Hoboken, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Don't Buy This Junk!!!
2/12/2010

Customer review by Mojo77

1.0 stars 2/12/2010 by Mojo77
by Mojo77

I bought this machine for my girlfriend in October 2009 and she uses it religiously. The machine started squeaking after about two months and in January 2010 the left crank arm (axle) which is a major part snapped in half and this is a solid steal piece of metal!!! Fortunately I paid the extra $20 for a 2 year extended warranty through Walmart and I was able to get the technician to order the replacement part and he fixed it, but once it was fixed the machine was grinding and squeaking so now he is going to submit paperwork to the warranty company to send me a full refund ($299). But most likely I will have to disassemble this huge bulky machine and find a box big enough to ship this thing back to them. So long story short, if you want a product that is going to break down after a few months then this is the machine for you, but make sure you buy the extended warranty through Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mojo77
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
UGH
1/20/2009

Customer review by ndnessence

1.0 stars 1/20/2009 by ndnessence
by ndnessence

These run on batteries YES u heard me c batteries

Was this review helpful? (0) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ndnessence
columbus Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
AWFUL
1/3/2009

Customer review by talk2bpc

1.0 stars 1/3/2009 by talk2bpc
by talk2bpc

This is the worst product ever assembled. If you buy this product, you will be VERY upset. After you buy it and it breaks and you spent 3 hours putting it together, you might as well burn $500. But go ahead, try it out and don't listen to me....just don't say I didn't warn you!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
talk2bpc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Bravo Gold's Gym
3/3/2010

Customer review by magicadrian

5.0 stars 3/3/2010 by magicadrian
by magicadrian

This is a great piece of equipment! Take it froma guy who has spent thousands of hours at a gym and used some of the best exercise equipment, this is professional level at a great price. I like the fact that you can manipulate the incline angle manually vs. mechanically because you don't have to worry about a motor going out. Ok, so the little gadgets (i.e. fan, i pod connection, digital screen) are not the world's class; so what! What matters is that you are going to get a smoot action with variable resistance workout with low impact on joints. This machine is comparable to the $4,000.00 models at gyms. Finally, I put mine together in less that 2 hours by myself; it's worth the time!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
magicadrian
el paso, tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Enjoy this elliptical
10/15/2009

Customer review by maplesugar

5.0 stars 10/15/2009 by maplesugar
by maplesugar

We are pleased with the Gold Gym Stride Trainer. All four of us use it, and it gives a good work out. We do have a question about using the Wal-mart power supply/6 V adapter though. The directions say that you need to check the machine for the polarity so that you use the correct tip, either negative or postive. I was unable to find any indication on the machine or get any information from the manufacturer. Does anyone know which polarity tip is the correct one for the Elliptical Trainer 500? I don't want to ruin the console.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
maplesugar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
good product for the price
6/25/2009

Customer review by thusweet4u2

5.0 stars 6/25/2009 by thusweet4u2
by thusweet4u2

I just got this at my local walmart for 397.00. I really like it alot. Don't order the power cord on line for 90.00 instead just buy an universal power cord 6V for 15.00 and you are set to go without changing batteries when it goes dead on this machine. It does great for what it's worth One good thing about buying it at walmart is free assembly. Love it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thusweet4u2
tallahassee, florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 43 total reviews
1-20 of 43 reviews